DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the People’s Republic of China on 07/30/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Foreign Priority application No. CN 202110868644.2 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on August 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 23rd, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 8 recites that “a rear end of the iron core passes through one coil and is located inside another coil”. However, in Figs. 8-10, the rear attraction portion 932 is shown located in the rear coil 92, and it does not appear to be capable of passing through the front coil 91, as it would be blocked by tower spring 95 and contact ring 933. Thus, the capability of the rear attraction portion 932 to pass through the front coil 91 must be shown, or this element must be canceled from claim 8.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “612” has been used to designate both the first chute part and the second chute part. The first chute part is designated in Fig. 12, while the second chute part is designated in Fig. 11. While the first and second chute parts are both chutes, they are distinct and part of two separate assemblies and should thus receive two distinct reference characters. These reference characters are further referred to in the written description (see “Specification” objections below).
Additionally, reference character “891” has been used to designate both the magnetic sheet in Figs. 17 and 18 and the handle in Figs. 19 and 20. This reference character is referred to regarding these components in [PG Pub: 0071 and 0074].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The “first chute part” and “second chute part” are both referred to by reference character 612 in [PG Pub: 0054] and should be corrected to each have their own distinct reference character. It appears that the second chute part should be 622. See “Drawings” objection above.
“The permanent magnet 32 on the front end of the iron core 93 is attracted to the permanent magnet 32 on the rear end of the pin 3” should be corrected to --The permanent magnet 94 on the front end of the iron core 93 is attracted to the permanent magnet 32 on the rear end of the pin 3-- in [PG Pub: 0083].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “A feeding device for cooking machine” should be corrected to --A feeding device for a cooking machine--. Following, “a body frame of a cooking machine” should be corrected to --a body frame of the cooking machine--.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11, “The feeding device for cooking machine” should be corrected to --The feeding device for the cooking machine--.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, “two opposites side” should be corrected to --two opposite sides--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “a rear end of the iron core passes through one coil and is located inside another coil” is not supported by the specification. The specification discusses a front attraction portion and a rear attraction portion of the iron core that are disposed in the front coil and rear coil, respectively [PG Pub: 0078]. However, there is no mention of the rear attraction portion of the iron core passing through one coil and being located within another. Further, Figs. 8, 9, and 10 show the movement of the rear attraction portion within the rear coil and it is not depicted as being passable through the front coil. Moreover, the tower spring and contact ring appear to inhibit any movement of the rear attraction portion into the front coil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Annotated Figure 1. Fig. 7 disclosed by Xu, annotated to show claimed elements. Note that this figure illustrates the feeding device in the configuration following 180 degree rotation.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 104757883 B) in view of Rozak (US 5249510 A).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a feeding device for cooking machine (automatic feeding device 1 [Figs. 1 and 2, 0050]; see Annotated Figure 1), the device comprising:
a box supporting assembly (inlet mechanism 11 [Figs. 3-8, 0052]);
a food material box (multi-compartment packaging box 110 [Figs. 3-8, Figs. 10-13 show details, 0052]);
a movable baffle (drop-out bin door 115 [Figs. 3-8, Figs. 15-19 show detail and function, 0052]); and
support assemblies (flipping mechanism 12 [Figs. 3-8, 0052]);
wherein: the box supporting assembly comprises a base frame (multi-compartment discharge bin 113 [Figs. 3-8, 11-14, 0052]) and a box frame (receiving space 114 [Figs. 11 and 12, 0052]); the box frame is disposed on one side of the base frame to support the food material box (receiving space 114 is positioned on one side of the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 [Figs. 11 and 12, 0052]; further, it is configured to receive and support the multi-compartment packaging box 110 [0055-0056]);
the movable baffle is disposed on the base frame (“Each compartment of the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 is provided with a drop-out bin door 115” [0052]);
the food material box comprises a discharging end attached to a lower surface of the movable baffle (when the multi-compartment packaging box 110 is loaded into the device, each of its compartments is connected to a respective compartment of the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 [0053]; it can be seen in Figs. 11-14 that during loading, it is a lower side of the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 to which the multi-compartment packaging box 110 is connected; as the device flips, raw material is discharged out of the multi-compartment packaging box 110 at its end that is connected to the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 [0062]);
the support assemblies are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the base frame (main shaft 121 of flipping mechanism 12 can be seen disposed on either side of the inlet mechanism 11 [Figs. 3-8]; see Annotated Figure 1), and operate to hang the box supporting assembly modularly over a body frame of a cooking machine (it can be seen in Fig. 3 that the flipping mechanism 12 hangs the inlet mechanism over the frame 100; the main shaft 121, flipping motor 122, and position control detection component 123 of the flipping mechanism work together to control the positioning of the inlet mechanism 11 as it is hung (with regard to a flipping angle) over the frame 100 [0061]) or detach the box supporting assembly from the body frame of the cooking machine in a plug-and-play manner (optional limitation);
the support assemblies each comprise an active part and a driven part (the active part of the flipping mechanism 12 is the side of main shaft 121 which is connected to the flipping motor 122 [Fig. 3, 0061]; the side of main shaft 121 that is not connected to the flipping motor 122, is a driven part; see Annotated Figure 1);
the active part is connected to a motor output shaft assembly (as described above, the active part is connected to flipping motor 122 [0061]), and the driven part is connected to a connection base assembly fixedly disposed on the body frame (the driven part is connected directly to the frame 100 [0061]; see Annotated Figure 1); and
with the rotation of the motor output shaft assembly, the box supporting assembly rotates to overturn the food material box by 180 degrees, and the discharging end of the food material box faces downward (as the flipping motor 122 rotates the main shaft 121, the inlet mechanism 11 is overturned by 180 degrees, and the multi-compartment packaging box is turned downward to discharge the raw materials therein [0062]).
Xu does not expressly disclose that the active part and driven part of the support assemblies are quick-release parts.
Annotated Figure 2. Fig. 6 disclosed by Rozak, annotated to show elements of the releasable support assembly.
Rozak teaches a self venting automatic food frying and dispensing apparatus (apparatus 10 [Figs. 1 and 2, col. 5, lines 37-39] see Annotated Figure 2). The apparatus comprises a food material box (basket 102 [Figs. 6 and 9-12, col. 6, line 46]) on a base frame (basket support plate 100 [Fig. 6, col. 6, lines 44-45]), with a support assembly (drive shaft 96 with drive shaft supports 98 [Fig. 6, col. 6, line 42]) driven by a motor (DC motor 168 [Figs. 6 and 9-12, col. 8, lines 40-41]). With the rotation of the motor, the food material box is positioned to receive, cook, and dispense food (detailed in [Figs. 9-12 and col. 9, lines 38-68]).
Rozak further teaches that the support assembly is a quick-release support assembly. Specifically, the drive shaft 96 is held into place on the motor 168 by securing means 170, which is taught by Rozak to be a removable attachment [col. 8, lines 39-44]. Because the drive shaft 96 is held onto the basket support plate 100 via drive shaft supports 98, removal of drive shaft 96 from securing means 170 would allow release of the basket support plate 100 and basket 102.
Xu discloses a feeding device for a cooking machine wherein the active and driven support assemblies are not disclosed to be quick-release parts. Rozak teaches a frying and dispensing apparatus wherein the support assembly is disclosed to allow release of the food material box and base frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support assemblies disclosed by Xu to be able to release the base frame as taught by Rozak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “Ease of service and maintenance is achieved through an easily disassembled modular design” [Rozak: col. 3, lines 30-32]. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success with this modification as the support assemblies of both references are motor shafts which function by supporting a base frame and supplying a rotation from a motor into the base frame for the dispensing of food.
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses that the box frame comprises two independent guide rails (side guide plates 1111 [Figs. 11 and 12, 0055]) respectively disposed on two opposites side of a bottom of the base frame to support the food material box (the side guide plates 1111 are described as “opposing side guide plates 1111” and are illustrated on two opposite sides of the housing 111 of the inlet mechanism 11 [Figs. 11 and 12, 0055-0056]; it can be further be seen in Figs. 11a and 12a that the receiving space 114 (i.e., box frame) defined by the side guide plates 1111 and limiting baffle 1112 abuts the bottom of the multi-compartment discharge bin 113 (i.e., base frame) [0055-0056]; the receiving space 114 defined by the guide plates 1111 and limiting baffle 1112 accommodates and supports the multi-compartment packaging box 110 [Figs. 11 and 12, 0055-0056]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 9, and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Neither Xu (CN 104757883 B) nor Rozak (US 5249510 A) as described above disclose that the active quick-release part comprises a primary sliding block and the driven quick-release part comprises a secondary sliding block;
the primary sliding block and the secondary sliding block are fixedly disposed on two sides of the base frame, respectively;
the motor output shaft assembly comprises an output shaft and a primary sliding chute;
the primary sliding chute is disposed on the body frame and opposite to the primary sliding block;
the primary sliding chute is fixedly connected to the output shaft;
the connection base assembly comprises a driven shaft and a secondary sliding chute;
the secondary sliding chute is disposed on the body frame through the driven shaft and opposite to the secondary sliding block; and
the primary sliding block and the secondary sliding block cooperate to carry the box supporting assembly to move in the primary sliding chute and the secondary sliding chute.
Specifically, Xu does not disclose the type of connection used to connect the inlet mechanism 11 to the main shaft 121 of the flipping mechanism 12.
On the other hand, Rozak discloses that the drive shaft 96 is removably connectable to the DC motor 168 via securing means 170 and that the drive shaft is removably connectable to the basket support plate 100 via drive shaft support 98. Neither of these means of connection comprise a sliding block or sliding chutes.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art is Xu (CN 104757883 B). Xu discloses that one side of the movable baffle is hinged inside of the base frame (connecting end 1151 [Figs. 15a-c, 0064]), and the other side is a free side (movable end 1152 [Figs. 15a-c, 0064]);
one end of an iron core (iron core 132 [Figs. 15-18, 0065]) of an electromagnet (electromagnet 131 [Figs. 15-18, 0065]) for blocking the opening of the free side when the box supporting assembly is flipped 180 degrees (blocking positions illustrated and discussed in [Figs. 16-18 and 0066-0069]);
the iron core is movable back and forth in the electromagnet (multiple positions shown in Figs. 16-18).
Xu does not expressly disclose one side of the movable baffle is hinged above a cross beam inside the base frame, and the other side is a free side;
an outer frame of the base frame comprises a pin hole disposed above the free side;
a retractable pin is disposed in the pin hole for blocking the opening of the free side when the box supporting assembly is flipped 180 degrees;
a front end of the pin is disposed on an inner side of the base frame, and a rear end is disposed on an outer side of the base frame and is connected to a permanent magnet;
the pin is movable back and forth in the pin hole;
the body frame comprises an electromagnetic assembly corresponding to the pin to attract and detach the pin from contact with the movable baffle.
Thus, rather than controlling movement of a pin embedded within a pin hole of the base frame as in the claimed invention, Xu discloses that the iron core itself is movable to be positioned over the baffle to block its free side from falling.
Regarding claim 8, 9, and 11, these claims contain allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependence on claim 7.
Conclusion
/MARISSA RAE BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761