DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an event spatial temporal tensor module” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, and 12-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US PGPUB 2023/0136306 A1) and further in view of Vora (US PGPUB 2022/0383640 A1).
As per claim 1, Wang discloses a device for predicting a collision area of a high speed small object (Wang, Fig. 1:100, and paragraph 38, discloses FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a system for catching a fast-moving object), comprising:
an event camera (Wang, paragraph 38, discloses an event camera 160); and
a processor (Wang, Fig. 1:110:120, and paragraph 39), coupled to the event camera (Wang, Fig. 1:130:120), wherein the processor obtains a sparse event stream data through the event camera (Wang, paragraph 66, discloses at 401, the method 400 includes receiving event information from an event camera);
the processor obtains an event stream data corresponding to a cumulative time interval by using the sparse event stream data (Wang, paragraph 67, discloses At 402, the method 400 includes generating a BEHI based on the event information. For example, the device 110 may generate a BEHI among the plurality of BEHIs 304 based on event information in the event stream 302. The device 110 may obtain a list of events from the plurality of events detected by the event camera 160, and generate a BEHI for an event based on the horizontal position, vertical position, and timestamp associated with each event in the list of events);
the processor predicts a collision area category by using a temporal spatial feature expression associated with the event stream data, wherein the collision area category corresponds to the high speed small object (Wang, paragraph 70, discloses At 404, the method 400 includes obtaining prediction information as an output of the event-based neural network. For example, in response to inputting the plurality of BEHIs 304, the device 110 may obtain, as an output of the lightweight prediction network 306, prediction information 308. The prediction information 308 may include a first predicted location of the fast-moving object, a normal distribution indicating prediction uncertainty of the predicted location, and a predicted TTC); and
Although Wang, discloses the processor outputs the collision (Wang, paragraph 72, the device 110 may provide the estimated target position to the motion controller 170).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose processor outputs the collision area category.
Vora discloses processor outputs the collision area category (Vora, paragraph 152, discloses in examples, 40,000 frames are annotated in total, including 10 object classes such as cars, motorcycles and pedestrians. Other stuff classes include vegetation and drivable regions. For ease of description, 10 object classes are considered for object detection and 16 classes in total are considered for semantic segmentation and panoptic segmentation, including object classes and stuff classes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang teachings by generating output information, as taught by Vora.
The motivation would be to provide a system with improved object detection and object segmentation (Vora, paragraph 149), as taught by Vora.
As per claim 2, Wang in view of Vora further discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a storage medium coupled to the processor, wherein the storage medium stores an event spatial temporal tensor module (Wang, paragraph 54, discloses The device 110 may receive the event stream 302 and store the event information in the event stream 302 as a list of events {e.sub.1, e.sub.2, . . . , e.sub.N} (e.g., in memory 130 and/or storage component 140)), and the processor accesses and executes the event spatial temporal tensor module, wherein the event spatial temporal tensor module encodes the event stream data into the temporal spatial feature expression (Wang, paragraph 67, discloses The device 110 may obtain a list of events from the plurality of events detected by the event camera 160, and generate a BEHI for an event based on the horizontal position, vertical position, and timestamp associated with each event in the list of events).
As per claim 5, Wang in view of Vora further discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a storage medium coupled to the processor, wherein the storage medium stores a data optimization model (Vora, paragraph 91, discloses perception system 402 trains CNN 420 to generate the prediction. In some examples, perception system 402 trains CNN 420 to generate the prediction based on perception system 402 providing training data associated with the prediction to CNN 420), and the processor accesses and executes the data optimization model, wherein the data optimization model predicts the collision area category by decoding the temporal spatial feature expression (Vora, paragraph 151, discloses a panoptic quality refers to the accurate identification of objects and stuff in the environment. In some embodiments, stuff refers to objects, items, or things in the environment that are continuous and are not distinct objects. In examples, stuff refers to classes such as drivable surface, sidewalks, and the like).
As per claim 6, Wang in view of Vora further discloses the device according to claim 5, wherein the processor performs a training operation to train the data optimization model, wherein the training operation is associated with at least one of a curvature algorithm and a pixel number threshold (Vora, paragraph 155, discloses The network 1000 as described herein is a simultaneous detection and segmentation network. In examples, the network 100 includes a pillar feature module 1010 to encode point clouds features to pillar features, a 2D backbone 1012 to extract extra deep features, a classification head 1016 and bounding box regression head 1018 for 3D object detection, a semantic segmentation head 1014 for pixel-based semantic segmentation).
As per claim 8, please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 9, please see the analysis of claim 2.
As per claim 12, please see the analysis of claim 5.
As per claim 13, please see the analysis of claim 6.
Claim(s) 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US PGPUB 2023/0136306 A1) and further in view of Vora (US PGPUB 2022/0383640 A1) and further in view of Lee (US PGPUB 2018/0262708 A1).
As per claim 7, Wang in view of Vora further discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a speed of the high speed small object is greater than 30 m/s (Wang, paragraph 3, discloses fast balls flying toward them at a speed of 40 m/s).
Wang in view of Vora does not explicitly discloses a size of the high speed small object is less than 2 cm.
Lee discloses a size of the high speed small object is less than 2 cm (Lee, paragraph 580, discloses the size of the object is smaller than 1 cm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Vora teachings by detecting object of a specific size, as taught by Lee.
The motivation would be to provide an improved system for detecting and tracing the specific object (paragraph 518), as taught by Lee.
As per claim 14, please see the analysis of claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, and 10-11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633