DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0014912) in view of Chung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2023/0110771).
Consider claim 1; Song discloses a system for identifying a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a base station (e.g. O-RAN BS or eNB) (par. 70, lines 7-10) configured to generate (e.g. allocate) a radio access network UE identifier (RAN UE ID) of the UE (par. 192, lines 1-6), and
a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC) connected to the base station (e.g. O-RAN BS or eNB) (par. 70, lines 7-25);
wherein when the UE submits a registration request (e.g. initial attach) to an enrichment information provider (par. 192, lines 1-6), the base station receives a packet of the UE (par. 192, lines 1-6), and transmits the packet to a core network (par. 192, lines 1-6);
wherein the base station transmits the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC (par. 133, lines 1-5);
wherein the core network transmits the packet to the enrichment information provider (par. 192, lines 1-6).
Song discloses the claimed invention except: obtains an IP address corresponding to the UE based on the packet; the base station transmits the IP address to the RIC; wherein the RIC establishes a mapping association associated with the IP address of the UE and the RAN UE ID in a mapping table; and the enrichment information provider obtains the IP address corresponding to the UE according to the packet, and accepts the registration request of the UE with the IP address.
In an analogous art Chung discloses obtains an IP address corresponding to the UE based on the packet (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); the base station (e.g. RAN node) transmits the IP address to the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); wherein the RIC establishes a mapping association associated with the IP address of the UE and the RAN UE ID in a mapping (e.g. routing) table (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); and the enrichment information provider (par. 41, lines 1-6) obtains the IP address corresponding to the UE according to the packet (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), and accepts the registration request of the UE with the IP address (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
It is an object of Song’s invention to provide a method of generating and transmitting in a wireless communication system. It is an object of Chung’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in an open radio access network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Song by including IP address, as taught by Chung, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Chung discloses when the enrichment information provider (par. 41, lines 1-6) transmits enrichment information and the IP address to the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), the RIC queries the mapping association in the mapping (e.g. routing) table according to the IP address to obtain the RAN UE ID (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), and the base station (e.g. RAN node) transmits the enrichment information to the UE corresponding to the RAN UE ID (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Chung discloses when the base station (e.g. RAN node) receives a networking request of the UE (par. 32, lines 9-12;), the base station (e.g. RAN node) transmits the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 40, lines 13; par. 90, lines 7-16), and the RIC responds to the base station (e.g. RAN node) to complete the networking request [e.g. via the subscription procedure (par. 90, lines 7-16)].
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Chung discloses the base station transmits the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC through an E2 interface (par. 32, lines 9-12).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 1; Chung discloses the base station transmits the IP address and the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC through an E2 interface (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 6; Song discloses a method for identifying a user equipment (UE), comprising:
generating (e.g. allocate) a radio access network UE identifier (RAN UE ID) corresponding to the UE through a base station (e.g. O-RAN BS or eNB) (par. 70, lines 7-10; par. 192, lines 1-6),
wherein when the UE submits a registration request (e.g. initial attach) to an enrichment information provider (par. 192, lines 1-6), receiving a packet of the UE through the base station (par. 192, lines 1-6), and transmitting the packet to a core network (par. 192, lines 1-6);
transmitting the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC) through the base station (par. 133, lines 1-5);
transmitting the packet to the enrichment information provider through the core network (par. 192, lines 1-6).
Song discloses the claimed invention except: obtaining an IP address corresponding to the UE based on the packet; transmitting the IP address to the RIC through the base station; establishing a mapping association associated with the IP address of the UE and the RAN UE ID in a mapping table through the RIC; and the enrichment information provider obtains the IP address corresponding to the UE according to the packet, and accepts the registration request of the UE with the IP address.
In an analogous art Chung discloses obtaining an IP address corresponding to the UE based on the packet (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); transmitting the IP address to the RIC through the base station (e.g. RAN node) (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); establishing a mapping association associated with the IP address of the UE and the RAN UE ID in a mapping (e.g. routing) table through the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4); and the enrichment information provider (par. 41, lines 1-6) obtains the IP address corresponding to the UE according to the packet (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), and accepts the registration request of the UE with the IP address (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
It is an object of Song’s invention to provide a method of generating and transmitting in a wireless communication system. It is an object of Chung’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in an open radio access network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Song by including IP address, as taught by Chung, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 6; Chung discloses when the enrichment information provider (par. 41, lines 1-6) transmits enrichment information and the IP address to the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), the RIC queries the mapping association in the mapping (e.g. routing) table according to the IP address to obtain the RAN UE ID (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4), and the base station (e.g. RAN node) transmits the enrichment information to the UE corresponding to the RAN UE ID (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 6; Chung discloses when the base station (e.g. RAN node) receives a networking request of the UE (par. 32, lines 9-12;), the base station (e.g. RAN node) transmits the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 40, lines 13; par. 90, lines 7-16), and the RIC responds to the base station (e.g. RAN node) to complete the networking request [e.g. via the subscription procedure (par. 90, lines 7-16)].
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 8; Chung discloses the base station transmits the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC through an E2 interface (par. 32, lines 9-12).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 6; Chung discloses the base station transmits the IP address and the RAN UE ID corresponding to the UE to the RIC through an E2 interface (par. 32, lines 9-12; par. 90, lines 7-16; par. 92, lines 1-4).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Lester Kincaid can be reached on (571) 272-7922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646