DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction
In response to the species requirement and Applicant’s election with traverse. Since Applicant elected first species (claims 1-14 and 19-20), Examiner examined the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on December 24, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jamadagni et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0233386).
Regarding claim 1, Jamadagni et al discloses a method, comprising:
facilitating, by a first radio network node (paragraph 56 [eNB 204]) comprising at least one processor, receiving, from network computing equipment, an adaptive session transfer configuration comprising at least one session transfer criterion (see at least paragraphs 47 and 56 discloses eNB 204 obtain parameters to offload UE connection);
determining, by the first radio network node, at least one radio characteristic corresponding to a user equipment (see at least paragraph 59 discloses obtain parameters details);
analyzing, by the first radio network node, the at least one radio characteristic with respect to the at least one session transfer criterion to result in at least one analyzed radio characteristic (see at least paragraph 60 discloses offloading based on received UE capability); and
based on the at least one analyzed radio characteristic corresponding to satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion, facilitating, by the first radio network node, transmitting, to the user equipment, context information, corresponding to an existing communication session between the first radio network node and the user equipment, to be usable by the user equipment to facilitate continuance of the existing communication session with a second radio network node (see at least paragraphs 60 and 69 discloses eNB 204 sends an handover command to the UE to handover certain bearers).
Regarding claim 2, Jamadagni et al discloses the first radio network node is a terrestrial radio network node, and wherein the second radio network node comprises a satellite (see at least paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 6, Jamadagni et al discloses the context information comprises a link recovery configuration comprising a context information identifier indicative of context information corresponding to the existing communication session (see at least paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 7, Jamadagni et al discloses the context information identifier is usable by the user equipment to transmit, to the second radio network node, a session transfer request message that comprises the context information to be usable by the second radio network node to facilitate the existing communication session (see at least paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 8, Jamadagni et al discloses the link recovery configuration further comprises at least one non-terrestrial resource indication indicative of at least one non-terrestrial resource usable by the user equipment to transmit to the second radio network node a session transfer request message (see at least paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 11, Jamadagni et al discloses the first radio network node is a terrestrial radio network node, wherein the second radio network node is a terrestrial radio network node, and wherein the context information is to be transmitted by the second radio network node to a third radio network node, comprising a satellite, to be usable by the third radio network node to conduct the existing communication session with the user equipment (see at least paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 12, Jamadagni et al discloses the second radio network node comprises a satellite gateway communicatively coupled to the third radio network node (see at least paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 13, Jamadagni et al discloses the second radio network node comprises a radio access network node communicatively coupled with a satellite gateway that is communicatively coupled with the third radio network node (see at least paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 14, Jamadagni et al discloses the network computing equipment comprises computing equipment of a core network to which the first radio network node is communicatively coupled (see at least paragraph 69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jamadagni et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0233386) in view of Park et al (US Pat. No. 2019/0104452).
Regarding claim 3, Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose the context information comprises a link recovery configuration comprising a timing advance indication indicative of a timing advance corresponding to the second radio network node.
However, Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the context information comprises a link recovery configuration comprising a timing advance indication indicative of a timing advance corresponding to the second radio network node (see at least paragraph 108 discloses time advance indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Park into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of the timing advance indication to transferred from source eNB through connection reconfiguration message.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jamadagni et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0233386) in view of Lee et al (US Pat. No. 2012/0164952).
Regarding claim 4, Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose wherein the at least one radio characteristic is a number, determined by the first radio network node, of communication link failures between the user equipment and the first radio network node to result in a determined link failure number, and wherein the satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion corresponds to the determined link failure number failing to be less than a threshold specified by the at least one session transfer criterion.
However, Lee et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one radio characteristic is a number, determined by the first radio network node, of communication link failures between the user equipment and the first radio network node to result in a determined link failure number, and wherein the satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion corresponds to the determined link failure number failing to be less than a threshold specified by the at least one session transfer criterion (see at least paragraph 72 discloses ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of minimizing radio link failure between a terminal and a base station.
Regarding claim 5, Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose facilitating, by the first radio network node, receiving, from the user equipment, a radio parameter measurement report comprising an indication of the at least one radio characteristic, wherein the at least one radio characteristic is a signal strength measured value, determined by the user equipment, corresponding to a downlink signal transmitted by the first radio network node, wherein the determining of the at least one radio characteristic corresponding to user equipment comprises retrieving the indication of the at least one radio characteristic from the radio parameter measurement report, and wherein the satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion corresponds to the signal strength measured value failing to be greater than a threshold specified by the at least one session transfer criterion.
However, Lee et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches facilitating, by the first radio network node, receiving, from the user equipment, a radio parameter measurement report comprising an indication of the at least one radio characteristic, wherein the at least one radio characteristic is a signal strength measured value, determined by the user equipment, corresponding to a downlink signal transmitted by the first radio network node, wherein the determining of the at least one radio characteristic corresponding to user equipment comprises retrieving the indication of the at least one radio characteristic from the radio parameter measurement report, and wherein the satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion corresponds to the signal strength measured value failing to be greater than a threshold specified by the at least one session transfer criterion (see at least paragraph 72 discloses ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of minimizing radio link failure between a terminal and a base station.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jamadagni et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0233386) in view of Kim et al (US Pat. No. 2025/0142662).
Regarding claim 9, Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose facilitating, by the first radio network node, transmitting, to the second radio network node, a session context retrieval report that comprises session information, corresponding to the existing communication session, to be usable by the second radio network node to facilitate the existing communication session with the user equipment.
However, Kim et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches facilitating, by the first radio network node, transmitting, to the second radio network node, a session context retrieval report that comprises session information, corresponding to the existing communication session, to be usable by the second radio network node to facilitate the existing communication session with the user equipment (see at least paragraph 243-245).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Kim et al into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of transferring UE context; validating UE context.
Regarding claim 10, Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose wherein the session information comprises at least one of: at least one capability indication indicative of at least one capability associated with the user equipment, at least one encryption indication indicative of at least one encryption corresponding to the existing communication session, at least one retransmission indication indicative of at least one traffic packet, corresponding to the existing communication session, scheduled for retransmission by the first radio network node to the user equipment, or at least one traffic payload packet, corresponding to the existing communication session, scheduled for transmission by the first radio network node to the user equipment.
However, Kim et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the session information comprises at least one of: at least one capability indication indicative of at least one capability associated with the user equipment, at least one encryption indication indicative of at least one encryption corresponding to the existing communication session, at least one retransmission indication indicative of at least one traffic packet, corresponding to the existing communication session, scheduled for retransmission by the first radio network node to the user equipment, or at least one traffic payload packet, corresponding to the existing communication session, scheduled for transmission by the first radio network node to the user equipment (see at least paragraph 243-245).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Kim et al into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of transferring UE context; validating UE context.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jamadagni et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0233386) in view of Aggarwal et al (US Pat. No. 2025/0159559).
Regarding claim 19, Jamadagni et al discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first radio access network node, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from network computing equipment, an adaptive session transfer configuration comprising at least one session transfer criterion (see at least paragraphs 47 and 56 discloses eNB 204 obtain parameters to offload UE connection);
determining at least one radio characteristic corresponding to a user equipment with respect to which the first radio access network node is conducting an existing communication session (see at least paragraph 59 discloses obtain parameters details);
analyzing the at least one radio characteristic with respect to the at least one session transfer criterion to result in at least one analyzed radio characteristic (see at least paragraph 60 discloses offloading based on received UE capability);
based on the at least one analyzed radio characteristic corresponding to satisfaction of the at least one session transfer criterion, transmitting, to the user equipment, context information, corresponding to an existing communication session, to be usable by the user equipment to facilitate continuance of the existing communication session with a second radio network node (see at least paragraphs 60 and 69 discloses eNB 204 sends an handover command to the UE to handover certain bearers).
Jamadagni et al specifically does not disclose the first radio access network is a terrestrial radio access network node; and directing, to a non-terrestrial radio network node, a transmission of session information, corresponding to the existing communication session, to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to facilitate conducting of the existing communication session with the user equipment.
However, Aggarwal et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the first radio access network is a terrestrial radio access network node; and directing, to a non-terrestrial radio network node, a transmission of session information, corresponding to the existing communication session, to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to facilitate conducting of the existing communication session with the user equipment (see at least paragraph 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Aggarwal et al into the system of Jamadagni et al for purpose of allowing a source network entity to signal a target network entity to prepare the UE context in anticipation of a potential handover when the source network entity detects a link failure with the UE.
Regarding claim 20, Aggarwal et al discloses the session information comprises at least one of: at least one capability indication indicative of at least one capability associated with the user equipment, at least one encryption indication indicative of at least one encryption corresponding to the existing communication session, at least one retransmission indication indicative of at least one traffic packet, corresponding to the existing communication session, scheduled for retransmission by the terrestrial radio access network node to the user equipment, or at least one traffic payload packet scheduled for transmission by the terrestrial radio access network node to the user equipment (see at least paragraph 113). Same motivation as claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Matsuda et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0070647) directed toward switching destination candidate on a basis of the switching information.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642