DETAILED ACTION
Summary of Response
The 03/09/2026 response includes: (a) claims 1, 9 and 16 are currently amended; (b) claims 2-7, 10-14 and 17-19 are original; (c) claims 8, 15 and 20 are canceled; and (d) the grounds for rejection set forth in the 11/07/2025 office action are traversed. Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-19 are currently pending and an office action follows:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/09/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-19 have been fully considered and: (i) are persuasive with respect to the rejection of all of these claims based on primary reference Hoshtanar; and (ii) are not persuasive as to claims 9-14 based on primary reference Reynolds. Thus, applicant’s arguments with respect to Hostanar are moot, while applicant does not set forth arguments with respect to Reynolds. Finally, new claim objections are set forth below for claims 16-19.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 at lines 10-12 includes the limitation “wherein a second portion of the first floating conductive element overlaps the first electrode and is formed over a full second width of the second electrode” (emphasis added) to correct a typo in which “the first electrode” should be “the second electrode” as is included in the other independent claims, i.e., claims 1 and 16. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 17-19 that depend upon claim 16.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0175671 A1 to Reynolds in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0113047 A1 to Hanauer et al. (“Hanauer”).
As to claim 9, Reynolds discloses a method of detecting an object (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0018-0019, 0022, 0093) above a first gap(spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) between first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) formed from a first conductive material(802s in far left and second from far left columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) on a first layer (FIG. 8A; ¶0081, especially – “substrate”) in a touch sensor panel (FIG. 8A; ¶0081), the first gap(spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) separating the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and defining a first area(spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) between the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), and wherein the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) are configured for capacitance sensing (FIG. 8A: 802 at far left of top row, 802 at second from far left of top row; ¶¶0081, 0083), the method (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0022) comprising:
diffusing signal capacitance (FIG. 8A: 801 at far left of top row; ¶¶0043-0044, 0081) to the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) by capacitively coupling (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0022) a diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) with the object (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0018-0019, 0022, 0093) and the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), the diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) formed from a second conductive material1(801s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) on a second layer (¶0082, especially – “insulator layer”) formed over the first layer(FIG. 8A; ¶0081, especially – “substrate”), and formed entirely above the first area(spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) between the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), wherein a first portion(left side portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps 802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) of the diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) overlaps the first electrode(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and is formed over less than a full first width of the first electrode(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), wherein a second portion(right side portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps 802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) of the diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) overlaps the second electrode(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and is formed over less than a full second width of the second electrode(802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), wherein a third portion(central portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) of the diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) overlaps the first gap(spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), and wherein a width of the first portion(left side portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps 802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), a width of the second portion(right side portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps 802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), and a width of the third portion are uniform(central portion of 801 at far left of top row that overlaps spacing between 802 at far left of top row and 802 at second from far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081); and
detecting the object (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0018-0019, 0022, 0093) based on the capacitive coupling between the object (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0018-0019, 0022, 0093), the diffusing element(801 at far left of top row or all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081).
Reynolds does not expressly disclose and wherein the first and second electrodes are configured for self-capacitance sensing.
Hanauer discloses and wherein the first(X7)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and second electrodes(X6)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) are configured for self-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and mutual-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047-0049).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiments of Reynolds with Hanauer to provide a method of detecting an object that: (i) unambiguously detects one or more objects in contact or proximity with the touch sensor panel (¶0002); (ii) detects touch object(s) with a better response time (¶¶0048-0049) and; (ii) is able to detect proximity touch input further away from the touch electrodes than mutual capacitance touch sensing can.
As to claim 10, Reynolds and Hanauer teach the method of claim 9, as applied above.
Reynolds further discloses the touch sensor panel (FIG. 8A; ¶0081) further including third(802s in far right and second from far right columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and fourth electrodes(802 at far right of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) separated by a second gap(spacing between 802 at second from far right of top row and 802 at far right of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and formed on a third layer2 (FIG. 8A; ¶0081, especially – “substrate”), the method (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0022) further comprising:
diffusing signal capacitance (FIG. 8A: 801 at far right of top row; ¶¶0043-0044, 0081) to the third(802s in far right and second from far right columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and fourth electrodes(802 at far right of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) by capacitively coupling the diffusing element(801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) with the object (FIG. 8A: touch object touching 801 at far right of top row; Abstract; ¶¶0018-0019, 0043-0044, 0081, 0093 - object may be detected with third and fourth electrodes, for example, at a different time from when the object is detected by the first and second electrodes), and with one or more of the first, second, third(802s in far right and second from far right columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and fourth electrodes(802 at far right of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081); and
detecting the object (Abstract; ¶¶0014-0015, 0018-0019, 0022, 0043-0044, 0081, 0093) based on the capacitive coupling between the object (FIG. 8A: touch object touching 801 at far right of top row; ¶¶0018-0019, 0043-0044, 0081, 0093), the diffusing element (801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081), and one or more of the first, second, third(802s in far right and second from far right columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and fourth electrodes(802 at far right of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081).
As to claim 11, Reynolds and Hanauer teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Reynolds and Hanauer further teach wherein the first and second electrodes are sense electrodes (Reynolds: FIG. 8A: 802 at far left and 802 second from far left of top row; ¶0081; Hanauer: FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058 – electrodes configured to detect self-capacitance are inherently each a drive electrode and a sense electrode) and the third and fourth electrodes are drive electrodes (Reynolds: FIG. 8A: 802 at far right and 802 second from far right of top row; ¶0081; Hanauer: FIG. 2: Y7, Y6; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Hanauer is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 9.
As to claim 12, Reynolds and Hanauer teach the method of claim 9, as applied above.
Reynolds further discloses wherein the first floating conductive element(all 801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) further comprises a plurality of electrically isolated diffusing elements(801s in top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) adjacent to one another (FIG. 8A: 801s in top row; ¶0081).
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0175671 A1 to Reynolds in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0113047 A1 to Hanauer et al. (“Hanauer”) as applied to claim 9 above, in view of
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0075201 A1 to Golovchenko et al. (“Golovchenko”).
As to claim 13, Reynolds and Hanauer teach the method of claim 9, as applied above.
Reynolds further discloses wherein: the first conductive material(802s in far left and second from far left columns of 802s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) comprises a first transparent or semi-transparent conductive material (FIG. 8A: 802s in far left and second from far left columns of 802s; ¶¶0046, especially – “ITO (indium tix oxide)”, 0081); the second conductive material(801s)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081).
Reynolds and Hanauer do not expressly disclose the second conductive material comprises a second transparent or semi-transparent conductive material, the method comprising: matching an index of refraction of the second conductive material to an index of refraction of the first conductive material.
Golovchenko further discloses wherein: the first conductive material (FIGs. 2-3: 204; ¶0023) comprises a first transparent or semi-transparent conductive material (FIGs. 2-3: 204; ¶0023, especially – “indium tin oxide”); the second conductive material (FIGs. 2, 4: 208, 212; ¶¶0023, especially – “indium tin oxide (ITO)”; 0030, especially – “ITO”) comprises a second transparent or semi-transparent conductive material (FIGs. 2, 4: 208, 212; ¶¶0023, especially – “indium tin oxide (ITO)”; 0030, especially – “ITO”), the method comprising: matching an index of refraction of the second conductive material (FIGs. 2, 4: 208, 212; ¶¶0023, especially – “indium tin oxide (ITO)”; 0030, especially – “ITO”) to an index of refraction of the first conductive material (FIGs. 2-3: 204; ¶0023).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reynolds and Hanauer with Golovchenko to provide a method of detecting an object that uses a touch sensor panel having a simplified fabrication (i.e., by using a same material for the first and second conductive materials).
8. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0175671 A1 to Reynolds in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0113047 A1 to Hanauer et al. (“Hanauer”) as applied to claim 9 above, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0225850 A1 to Hristov et al. (“Hristov”).
As to claim 14, Reynolds and Hanauer teach the method of claim 9, as applied above.
Reynolds further discloses driving of the first(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) and second electrodes(802 at far left of top row)(FIG. 8A; ¶0081) with a stimulation signal for mutual capacitance sensing (FIG. 8A: 802, 803, 804; ¶¶0025, 0081-0084).
Reynolds and Hanauer do not expressly discloses further comprising driving one of the first and second electrodes with a stimulation signal and sensing a change in capacitance on the other of the first and second electrodes for mutual capacitance sensing.
Hristov discloses further comprising driving one of the first(first from top of 415s)(FIGs. 4A, 4C; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28) and second electrodes(second from top of 415s)(FIGs. 4A, 4C; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28) with a stimulation signal (FIGs. 4A, 4C: first and second from top of 415s; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28) and sensing a change in capacitance on the other of the first(first from top of 415s)(FIGs. 4A, 4C; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28) and second electrodes(second from top of 415s)(FIGs. 4A, 4C; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28) for mutual capacitance sensing (FIGs. 4A, 4C: first and second from top of 415s; ¶¶0041, 0044; claim 28)3.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reynolds and Hanauer with Hristov to provide a method of detecting an object that more accurately detects touch inputs.
Allowed Claims/Potentially Allowed Claims
9. Claims 1-7 are allowed. As to claims 16-19 if the above claim objections are overcome, then they too would be allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
10. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Independent claim 1 identifies the distinct features: “wherein a width of the first portion(FIG. 9C: top portion of 915 not overlapping gap), a width of the second portion(FIG. 9C: bottom portion of 915 not overlapping gap), and a width of the third portion(FIG. 9C: middle portion of 915 overlapping gap) are uniform”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent No. 9,495,050 B1 to Hoshtanar et al. (“Hoshtanar”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0113047 A1 to Hanauer et al. (“Hanauer”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 1, Hoshtanar discloses a touch sensor panel (FIGs. 2, 5, 7A-7B; col 4, ln 46-49; col 7, ln 51-52; col 9, ln 11, 63-64) comprising:
a first layer of first conductive material(material forming 501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) including a first electrode(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), a second electrode(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), and a first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) separating the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and free of the first conductive material(material forming 501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), wherein the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) are configured for capacitance sensing (FIGs. 5, 7A-7B: 501-502; col 8, ln 4-14); and
a second layer of second conductive material4(material forming 531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) including a first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34), the second layer(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) formed over the first layer(layer including 501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61);
wherein the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) defines a first area(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) between the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61);
wherein the first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34) is formed above the first area(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) between the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), and entirely above the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), and is configured to diffuse signal capacitance (FIGs. 5, 7A-7B: 531; col 8, ln 4-13) with the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) for touch sensing (col 8, ln 3-13);
wherein a first portion(portion of 531 above 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34) overlaps the first electrode(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and is formed over less than a full first width of the first electrode(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61);
wherein a second portion(portion of 531 above 501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34) overlaps the second electrode(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and is formed over less than a full second width of the second electrode(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61);
wherein a third portion(portion of 531 above gap between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34) overlaps the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61);
wherein a width of the first portion(portion of 531 above 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13), a width of the second portion(portion of 531 above 501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) are uniform.
Hoshtanar does not expressly disclose wherein the first and second electrodes are configured for self-capacitance sensing; wherein a width of the first portion, a width of the second portion, and a width of the third portion are uniform.
Hanauer discloses and wherein the first(X7)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and second electrodes(X6)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) are configured for self-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and mutual-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047-0049).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoshtanar with Hanauer to provide a touch sensor panel that: (i) unambiguously detects one or more objects in contact or proximity with the touch sensor panel (¶0002); (ii) detects touch object(s) with a better response time (¶¶0048-0049) and; (ii) is able to detect proximity touch input further away from the touch electrodes.
Hoshtanar and Hanauer do not teach the above underlined limitations.
Independent claim 16 identifies the distinct features: “wherein a width of the first portion(FIG. 9C: top portion of 915 not overlapping gap), a width of the second portion(FIG. 9C: bottom portion of 915 not overlapping gap), and a width of the third portion(FIG. 9C: middle portion of 915 overlapping gap) are uniform”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent No. 9,495,050 B1 to Hoshtanar et al. (“Hoshtanar”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0113047 A1 to Hanauer et al. (“Hanauer”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 16, Hoshtanar discloses a touch sensor panel (FIGs. 2, 5, 7A-7B; col 4, ln 46-49; col 7, ln 51-52; col 9, ln 11, 63-64) comprising:
a first plurality of touch electrodes(501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) formed in a first layer of first conductive material(material forming 501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), the first plurality of touch electrodes(501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) including first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and second touch electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) having a first gap therebetween(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) that is free of the first conductive material(material forming 501-503)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), and wherein the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and second touch electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) are configured for capacitance sensing (FIGs. 5, 7A-7B: 501-502; col 8, ln 4-14);
a first floating conductive element(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) formed entirely above the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) in a second layer of second conductive material5( material forming 531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13), the first floating conductive element(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) configured to capacitively couple (FIGs. 5, 7A-7B: 531; col 8, ln 4-13) with the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and second touch electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and an object(806)(FIG. 8B; col 10, ln 45-54) located at least partially above the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), wherein a first portion(portion of 531 above 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) overlaps the first electrode(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and is formed over less than a full first width of the first electrode(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13), wherein a second portion(portion of 531 above 501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) overlaps the second electrode(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and is formed over less than a full second width of the second electrode(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), wherein a third portion(portion of 531 above gap between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13) of the first floating conductive element(531 or 531/701/703)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13; col 9, ln 21-34) overlaps the first gap(spacing between 501 and 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61), and wherein a width of the first portion(portion of 531 above 502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13), a width of the second portion(portion of 531 above 501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13); and
a panel subsystem(101)(FIG. 2: 212, 213; col 4, ln 58-67; col 5, ln 44-48; col 8, ln 4-13) communicatively coupled to the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61) and second touch electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and configured to detect a change in capacitance (FIG. 2: 101, 212, 213; col 4, ln 58-67; col 5, ln 44-48) on at least one of the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and second touch electrodes(502)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) due to the capacitive coupling (FIG. 2: 101, 212, 213; col 4, ln 58-67; col 5, ln 44-48) between the object(806)(FIG. 8B; col 10, ln 45-54), the first floating conductive element(531)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 8, ln 11-13), and the first(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13) and second touch electrodes(501)(FIGs. 5, 7A-7B; col 7, ln 53-54, 58-61; col 8, ln 4-13).
Hoshtanar does not expressly disclose wherein the first and second electrodes are configured for self-capacitance sensing; wherein a width of the first portion, a width of the second portion, and a width of the third portion are uniform.
Hanauer discloses and wherein the first(X7)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and second electrodes(X6)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) are configured for self-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047, 0050, 0058) and mutual-capacitance sensing (FIG. 2: X7, X6; ¶¶0047-0049).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoshtanar with Hanauer to provide a touch sensor panel that: (i) unambiguously detects one or more objects in contact or proximity with the touch sensor panel (¶0002); (ii) detects touch object(s) with a better response time (¶¶0048-0049) and; (ii) is able to detect proximity touch input further away from the touch electrodes.
Hoshtanar and Hanauer do not teach the above underlined limitations.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRK W HERMANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
1 Examiner notes that “second conductive material” is not limited to being different than “first conductive material”.
2 Examiner notes that “third layer” is not limited to being different or separate from “first layer”.
3 To get around this current grounds of rejection, claim 14 may be amended to include the idea that the sensed change in capacitance is based on the stimulation signal.
4 Examiner notes that “second conductive material” is not limited to being different than “first conductive material”.
5 Examiner notes that “second conductive material” is not limited to being different than “first conductive material”.