DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/09/2029 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Sato does not disclose the limitation as presented in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Sato (figures 1-4) discloses a vehicle outer mirror as claimed including a light guiding lens (60) that includes a main body portion (62-63), a rear portion (the end portion of 63) of the main body portion being disposed further along an inner face of the outer lens (figures 2 and 4), at the vehicle rear side, than the protruding portion, and an intermediate portion of the main body portion being separated from an inner face of the protruding portion (33) toward a vehicle width direction inner side, and that includes an outer-side extending portion (61) that is integral with and branches from the rear portion of the main body portion and that is disposed along the inner face of the protruding portion, the light guiding lens guiding light from the light source (figures 2-4; the connecting portion 63 of the light guide 60 is located at the distal end on the vehicle width direction side of the light distribution light guide portion 62 and the decorative light guide portion 61, and the light distribution light guide portion 62 and the decorative light guide portion 61 are integrally connected; see at least paragraph 0032), wherein a thickness of the outer-side extending portion (61) is formed thinner than a thickness of the main body portion (62-63; figures 2-4). The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 2018-002089).
Regarding claim 1, Sato (figures 1-4) discloses a vehicle outer mirror, comprising:
an outer lens (23; see at least paragraphs 0023-0024) that includes a protruding portion (design part 33), the protruding portion protruding out further toward a vehicle width direction outer side, at a vehicle rear side, than a cover (11) that covers a vehicle width direction outer side of a light source (70; the design portion 33 is curved toward the back as it goes outward in the vehicle width direction, following the outer surface shape of the front wall 15 of the mirror body 11; see at least paragraphs 0023-0025; figures 1-2); and
a light guiding lens (60) that includes a main body portion (62-63), a rear portion (the end portion of 63) of the main body portion being disposed further along an inner face of the outer lens (figures 2 and 4), at the vehicle rear side, than the protruding portion, and an intermediate portion of the main body portion being separated from an inner face of the protruding portion (33) toward a vehicle width direction inner side, and that includes an outer-side extending portion (61) that is integral with and branches from the rear portion of the main body portion and that is disposed along the inner face of the protruding portion, the light guiding lens guiding light from the light source (figures 2-4; the connecting portion 63 of the light guide 60 is located at the distal end on the vehicle width direction side of the light distribution light guide portion 62 and the decorative light guide portion 61, and the light distribution light guide portion 62 and the decorative light guide portion 61 are integrally connected; see at least paragraph 0032),
wherein a thickness of the outer-side extending portion (61) is formed thinner than a thickness of the main body portion (62-63; figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Sato (figures 1-4) discloses wherein a pattern is formed at an outer face of the outer-side extending portion (61d; figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Sato (figures 1-4) discloses a connecting portion (portion of 63) that is integral with and connects a front end portion of the outer-side extending portion with the main body portion (61 and 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP 2018-002089) in view of Asami et al. (JP 2012-169231).
Regarding claim 4, Sato (figures 1-4) discloses a vehicle outer mirror, comprising:
an outer lens (23; see at least paragraphs 0023-0024) that includes a protruding portion (design part 33), the protruding portion protruding out further toward a vehicle width direction outer side, at a vehicle rear side, than a cover (11) that covers a vehicle width direction outer side of a light source (70; the design portion 33 is curved toward the back as it goes outward in the vehicle width direction, following the outer surface shape of the front wall 15 of the mirror body 11; see at least paragraphs 0023-0025; figures 1-2); and
a light guiding lens (60) that is made of resin (the light guide 60 is made of a transparent resin material such as acrylic; see at least paragraph 0031), that is disposed along an inner face of the outer lens (23; figure 2);
wherein the light guiding lens includes a hollow portion (SL; figure 4) that is formed at a vehicle width direction inner side of the protruding portion (slit SL is provided between the light distribution light guide portion 62 and the decorative light guide portion 61 in the front-rear direction. The slit SL extends from the base end side of the light guide body 60 on the inner side in the vehicle width direction along the front end side; see at least paragraph 0032).
Sato discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 5 above. However, Sato is silent regarding the hollow portion having a substantially right-angled triangle shape in plan view. Asami et al. (figure 13) teaches the hollow portion having a substantially right-angled triangle shape in plan view (122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hollow portion as taught by Asami et al. in order to attain outer mirror having improved efficiency of the light emission of the light guide and simply the manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 5, Sato (figures 1-4) discloses wherein a pattern is formed at an outer face of the light guiding lens which faces the inner face of the outer lens (61d and 23; figure 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871