DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 9-18) in the reply filed on 5/27/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62360162, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The subject matter of at least the elected claims 9-18 is not described in the disclosure of the prior-filed provisional application.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “is slidingly engages” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-11, 14, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10856981. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9-11, 14, and 15 are anticipated by claim 17 of the patent.
Claims 12, 13, and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10856981 in view of Benjamin et al. as cited under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) below and/or Wall et al. as cited under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benjamin et al. (US 20090105806).
Regarding claim 9, Benjamin et al. discloses an expandable sheath (embodiment of fig. 15, utilizing members as illustrated in fig. 21 and 21A and described in par. 0088) comprising: a plurality of curved arms 72 (specifically two of arms 72 that are located opposite each other at a point along 74) coupled at their proximal end along a spine (the illustrated at the relative top of the sheath in fig. 15 labeled 74), the spine extending parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the sheath (see fig. 15), each of the plurality of curved arms including a groove provided in an end surface of the curved arm (groove formed between 106a/b and its respective arm, see fig. 21-21A), such that an opposite end surface of a first curved arm of the plurality of curved arms is slidingly engages the groove of the end surface of an adjacent curved arm (par. 0088, specifically in the embodiment described where the groove is so arranged that expansion of the annular members is not restricted); wherein the plurality of curved arms move between an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration where the plurality of curved arms are moved away from the central longitudinal axis of the sheath (abstract; see structure of fig. 15 which is fully capable of performing the claimed function; see par. 0088, specifically in the embodiment described where the groove is so arranged that expansion of the annular members is not restricted).
Regarding claim 10, Benjamin et al. discloses the plurality of curved arms slidingly engage during movement between the unexpanded configuration and the expanded configuration (see structure of fig. 15 which is fully capable of performing the claimed function; see par. 0088, specifically in the embodiment described where the groove is so arranged that expansion of the annular members is not restricted).
Regarding claim 11, Benjamin et al. discloses the plurality of curved arms further include a ridge 106a/b projecting from the opposite end surface, the ridge slidingly engaging the groove during movement between the unexpanded configuration and the expanded configuration (each of 106a/b engages an opposing groove defined by the other of 106a/b and its respective arm; see fig. 21 and 21A).
Regarding claim 12, Benjamin et al. discloses the groove includes an end surface at a terminating end of the groove proximate the spine, the end surface providing a contact surface for the ridge such that engagement between the end surface and a corresponding end surface of the ridge limits rotational movement of the plurality of arms toward the unexpanded configuration (surface at the junction of each of 106a/b and its respective arm, against which the opposite member of 106a/b is stopped; specifically in the embodiment as described in par. 0088 where the arrangement does not restrict expansion).
Regarding claim 13, Benjamin et al. discloses the plurality of curved arms are rotationally coupled at their proximal end along the spine (see fig. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Benjamin et al. discloses the first curved arm rotates away from the central longitudinal axis in a first direction towards the expanded configuration, and the adjacent curved arm rotates away from the central longitudinal axis in a second direction towards the expanded configuration (the arms, as identified in claim 1 above, rotate away from the axis opposite of each other; see fig. 15).
Regarding claim 16, Benjamin et al. discloses longitudinal motion is restricted between the plurality of curved arms (restricted at least by spine 74 at the top of the sheath in fig. 15, but also by element 74 at the bottom of the sheath).
Regarding claim 17, Benjamin et al. discloses the expandable sheath further comprises a fixation mechanism restricting longitudinal motion therebetween the plurality of curved arms (bottom element 74 in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 18, Benjamin et al. discloses the fixation mechanism includes at least one of a suture, a rivet, or a bonding agent (bottom element 74 in fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjamin et al. in view of Wall (US 5192307).
Regarding claim 15, Benjamin et al. discloses the expandable sheath as claimed, except for specifically disclosing each of the plurality of curved arms includes a projection extending from end surface, the projection received within an opening provided on the opposite end surface of an adjacent curved arm such that the plurality of curved arms are rotationally coupled at the projection, wherein the projection and the opening extend in a direction along the spine. However, Wall teaches an alternative method of forming a spine where each arm 51 includes a projection extending from an end surface (portion of 54 extending from each arm towards the next arm) an opening 58 on an opposite end to couple to one another (see fig. 9-12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spine 74 of Benjamin et al. to utilize the projection and opening arrangement as taught by Wall for the purpose of providing sufficient structure to selectively couple the arms to one another.
Conclusion
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783