DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/8/26 has been entered, in which Applicant amended claims 1, 5-8, and 12-20. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-15 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
A revised 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-20 in regard to abstract ideas has been applied in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
New 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been applied in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Here, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, Examiner finds that the Applicant invented a method and system for determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization. Examiner formulates an abstract idea analysis, following the framework described in the MPEP as follows:
Step 1: The claims are directed to a statutory category, namely a "method" (claim 19) and "system" (claims 1-18 and 20).
Step 2A - Prong 1: The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely, regarding claim 1:
…which acquires (I) a first demand …, and which includes an amount of demand, and a demand time in relation to an energy demand and (II) a second demand … that manages a moving body, and which includes an amount of demand, a demand time, and a demand position in relation to a demand of the moving body;
… which performs at least one of processing for deciding a position and a time at which the moving body moves, or processing for determining whether both demands of the first demand and the second demand can be met, based on the first demand and the second demand that are acquired by the acquisition unit;
… which switches between a plurality of modes which includes, as modes for managing the energy and the moving body, a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met
Independent claims 19 and 20 recite substantially similar claim language.
Dependent claims 2-18 recite the same or similar abstract idea(s) as independent claims 1, 19, and 20 with merely a further narrowing of the abstract idea(s) to particular data characterization and/or additional data analyses performed as part of the abstract idea.
The limitations in claims 1-20 above falling well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts, specifically the claims are found to correspond to the category of:
"Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)" as the limitations identified above are directed to determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization and thus is a method of organizing human activity including at least commercial or business interactions or relations and/or a management of user personal behavior; and/or
"Mental processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)" as the limitations identified above include mere data observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, e.g. including determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization, which is capable of being performed mentally and/or using pen and paper.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1-20 are found to clearly be directed to the abstract idea identified above because the claims, as a whole, fail to integrate the claimed judicial exception into a practical application, specifically the claims recite the additional elements of:
" An integrated management apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein: the at least one processor: / A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program, the program causing the computer to function as " (claims 1, 19, and 20; further utilized in claims 2-4, 6, 8, 9, and 11) however the aforementioned elements merely amount to generic components of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.0S(f)) and thus fails to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application, furthermore the high-level recitation of receiving data from a generic "apparatus" is at most an attempt to limit the abstract to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.0S(h), e.g.: "For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie lndem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags).") and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (MPE 2106.05(g)) and thus further fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
Step 2B: Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to a general purpose computer that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment (MPEP 2106.0S(f)), including merely limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use of analysis of a "demand" via an "apparatus", as explained above, and/or performs insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering or output, (MPEP 2106.0S(g)), as identified above, which is further found under step 2B to be merely well-understood, routine, and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.0S(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, and a web browser's back and forward button functionality). Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea directed to determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization.
Claims 1-20 are accordingly rejected under 35 USC§ 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea(s)) without significantly more.
Note: The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. As such, the presentment of any claim otherwise styled as a machine or manufacture, for example, would be subject to the same analysis
For further authority and guidance, see:
MPEP § 2106
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0201148 to Donnelly et al. (hereafter referred to as Donnelly) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0269717 to Gaertner et al. (hereafter referred to as Gaertner)
As per claim 1, Donnelly teaches:
An integrated management apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein: the at least one processor acquires (I) a first demand which is sent from an energy management apparatus that manages energy, and which includes an amount of demand, and a demand time in relation to an energy demand (Paragraph Number [0070] teaches location instructions 284 can identify charging structures at or near specific locations within an electric grid 100 that are in need of extra power generation during a portion of time as indicated in demand response and/or frequency signals received from an electric grid control system 208).
and (II) a second demand which is sent from a moving body management apparatus that manages a moving body, and which includes an amount of demand, a demand time, and a demand position in relation to a demand of the moving body (Paragraph [0058] teaches information signals relayed to central control system 202 from vehicle control system 204 can include a variety of current status indicators 252 for a vehicle 154. In some examples, current status indicators 252 can include a current geographic location for a vehicle 154 as determined from one or more location sensors provided at the vehicle 154. In some examples, current status indicators 252 can include a current state of charge of one or more energy storage devices located onboard the vehicle 154 as determined by one or more charge sensors. In some examples, current status indicators 252 can include a current operational status (e.g., one of a plurality of modes such as a service mode or a charging mode to which the vehicle 154 is currently assigned). Paragraph Number [0060]: teaches predicted demand for services of the service provider can be analyzed in real-time or near real time to provide dynamically determined service request data for determining when to shift vehicles between a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode and a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Based on such information, charging control signals can be determined that dynamically balance energy consumption needs of the fleet with historic, current and/or predicted service demand as well as supply/demand balance concerns encountered by the electric grid).
the at least one processor performs at least one of processing for deciding a position and a time at which the moving body moves, or processing for determining whether both demands of the first demand and the second demand can be met, based on the first demand and the second demand that are acquired by the acquisition unit (Paragraph Number [0070] teaches location instructions 284 can include instructions for identifying a location of a charging structure 150 at which central control system 204 determines that a vehicle 154 should be directed such that an energy storage device associated with vehicle 154 can engage with energy transfer hardware to generate power (e.g., transfer energy to the grid from an energy storage device} or consume power (e.g., charge an energy storage device from grid power). Paragraph Number [0081] teaches autonomy system 304 can also control one or more vehicle navigation functions for maneuvering the vehicle 154 to a charging location for the vehicle (e.g., a location of one or more charging structures 150) specified in the location instructions 284 of a charging control signal 282. (Examiner asserts that it is implicit from Paragraph Number [0070] that the first and second demand cannot be met in case the charging structures need extra power, and that the first and second demand can be met when there is no need for extra power)).
the at least one processor switches between a plurality of modes which includes, as modes for managing the energy and the moving body (Paragraph Number [0073] teaches charging control signal 282 also can include charging mode instructions 285 for identifying a type of charging mode such as a positive charging mode or a negative charging mode. In some examples, a positive charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device increases, thus corresponding to consumption of power made available by the electric grid. In some examples, a negative charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device decreases, thus corresponding to generation of power by transferring energy from the energy storage device to the electric grid. (Examiner asserts that in the positive charging mode, the power demand of the electric vehicles is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "first mode"; and in the negative charging mode the power demand of the grid and/or charging infrastructure is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "second mode")).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
Both Donnelly and Gaertner are directed to electric vehicle charging optimization. Donnelly discloses determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization. Gaertner improves upon Donnelly by disclosing a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met, to efficiently balance charging between multiple vehicles to meet the most optimized demand possible. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization in Donnelly to further utilize a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as disclosed in Gaertner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein as a mode for managing the energy and the moving body, the at least one processor determines a mode to be executed in future among the plurality of modes (Paragraph Number [0073] teaches charging control signal 282 also can include charging mode instructions 285 for identifying a type of charging mode such as a positive charging mode or a negative charging mode. In some examples, a positive charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device increases, thus corresponding to consumption of power made available by the electric grid. In some examples, a negative charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device decreases, thus corresponding to generation of power by transferring energy from the energy storage device to the electric grid. (Examiner asserts that in the positive charging mode, the power demand of the electric vehicles is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "first mode"; and in the negative charging mode the power demand of the grid and/or charging infrastructure is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "second mode")).
As per claim 3, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein as the mode for managing the energy and the moving body, the at least one processor determines a mode to be currently executed, regardless of a mode being executed, among the plurality of modes (Paragraph Number [0073] teaches charging control signal 282 also can include charging mode instructions 285 for identifying a type of charging mode such as a positive charging mode or a negative charging mode. In some examples, a positive charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device increases, thus corresponding to consumption of power made available by the electric grid. In some examples, a negative charging mode corresponds to a charging mode during which the charge level of an energy storage device decreases, thus corresponding to generation of power by transferring energy from the energy storage device to the electric grid. (Examiner asserts that in the positive charging mode, the power demand of the electric vehicles is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "first mode"; and in the negative charging mode the power demand of the grid and/or charging infrastructure is prioritized, in an analogous manner to the claimed "second mode")).
As per claim 5, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
wherein the first mode is a mode in which the position and the time at which the moving body moves are decided to meet the second demand, and the time at which the moving body moves is adjusted to meet the first demand to the extent possible while meeting the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 6, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 5.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein when the first mode is determined by the at least one processor, the at least one processor performs processing of determining whether both demands of the first demand and the second demand can be met, by the moving body moving according to the position and the time at which the moving body moves and which are decided to meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low)).
and in a case where it is determined that both demands of the first demand and the second demand cannot be met (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
the at least one processor performs processing of adjusting the time at which the moving body moves to meet the first demand to the extent possible while meeting the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 7, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the second mode is a mode in which a moving body required to meet the first demand is selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, and in which a moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, is caused to move to partially meet the second demand. (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low)).
As per claim 8, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 7.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein when the second mode is determined by the at least one processor, the at least one processor performs processing for selecting the moving body required to meet the first demand from among the plurality of moving bodies, and processing for deciding, to partially meet the second demand, the position and the time at which the moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, moves (Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
As per claim 9, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the first demand further includes a demand position in relation to the energy demand, which is sent from the energy management apparatus (Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
As per claim 10, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein as the mode for managing the energy and the moving body, the at least one processor determines a mode to be currently executed, regardless of a mode being executed, among the plurality of modes (Paragraph Number [0070]: location instructions 284 can identify charging structures at or near specific locations within an electric grid 100 that are in need of extra power generation during a portion of time as indicated in demand response and/or frequency signals received from an electric grid control system 208).
As per claim 12, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the first mode is a mode in which the position and the time at which the moving body moves are decided to meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and the time at which the moving body moves is adjusted to partially meet the first demand while meeting the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 13, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the first mode is a mode in which the position and the time at which the moving body moves are decided to meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and the time at which the moving body moves is adjusted to partially meet the first demand while meeting the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 14, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the first mode is a mode in which the position and the time at which the moving body moves are decided to meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and the time at which the moving body moves is adjusted to partially meet the first demand while meeting the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 15, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the second mode is a mode in which a moving body required to meet the first demand is selected from among the plurality of moving bodies (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and in which a moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, is caused to move to partially meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 16, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the second mode is a mode in which a moving body required to meet the first demand is selected from among the plurality of moving bodies (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and in which a moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, is caused to move to partially meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 17, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the second mode is a mode in which a moving body required to meet the first demand is selected from among the plurality of moving bodies (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and in which a moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, is caused to move to partially meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 18, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 5.
In addition, Donnelly teaches:
wherein the second mode is a mode in which a moving body required to meet the first demand is selected from among the plurality of moving bodies (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches charging control signals instructing a vehicle not to charge can include an instruction to operate the vehicle in the service mode as opposed to the charging mode and/or an instruction not to charge at a current time but to wait until a future charging start time (e.g., when service demand for a fleet of service vehicles is low and/or power pricing rates are low). Paragraph Number [0067] teaches command control signal 280 can include instructions indicating when to assign each vehicle to a first plurality of vehicles operating in a service mode or a second plurality of vehicles operating in a charging mode. Command control signals 280 can be dynamically determined in real time based, at least in part, on one or more of the one or more current status indicators 252 of the vehicles, the one or more electric grid signals (e.g., 256, 257, 258) and/or the one or more vehicle service requests 254 and associated vehicle service request parameters. In some examples, a first plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a service mode for providing a vehicle service to end users and a second plurality of vehicles in the fleet can be identified in command control signal 280 for operating in a charging mode).
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the first demand is partially met while the second demand is met, and a second mode in which the second demand is partially met while the first demand is met as described by the following citations from Gaertner:
and in which a moving body other than the moving body selected from among the plurality of moving bodies, is caused to move to partially meet the second demand (Paragraph Number [0032] teaches when the schedule information does not include vehicle availability or the arrival indication does not correspond to the vehicle availability, the method may further comprise determining whether one of the charging points is available for at least one open time interval. In addition, when one of the charging points is available, the method may further comprise assigning the respective electric vehicle to the available charging point for the open time interval. Paragraph Number [0093] teaches it may be desirable to bring as many vehicles as possible to a minimum state of charge before bringing electric vehicles to a maximum state of charge. This approach may make it possible to bring more electric vehicles to a minimum state of charge than would otherwise be possible. Accordingly, once an electric vehicle has been brought to a minimum state of charge, the current being provided to the vehicle may be suspended in order to bring another vehicle to a minimum state of charge. Once all vehicles have been brought to the corresponding minimum state of charge, as many vehicles as possible may be brought to a maximum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0159] teaches the charging schedule may be at least partially preemptive. In particular, once charging of an electric vehicle has begun, the charging can be suspended. For example, the electric vehicle may be assigned to charge until it reaches a minimum state of charge and then charging of the electric vehicle may be suspended until other vehicles also reach a minimum state of charge. Paragraph Number [0160] teaches electric vehicles do not tolerate suspension of charging. The electric vehicle model 116 may reflect whether individual electric vehicles tolerate suspension of charging. More particularly, a battery management system of an EV might not tolerate suspension of charging. If the EV does not tolerate suspension of charging, then the EV might not draw current in response to a signal from the communication service 124).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 19, claim 19 recites a method that is substantially similar to the method performed by the system found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 20, Donnelly teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program, the program causing the computer to function as (Paragraph Number [0047] teaches the central control system 202 and the electric grid control system 208 can respectively include one or more computing device(s) 220/230. The computing device(s) 220/230 can include one or more processor(s) 222/232. The one or more processor(s) 222/232 can be any suitable processing device such as a microprocessor, microcontroller, integrated circuit, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), logic device, one or more central processing units (CPUs), processing units performing other specialized calculations, etc. The processor(s) can be a single processor or a plurality of processors that are operatively and/or selectively connected. Paragraph Number [0048] teaches the computing device(s) 220/230 also can include one or more memory device(s) 224/234. The memory device(s) 224/234 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, EPROM, flash memory devices, magnetic disks, etc., and/or combinations thereof. The memory device(s) 224/234 can store information that can be accessed by the one or more processor(s) 222/232. For instance, the memory device(s) 224/234 can include computer-readable instructions 225/235 that can be executed by the one or more processor(s) 222/232. The instructions 225/235 can be software written in any suitable programming language or can be implemented in hardware. Additionally, and/or alternatively, the instructions 225/235 can be executed in logically and/or virtually separate threads on processor(s) 222/232. The instructions 225/235 can be any set of instructions that when executed by the one or more processor(s) 222/232 cause the one or more processor(s) 222/232 to perform operations).
The remainder of the claim limitations are substantially similar to those found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0201148 to Donnelly et al. (hereafter referred to as Donnelly) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0269717 to Gaertner et al. (hereafter referred to as Gaertner) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/061592 to Nakasone et al. (hereafter referred to as Nakasone).
As per claim 4, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach if a predetermined emergency condition is met, a specific task is executed or permission granted as described by the following citations from Nakasone:
wherein in a case where the moving body starts moving based on the position and the time at which the moving body moves and which are decided according to the mode determined by the at least one processor, and then a predetermined emergency condition is met, the at least one processor determines the mode to be currently executed among the plurality of modes (Paragraph Number [0123] teaches the charge/discharge system allows the electric vehicle to discharge the remaining battery power when the house 1 is without electricity. According to the charge/discharge system, it is possible to permit use of electricity of the electric vehicle so that the electricity charged outside of the house 1 is supplied to the house 1 only at emergencies where the house 1 has lost power. Paragraph Number [0129] teaches the charge/discharge system may be configured to discharge the battery of the electric vehicle connected thereto at emergencies, for example.).
Both the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner and Nakasone are directed to electric vehicle charging optimization. The combination of Donnelly and Gaertner discloses determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization. Nakasone improves upon the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner by disclosing if a predetermined emergency condition is met, a specific task is executed or permission granted. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include if a predetermined emergency condition is met, a specific task is executed or permission granted, to efficiently create or determine if rules should change or be removed or excused based on an extreme situation. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization in the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner to further utilize if a predetermined emergency condition is met, a specific task is executed or permission granted as disclosed in Nakasone, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 11, the combination of Donnelly and Gaertner teaches each of the limitations of claim 1, 2, and 10.
Donnelly teaches determining demand amount, time, and position related to a vehicle and producing a demand fulfillment optimization but does not explicitly teach if a predetermined emergency condition is met, a specific task is executed or permission granted as described by the following citations from Nakasone:
wherein in a case where the moving body starts moving based on the position and the time at which the moving body moves and which are decided according to the mode determined by the at least one processor, and then a predetermined emergency condition is met, the at least one processor determines the mode to be currently executed among the plurality of modes (Paragraph Number [0123] teaches the charge/discharge system allows the electric vehicle to discharge the remaining battery power when the house 1 is without electricity. According to the charge/discharge system, it is possible to permit use of electricity of the electric vehicle so that the electricity charged outside of the house 1 is supplied to the house 1 only at emergencies where the house 1 has lost power. Paragraph Number [0129] teaches the charge/discharge system may be configured to discharge the battery of the electric vehicle connected thereto at emergencies, for example).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are eligible under 35 USC 101. (See Applicant’s Remarks, 3/11/2026, pgs. 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the 35 USC 101 analysis presented above, the claims recite an abstract concept that is encapsulated by decision making analogous to a method of organizing human activity or mathematical concepts. Examiner notes that each of the limitations that encapsulate the abstract concepts are recited in the above 35 USC 101. Additionally, the claims do not recite a practical application of the abstract concepts in that there is no specific use or application of the method steps other than to make conclusory determinations and provide for direction for either a person or machine to follow at some future time or to make calculations that are mathematical operations. The claims do not recite any particular use for these determinations and directions that improve upon the underlying computer technology (in this instance the computer software, processor, and memory). Instead, Examiner asserts that the additional elements in the claim language are only used as implementation of the abstract concepts utilizing technology. The concepts described in the limitations when taken both as a whole and individually are not meaningfully different than those found by the courts to be abstract ideas and are similarly considered to be certain methods of organizing human activity such as managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions or to make calculations that are mathematical operations. The steps are then encapsulated into a particular technological environment by executing these steps upon a computer processor and utilizing features such as a computer interface or sending and receiving data over a network or displaying information via a computerized graphical user interface. However, sending and receiving of information over a network and execution of algorithms on a computer are utilized only to facilitate the abstract concepts (i.e. selecting data on an interface, publishing/displaying information, etc.). As such, Examiner asserts that the implementation of the abstract concepts recited by the claims utilize computer technology in a way that is considered to be generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, Examiner does not find that the claims recite a practical application of the abstract concepts recited by the claims.
Applicant argues that the previously cited references do not teach the amended claim limitations recited in the independent claims. (See Applicant’s Remarks, 3/11/2026, pgs. 10-12). Examiner notes that these arguments are moot in light of the new citations and new grounds of rejection. Examiner notes that new citations from the Gaertner reference have been applied in response to Applicant’s amended claims and to further support Examiner’s position. In response to Applicant’s assertions, Examiner directs Applicant to review these citations which are presented above in the new 35 USC 103 rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW H. DIVELBISS whose telephone number is (571) 270-0166. The fax phone number is 571-483-7110. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th, 7:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry O'Connor can be reached on (571) 272-6787.
/M.H.D/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624