DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see Page 11, Amendment to Specification, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to specification in Office Action of 12/10/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Page 11, Claim Objections, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to claims 4-7 and 15-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to said claims in Office Action of 12/10/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of objection is made below in view of claims 4 and 20.
Applicant’s amendments, see Page 11, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), filed 05/11/2026, with respect to claims 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of said claims in Office Action of 12/10/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 102, and Pages 12-13, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of said claims in Office Action of 12/10/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference US-2021/0325602-A1.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 4, lines 1-2 will be read as “The integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical [[components comprise:”
In Claim 20, the only sentence therein will be read as “The integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 8, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical components include [[mode-selective filters, wherein the mode-selective filters filter out transverse-magnetic (TM) mode.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2021/0325602 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Chung discloses an integrated photonics optical gyroscope (Figure 1: element 100 is a fiber sensor; [0026] “fiber sensor 100 can be a fiber-optic gyroscope”), comprising:
a front-end chip (Figures 1 and 2: element 3 is an integrated biplane optical sensing core chip; [0026]) to launch light into and receive light from a rotation sensing element (Figure 1: element 4 is an optical-sensing path; [0026]), the front-end chip (Figures 1 and 2: element 3 is an integrated biplane optical sensing core chip; [0026]) comprising a plurality of waveguide-based optical components (Figures 1 and 2: element 32 is a first waveguide structure [0026]; element 33 is a second waveguide structure [0026]; element 322 is a first branch portion [0028]; element 332 is a second branch portion [0029]) fabricated on a material platform (Figures 1 and 2: element 31 is a non-linear optical substrate; [0026]) having electro-optic properties (Figures 1 and 2; [0026] “non-linear optical substrate 31 may comprise, but is not limited to, a lithium niobate optical substrate, a lithium tantalate optical substrate and a potassium titanyl phosphate optical substrate, or other non-linear optical substrate composed of material with nonlinear characteristics”).
Regarding Claim 2, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, wherein the material platform (Figures 1 and 2: element 31 is a non-linear optical substrate; [0026]) having electro-optic properties comprises: single crystalline or poly-crystalline lithium niobate platform (Figures 1 and 2; [0026] “non-linear optical substrate 31 may comprise, …, a lithium niobate optical substrate”).
Regarding Claim 3, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, wherein the material platform (Figures 1 and 2: element 31 is a non-linear optical substrate; [0026]) having electro-optic properties comprises: single crystalline or poly-crystalline lithium tantalate platform (Figures 1 and 2; [0026] “non-linear optical substrate 31 may comprise, …, …, a lithium tantalate optical substrate”).
Regarding Claim 8, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical components include one or more from: optical splitters (Figures 1 and 2: element 322 is a first branch portion [0028]; element 332 is a second branch portion [0029]), directional couplers, input couplers (Figure 2: element 3213 is a second coupling portion; [0028]), output couplers (Figure 2: elements 3313, 3314 are coupling portions; [0029] “a fifth coupling portion 3313 and a sixth coupling portion 3314”), and mode-selective filters.
Regarding Claim 17, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, wherein the rotation sensing element (Figure 1: element 4 is an optical-sensing path; [0026]) is a waveguide coil or a microresonator ring (Figure 1; [0026] “optical-sensing path 4 may be a ring optical fiber, an optical fiber coil or an optical waveguide loop”).
Regarding Claim 19, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 8, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical components include optical splitters (Figures 1 and 2: element 322 is a first branch portion [0028]; element 332 is a second branch portion [0029]), wherein the optical splitters are 2
×
2 splitters (Figure 2: waveguide coupled fiber element 34 has 2 Y-branches) or multi-mode interference (MMI)-based devices (moot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2021/0325602 A1) in view of Paniccia (US 2021/0140768 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, and the plurality of waveguide-based optical components (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the plurality of waveguide-based optical components comprise:
at least one phase shifter coupled to one of a first end or a second end of the rotation sensing element.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the plurality of waveguide-based optical components (Figure 1; [0033] “waveguide based components on front-end chip 100”) comprise:
at least one phase shifter (Figure 1: element 120 is a phase modulator/ phase shifter; [0036]) coupled to one of a first end or a second end of the rotation sensing element (Figure 1; [0036] “incorporated in one or both of the two output branches … for coupling out to the SiN waveguide based sensing chip with a sensing coil/ring resonator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical components comprise: at least one phase shifter coupled to one of a first end or a second end of the rotation sensing element, because by placing the phase shifter in the common path (typically on an integrated optical chip connected to the start of the sensing coil), it modulates both clockwise and counter-clockwise beams asymmetrically, allowing it to manipulate the signal without introducing false rotation errors.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 4, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach:
an additional phase shifter fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a piezo-electric material on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches an additional phase shifter (Figure 5B: element 522 is an additional phase shifter; [0044]) fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a piezo-electric material ([0044] “accomplished thru depositing metal or PZT material”) on top of the material platform (Figure 5B: element 500B is a second layer of silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform; [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, for an additional phase shifter fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a piezo-electric material on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties, because this technique can achieve homogeneous linewidth broadening, meaning the entire spectral line is widened uniformly.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 4, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach:
an additional phase shifter fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a metallic heater on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches an additional phase shifter (Figure 1: element 122 is a phase modulator/ phase shifter; [0036]) fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a metallic heater (Figure 1; [0036] “a high-speed modulator (… 122 a) and a thermal modulator (… 122 b)”) on top of the material platform ([0010] “fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, for an additional phase shifter fabricated by depositing, growing or bonding a metallic heater on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties, to control and manipulate the exact phase of counter-propagating light waves via the thermo-optic effect.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 4, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach:
an additional phase shifter fabricated by growing, wafer-bonding or attaching III-V compound semiconductor material on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches an additional phase shifter fabricated by growing, wafer-bonding or attaching III-V compound semiconductor material ([0012] “the phase shifter can be fabricated by growing, wafer-bonding or attaching III-V compound semiconductor material”) on top of the material platform ([0010] “on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, for an additional phase shifter fabricated by growing, wafer-bonding or attaching III-V compound semiconductor material on top of the material platform having electro-optic properties, because III-V compounds offer a significantly larger change in the refractive index per applied voltage than pure silicon, which allows phase shifters to be much shorter, resulting in a compact footprint suitable for micro-optical gyroscopes.
Regarding Claim 9, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that a semiconductor light source is hybridly integrated or coupled with the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that a semiconductor light source ([0034] “The light source can be a semiconductor laser”) is hybridly integrated ([0007] “External elements (e.g., laser, detectors, phase shifter etc.) … can be hybridly integrated to the SiN waveguide platform”) or coupled (Figure 1; [0034] “a light source (not shown in FIG. 1, but similar to laser 201 in FIG. 2) is coupled to the integrated photonics front-end chip 100 via a fiber”) with the material platform ([0010] “on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, such that a semiconductor light source is hybridly integrated or coupled with the material platform having electro-optic properties, because semiconductor sources are tiny, solid-state components which makes it possible to build fully integrated, chip-scale interferometric optical gyroscopes that fit into extremely compact spaces.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 9, wherein one or more photodetectors (Figure 1: element 2 is a detector; [0026]) are hybridly integrated or coupled (Figure 1; [0026] “the detector 2 … connected to the integrated biplane optical sensing core chip 3 via … a detector fiber 21”) with the material platform (Figures 1 and 2: element 31 is a non-linear optical substrate; [0026]) having electro-optic properties (Figures 1 and 2; [0026] “non-linear optical substrate 31 may comprise, but is not limited to, a lithium niobate optical substrate, a lithium tantalate optical substrate and a potassium titanyl phosphate optical substrate, or other non-linear optical substrate composed of material with nonlinear characteristics”).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 10, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the semiconductor light source and the one or more photodetectors are integrated on a common substrate which is then coupled to the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the semiconductor light source (Figure 6A: element 501 is a laser; [0044]) and the one or more photodetectors (Figure 6A: element 538 is a Sagnac detector; [0044]) are integrated on a common substrate (Figure 6A; [0044] “supported by the same substrate in module 600”) which is then coupled to the material platform (Figure 6A; [0044] “the same substrate in module 600 which is then aligned to the layer 500A of the SiN die”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, such that the semiconductor light source and the one or more photodetectors are integrated on a common substrate which is then coupled to the material platform having electro-optic properties, because “This design also automatically isolates the Sagnac detector from unwanted stray light that may leak into the substrate of layer 500A.” (Paniccia, para 44)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 11, but does not specifically teach that the common substrate is wafer-bonded or flip-chip bonded with the front-end chip.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the common substrate (Figures 8A-8B: element 600 is a laser and detector module; [0049]) is wafer-bonded or flip-chip bonded with the front-end chip ([0049] “FIGS. 8A-8B show (top view 800A and side view 800B respectively) that the laser and detector module 600 is bonded or grown on top of the first SiN layer 500A”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, wherein the common substrate is wafer-bonded or flip-chip bonded with the front-end chip, because “As shown in FIG. 8B, the first SiN layer 500A and the second SiN layer 500B may be vertically separated by a layer 802 which helps in evanescent coupling between the layers 500A and 500B.” (Paniccia, para 49)
Regarding Claim 13, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 12, but does not specifically teach that the common substrate is self-aligned or coupled with the front-end chip.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the common substrate (Figure 6A; [0044] “the same substrate in module 600”) is self-aligned or coupled with the front-end chip (Figure 6A; [0023] “a common substrate for self-aligned coupling with the integrated photonics components in the first layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, wherein the common substrate is self-aligned or coupled with the front-end chip, because self-alignment techniques guarantee maximum optical power reaches the front-end chip.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 9, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the semiconductor light source is selectively grown on the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the semiconductor light source ([0034] “The light source can be a semiconductor laser”; Figures 8A-8B: element 600 is a laser and detector module; [0049]) is selectively grown on the material platform ([0049] “FIGS. 8A-8B show (top view 800A and side view 800B respectively) that the laser and detector module 600 is bonded or grown on top of the first SiN layer 500A”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, such that the semiconductor light source is selectively grown on the material platform having electro-optic properties, because this ensures highly efficient light transfer, preventing the optical power loss that usually happens when trying to align separate lasers and fibers.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 10, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the one or more photodetectors is selectively grown on the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the one or more photodetectors (Figures 8A-8B: element 600 is a laser and detector module; [0049]) is selectively grown on the material platform ([0049] “FIGS. 8A-8B show (top view 800A and side view 800B respectively) that the laser and detector module 600 is bonded or grown on top of the first SiN layer 500A”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, such that the one or more photodetectors is selectively grown on the material platform having electro-optic properties, because this ensures a highly efficient coupling of the Sagnac interference light into electrical current.
Regarding Claim 18, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 17, and the material platform having electro-optic properties (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the waveguide coil or the microresonator ring is fabricated on the material platform having electro-optic properties.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the waveguide coil (Figure 2: element 205 is a waveguide based sensing coil; [0037]) or the microresonator ring (moot) is fabricated on the material platform (Figure 2: element 200 is a separate SiN waveguide-based sensing chip; [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, such that the waveguide coil is fabricated on the material platform having electro-optic properties, because this enables monolithic integration of the optical sensing coil and the phase modulator onto a single chip, which significantly shrinks the gyroscope's size and weight while allowing for active phase modulation using applied voltages (the Pockels effect) to bias the system and extract Sagnac phase shifts.
Regarding Claim 20, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 8, but does not specifically teach that the plurality of waveguide-based optical components include mode-selective filters, wherein the mode-selective filters filter out transverse-magnetic (TM) mode.
However, Paniccia, in the same field of integrated photonics optical gyroscopes, teaches that the plurality of waveguide-based optical components (Figure 1; [0033] “waveguide based components on front-end chip 100”) include mode-selective filters (Figure 1: elements 160, 162, 164, 166 are mode-selective filters; [0036]), wherein the mode-selective filters filter out transverse-magnetic (TM) mode ([0036] “mode-selective filters (such as TM filters which filters out most of the transverse-magnetic (TM) mode while passing transverse-electric (TE) mode)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Paniccia, wherein the plurality of waveguide-based optical components include mode-selective filters, wherein the mode-selective filters filter out transverse-magnetic (TM) mode, because this ensures single-polarization operation, which is vital to maintain extreme rotational measurement accuracy and prevent signal distortion caused by modal dispersion and polarization cross-talk.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2021/0325602 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 10,989,535 B1).
Regarding Claim 16, Chung discloses the integrated photonics optical gyroscope of claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the rotation sensing element is a fiber spool.
However, Kim, in the same field of fiber-optic gyroscope (FOG) systems, teaches that the rotation sensing element is a fiber spool (Figure 1: element 18 is a FOG; [Column 4, lines 28-29] “FOG 18 can include a single optical fiber that is wound around a spool”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gyroscope of Chung with the teachings of Kim, wherein the rotation sensing element is a fiber spool, because “optical beams OPT1 and OPT2 can each propagate through the FOG 18 and can each be output at the opposite one of the I/ O connections 20 and 22 without interference of the photons of the counter-propagating optical beams OPT1 and OPT2.” (Kim, Column 4, lines 49-53)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-2024/0183663-A1 discloses a compact optical gyroscope built from a photonic integrated circuit chip and a printed circuit board. The chip contains the optical parts that guide and measure light, while the board contains the electronics that control and read the sensor. A laser sends light into the chip, where the light is routed through waveguides, split into two paths, and made to circulate in a ring resonator. The device compares light traveling in opposite directions so it can detect rotation using the Sagnac effect. The chip also includes isolators, polarizers, and vertical Bragg grating couplers to manage light entering and leaving the chip. The electronics on the board include waveform generators, lock-in amplifiers, a controller, and a processor to stabilize and interpret the signal. The optical parts are built in aligned layers so the components stay fixed relative to each other. The design also uses flip-chip bonding and wire bonding to connect the laser and photodetectors to the chip and board.
US-2019/0049249-A1 discloses an optical gyroscope that uses light moving around a ring resonator to measure rotation. It sends two light beams through the system, one at a time, rather than letting them travel together in opposite directions at the same time. A switching pathway with optical switches is controlled so that one beam is routed during one time interval and the other beam is routed during another interval. A detector loop later re-times the beams, combines them, and creates an interference pattern. The interference pattern is used to determine rotation based on the frequency difference caused by the Sagnac effect. The approach is intended to reduce lock-in and other counter-propagating beam interaction effects. The design can include an optical amplifier to offset optical loss in the switching path. A phase modulator can also be used to compensate temperature-related drift. The gyroscope may be integrated with readout circuitry on a substrate, including in a compact package.
US-2016/0202063-A1 discloses an optical gyroscope that measures rotation by sending light around a ring and comparing the returning beams. The main goal is to reduce optical loss so the device needs less laser power and uses less energy. In a basic gyroscope, light often loses power when it passes through beam splitters and polarizers multiple times. Here, the inventors replace or rearrange those parts with polarization-selective devices and a polarization rotator so the light can travel into and out of the ring with much less loss. The ring can be an optical fiber loop or another optical ring configuration. The system sends input light through a first polarization-selective device, rotates the polarization by 45 degrees, and then splits the light into two orthogonally polarized beams that travel in opposite directions around the ring. After the beams recombine, the returned light carries rotation information and is routed back through the first device to a detector with little attenuation. The detector signal is then processed to determine the rotation rate.
Contact Information
/AKBAR H. RIZVI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877