DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang US 2024/0085729.
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang CN 115421323A (used Zhang US 2024/0085729 as English translation in rejection).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a display apparatus, in at least figs.27, 24 25, 8 and 9, comprising:
a first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (30), comprising:
a first substrate (310) and a second substrate (320), overlapped with each other;
a first liquid crystal layer (33), disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a touch electrode layer (T, para.119 and 124), disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (see fig.27); and
a plurality of pixel electrodes (92), disposed on the first substrate and electrically independent from each other (see fig.27, three group of pixel electrodes electrically independent from each other); and
a second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (21), disposed on one side of the first substrate of the first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell and overlapping the first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (see fig.27 and 24), comprising:
a third substrate (71 of 21) and a fourth substrate (72 of 21), overlapped with each other, wherein the fourth substrate is disposed between the first substrate and the third substrate (see figs.24 and 27);
a first electrode layer (711 of 21) and a second electrode layer (712 of 21), disposed between the third substrate and the fourth substrate and formed by unpatterned conductive layers (see figs.24, 25 and 27), and
a second liquid crystal layer (73), disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see figs.27 and 24),
wherein the first substrate is disposed between the first liquid crystal layer and the second liquid crystal layer (see figs.27 and 24), a conductive layer (712 of 22) is disposed between the first substrate and the fourth substrate (72 of 21)(see figs.24 and 27), and the conductive layer is disposed on a surface of the first substrate facing the fourth substrate (72 of 21) and is spaced apart from the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (21)(see figs.24 and 27, the conductive layer is spaced apart from the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell 21 by at least layers 73, 711, 71 and 43).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the conductive layer covers the surface of the first substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell comprises: the third substrate and the fourth substrate having a first surface and a second surface facing each other (see fig.24), respectively; wherein:
the second liquid crystal layer is disposed between the third substrate and the fourth substrate (see figs.24 and 27);
the first electrode layer is configured to cover the first surface of the third substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27); and
the second electrode layer is configured to cover the second surface of the fourth substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the fourth substrate is located between the third substrate and the touch electrode layer, and the second electrode layer has a ground potential (see fig.8, the second electrode layer has a ground potential with no power is applied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2024/0085729 or Zhang CN 115421323A.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a display apparatus, in at least figs.27, 24 25, 8 and 9, comprising:
a first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (30), comprising:
a first substrate (310) and a second substrate (320), overlapped with each other;
a first liquid crystal layer (33), disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a touch electrode layer (T, para.119 and 124), disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (see fig.27); and
a plurality of pixel electrodes (92), disposed on the first substrate and electrically independent from each other (see fig.27, three group of pixel electrodes electrically independent from each other); and
a second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (21), disposed on one side of the first substrate of the first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell and overlapping the first electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (see fig.27 and 24), comprising:
a third substrate (71 of 21) and a fourth substrate (72 of 21), overlapped with each other, wherein the fourth substrate is disposed between the first substrate and the third substrate (see figs.24 and 27);
a first electrode layer (711 of 21) and a second electrode layer (712 of 21), disposed between the third substrate and the fourth substrate and formed by unpatterned conductive layers (see figs.24, 25 and 27), and
a second liquid crystal layer (73), disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see figs.27 and 24),
wherein the first substrate is disposed between the first liquid crystal layer and the second liquid crystal layer (see figs.27 and 24), a conductive layer (42, see para.72 discloses 42 can be a wire grid polarizer, and it’s a well-known technology that a wire grid polarizer comprises a conductive material) is disposed between the first substrate and the fourth substrate (72 of 21)(see figs.24 and 27), and the conductive layer is disposed on a surface of the first substrate facing the fourth substrate (72 of 21) and is spaced apart from the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell (21)(see figs.24 and 27, the conductive layer is spaced apart from the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell 21 by at least layers 22 and 43).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the conductive layer covers the surface of the first substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the conductive layer has a floating potential (see para.72 discloses 42 can be a wire grid polarizer and the wire grid polarizer has a floating potential).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the second electrically controlled liquid crystal cell comprises: the third substrate and the fourth substrate having a first surface and a second surface facing each other (see fig.24), respectively; wherein:
the second liquid crystal layer is disposed between the third substrate and the fourth substrate (see figs.24 and 27);
the first electrode layer is configured to cover the first surface of the third substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27); and
the second electrode layer is configured to cover the second surface of the fourth substrate entirely (see figs.24 and 27).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the fourth substrate is located between the third substrate and the touch electrode layer, and the second electrode layer has a ground potential (see fig.8, the second electrode layer has a ground potential with no power is applied).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2024/0085729 or Zhang CN 115421323A as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuan US 2021/0389627 (The Examiner notes: the rejection of claim 8 for providing a reference to show the well-known technology that a wire grid polarizer comprises a conductive material).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the conductive layer has a floating potential.
Yuan discloses, a display apparatus, in at least fig.3, the conductive layer (31) has a floating potential (para.66 and 68 discloses the conductive layer is a wire-grid polarizer 31 made of a metal material and has a floating potential) for the purpose of forming a wire-grid polarizer and increasing the light transmittance of the display panel (para.66).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conductive layer has a floating potential as taught by Yuan in the display apparatus of Zhang for the purpose of forming a wire-grid polarizer and increasing the light transmittance.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871