Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, et al. (US 20230070647 A1, hereinafter, "MATSUDA") in view of MAAREF et al. (US 20240056925 A1, hereinafter, "MAAREF") and KIM et al. (US 20220338077 A1, hereinafter, "KIM").
Regarding claim 1, MATSUDA teaches a method, comprising:
MATSUDA writes, “Thus, the present disclosure provides a... communication method... capable of
achieving high-quality communication” (paragraph 0006).
receiving, by a user equipment comprising a processor from a terrestrial network node, a link
recovery configuration comprising a context information identifier indicative of context information
corresponding to a communication session between the user equipment and the terrestrial network
node;
MATSUDA writes, “The “RRC connection setup” is an operation executed when the communication
apparatus 50 is connected to the base station apparatus in response to the occurrence of traffic or the
like. Specifically, it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context)
from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50. The UE context is managed by
predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base
station apparatus” (paragraph 0133). MATSUDA adds, “The wireless communication unit 51 can include
a plurality of reception processors 511, transmission processors 512...” (paragraph 0112; figure 9).
MATSUDA continues, “The transmitter 235 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) first
transmits switching information to the communication apparatus 50 connected thereto. The receiver
555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching information from the non-terrestrial
base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501). The receiver 555 then stores the received switching
information in the storage unit 52 as the switching information” (paragraph 0204). MATSUDA specifies,
“...the switching information can be handover-related information...the switching information is
information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate, the
UL/DL carrier frequency of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate, and the
bandwidth of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate...the handover
information can be information such as a unique ID (e.g., C-RNTI)...and a radio resource configuration
after the handover” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA mentions, “In addition, the source and target base
station apparatuses are not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be, in one
example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0203).
determining, by the user equipment, to initiate transfer of the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by a non-terrestrial network node;
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines
whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the
measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a
connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains
the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “initiating transfer of the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by the non-terrestrial network node by transmitting, by the user equipment to the non-terrestrial network node,”, “the context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial network node to obtain the context information from the terrestrial network node, wherein the context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration;”, and “and conducting, by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node, the communication session according to the context information indicated by the context information identifier, wherein the context information is session context information.”
However, in analogous art, MAAREF teaches initiating transfer of the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by the non-terrestrial network node by transmitting, by the user equipment to the non-terrestrial network node,
MAAREF writes, “Initially, the TN BS 170A transmits (step 502) to one or more NTN base stations 170B, a SwitchRequest message indicating that the UE 110 is going to switch to the NTN subsystem” (paragraph 0085). MAAREF continues, “Upon selecting (step 516) a particular NTN BS 170B, the UE 110 transmits (step 518), on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a UE identifier (ID) to the particular NTN BS 170B. The UE ID may, for one example, be implemented as a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)” (paragraph 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA to include aspects described by MAAREF that “relates generally to systems wherein terrestrial radio access networks and non-terrestrial radio access networks are integrated and, in particular embodiments, to mobility management in such integrated systems.” MAAREF provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, some aspects of the present application relate to use of the direct communication link 199 between the NTN BS 170B and the TN BS 170A to share configuration parameters useful for controlling a handover, or for controlling a switch, of a UE 110 between BSs 170. Example configuration parameters useful for a handover, from an existing connection with a BS 170 to a new connection with a distinct BS 170, include: beam direction; preamble assignment; common configuration parameters for the new connection; and UE-specific configuration parameters for the new connection. Such sharing of configuration parameters may be shown to lead to improved overall spectral efficiency and reduced power use for the two BSs 170 and the UE 110” (paragraph 0064).
MATSUDA and MAAREF fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial network node to obtain the context information from the terrestrial network node, wherein the context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration;” and “and conducting, by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node, the communication session according to the context information indicated by the context information identifier, wherein the context information is session context information.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches the context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial network node to obtain the context information from the terrestrial network node, wherein the context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration;
KIM writes, “The UE identifier may be, for example, a cell radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI). The C-RNTI may enable the target base station to identify the UE and determine the UE context of the UE. For example, when the source base station selects cell 2 as a CHO candidate cell, the source base station may share the UE context information with the target base station. The target base station may accept a handover of the UE. The target base station may send a CHO configuration parameters of the target cell. The CHO configuration parameters may comprise a UE identity (e.g., C-RNTI) for the target cell. Accordingly, the C-RNTI included in the completion message may enable the target base station to locate and/or retrieve the UE context associated with the UE” (paragraph 0288).
and conducting, by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node, the communication session according to the context information indicated by the context information identifier, wherein the context information is session context information.
KIM writes, “In RRC connected 602, the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station. The base station may be similar to one of the one or more base stations included in the RAN 104 depicted in FIG. 1A, one of the gNBs 160 or ng-eNBs 162 depicted in FIG. 1B, the gNB 220 depicted in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, or any other base station described in the present disclosure. The base station with which the UE is connected may have the RRC context for the UE. The RRC context, referred to as the UE context, may comprise parameters for communication between the UE and the base station. These parameters may include, for example: one or more AS contexts; one or more radio link configuration parameters; bearer configuration information (e.g., relating to a data radio bearer, signaling radio bearer, logical channel, QoS flow, and/or PDU session); security information; and/or PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, and/or SDAP layer configuration information” (paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA and MAAREF to include aspects described by KIM that provide “Example embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to an enhanced procedure for establishing an RRC connection between an RRC inactive UE and the network.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “FIG. 18 is an example illustration of an enhanced procedure to reduce latency and decrease signaling overheads for initiating communications with the network in an RRC inactive state in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure” (paragraph 0269).
Regarding claim 2, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the timing advance value, corresponding to the non-terrestrial network node, is usable by the user equipment to establish the communication session with the non-terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “The switching information includes the timing advance information in addition to
the information shown in the first embodiment (e.g., such as resource information and trigger
information). The timing advance information is information regarding timing advance for the
communication apparatus 50 to connect to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target). The
information regarding the timing advance can be the timing advance value itself for adjusting the
transmission timing of the upstream signal of the communication apparatus 50. The information
regarding the timing advance can be calculated by the control unit 23 of the non-terrestrial base station
apparatus 20 (source) on the basis of the movement information of the communication apparatus 50
and the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target). Moreover, the timing advance is disclosed in
the specification of Patent Application No. 2017-221278, which is a prior application. This prior
application discloses details of timing advance technology for satellite communication” (paragraph
0252).
Regarding claim 3, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the communication session between the user
equipment and the terrestrial network node is associated with a session quality of service,
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a
reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit
551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement
configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value
obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in
one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then,
the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received
power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in
the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control
unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the
communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base
station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the
measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
wherein at least one non-terrestrial resource, corresponding to the non-terrestrial network node, is usable by the user equipment for the conducting of the communication session with the non-terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “The receiver 555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching
information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501)” (paragraph 0204).
MATSUDA adds, “...the switching information can include information relating to radio resources
(resource information) used for wireless communication with the base station apparatus as a switching
destination candidate. In this event, the resource information can be, in one example, information
relating to a radio resource for random access preamble transmission (hereinafter referred to as PRACH
transmission resource information) or information relating to a preamble sequence (hereinafter
referred to as preamble sequence information)” (paragraph 0206).
and wherein the at least one non-terrestrial resource is capable of facilitating the conducting
of the communication session by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node according
to the session quality of service.
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the
communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the
communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)”
(paragraph 0211).
Regarding claim 4, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the user equipment avoids flushing context
information corresponding to the communication session.
MATSUDA writes, “...the communication apparatus 50 acquires the switching information in advance
from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) before acquiring a handover command from
the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0201). MATSUDA continues, “The
receiver 555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching information from the non-
terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501). The receiver 555 then stores the received
switching information in the storage unit 52 as the switching information” (paragraph 0204). MATSUDA
adds, “...the communication apparatus 50 is capable of switching the base station apparatus as a
connection destination without involving the step of transmitting the random access preamble and the
step of receiving the timing advance information. This further reduces the number of steps in the
handover process, thereby further reducing the possibility of handover failure” (paragraph 0257).
Regarding claim 5, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the user equipment avoids transmitting a random
access preamble to the non-terrestrial network node before the conducting of the communication
session with the non-terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “...the connection unit 553 of the communication apparatus 50 selects the non-
terrestrial base station apparatus 20 to be the switching destination on the basis of the switching
information stored in the storage unit 52. Then, the connection unit 553 of the communication
apparatus 50 transmits the random access preamble to the selected non-terrestrial base station
apparatus 20 (target) (step S804)” (paragraph 0266).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the context information identifier is a user equipment
identifier corresponding to the user equipment.
MATSUDA writes, “The UE context is managed by predetermined communication apparatus
identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base station apparatus” (paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 8, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a
non-terrestrial network node identifier, indicative of the non-terrestrial network node, usable by the
user equipment to facilitate the transmitting of the context information identifier to the non-
terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base
station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA adds, “...the
switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station
apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
Regarding claim 10, MATSUDA teaches a user equipment (paragraph 0111; figure 9,
communication apparatus: 50), comprising:
a processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the
processor, facilitate performance of operations (paragraph 0112; figure 9, reception processor: 511,
transmission processor: 512), comprising:
receiving, from the terrestrial radio network node, a link recovery configuration comprising a session context information identifier corresponding to the session context;
MATSUDA writes, “The handover process is now described with reference to FIG. 14. The handover
process described below is executed in the case where the connection between the terrestrial base
station apparatus 30 (source) and the communication apparatus 50 is established” (paragraph 0191).
MATSUDA adds, “...it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE
context) from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0133).
determining to initiate transfer of the communication session from the terrestrial radio network node to a non-terrestrial radio network node;
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines
whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the
measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a
connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains
the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “establishing, with a terrestrial radio network node, a communication session, associated with a session context;”, “initiating transfer of the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by the non-terrestrial network node by transmitting, to the non- terrestrial radio network node, a session transfer request message that comprises the session context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to obtain the session context from the terrestrial network node, wherein the session context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration to facilitate the communication session;”, “a session transfer request message that comprises the session context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to obtain the session context from the terrestrial network node, wherein the session context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration to facilitate the communication session;”, and “and conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the session context.”
However, in analogous art, MAAREF teaches initiating transfer of the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by the non-terrestrial network node by transmitting, to the non- terrestrial radio network node, a session transfer request message that comprises the session context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to obtain the session context from the terrestrial network node, wherein the session context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration to facilitate the communication session;
MAAREF writes, “Initially, the TN BS 170A transmits (step 502) to one or more NTN base stations 170B, a SwitchRequest message indicating that the UE 110 is going to switch to the NTN subsystem” (paragraph 0085). MAAREF continues, “Upon selecting (step 516) a particular NTN BS 170B, the UE 110 transmits (step 518), on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a UE identifier (ID) to the particular NTN BS 170B. The UE ID may, for one example, be implemented as a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)” (paragraph 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA to include aspects described by MAAREF that “relates generally to systems wherein terrestrial radio access networks and non-terrestrial radio access networks are integrated and, in particular embodiments, to mobility management in such integrated systems.” MAAREF provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, some aspects of the present application relate to use of the direct communication link 199 between the NTN BS 170B and the TN BS 170A to share configuration parameters useful for controlling a handover, or for controlling a switch, of a UE 110 between BSs 170. Example configuration parameters useful for a handover, from an existing connection with a BS 170 to a new connection with a distinct BS 170, include: beam direction; preamble assignment; common configuration parameters for the new connection; and UE-specific configuration parameters for the new connection. Such sharing of configuration parameters may be shown to lead to improved overall spectral efficiency and reduced power use for the two BSs 170 and the UE 110” (paragraph 0064).
MATSUDA and MAAREF fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “establishing, with a terrestrial radio network node, a communication session, associated with a session context;”, “a session transfer request message that comprises the session context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to obtain the session context from the terrestrial network node, wherein the session context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration to facilitate the communication session;”, and “and conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the session context.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches establishing, with a terrestrial radio network node, a communication session, associated with a session context;
KIM writes, “In RRC connected 602, the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station. The base station may be similar to one of the one or more base stations included in the RAN 104 depicted in FIG. 1A, one of the gNBs 160 or ng-eNBs 162 depicted in FIG. 1B, the gNB 220 depicted in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, or any other base station described in the present disclosure. The base station with which the UE is connected may have the RRC context for the UE. The RRC context, referred to as the UE context, may comprise parameters for communication between the UE and the base station. These parameters may include, for example: one or more AS contexts; one or more radio link configuration parameters; bearer configuration information (e.g., relating to a data radio bearer, signaling radio bearer, logical channel, QoS flow, and/or PDU session); security information; and/or PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, and/or SDAP layer configuration information” (paragraph 0097).
a session transfer request message that comprises the session context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to obtain the session context from the terrestrial network node, wherein the session context information identifier is transmitted according to a timing advance value or at least one uplink non-terrestrial resource indicated in the link recovery configuration to facilitate the communication session;
KIM writes, “The UE identifier may be, for example, a cell radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI). The C-RNTI may enable the target base station to identify the UE and determine the UE context of the UE. For example, when the source base station selects cell 2 as a CHO candidate cell, the source base station may share the UE context information with the target base station. The target base station may accept a handover of the UE. The target base station may send a CHO configuration parameters of the target cell. The CHO configuration parameters may comprise a UE identity (e.g., C-RNTI) for the target cell. Accordingly, the C-RNTI included in the completion message may enable the target base station to locate and/or retrieve the UE context associated with the UE” (paragraph 0288).
and conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the session context.
KIM writes, “In RRC connected 602, the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station. The base station may be similar to one of the one or more base stations included in the RAN 104 depicted in FIG. 1A, one of the gNBs 160 or ng-eNBs 162 depicted in FIG. 1B, the gNB 220 depicted in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, or any other base station described in the present disclosure. The base station with which the UE is connected may have the RRC context for the UE. The RRC context, referred to as the UE context, may comprise parameters for communication between the UE and the base station. These parameters may include, for example: one or more AS contexts; one or more radio link configuration parameters; bearer configuration information (e.g., relating to a data radio bearer, signaling radio bearer, logical channel, QoS flow, and/or PDU session); security information; and/or PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, and/or SDAP layer configuration information” (paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA and MAAREF to include aspects described by KIM that provide “Example embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to an enhanced procedure for establishing an RRC connection between an RRC inactive UE and the network.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “FIG. 18 is an example illustration of an enhanced procedure to reduce latency and decrease signaling overheads for initiating communications with the network in an RRC inactive state in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure” (paragraph 0269).
Regarding claim 11, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the terrestrial radio network node is a serving
terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “The ‘handover’ is an operation of switching the connection from a connected cell (a
serving cell) to a cell adjacent to the cell (a neighbor cell) due to changes in the radio environment such
as the movement of the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0139).
wherein the non-terrestrial radio network node is a determined non-terrestrial radio network
node of a set of at least one non-terrestrial radio network node, with which the user equipment is
capable of communicating,
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the
communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the
communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)”
(paragraph 0211).
wherein the link recovery configuration comprises at least one non-terrestrial radio network
node identifier associated with the set of at least one non-terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base
station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA continues, “...the
switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station
apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
and wherein the determining to transfer the communication session from the serving
terrestrial radio network node to the determined non-terrestrial radio network node further
comprises:
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines
whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the
measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a
connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains
the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
determining that a communication link between the user equipment and the serving
terrestrial radio network node corresponding to the communication session has failed;
MATSUDA writes, “...in the case where the acquisition unit 551 is incapable of acquiring the system
information necessary for establishing the link, the control unit 55 of the communication apparatus 50
determines that access to the cell is barred. In one example, in the case where both the first system
information and the second system information fail to be acquired, the control unit 55 determines that
access to the cell is barred. In this case, the control unit 55 terminates the initial connection process ”
(paragraph 0129).
determining a nonexistence of terrestrial radio network nodes, other than the serving
terrestrial radio network node, that is able to facilitate the communication session with respect to the
user equipment;
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the
communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the
communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a
connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)”
(paragraph 0211).
and determining that the determined non-terrestrial radio network node corresponds to a
higher signal strength measurement than at least one signal strength measurement corresponding to
the set of the at least one non-terrestrial radio network node.
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a
reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit
551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement
configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value
obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in
one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then,
the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received
power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in
the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control
unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the
communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base
station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the
measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
Regarding claim 12, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the session context information identifier is indicative of the session context.
KIM writes, “In RRC connected 602, the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station. The base station may be similar to one of the one or more base stations included in the RAN 104 depicted in FIG. 1A, one of the gNBs 160 or ng-eNBs 162 depicted in FIG. 1B, the gNB 220 depicted in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, or any other base station described in the present disclosure. The base station with which the UE is connected may have the RRC context for the UE. The RRC context, referred to as the UE context, may comprise parameters for communication between the UE and the base station. These parameters may include, for example: one or more AS contexts; one or more radio link configuration parameters; bearer configuration information (e.g., relating to a data radio bearer, signaling radio bearer, logical channel, QoS flow, and/or PDU session); security information; and/or PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, and/or SDAP layer configuration information” (paragraph 0097).
Claims 16 and 19 are memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 10-11 that have
already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 10-11.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under the same rational as claims 10-11.
Claims 17 and 20 are memory claims corresponding to the method claims 2-3 that have already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 2-3. Claims 17 and
20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 2-3.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LEE, et al. (US 20250126673 A1, hereinafter, "LEE").
Regarding claim 7, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 1,
MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the
context information identifier is a session identifier corresponding to the communication session.”
However, in analogous art, LEE teaches wherein the context information identifier is a session
identifier corresponding to the communication session.
LEE writes, “The context information may include information such as...an identifier of one or more
other network elements associated with UE 105 and/or the communication session (e.g., an identifier of
SMF 107, a communication session endpoint such as a User Plane Function (“UPF”) ...” (paragraph
0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM to include aspects described by LEE that “maintain User Equipment (“UE”) context information associated with one or more communication sessions between a particular UE and a wireless network, and may detect that one or more triggering events have occurred with respect to the particular UE or the one or more communication sessions.” LEE provides the motivation for modification stating, “Embodiments described herein provide for a robust mechanism by which a UE information repository (e.g., UDM/UDR 103) may confirm that context information, maintained by the UE information repository, is up-to-date and/or accurate, thus providing a backup mechanism for removing context information that is no longer accurate. Such techniques may conserve resources of UDM/UDR 103, thus improving the operation of UDM/UDR 103 and network 101 as a whole” (paragraph 0014).
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, and further in view of AGGARWAL, et al. (US 20250159559 A1, hereinafter, "AGGARWAL").
Regarding claim 9, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the method of claim 8,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the non-terrestrial network node is a first non-
terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “...the acquisition unit 551 acquires, from the base station apparatus connected
thereto, the first switching information used to switch the connection to the first base station apparatus
(base station apparatus one ahead) to be a switching destination candidate” (paragraph 0304).
MATSUDA adds, “...the base station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station
apparatus 20 and can be, in one example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0308).
wherein the non-terrestrial network node identifier is a first non-terrestrial network node
identifier,
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base
station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205).
wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a second non-terrestrial network
node identifier corresponding to a second non-terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “...the second switching information used to switch the connection to the second
base station apparatus (base station apparatus two ahead) to be a switching destination candidate after
connecting to the first base station apparatus” (paragraph 0304). MATSUDA continues, “...the base
station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be, in one
example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0308). MATSUDA adds, “In one example,
the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover
destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205).
and wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the user equipment, a first signal
strength corresponding to the first non-terrestrial network node and a second signal strength
corresponding to the second non-terrestrial network node;
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a
reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit
551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement
configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value
obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in
one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then,
the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received
power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in
the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control
unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the
communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base
station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the
measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
and determining, by the user equipment, a higher signal strength of the first signal strength or
the second signal strength to result in a determined highest signal strength,
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a
reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit
551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement
configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value
obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in
one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then,
the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received
power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in
the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control
unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the
communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base
station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the
measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
wherein the context information identifier is transmitted by the user equipment according to
the first non-terrestrial network node or to the second non-terrestrial network node according to the
determined highest signal strength,
MATSUDA writes, “The “RRC connection setup” is an operation executed when the communication
apparatus 50 is connected to the base station apparatus in response to the occurrence of traffic or the
like. Specifically, it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context)
from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50. The UE context is managed by
predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base
station apparatus” (paragraph 0133). MATSUDA adds, “...the switching information can include trigger
information used by the communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base
station apparatus as a connection destination...the trigger information can be a determination threshold
value (the first trigger value) relating to the measured value (such as RSRP and RSRQ) of the power
received from the connected base station apparatus or can be a difference value between two
measured values of power (the second trigger value)” (paragraph 0211).
MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and wherein the communication session is conducted with the non-terrestrial network node corresponding to the determined highest signal strength.”
However, in analogous art, AGGARWAL teaches and wherein the communication session is conducted with the non-terrestrial network node corresponding to the determined highest signal strength.
AGGARWAL writes, “The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function
(AMF) (e.g., an AMF 192), other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane
Function (UPF) (e.g., a UPF 195). The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data
Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs
104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management”
(paragraph 0052). AGGARWAL adds, “FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5C illustrate example aspects of various network
architecture examples capable of supporting NTN access...The network architecture 500 is illustrated as
further including a core network 510, which may correspond to the core network (e.g., 160, 190, 220)
described in connection with FIG. 1 and FIG. 2” (paragraph 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM to include aspects described by AGGARWAL that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to fast link failure recovery in wireless communication.” AGGARWAL provides the motivation for modification stating, “Particular aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some examples, by allowing a source network entity to signal a target network entity to prepare the UE context in anticipation of a potential handover when the source network entity detects a link failure with the UE, the target network may prepare the UE context even before it receives fa re-establishment request from the UE. Hence, the described techniques can be used to lower the latency, facilitate the re-establishment of connection, and improve the QoS in wireless communication. In some examples, since the target network is already prepared with the UE context when the UE sends a re-establishment request to the target network, the target network does not need to extract the UE context from the source network, thereby reducing the power consumption and latency to reestablish a connection with the UE” (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 14, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource usable by the user equipment to facilitate communication with the non-terrestrial radio network node, MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base
station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA continues, “...the
switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station
apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and wherein the session transfer request message is transmitted via the at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource.”
However, in analogous art, AGGARWAL teaches and wherein the session transfer request message is transmitted via the at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource.
AGGARWAL writes, “The UE may send the re-establishment request with the last CRNTI and short-MAC-I
on the target network... a potential target network node (e.g., such as a potential neighbor NTN cell)…”
(paragraph 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM to include aspects described by AGGARWAL that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to fast link failure recovery in wireless communication.” AGGARWAL provides the motivation for modification stating, “Particular aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some examples, by allowing a source network entity to signal a target network entity to prepare the UE context in anticipation of a potential handover when the source network entity detects a link failure with the UE, the target network may prepare the UE context even before it receives fa re-establishment request from the UE. Hence, the described techniques can be used to lower the latency, facilitate the re-establishment of connection, and improve the QoS in wireless communication. In some examples, since the target network is already prepared with the UE context when the UE sends a re-establishment request to the target network, the target network does not need to extract the UE context from the source network, thereby reducing the power consumption and latency to reestablish a connection with the UE” (paragraph 0032).
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, and further in view of CUI et al. (US 20230239719 A1, hereinafter, "CUI").
Regarding claim 13, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the user equipment of claim 10,
MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the session context comprises avoiding performance of random access with respect to the non-terrestrial radio network node.”
However, in analogous art, CUI teaches wherein the conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the session context comprises avoiding performance of random access with respect to the non-terrestrial radio network node.
CUI writes, “For example, in an NTN system, a UE may be configured...to avoid performing random
access on uplink (UL) band n14…” (paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM to include aspects described by CUI that “relates to devices and components including apparatus, systems, and methods for non-terrestrial network communication in wireless communication systems.” CUI provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the network may configure a measurement gap or other protection time gap in accordance with the GNSS measurement occasion information provided by the UE. Within such a measurement gap or protection time gap, the UE may be permitted to mute transmit signals, or otherwise to reduce transmission power, on the GNSS-interfering band” (paragraph 0083).
Claim 18 is a memory claim corresponding to the method claim 4 and the apparatus claim 13
that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 4
and 13. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claims 4 and 13.
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the session transfer request message is transmitted according to the timing advance value associated with the determined non-terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “Then, the connection unit 553 receives a random access response (Msg2) including
the timing advance information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) (step S506).
Then, the connection unit 553 synchronizes with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target)
on the basis of the received information” (paragraph 0215). MATSUDA explains, “The message (Msg3)
includes an RRC message for a radio resource control (RRC) connection request. In addition, the
message (Msg3) includes the identifier of the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0146).
MATSUDA indicates Msg2 synchronizes with the non-terrestrial base station, including the timing
advance, before Msg 3 is transferred.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of SHARMA et al. (US 20240314664 A1, hereinafter, "SHARMA").
Regarding claim 15, MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM teach the user equipment of claim 10,
MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the user
equipment is an extended reality appliance.”
However, in analogous art, SHARMA teaches wherein the user equipment is an extended
reality appliance.
SHARMA writes, “...it is expected that future wireless communications networks will be expected to
efficiently support communications with devices including...virtual reality headsets and so on”
(paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA, MAAREF, and KIM to include aspects described by SHARMA that “relates generally to wireless communications networks, and specifically to methods and devices for handling the transmission of uplink data more efficiently.” SHARMA provides the motivation for modification stating, “Non-terrestrial networks may provide service in areas that cannot be covered by terrestrial cellular networks (i.e. those where coverage is provided by means of land-based antennas), such as isolated or remote areas, on board aircraft or vessels) or may provide enhanced service in other areas. The expanded coverage that may be achieved by means of non-terrestrial networks may provide service continuity for machine-to-machine (M2M) or ‘internet of things’ (IoT) devices, or for passengers on board moving platforms (e.g. passenger vehicles such as aircraft, ships, high speed trains, or buses). Other benefits may arise from the use of non-terrestrial networks for providing multicast/broadcast resources for data delivery” (paragraph 0008).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 7/24/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475