This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments June 29, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 12-20 are new. Claims 2-10 have been amended
The rejection of claims 2 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm) for the reasons set forth below.
Claim 5 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm).and further in view of Sunaoshi (US 2022/0195223) for the reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm).
Guo teaches an image recording method comprising treating a polyester fabric (paragraph 0132) or which is a black or grey (dark colored chemical fiber, paragraph 0143) with a first layer of composition comprising water, no solvent and a silicone surfactant such as polysiloxane oxyethylene adduct including BYK 345 (polyether modified silicone, and polysiloxanes are inherently lubricants even if not explicitly recited by the prior art, paragraphs 0047-0048) is applied (paragraphs 0038, 0041,0042 and 0047). Guo teaches a second layer fixer fluid comprising 1-15% cationic polymer, 0.01% -5% surfactant, 4-30% co-solvent, 0.1-1.5% anti-kogation agent and balance water (paragraphs 0057,0064,0069 and 0075) is applied over the first layer and a third white ink layer is applied over the fixer layer and drying by heating the fabric at 100 to 180°C after application of all three layers (paragraphs 0145, 0157-0159). Guo teaches the fixer fluid comprises water, 4-30% water soluble solvent such as ethanol (water -soluble with a boiling point of 78°C as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document; paragraph 0065,0069). Guo teaches shirts with L* values in L*a*b* color space of 91.8-94.6 (page 47, table 5). Guo teaches the first treatment liquid has silicon oxide and water, wherein the silicon oxide makes up 1-20% of the treatment and the balance can be water (99-80%, paragraph 0036-0038). Guo teaches this pretreatment can comprise additional additives (paragraph 0042). Guo teaches the balance of the fixer fluid (second treatment) is water and the ranges for the required components in the fixer fluid allow for the balance of water to be in the range of 50-90 mass %.
Guo doesn’t teach the flocculant of the second layer, the attached amounts of the first and second treatment liquid and the ink.
Saito teaches the layer that fixes the ink contains 1-15 parts by mass of a flocculant which is an inorganic salt such as calcium chloride (paragraphs 0025- 0026,0028) to interact with the ink and thicken it and prevent bleeding (paragraph 0025). Saito teaches the ink layer comprises the white colorant (paragraph 0049,0059), water-soluble solvent (paragraph 0066), resin emulsion (paragraph 0050,0052) and a silicone surfactant (0067,0033). Saito teaches using silicone-based surfactants such as BYK-345 which is a polyether modified silicone surfactant and a polysiloxane which meets the claimed limitation of lubricant (paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the image recording methods of Guo by adding flocculant such as inorganic salts of calcium chloride at the claimed concentrations as Saito teaches these flocculants in overlapping concentration ranges provide the layer below the ink fixing properties when the ink is applied such that the ink interacts with the flocculant and becomes thickened and prevent bleeding of the ink. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the image recording medium of Guo by using an ink comprising a colorant, water-soluble solvent, resin emulsion and polyether modified silicone surfactant such as BYK-345 and polysiloxane lubricant as a as Saito teaches white pigments are conventionally used as colorants in inks, resin emulsions stick between the pigment and the fabric and improve the adhesiveness of the pigment, water and water-soluble solvent combinations provide the ink with the appropriate viscosity and the silicone surfactant such as BYK-345 and polysiloxane improves the wettability. Polysiloxanes inherent have lubricating properties and would be lubricating even if not explicitly recited by the prior art. Using known conventional components in ink fixing layers and in inks applied to those layers is obvious for the benefit of effectively attaching the ink composition to the fabric in a durable manner without image bleeding.
Regarding the application amounts of the pretreatment fluid (first treatment), fixer fluid (second treatment) and the ink layer, these values would be within routine skill in the art at the time the invention was made to determine through routine experimentation to fully cover the fabric to provide a sufficiently provide a base for attachment and prevention of bleeding of the ink. The quantity of ink applied would be a design choice based on the desired aesthetic outcome, fully coverage and an amount that can effectively bind to the fixer layer below. Selecting amounts of these layers to ensure adequate coverage of the fabric below and sufficient fixing of the printed ink image with prevention of color bleed to produce a sharp image is obvious.
Claim 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm).and further in view of Sunaoshi (US 2022/0195223).
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document are relied upon as set forth above.
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document do not teach the first treatment liquid contains a thickener.
Sunaoshi teaches pretreatment layers conventionally contain thickening additives (paragraph 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the image recording methods of Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document by adding a thickening agent to the first treatment liquid as Sunaoshi teaches that thickening agents are conventionally added to pretreatments. It would be beneficial to add a thickener to control the viscosity of the treatment liquid and therefore provide a more controlled application of the first liquid composition to the fabric.
Claims 5,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm).and further in view of Oriakhi (WO 2019/232459).
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document are relied upon as set forth above.
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document do not teach the first treatment liquid contains a urethane modified polyether polymer thickener.
Oriakhi teaches inkjet printing textiles wherein pretreatment layers are applied before ink coatings (paragraph 0002, 0031, 0040,0041) wherein the first pretreatment layer is aqueous and comprises polyether modified polyurethanes as fiber bonding agents (paragraph 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the image recording methods of Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document by adding a polyether modified polyurethanes as bonding agents to the first treatment liquid as Oriakhi teaches that these polymers are conventionally added to pretreatments of textiles before inkjet printing with inks. While Oriakhi does not teach the polyether modified polyurethanes as thickeners, they inherently would thicken the water as this property is inherent to the polymer compound even if not explicitly recited by the prior art.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2022/182358) in view of Saito (US 2016/0060810) as evidenced by chemical book ethanol document (https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB2362508.htm).and further in view of Ikoshi (WO 2021065682)
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document are relied upon as set forth above.
Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document do not teach anionic colorants and cationic flocculants.
Ikoshi teaches inkjet printing textiles wherein pretreatment layers are applied before ink coatings (page 3) wherein the pretreatment comprises a cationic flocculant (page 6, other flocculants paragraph), lubricants, thickeners (pager 6, other ingredients) wherein the flocculant is used to bind the coloring component in the ink which is an acid dye (page 8, paragraphs 7 and 8, acid dyes are anionic dyes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the image recording methods of Guo, Saito and chemical book ethanol document by adding a anionic dye to the ink and a cationic flocculant to the fixer layer as Ikoshi teaches that these cationic flocculants are effectively applied before inkjet printing textiles to aggregate and fix the colorant in the ink which is an acid dye. Using known effective cationic flocculants to bind and fix dyes to prevent dye bleed with conventional anionic ink colorants such as acid dyes is obvious to produce durable sharp printed images.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed regarding Guo have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Guo permits additives to be included in the pretreatment composition (paragraph 0042). Using multiple flocculating agents to enhance the flocculating effect is not prohibited. Applicant’s first treatment liquid is “comprising” and therefore can contain additional components including flocculants. The examiner argues it is conventional in the art to provide several layers onto a fabric during inkjet printing wherein the base layers contain pretreatments to enhance ink binding and sharpness and durability of ink binding. Using conventional components in these layers is obvious as pretreatments can contain a variety of additives taught by various benefits. Using conventional additive in pretreatment layers before applying and binding an ink is obvious. Since it is art recognized to apply the layers in sequence without intermediate drying steps, this is also not novel. The examples in applicant’s specification are not commensurate in scope with the broad claims which in claim 1 only require water for a first treatment, require water, any water soluble solvent and flocculant in any amount as a second treatment liquid and any ink comprising any colorant and components in any amounts as the third treatment. The examples compare treatments containing the compositions of tables 1 and 2 which require specific species of components in narrow concentration ranges. Therefore the inventive and comparative data of the table 4 cannot be used to overcome the significantly broader disclosure of the claims. Accordingly the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761