Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA, et al. (US 20230070647 A1, hereinafter, "MATSUDA") in view of AGGARWAL, et al. (US 20250159559 A1, hereinafter, "AGGARWAL").
Regarding claim 1, MATSUDA teaches a method, comprising:
MATSUDA writes, “Thus, the present disclosure provides a... communication method... capable of achieving high-quality communication” (paragraph 0006).
receiving, by a user equipment comprising a processor from a terrestrial network node, a link recovery configuration comprising a context information identifier indicative of context information corresponding to a communication session between the user equipment and the terrestrial network node;
MATSUDA writes, “The “RRC connection setup” is an operation executed when the communication apparatus 50 is connected to the base station apparatus in response to the occurrence of traffic or the like. Specifically, it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context) from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50. The UE context is managed by predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base station apparatus” (paragraph 0133). MATSUDA adds, “The wireless communication unit 51 can include a plurality of reception processors 511, transmission processors 512...” (paragraph 0112; figure 9). MATSUDA continues, “The transmitter 235 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) first transmits switching information to the communication apparatus 50 connected thereto. The receiver 555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501). The receiver 555 then stores the received switching information in the storage unit 52 as the switching information” (paragraph 0204). MATSUDA specifies, “...the switching information can be handover-related information...the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate, the UL/DL carrier frequency of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate, and the bandwidth of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate...the handover information can be information such as a unique ID (e.g., C-RNTI)...and a radio resource configuration after the handover” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA mentions, “In addition, the source and target base station apparatuses are not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be, in one example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0203).
determining, by the user equipment, to transfer the communication session from being served by the terrestrial network node to being served by a non-terrestrial network node;
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
and conducting, by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node, the communication session according to the context information indicated by the context information identifier.
MATSUDA writes, “If it is determined that the base station apparatus as a connection destination is switched, the connection unit 553 of the communication apparatus 50 specifies the timing advance value on the basis of the timing advance information. Then, the connection unit 553 establishes a connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) on the basis of the specified timing advance value” (paragraph 0256). MATSUDA adds, “The switching information includes the timing advance information in addition to the information shown in the first embodiment (e.g., such as resource information and trigger information). The timing advance information is information regarding timing advance for the communication apparatus 50 to connect to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target)” (paragraph 0252).
MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting, by the user equipment to the non-terrestrial network node, the context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial network node to obtain the context information;”
However, in analogous art, AGGARWAL teaches transmitting, by the user equipment to the non-terrestrial network node, the context information identifier to be usable by the non-terrestrial network node to obtain the context information;
AGGARWAL writes, “The UE may send the re-establishment request with the last CRNTI and short-MAC-I on the target network. At the target network node, the UE context can already be present based on the received CRNTI and short-MAC-I…” (paragraph 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA to include aspects described by AGGARWAL that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to fast link failure recovery in wireless communication.” AGGARWAL provides the motivation for modification stating, “Particular aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some examples, by allowing a source network entity to signal a target network entity to prepare the UE context in anticipation of a potential handover when the source network entity detects a link failure with the UE, the target network may prepare the UE context even before it receives fa re-establishment request from the UE. Hence, the described techniques can be used to lower the latency, facilitate the re-establishment of connection, and improve the QoS in wireless communication. In some examples, since the target network is already prepared with the UE context when the UE sends a re-establishment request to the target network, the target network does not need to extract the UE context from the source network, thereby reducing the power consumption and latency to reestablish a connection with the UE” (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 2, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a timing advance value, corresponding to the non-terrestrial network node, usable by the user equipment to establish the communication session with the non-terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “The switching information includes the timing advance information in addition to the information shown in the first embodiment (e.g., such as resource information and trigger information). The timing advance information is information regarding timing advance for the communication apparatus 50 to connect to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target). The information regarding the timing advance can be the timing advance value itself for adjusting the transmission timing of the upstream signal of the communication apparatus 50. The information regarding the timing advance can be calculated by the control unit 23 of the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) on the basis of the movement information of the communication apparatus 50 and the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target). Moreover, the timing advance is disclosed in the specification of Patent Application No. 2017-221278, which is a prior application. This prior application discloses details of timing advance technology for satellite communication” (paragraph 0252).
Regarding claim 3, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the communication session between the user equipment and the terrestrial network node is associated with a session quality of service,
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit 551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then, the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a resource indication indicative of at least one non-terrestrial resource, corresponding to the non-terrestrial network node, usable by the user equipment for the conducting of the communication session with the non-terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “The receiver 555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501)” (paragraph 0204). MATSUDA adds, “...the switching information can include information relating to radio resources (resource information) used for wireless communication with the base station apparatus as a switching destination candidate. In this event, the resource information can be, in one example, information relating to a radio resource for random access preamble transmission (hereinafter referred to as PRACH transmission resource information) or information relating to a preamble sequence (hereinafter referred to as preamble sequence information)” (paragraph 0206).
and wherein the at least one non-terrestrial resource is capable of facilitating the conducting of the communication session by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial network node according to the session quality of service.
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)” (paragraph 0211).
Regarding claim 4, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the user equipment avoids flushing context information corresponding to the communication session.
MATSUDA writes, “...the communication apparatus 50 acquires the switching information in advance from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) before acquiring a handover command from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0201). MATSUDA continues, “The receiver 555 of the communication apparatus 50 receives the switching information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source) (step S501). The receiver 555 then stores the received switching information in the storage unit 52 as the switching information” (paragraph 0204). MATSUDA adds, “...the communication apparatus 50 is capable of switching the base station apparatus as a connection destination without involving the step of transmitting the random access preamble and the step of receiving the timing advance information. This further reduces the number of steps in the handover process, thereby further reducing the possibility of handover failure” (paragraph 0257).
Regarding claim 5, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the user equipment avoids transmitting a random access preamble to the non-terrestrial network node before the conducting of the communication session with the non-terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “...the connection unit 553 of the communication apparatus 50 selects the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 to be the switching destination on the basis of the switching information stored in the storage unit 52. Then, the connection unit 553 of the communication apparatus 50 transmits the random access preamble to the selected non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) (step S804)” (paragraph 0266).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the context information identifier is a user equipment identifier corresponding to the user equipment.
MATSUDA writes, “The UE context is managed by predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base station apparatus” (paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 8, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a non-terrestrial network node identifier, indicative of the non-terrestrial network node, usable by the user equipment to facilitate the transmitting of the context information identifier to the non-terrestrial network node.
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA adds, “...the switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
Regarding claim 9, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 8,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the non-terrestrial network node is a first non-terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “...the acquisition unit 551 acquires, from the base station apparatus connected thereto, the first switching information used to switch the connection to the first base station apparatus (base station apparatus one ahead) to be a switching destination candidate” (paragraph 0304). MATSUDA adds, “...the base station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be, in one example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0308).
wherein the non-terrestrial network node identifier is a first non-terrestrial network node identifier,
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205).
wherein the link recovery configuration further comprises a second non-terrestrial network node identifier corresponding to a second non-terrestrial network node,
MATSUDA writes, “...the second switching information used to switch the connection to the second base station apparatus (base station apparatus two ahead) to be a switching destination candidate after connecting to the first base station apparatus” (paragraph 0304). MATSUDA continues, “...the base station apparatus is not limited to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 and can be, in one example, the terrestrial base station apparatus 30” (paragraph 0308). MATSUDA adds, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205).
and wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the user equipment, a first signal strength corresponding to the first non-terrestrial network node and a second signal strength corresponding to the second non-terrestrial network node;
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit 551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then, the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
and determining, by the user equipment, a higher signal strength of the first signal strength or the second signal strength to result in a determined highest signal strength,
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit 551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then, the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
wherein the context information identifier is transmitted by the user equipment according to the first non-terrestrial network node or to the second non-terrestrial network node according to the determined highest signal strength,
MATSUDA writes, “The “RRC connection setup” is an operation executed when the communication apparatus 50 is connected to the base station apparatus in response to the occurrence of traffic or the like. Specifically, it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context) from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50. The UE context is managed by predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base station apparatus” (paragraph 0133). MATSUDA adds, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination...the trigger information can be a determination threshold value (the first trigger value) relating to the measured value (such as RSRP and RSRQ) of the power received from the connected base station apparatus or can be a difference value between two measured values of power (the second trigger value)” (paragraph 0211).
Additionally, AGGARWAL teaches and wherein the communication session is conducted with the non-terrestrial network node corresponding to the determined highest signal strength.
AGGARWAL writes, “The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (e.g., an AMF 192), other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) (e.g., a UPF 195). The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management” (paragraph 0052). AGGARWAL adds, “FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5C illustrate example aspects of various network architecture examples capable of supporting NTN access...The network architecture 500 is illustrated as further including a core network 510, which may correspond to the core network (e.g., 160, 190, 220) described in connection with FIG. 1 and FIG. 2” (paragraph 0092).
Regarding claim 10, MATSUDA teaches a user equipment (paragraph 0111; figure 9, communication apparatus: 50), comprising:
a processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (paragraph 0112; figure 9, reception processor: 511, transmission processor: 512), comprising:
establishing, with a terrestrial radio network node, a communication session, according to a context;
MATSUDA writes, “The handover process is now described with reference to FIG. 14. The handover process described below is executed in the case where the connection between the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) and the communication apparatus 50 is established” (paragraph 0191). MATSUDA adds, “...it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context) from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0133).
receiving, from the terrestrial radio network node, a link recovery configuration comprising context information corresponding to the context;
MATSUDA writes, “The handover process is now described with reference to FIG. 14. The handover process described below is executed in the case where the connection between the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) and the communication apparatus 50 is established” (paragraph 0191). MATSUDA adds, “...it is an operation of delivering information regarding the connection (e.g., UE context) from the base station apparatus to the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0133).
determining to transfer the communication session from the terrestrial radio network node to a non-terrestrial radio network node;
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
and conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the context.
MATSUDA writes, “If it is determined that the base station apparatus as a connection destination is switched, the connection unit 553 of the communication apparatus 50 specifies the timing advance value on the basis of the timing advance information. Then, the connection unit 553 establishes a connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) on the basis of the specified timing advance value” (paragraph 0256). MATSUDA adds, “The switching information includes the timing advance information in addition to the information shown in the first embodiment (e.g., such as resource information and trigger information). The timing advance information is information regarding timing advance for the communication apparatus 50 to connect to the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target)” (paragraph 0252).
MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting, to the non-terrestrial radio network node, a session transfer request message that comprises the context information to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to facilitate the communication session;”
However, in analogous art, AGGARWAL teaches transmitting, to the non-terrestrial radio network node, a session transfer request message that comprises the context information to be usable by the non-terrestrial radio network node to facilitate the communication session;
AGGARWAL writes, “The UE may send the re-establishment request with the last CRNTI and short-MAC-I on the target network. At the target network node, the UE context can already be present based on the received CRNTI and short-MAC-I…” (paragraph 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA to include aspects described by AGGARWAL that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to fast link failure recovery in wireless communication.” AGGARWAL provides the motivation for modification stating, “Particular aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some examples, by allowing a source network entity to signal a target network entity to prepare the UE context in anticipation of a potential handover when the source network entity detects a link failure with the UE, the target network may prepare the UE context even before it receives fa re-establishment request from the UE. Hence, the described techniques can be used to lower the latency, facilitate the re-establishment of connection, and improve the QoS in wireless communication. In some examples, since the target network is already prepared with the UE context when the UE sends a re-establishment request to the target network, the target network does not need to extract the UE context from the source network, thereby reducing the power consumption and latency to reestablish a connection with the UE” (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 11, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the terrestrial radio network node is a serving terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “The ‘handover’ is an operation of switching the connection from a connected cell (a serving cell) to a cell adjacent to the cell (a neighbor cell) due to changes in the radio environment such as the movement of the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0139).
wherein the non-terrestrial radio network node is a determined non-terrestrial radio network node of a set of at least one non-terrestrial radio network node, with which the user equipment is capable of communicating,
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)” (paragraph 0211).
wherein the link recovery configuration comprises at least one non-terrestrial radio network node identifier associated with the set of at least one non-terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA continues, “...the switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
and wherein the determining to transfer the communication session from the serving terrestrial radio network node to the determined non-terrestrial radio network node further comprises:
MATSUDA writes, “...the determination unit 552 of the communication apparatus 50 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination on the basis of the measured value of the received power (step S704). In the case where the base station apparatus as a connection destination is determined not to be switched, the communication apparatus 50 maintains the connection with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (source)” (paragraph 0255).
determining that a communication link between the user equipment and the serving terrestrial radio network node corresponding to the communication session has failed;
MATSUDA writes, “...in the case where the acquisition unit 551 is incapable of acquiring the system information necessary for establishing the link, the control unit 55 of the communication apparatus 50 determines that access to the cell is barred. In one example, in the case where both the first system information and the second system information fail to be acquired, the control unit 55 determines that access to the cell is barred. In this case, the control unit 55 terminates the initial connection process” (paragraph 0129).
determining a nonexistence of terrestrial radio network nodes, other than the serving terrestrial radio network node, that is able to facilitate the communication session with respect to the user equipment;
MATSUDA writes, “...the switching information can include trigger information used by the communication apparatus 50 to discriminate whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination. In this event, the trigger information can be information that is used for the communication apparatus 50 to determine whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination using the information of the received power (e.g., such as RSRP and RSRQ)” (paragraph 0211).
and determining that the determined non-terrestrial radio network node corresponds to a higher signal strength measurement than at least one signal strength measurement corresponding to the set of the at least one non-terrestrial radio network node.
MATSUDA writes, “The source and target terrestrial base station apparatuses 30 each transmit a reference signal used for measuring the received signal (steps S402a and S402b). The acquisition unit 551 of the communication apparatus 50 measures the received power on the basis of the measurement configuration (MC) included in the measurement control information and acquires the measured value obtained by measuring the received power (step S403). The measured value of the received power is, in one example, reference signal received power (RRSP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Then, the transmitter 556 of the communication apparatus 50 sends a measured result (MR) of the received power to the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) in accordance with the condition described in the measurement configuration (MC) (step S404)” (paragraph 0193). MATSUDA continues, “The control unit 34 of the terrestrial base station apparatus 30 (source) receives the measured result (MR) from the communication apparatus 50. Then, the control unit 34 determines whether or not to switch the base station apparatus as a connection destination of the communication apparatus 50 on the basis of the measured result (MR) (step S405)” (paragraph 0194).
Regarding claim 12, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the context information comprises a context identifier indicative of the context.
MATSUDA writes, “The UE context is managed by predetermined communication apparatus identification information (e.g., C-RNTI) indicated by the base station apparatus” (paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 14, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the user equipment of claim 10,
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the link recovery configuration comprises at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource indication indicative of at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource usable by the user equipment to facilitate communication with the non-terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “In one example, the switching information is information such as a cell ID of the base station apparatus as a handover destination candidate…” (paragraph 0205). MATSUDA continues, “...the switching information can include resource information of each of the plurality of base station apparatuses as switching destination candidates” (paragraph 0210).
Additionally, AGGARWAL teaches and wherein the session transfer request message is transmitted via the at least one non-terrestrial uplink resource.
AGGARWAL writes, “The UE may send the re-establishment request with the last CRNTI and short-MAC-I on the target network... a potential target network node (e.g., such as a potential neighbor NTN cell)…” (paragraph 0113).
Claims 16 and 19 are memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 10-11 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 10-11. Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under the same rational as claims 10-11.
Claims 17 and 20 are memory claims corresponding to the method claims 2-3 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 2-3. Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 2-3.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA and AGGARWAL as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LEE, et al. (US 20250126673 A1, hereinafter, "LEE").
Regarding claim 7, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the method of claim 1,
MATSUDA and AGGARWAL fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the context information identifier is a session identifier corresponding to the communication session.”
However, in analogous art, LEE teaches wherein the context information identifier is a session identifier corresponding to the communication session.
LEE writes, “The context information may include information such as...an identifier of one or more other network elements associated with UE 105 and/or the communication session (e.g., an identifier of SMF 107, a communication session endpoint such as a User Plane Function (“UPF”) ...” (paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA and AGGARWAL to include aspects described by LEE that “maintain User Equipment (“UE”) context information associated with one or more communication sessions between a particular UE and a wireless network, and may detect that one or more triggering events have occurred with respect to the particular UE or the one or more communication sessions.” LEE provides the motivation for modification stating, “Embodiments described herein provide for a robust mechanism by which a UE information repository (e.g., UDM/UDR 103) may confirm that context information, maintained by the UE information repository, is up-to-date and/or accurate, thus providing a backup mechanism for removing context information that is no longer accurate. Such techniques may conserve resources of UDM/UDR 103, thus improving the operation of UDM/UDR 103 and network 101 as a whole” (paragraph 0014).
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA and AGGARWAL as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, and further in view of CUI, et al. (US 20230239719 A1, hereinafter, "CUI").
Regarding claim 13, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the user equipment of claim 10,
MATSUDA and AGGARWAL fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the context comprises avoiding performance of random access with respect to the non-terrestrial radio network node.”
However, in analogous art, CUI teaches wherein the conducting, with the non-terrestrial radio network node, the communication session according to the context comprises avoiding performance of random access with respect to the non-terrestrial radio network node.
CUI writes, “For example, in an NTN system, a UE may be configured...to avoid performing random access on uplink (UL) band n14…” (paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA and AGGARWAL to include aspects described by CUI that “relates to devices and components including apparatus, systems, and methods for non-terrestrial network communication in wireless communication systems.” CUI provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the network may configure a measurement gap or other protection time gap in accordance with the GNSS measurement occasion information provided by the UE. Within such a measurement gap or protection time gap, the UE may be permitted to mute transmit signals, or otherwise to reduce transmission power, on the GNSS-interfering band” (paragraph 0083).
Claim 18 is a memory claim corresponding to the method claim 4 and the apparatus claim 13 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 4 and 13. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claims 4 and 13.
Additionally, MATSUDA teaches wherein the session transfer request message is transmitted according to the timing advance associated with the determined non-terrestrial radio network node,
MATSUDA writes, “Then, the connection unit 553 receives a random access response (Msg2) including the timing advance information from the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) (step S506). Then, the connection unit 553 synchronizes with the non-terrestrial base station apparatus 20 (target) on the basis of the received information” (paragraph 0215). MATSUDA explains, “The message (Msg3) includes an RRC message for a radio resource control (RRC) connection request. In addition, the message (Msg3) includes the identifier of the communication apparatus 50” (paragraph 0146). MATSUDA indicates Msg2 synchronizes with the non-terrestrial base station, including the timing advance, before Msg 3 is transferred.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA and AGGARWAL as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of SHARMA, et al. (US 20240314664 A1, hereinafter, "SHARMA").
Regarding claim 15, MATSUDA and AGGARWAL teach the user equipment of claim 10,
MATSUDA and AGGARWAL fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the user equipment is an extended reality appliance.”
However, in analogous art, SHARMA teaches wherein the user equipment is an extended reality appliance.
SHARMA writes, “...it is expected that future wireless communications networks will be expected to efficiently support communications with devices including...virtual reality headsets and so on” (paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MATSUDA and AGGARWAL to include aspects described by SHARMA that “relates generally to wireless communications networks, and specifically to methods and devices for handling the transmission of uplink data more efficiently.” SHARMA provides the motivation for modification stating, “Non-terrestrial networks may provide service in areas that cannot be covered by terrestrial cellular networks (i.e. those where coverage is provided by means of land-based antennas), such as isolated or remote areas, on board aircraft or vessels) or may provide enhanced service in other areas. The expanded coverage that may be achieved by means of non-terrestrial networks may provide service continuity for machine-to-machine (M2M) or ‘internet of things’ (IoT) devices, or for passengers on board moving platforms (e.g. passenger vehicles such as aircraft, ships, high speed trains, or buses). Other benefits may arise from the use of non-terrestrial networks for providing multicast/broadcast resources for data delivery” (paragraph 0008).
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 1/9/2026
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475