DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 21 July 2026 has been entered. Examiner notes that there is an extra claim set on file that is non-compliant. The claim set filed on 21 July 2026 (7 pages) contains 16 claims, whereas all previous and current claim sets contain 18 claims total. The 8-page claim set filed on 21 July 2026 is examined on the merits. Claims 1-15 and 17 remain pending in the application. Claims 16 and 18 have been canceled. No new claims have been added. Canceled claims remain noted as canceled in all claim sets going forward.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2023 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11-13, 15 and 17are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “comprehensive” in claims 1, 3, 9, 11-13, 15 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “comprehensive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “comprehensive” refers to the grade of tested ores. It is unclear if the “comprehensive” grade of the ore is the grade which encompasses all the grades of the tested ores, or if it is the grade which encompasses a certain amount of the grades of the tested ores. It is unclear what is required of the grade in order for it to be considered a “comprehensive” grade. The specification does not provide clarity and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the claim.
The term “stable” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “stable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “stable” refers to a high-speed conveyer belt. It is unclear what is required of the belt for it to be considered in a “stable” state. The specification does not provide clarity and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the claim.
The term “quality” in claims 9 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quality” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “quality” refers to tested ores. It is unclear which parameter(s) relate to the “quality” of each ore, and it is unclear how one would measure the “quality” of each ore. The specification does not provide clarity and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the claim.
Claim 9 contains blank spots next to the term “comprehensive grade” in the claim sets filed 21 July 2026. It appears that these blank spots correspond to the mathematical formulas present in the claim set filed 19 December 2023. The formulas are missing and there is not a strike-through to indicate that applicant intended to delete the formulas. It is unclear if applicant is claiming these mathematical formulas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN109174622A (machine translation) of Jiang.
Regarding Claim 1, Jiang teaches a waste pre-removal method of intelligent mechanical separation for antimony ores in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Jiang teaches the sorting of ores by an intelligent machine, Para[0002], where the ores have an average granularity, Para[0047], and are outputted based on whether their grade exceeds a standard grade, Para[0014]. Jiang discloses crushing of the sorted ores, Para[0016], X-ray grade detection of the ore, Para[0024], and feedback control, sampling/testing, Para[0014]. Jiang also teaches that when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. This dynamic adjustment of the throwing rate is equivalent to steps 104 and 105 of the claimed invention. Jiang also teaches that the invention includes intelligent software dynamic monitoring process, which uses intelligent software to dynamically monitor the status parameters of the ore. The state parameters include real-time ore, average granularity, ore grade, and ablation rate, Para[0046]. Therefore, Jiang discloses dynamic threshold adjustment based on ore grade. Thus, Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 2 further limits claim 1 by claiming that before sorting the ores with a predetermined granularity by an intelligent sorting system according to a current grade threshold, the method further comprises: initially treating the to-be-treated original ores to obtain the ores with the predetermined granularity, and transmitting the ores with the predetermined granularity to the intelligent sorting system.
Jiang discloses step 1: the original ore is screened to provide a double-layer vibrating screen. The intermediate particle size of the double-layer vibrating screen is 15mm-60mm. Among them, the ore mine ore with a particle size of less than 15mm enters the powder ore bin, and the ore mine ore with a particle size larger than 60mm is used, Para[0016]. Thus, Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the sorting ores with a predetermined granularity by an intelligent sorting system according to a current grade threshold comprises: acquiring the comprehensive grade of each ore with the predetermined granularity; determining the ores with the comprehensive grade less than the current grade threshold as waste ores, and discarding the waste ores; and determining the ores with the comprehensive grade equal to or greater than the current grade threshold as the sorted ores.
Jiang teaches that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. Therefore, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 3.
Claim 4 further limits claim 1 by claiming that crushing the sorted ores outputted by the intelligent sorting system comprises: using a ball mill to crush the sorted ores outputted by the intelligent sorting system.
Jiang teaches crushing of the ores using a ball mill, Para[0004,0016]. Thus, Jiang coves all limitations of claim 4.
Claim 5 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the intelligent sorting system is an X-ray intelligent sorting machine.
Jiang discloses that the intelligent sorting machine is an X-ray identification mechanism, Para[0012]. Thus, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 5.
Claim 6 further limits claim 2 by claiming that the initially treating the to-be-treated original ores to obtain the ores with the predetermined granularity comprises: performing multi-level granularity treatment on the to-be-treated original ores to obtain the ores with the predetermined granularity, each level of granularity treatment in the multi-level granularity treatment comprising crushing treatment and sieving treatment, and the granularities of the ores obtained by each level of granularity treatment in the multi-level granularity treatment being sequentially reduced according to the treatment sequence of the granularity treatment from initialization to obtaining the ores with the predetermined granularity.
Jiang teaches step 1: the original ore is screened to provide a double-layer vibrating screen. The intermediate particle size of the double-layer vibrating screen is 15mm-60mm. Among them, the ore mine ore with a particle size of less than 15mm enters the powder ore bin, and the ore mine ore with a particle size larger than 60mm is used, secondary crushing, Para[0016]. Therefore, Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 6.
Claim 7 further limits claim 6 by claiming that the performing multi-level granularity treatment on the to-be-treated original ores comprises: performing crushing treatment in a first-level granularity treatment on the to-be-treated original ores, performing sieving treatment in the first-level granularity treatment on the ores subjected to the crushing treatment, transmitting the ores capable of passing the sieving treatment in the first-level granularity treatment to the second-level granularity treatment, and continuously performing crushing treatment in the first-level granularity treatment on the ores capable of not passing the sieving treatment in the first-level granularity treatment until being capable of passing the sieving treatment in the first-level granularity treatment; and according to the treatment sequence of the crushing treatment and the sieving treatment, from the second-level granularity treatment to the last level of granularity treatment of the multi-level granularity treatment, completing the initial treatment on the to-be-treated original ores to obtain the ores with the predetermined granularity.
Jiang teaches step 1: the original ore is screened to provide a double-layer vibrating screen. The intermediate particle size of the double-layer vibrating screen is 15mm-60mm. Among them, the ore mine ore with a particle size of less than 15mm enters the powder ore bin, and the ore mine ore with a particle size larger than 60mm is used, secondary crushing, Para[0016]. Therefore, Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 7.
Claim 8 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the sorting ores with a predetermined granularity by an intelligent sorting system according to a current grade threshold to output the sorted ores comprises: providing the ores with the predetermined granularity by a feeding subsystem to a high-speed belt of a transmission subsystem; after transmitting the ores with the predetermined granularity by the high-speed belt of the transmission subsystem for a predetermined distance, entering a stable state, and transmitting the ores with the predetermined granularity to a sensing subsystem; when the ores with the predetermined granularity are transmitted by the belt to pass through a part under a ray source of the sensing subsystem, using X-rays excited by a high voltage by the ray source to irradiate the ores with the predetermined granularity, the X-rays penetrating the ores with the predetermined granularity being attenuated to different degrees due to different contents of measured elements: collecting attenuation data information by a detector of the sensing subsystem located below the belt, converting the attenuation data information into a photoelectric digital signal, and transmitting the photoelectric digital signal to an intelligent identification subsystem of an intelligent identification system; generating a to-be-identified image by the intelligent identification subsystem based on the photoelectric digital signal, performing content identification on the to-be-identified image to determine an ore parameter of the ores with the predetermined granularity, determining a current sorting parameter based on the current grade threshold, comparing the ore parameter with the current sorting parameter to mark the ores with the predetermined granularity as waste ores or high-grade ores based on a comparison result, and transmitting position information of ores marked as the high-grade ores to a blowing control unit of a separation subsystem; and when the ores with the predetermined granularity are conveyed by the belt of the transmission subsystem to arrive at a predetermined position and a gas discharge gun of the separation subsystem is controlled by the blowing control unit, blowing the ores with the predetermined granularity marked as the high-level ores or the waste ores by a nozzle of the gas discharge gun so as to sort the waste ores and the high-level ores and sort the ores with the predetermined granularity to output the sorted ores.
Jiang teaches step 5: intelligent identification, the ore mine ore is subjected to an X-ray identification mechanism, and the X-ray identification mechanism identifies the ore mine ore and transmits the identification information to the controller, Para[0012]. Jiang also teaches step 6: the material is discarded, and the controller controls the movement of the material-dispensing mechanism according to the identification information, and sends the waste stone into the waste stone box to send the anti-mining concentrate into the concentrate bin; step 7: feedback control, sampling and testing the sorted antimony concentrate and waste rock, the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0013,0014]. Jiang also discloses a gas discharge gun to blow the ores, Para[0035]. Therefore, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 8.
Claim 10 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the crushing the sorted ores outputted by the intelligent sorting system to obtain fine ores comprises: determining the granularity of the sorted ores outputted by the intelligent sorting system; in a case that the granularity is greater than a ball-milling threshold, crushing ores with the granularity greater than the ball-milling threshold until the granularity is less than or equal to the ball-milling threshold; and in a case that the granularity is less than the ball-milling threshold, crushing the ores with the granularity less than the ball-milling threshold by a ball mill to obtain the fine ores.
Jiang teaches step 1: the original ore is screened to provide a double-layer vibrating screen. The intermediate particle size of the double-layer vibrating screen is 15mm-60mm. Among them, the ore mine ore with a particle size of less than 15mm enters the powder ore bin, and the ore mine ore with a particle size larger than 60mm is used, secondary crushing, Para[0016]. Jiang discloses feedback control that includes intelligent software dynamic monitoring process, which uses intelligent software to dynamically monitor the status parameters of the ore which includes average granularity of the ore, Para[0046]. Jiang also teaches crushing of the ores using a ball mill, Para[0004,0016]. Therefore, Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 10.
Claim 12 further limits claim 1 by claiming that accumulating a running position of a device in the intelligent sorting system, a belt transfer state, a crushing statistical time, a sieving statistical time, a ball-milling statistical time and an analysis statistical time to determine a system delay time; based on the weighted average comprehensive grade related to the waste ores and/or the high-grade ores sorted by the intelligent sorting system within the range of the system delay time and grade analysis data of the fine ores acquired by a fluorescence monitor, determining a second error rate of a fine ore grade to a target grade at a specific time; in a case that the fine ore grade at the specific time is less than the target grade and the second error rate is greater than a set range of an error rate, determining a step length function based on the second error rate and determining a plurality of step lengths through the step length function, and increasing the step length by taking a predetermined time interval as the current grade threshold; and in a case that the fine ore grade at the specific time is greater than the target grade and the second error rate is greater than the set range of the error rate, determining the step length function based on the second error rate and determining the plurality of step lengths through the step length function, and reducing the step length by taking the predetermined time interval as the current grade threshold.
Jiang teaches the sorting of ores by an intelligent machine, Para[0002], where the ores have an average granularity, Para[0047], and are outputted based on whether their grade exceeds a standard grade, Para[0014]. Jiang also teaches that the intelligent software dynamic monitoring process is further included, and the state parameters of the ore are dynamically monitored by using intelligent software. Further, the state parameters include real-time ore amount, average grain size, ore grade, and ablation rate, Para[0021]. Ablation rate is equivalent to the claimed system delay time. Jiang also discloses that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. This is equivalent to the dynamic adjustment of the step length of the claimed invention. Thus, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 12.
Claim 14 further limits claim 1 by claiming that determining a data matching time period, wherein the data matching time period is, for the same batch of ores with the predetermined granularity, a time difference value between a time T 1 when the ores with the predetermined granularity are sorted by the intelligent sorting system according to the current grade threshold and a time T 2 when the fine ores are subjected to grade detection to obtain the current state parameter of the fine ores.
Jiang discloses that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. This is equivalent to the dynamic adjustment of the step length of the claimed invention. Thus, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 14.
Claim 15 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the calculating a dynamic adjustment step length for a grade threshold according to the current state parameter of the fine ores comprises: a step length N=f(x1,x2,x3,x4,x5,x6,x7), x1 being an error of a primary element grade and a primary element target grade, x2 being an error of a first secondary element grade and a first secondary element target grade, x3 being an error of a second secondary element grade and a second secondary element target grade, x4 being the weighted comprehensive grade of the high-grade ores at a current time, x5 being the weighted average comprehensive grade of the waste ores at the current time, x6 being a quantity proportion of the high-grade ores, x7 being the current grade threshold, x1 being a main parameter and being used with x2 and x3 in an exponential relationship, and x4, x5, x6 and x7 constructing a fitting point through a fitting function to map a point obtained through comprehensive calculation of x1, x2 and x3 on the fitting point to finally obtain a step length N.
Jiang discloses that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. Jiang also teaches that the invention includes intelligent software dynamic monitoring process, which uses intelligent software to dynamically monitor the status parameters of the ore. The state parameters include real-time ore, average granularity, ore grade, and ablation rate, Para[0046]. Therefore, Jiang discloses dynamic threshold adjustment based on ore grade. Thus, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 15.
Claim 17 further limits claim 14 by claiming that the performing dynamic adjustment according to the dynamic adjustment step length and the current grade threshold to obtain the adjusted current grade threshold, so that the intelligent sorting system sorts the ores with the predetermined granularity according to the adjusted current grade threshold comprises: in a case that the current comprehensive grade is less than the target comprehensive grade, adding the current grade threshold and the dynamic adjustment step length to serve as an adjusted current grade threshold, taking the adjusted current grade threshold as the current grade threshold, performing Step 101 , and waiting for a fourth predetermined time period after completing Step 102 ; and in a case that the current comprehensive grade is greater than the target comprehensive grade, subtracting the dynamic adjustment step length from the current grade threshold to serve as an adjusted current grade threshold, taking the adjusted current grade threshold as the current grade threshold, performing Step 101 , and waiting for the fourth predetermined time period after completing Step 102 , the fourth predetermined time period being greater than the data matching time period.
Jiang discloses that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. Jiang also teaches that the invention includes intelligent software dynamic monitoring process, which uses intelligent software to dynamically monitor the status parameters of the ore. The state parameters include real-time ore, average granularity, ore grade, and ablation rate, Para[0046]. Therefore, Jiang discloses dynamic threshold adjustment based on ore grade. Thus, Jiang covers all limitations of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN109174622A (machine translation) of Jiang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of CN101929925A (machine translation) of Zhihua and CN112588445A (machine translation) of Wang.
Claim 9 further limits claim 8 by claiming that after performing the content identification on the to-be-identified image to determine an ore parameter of the ores with the predetermined granularity, the method further comprises: determining the ores with the predetermined granularity of which the comprehensive grade is less than the current grade threshold as the waste ores, and determining the ores with the predetermined granularity of which the comprehensive grade is greater than or equal to the current grade threshold as the high-grade ores; acquiring a comprehensive grade value and quality of each waste ore entering the intelligent sorting system within a first predetermined time period, and acquiring a comprehensive grade value and quality of each high-grade ore entering the intelligent sorting system within the first predetermined time period; based on the comprehensive grade value and quality of each waste ore, calculating a weighted average comprehensive grade, Gf=(∑i=1nfkfi×mfi)/nf, of the waste ores within the first predetermined time period, kfi being a comprehensive grade coefficient of an ith waste ore within the first predetermined time period, mfi being a quality coefficient of the ith waste ore within the first predetermined time period, and nf being a quantity of the waste ores within the first predetermined time period; and based on the comprehensive grade value and quality of each high-grade ore, calculating a weighted average comprehensive grade, Gy=(∑i=1nykyi×myi)/ny, of the high-grade ores within the first predetermined time period, kyi being a comprehensive grade coefficient of an ith high-grade ore within the first predetermined time period, myi being a quality coefficient of the ith high-grade ore within the first predetermined time period, and ny being a quantity of the waste ores within the first predetermined time period.
Jiang discloses that the controller performs feedback control on the X-ray identification mechanism according to the test result, that is, when the waste stone grade exceeds the standard, the controller increases the waste rock the threshold of the waste stone reduces the grade of waste rock, which reduces the throwing rate. When the throwing rate is too low, the controller lowers the threshold of waste rock, increases the grade of waste rock, and correspondingly increases the throwing rate, and finally the throwing rate and the grade of waste rock is balanced, Para[0014]. Jiang also teaches that the invention includes intelligent software dynamic monitoring process, which uses intelligent software to dynamically monitor the status parameters of the ore. The state parameters include real-time ore, average granularity, ore grade, and ablation rate, Para[0046]. Jiang does not specifically teach calculating a weighted average of the grade of the ores using predetermined time periods.
Zhihua teaches a method for measuring ore grade by hydrometer method in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Zhihua discloses the calculation of a weighted average of the ore grades, Para[0055]. Zhihua teaches that the weighted calculation method is used to calculate the average value of all ore block grades. The average ore grade is compared with the planned grade of the ore, and a judgment is made to show whether it is qualified, Para[0055]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to calculate a weighted average of the ore grades as taught by Zhihua in the method disclosed by Jiang in order to compare with the planned grade ore and judge whether the ore is qualified.
Wang teaches an operating method for stabilizing reverse flotation production in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wang discloses that if the fluctuations of the two first actual values of the floating dry ore amount measured at two consecutive time points with respect to the first initial value both exceed ±10t/ h, or when the two first actual values of the amount of floating dry ore measured at two consecutive time points continue to increase or decrease relative to the first initial value, then adjust, Para[0025]. Wang teaches that the purpose of the present invention is to provide a method for stabilizing the production of reverse flotation, which in principle can follow the core idea of the balance of material in and out of the flotation system, and always keep the flotation system in the state of the best sorting effect, Para[0008]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to calculate ore grade values at predetermined time periods as disclosed by Wang in the method taught by Jiang in order to stabilize the sorting system.
Thus, Jiang in view of Zhihua further in view of Wang covers all limitations of claim 9.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN109174622A (machine translation) of Jiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN112588445A (machine translation) of Wang and CN111266315A (machine translation) of Lu.
Claim 11 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the performing grade detection on the fine ores to obtain a current state parameter of the fine ores comprises: within a second predetermined time period, using each mechanical arm of a plurality of mechanical arms to obtain fine ores with the predetermined quality from the belt conveying the fine ores according to a predetermined time interval; promoting each mechanical arm to convey the obtained fine ores with the predetermined quality to an aggregate position of a fluorescence analyzer through a negative-pressure pipeline; and when the quality of the fine ores at the aggregate position reaches a quality threshold, promoting the fluorescence analyzer to perform grade detection on the fine ores to obtain the current state parameter of the fine ores, the current state parameter comprising a current comprehensive grade of the fine ores, a primary element grade of the fine ores, a secondary element grade of the fine ores and a waste ore grade of the fine ores.
While Jiang discloses ore grade detection with a fluorescence analyzer, Jiang does not specifically teach conveying the ores with mechanical arms within a predetermined time period.
Wang teaches an operating method for stabilizing reverse flotation production in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wang discloses that if the fluctuations of the two first actual values of the floating dry ore amount measured at two consecutive time points with respect to the first initial value both exceed ±10t/ h, or when the two first actual values of the amount of floating dry ore measured at two consecutive time points continue to increase or decrease relative to the first initial value, then adjust, Para[0025]. Wang teaches that the purpose of the present invention is to provide a method for stabilizing the production of reverse flotation, which in principle can follow the core idea of the balance of material in and out of the flotation system, and always keep the flotation system in the state of the best sorting effect, Para[0008]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to calculate ore grade values at predetermined time periods as disclosed by Wang in the method taught by Jiang in order to stabilize the sorting system.
Lu teaches an ore material online sorting system and method based on visual analysis in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Lu discloses an intelligent grasping robot arm, Para[0046]. Lu teaches that the arm is used to locate and sort out unqualified materials, Para[0036]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the mechanical arms taught by Lu in the method taught by Jiang in order to locate and sort unqualified material.
Thus, Jiang in view of Wang further in view of Lu covers all limitations of claim 11.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN109174622A (machine translation) of Jiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN112588445A (machine translation) of Wang.
Claim 13 further limits claim 1 by claiming that in a case that the first error rate is within a set range of the comprehensive error rate, a third predetermined time period is waited, and Step 101 is performed in a case that the third predetermined time period expires.
While Jiang discloses ore grade detection within a predetermined range, Jiang does not specifically teach detection within a predetermined time period.
Wang teaches an operating method for stabilizing reverse flotation production in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wang discloses that if the fluctuations of the two first actual values of the floating dry ore amount measured at two consecutive time points with respect to the first initial value both exceed ±10t/ h, or when the two first actual values of the amount of floating dry ore measured at two consecutive time points continue to increase or decrease relative to the first initial value, then adjust, Para[0025]. Wang teaches that the purpose of the present invention is to provide a method for stabilizing the production of reverse flotation, which in principle can follow the core idea of the balance of material in and out of the flotation system, and always keep the flotation system in the state of the best sorting effect, Para[0008]. Wang also teaches selectively repeating steps S3 and S4 as needed to finally determine the adjustment of step S3 is appropriate, Para[0043]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to calculate ore grade values at predetermined time periods as disclosed by Wang in the method taught by Jiang in order to stabilize the sorting system. Thus, Jiang in view of Wang covers all limitations of claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remarks, page 10 of 17) “comprehensive grade” refers to a weighted calculation value that comprehensively considers the grades of the primary element and one or more secondary elements in the ore. Applicant then refers to paragraphs [0089]-[0096] and [0104] to further clarify, however, the specification does not describe “comprehensive grade” as a value that comprehensively considers the grades of the primary element and one or more secondary elements in the recited paragraphs or anywhere else. In fact, paragraph [0042] states that the current state parameter includes a current comprehensive grade of the fine ores, a primary element grade of the fine ores, a secondary element grade of the fine ores and a waste ore grade of the fine ores. This seems to imply that “comprehensive grade” is a value separate and distinct from the primary element grade and secondary element grade of the fine ore. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 10 of 17) in light of the specification one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that “stable state” means the fluctuation of the belt speed is within an acceptable engineering tolerance (e.g., not exceeding +or- 5%). This is not found persuasive as the specification never mentions the fluctuation, or lack thereof, of the belt speed. The only time the belt-speed is even mentioned is when it is referred to as “high-speed”. One of ordinary skill would not understand what “stable state” means. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 11 of 17) “quality” in the context of the present application refers to the physical mass of the ore, rather than the “grade” or “degree of goodness”. The specification does not explain that quality refers to the mass of the ore. The term “mass” is not included anywhere in the specification. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 12 to 14 of 17) primary reference Jiang is only concerned with “whether to reject waste” rather than “how to precisely control the sorting threshold to stabilize the final product grade”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., precisely controlling the sorting threshold to stabilize the final product grade) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant does not claim precisely controlling the sorting threshold. Applicant broadly claims performing dynamic adjustment according to the dynamic adjustment step length and the current grade threshold to obtain the adjusted current grade threshold, so that the intelligent sorting system sorts the ores with the predetermined granularity according to the adjusted current grade threshold. In a case that the current comprehensive grade is less than the target comprehensive grade, adding the current grade threshold and the dynamic adjustment step length to serve as an adjusted current grade threshold, taking the adjusted current grade threshold as the current grade threshold, and performing Step 101; and in a case that the current comprehensive grade is greater than the target comprehensive grade, subtracting the dynamic adjustment step length from the current grade threshold to serve as an adjusted current grade threshold, taking the adjusted current grade threshold as the current grade threshold, and performing Step 101. This dynamic adjustment is covered by Jiang. Jiang teaches that when the grade of waste ores is out of limits, the threshold of the waste ores is improved to reduce the grade of the waste ores, and the rate of the waste removal is reduced correspondingly; when the rate of the waste removal is too low, the threshold of the waste ores is reduced to improve the grade of the waster ores, and the rate of the waste removal is improved correspondingly, [abs]. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has attached the machine translation along with the original document of previously-cited foreign references that were inadvertently omitted in the non-final action. Reference Included herein: CN109174622A, CN101929925A, CN112588445A and CN111266315A
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733