DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose, etc., (US 20190239844 A1) in view of Ishikawa, etc. (US 20170076428 A1), further in view of Csaszar, etc. (US 20130076617 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bose teaches that a processing system (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0081], “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram illustrating an exemplary diagnostic and treatment system 100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown, the diagnostic and treatment system 100 may include a medical apparatus 110, a processing device 120, storage 130, one or more terminal(s) 140, and a network 150. In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110, the processing device 120, the storage 130, and/or the terminal(s) 140 may be connected to and/or communicate with each other via a wireless connection (e.g., the network 150), a wired connection, or any combination thereof. The connections between the components in the diagnostic and treatment system 100 may vary. Merely by way of example, the medical apparatus 110 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1. As another example, the medical apparatus 110 may be connected to the processing device 120 directly. As a further example, the storage 130 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1, or connected to the processing device 120 directly. As still a further example, the terminal(s) 140 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1, or connected to the processing device 120 directly”), comprising:
a processing device including a support table with a support surface to support a processing target and including a plurality of identification marks with a reference positional relationship (See Bose: Fig. 2, and [0095], “The couch 260 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject. The couch 260 may include a support roller 263, a table top 265, a table top carrier 267, a table base 269, or the like, or any combination thereof. The support roller 263 may support the table top carrier 267. The table top carrier 267 may support the table top 265. The table top 265 may extend along the longitudinal direction of the couch”); and
a controller (See Bose: Fig. 4, and [0106], “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram illustrating exemplary hardware and/or software components of an exemplary mobile device 400 on which the term inal(s) 140 may be implemented according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the mobile device 400 may include a communication platform 410, a display 420, a graphic processing unit (GPU) 430, a central processing unit (CPU) 440, an I/O 450, a memory 460, and a storage 490. In some embodiments, any other suitable component, including but not limited to a system bus or a controller (not shown), may also be included in the mobile device 400. In some embodiments, a mobile operating system 470 (e.g., iOS™, Android™, Windows Phone™, etc.) and one or more applications 480 may be loaded into the memory 460 from the storage 490 in order to be executed by the CPU 440”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to execute operations (See Bose: Fig. 4, and [0106], “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram illustrating exemplary hardware and/or software components of an exemplary mobile device 400 on which the term inal(s) 140 may be implemented according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the mobile device 400 may include a communication platform 410, a display 420, a graphic processing unit (GPU) 430, a central processing unit (CPU) 440, an I/O 450, a memory 460, and a storage 490. In some embodiments, any other suitable component, including but not limited to a system bus or a controller (not shown), may also be included in the mobile device 400. In some embodiments, a mobile operating system 470 (e.g., iOS™, Android™, Windows Phone™, etc.) and one or more applications 480 may be loaded into the memory 460 from the storage 490 in order to be executed by the CPU 440”) of:
an acquirer to acquire a captured image of the support surface captured by an imaging device (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0083], “In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110 may be a single-modality apparatus. For example, the medical apparatus 110 may include an imaging device 112. The imaging device 112 may be configured to provide the imaging data for determining the at least one part of the subject (e.g., an anatomical point). The imaging device 112 may include a CT device, a CBCT device, a PET device, a volume CT device, an MRI device, a SPECT device, or the like, or a combination thereof. The medical apparatus 110 may further include a couch 116. The couch 116 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject to, for example, a scanning region of the imaging device 112”; [0082], “The medical apparatus 110 may acquire imaging data relating to at least one part of a subject. The imaging data relating to at least one part of a subject may include an image (e.g., an image slice), projection data, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the imaging data may be a two-dimensional (2D) imaging data, a three-dimensional (3D) imaging data, a four-dimensional (4D) imaging data, or the like, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the imaging data may afford a sagittal view, an axial view, a coronal view, etc. The subject may be biological or non-biological. For example, the subject may include a patient, a man-made object, etc. As another example, the subject may include a specific portion, organ, and/or tissue of the patient. For example, the subject may include the head, the neck, the thorax, the heart, the stomach, a blood vessel, soft tissue, a tumor, nodules, or the like, or any combination thereof”; and [0136], “Exemplary characteristic features may correspond to a common marker, a common feature, etc., of the subject and/or the first couch and the second couch. In some embodiments, the first image slice and the second image slice may be registered based on the isocenter of the first device acquiring the first image slice and the isocenter of the second device acquiring the second image slice. The isocenter of the first device acquiring the first image slice and the isocenter of the second device may be coincident in the third image slice”) and
including the plurality of identification marks and
the processing target supported by the support surface (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0083], “In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110 may be a single-modality apparatus. For example, the medical apparatus 110 may include an imaging device 112. The imaging device 112 may be configured to provide the imaging data for determining the at least one part of the subject (e.g., an anatomical point). The imaging device 112 may include a CT device, a CBCT device, a PET device, a volume CT device, an MRI device, a SPECT device, or the like, or a combination thereof. The medical apparatus 110 may further include a couch 116. The couch 116 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject to, for example, a scanning region of the imaging device 112”. Note that the subject may be the processing target);
an identifier to identify positions of the plurality of identification marks (See Bose: Fig. 9, and [0144], “The reference position of the second couch reflected in the second image slice and/or the first couch reflected in the first image slice may be determined based on the second conformation and the first conformation reflected in the second image slice and the first image slice, respectively. In some embodiments, the first conformation of the first couch may be segmented and/or identified from the first image slice as a first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9). A first position of the first couch may be reflected in the first image slice as a first point (e.g., point P.sub.1 point P.sub.i, point P.sub.i+1, etc., as shown in FIG. 9). The second conformation of the second couch may be segmented and/or identified from the second image slice as a second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9). A second position of the second couch may be reflected in the second image slice as a second point (e.g., point Q.sub.1, point Q.sub.i, point Q.sub.i+1, etc., as shown in FIG. 9). The reference positon of the second couch reflected in the second image slice or the first couch reflected in the first image slice may correspond to a reference point (e.g., point P.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9)”; and [0148], “In some embodiments, the first distance in the horizontal direction between the reference point and the first point may be determined based on the interval between an image slice of the first stack corresponding to the reference position (e.g., position Z.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9) and an image slice of the first stack corresponding to the second position (e.g., position Z.sub.i as shown in FIG. 9). If the slice intervals between adjacent image slices are constant, the first distance in the horizontal direction may be determined based on the number of slices between the reference point and the second point and the slice intervals”. Note that the horizontal direction may not be exactly the orientation of the captured image) in an orientation of the captured image acquired by the acquirer;
a converter to convert the orientation of the captured image such that a positional relationship among the plurality of identification marks in the captured image becomes the reference positional relationship to provide a converted captured image (See Bose: Figs. 5-9, and [0110], “The displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement field associated with imaging data. In some embodiments, the displacement field associated with imaging data may include a plurality of displacement components. The displacement field associated with images in a view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in a different view. For instance, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in the axial view and/or in the coronal view. The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in an axial view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view). For instance, the imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view may be used to provide adjusted images in the axial view and/or the coronal view. For illustration purposes, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view is described below. It is understood it is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. A displacement component of the plurality of displacement components may correspond to a position of the plurality of positions of a couch. In some embodiments, the displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement component based on a first conformation of the couch reflected in the imaging data and a reference conformation. In some embodiments, a displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch may include a rotation angle associated with the position. The displacement determination module 520 may determine the rotation angle associated with the position”; [0117], “In 604, a displacement field associated with the first set of imaging data with respect to a reference conformation may be determined based on the first conformation and a reference conformation. Operation 604 may be performed by the displacement determination module 520. As used herein, the reference conformation may be also referred to as a model conformation of the couch. For example, the first conformation may be reflected in the first image affording a sagittal view as a first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9). The reference conformation may be reflected in the first image affording the sagittal view as a second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9). In some embodiments, the second line may be a straight horizontal line. The second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9) may intersect with the first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9) at a reference point (e.g., point P.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9) corresponding to the reference position of the couch. The reference conformation and the first conformation of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data may be the same at the reference position. The deformation or configuration of the couch with the reference conformation may be the same as the deformation or configuration of the couch with the first conformation at the reference position. In some embodiments, the reference conformation of the couch may be determined by determining a reference position of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data. The reference conformation of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data (i.e., the second line) may be determined by determining a straight horizontal line through the reference point on the first line”; and [0140], “In 708, the stack of third image slices may be adjusted based on the displacement field. Operation 708 may be performed by the image correction module 530. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices may be adjusted by correcting each third image slice of the stack based on a displacement component associated with a first position corresponding to the each image slice of the first stack affording an axial view. Further, the each third image slice affording an axial view may be corrected by moving all pixels in the each image third slice of the stack based on the corresponding displacement component. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices or the first image slice may correspond to a volume image (e.g., a three-dimension image) relating to the ROI and the first couch. The stack of third image slices may be adjusted by moving all voxels in the volume image based on the displacement field. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices may correspond to imaging data relating to the ROI of the subject and the first couch. The imaging data may be presented as a plurality of spatial basis function representations as descried in connection with FIG. 6. The stack of third image slices may be adjusted by moving the plurality of spatial basis function representations based on the displacement field. Then, the adjusted stack of third image slices may be obtained based on the adjusted imaging data (i.e., the adjusted plurality of spatial basis function representations). The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in a sagittal view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view)”. Note that the sagittal view image data is converted to displacement fields based on the first conformation and reference conformation, and the adjusted image data are obtained from the displacement fields based on the reference conformation and the base conformation, which may mapped to the positional relationship of the captured image being converted to the positional relationship of the converted image); and
a display controller to display the converted captured image and a processing image showing contents of processing to be performed on the processing target in an overlapping manner (See Bose: Figs. 11-12, and [0176], “FIGS. 12A-12C are images relating to the same locally amplified region in FIGS. 11A-11C according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12B, white arrows denote a displacement field. The displacement field includes a plurality of local displacement components as described elsewhere in the present disclosure. Each of the plurality of displacement components is denoted by a white arrow. The displacement components correspond to multiple positions of the couch. A line 1220 in FIG. 12B or in FIG. 12C denotes a reference axial view corresponding to a reference position of the couch as described elsewhere in the present disclosure. The displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch far from the reference axial view is greater than that corresponding to a position of the couch close to the reference axial view” . Note that the various views and images are displayed, and the displacement field and the captured image are in overlapped manner Fig. 12B).
However, Bose fails to explicitly disclose that including the plurality of identification marks; and in an orientation of the captured image acquired by the acquirer.
However, Ishikawa teaches that including the plurality of identification marks ((See Ishikawa: Figs. 5A-E, and [0086], “In FIG. 5D and FIG. 5E, projection results by the information processing apparatus 10 are illustrated. The marker IDs of markers 521 and 522 are S1_LC204_240BK and S1_LC204_240WH. The marker IDs of markers 523 and 524 are S1_LC204_230BK and S1_LC204_230WH”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to modify Bose to have including the plurality of identification marks as taught by Ishikawa in order to allow the amount of information to be finely adjusted in accordance with the projection environment, thus improving visibility (See Ishikawa: Figs. 1A-B, and [0109], “The number of pieces of presentation information is not limited to this. For example, the number of pieces of presentation information may be an arbitrary number of from two or more to less than the number of markers. Increasing or decreasing of the number of pieces of presentation information in that range allows the amount of information to be finely adjusted in accordance with the projection environment, and visibility to be improved. However, in this case, there are a plurality of pieces of presentation information and a plurality of markers, and hence the correspondence relation between the pieces of presentation information and the markers is not clear”). Bose teaches a method and system that may obtain the subject image based on the reference conformation and the adjusted image which is adjusted from the first captured image according to the first conformation and a reference conformation with a common marker; while Ishikawa teaches a system and method that may generate and project the presentation information according to the target area size based on locations and sizes of the four or more markers. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bose by Ishikawa to use multiple markers in the table to identify the locations and regions of the target object in the captured image. The motivation to modify Bose by Ishikawa is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
However, Bose, modified by Ishikawa, fails to explicitly disclose that in an orientation of the captured image acquired by the acquirer.
However, Csaszar teaches that in an orientation of the captured image acquired by the acquirer (See Csaszar: Fig.2, and [0094], “At each frame of acquisition, the detection system receives the aggregate `cloud` of recovered three-space locations comprising all markers from tags presently in the instrumented workspace volume (within the visible range of the cameras or other detectors). The markers on each tag are of sufficient multiplicity and are arranged in unique patterns such that the detection system can perform the following tasks: (1) segmentation, in which each recovered marker position is assigned to one and only one subcollection of points that form a single tag; (2) labelling, in which each segmented subcollection of points is identified as a particular tag; (3) location, in which the three-space position of the identified tag is recovered; and (4) orientation, in which the three-space orientation of the identified tag is recovered. Tasks (1) and (2) are made possible through the specific nature of the marker-patterns, as described below and as illustrated in one embodiment in FIG. 2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to modify Bose to have in an orientation of the captured image acquired by the acquirer as taught by Csaszar in order to be capable of tracking the objects e.g. pointing device, body portion of user, clothing, gloves, mobile screens affixed with tags (See Csaszar: Figs. 1A-D, and [0085], “Although the system is shown with a single user's hands as input, the SOE 100 may be implemented using multiple users. In addition, instead of or in addition to hands, the system may track any part or parts of a user's body, including head, feet, legs, arms, elbows, knees, and the like”). Bose teaches a method and system that may obtain the subject image based on the reference conformation and the adjusted image which is adjusted from the first captured image according to the first conformation and a reference conformation with a common marker; while Csaszar teaches a system and method that may track objects adaptively based on positions and orientations detections of multiple mark tags. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bose by Csaszar to detect positions and orientations of multiple marker tags in order to adaptively track objects like body portions. The motivation to modify Bose by Csaszar is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
Regarding claim 2, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Bose teaches that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the converter is also configured or programmed to estimate an estimated captured image captured in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the support surface based on the plurality of identification marks, and convert the captured image into the estimated captured image to provide the converted captured image (See Bose: Figs. 5-6, and [0110], “The displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement field associated with imaging data. In some embodiments, the displacement field associated with imaging data may include a plurality of displacement components. The displacement field associated with images in a view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in a different view. For instance, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in the axial view and/or in the coronal view. The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in an axial view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view). For instance, the imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view may be used to provide adjusted images in the axial view and/or the coronal view. For illustration purposes, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view is described below. It is understood it is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. A displacement component of the plurality of displacement components may correspond to a position of the plurality of positions of a couch. In some embodiments, the displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement component based on a first conformation of the couch reflected in the imaging data and a reference conformation. In some embodiments, a displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch may include a rotation angle associated with the position. The displacement determination module 520 may determine the rotation angle associated with the position”; and [0115], “In 602, a first set of imaging data may be obtained. The first set of imaging data may afford a sagittal view relating to a subject and a couch supporting the subject. Operation 602 may be performed by the image data acquisition module 510. The couch may have a plurality of first positions reflected in the first set of imaging data as a first conformation”. Note that the plurality of the first position of couch may be the plurality of marks; the sagittal view may be perpendicular to the supporting table surface; the determined displacement view of the sagittal view may be the estimated captured image data; the displacement field associated with the sagittal view is converted as a displacement field of another view say axial view; axial view image is adjusted from the sagittal view image data and a displacement field; and coronal view image data is adjusted from the sagittal view image data and a displacement field).
Regarding claim 3, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Further, Bose and Ishikawa teach that the processing system according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of identification marks include four identification marks defining a rectangular or substantially rectangular shape in a state of being connected with each other by a line (See Ishikawa: Fig. 7, and [0098], “FIG. 7 is an illustration of an example of a projection image when the number of pieces of presentation information projected in the projectable surface is determined to be “1” in Step S602 of FIG. 6A, and one value is included in each piece of presentation information. As illustrated in FIG. 7, the recognition unit 111 recognizes the four markers 621, 622, 623, and 624 in a projection image 701”); and
the converter is configured or programmed to estimate the estimated captured image (See Bose: Figs. 5-9, and [0110], “The displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement field associated with imaging data. In some embodiments, the displacement field associated with imaging data may include a plurality of displacement components. The displacement field associated with images in a view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in a different view. For instance, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in the axial view and/or in the coronal view. The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in an axial view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view). For instance, the imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view may be used to provide adjusted images in the axial view and/or the coronal view. For illustration purposes, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view is described below. It is understood it is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. A displacement component of the plurality of displacement components may correspond to a position of the plurality of positions of a couch. In some embodiments, the displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement component based on a first conformation of the couch reflected in the imaging data and a reference conformation. In some embodiments, a displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch may include a rotation angle associated with the position. The displacement determination module 520 may determine the rotation angle associated with the position”. Note that the sagittal view image data is converted to displacement fields based on the first conformation and reference conformation) such that the plurality of identification marks of the captured image define a rectangular or substantially rectangular shape in a state of being connected with each other by a line (See Ishikawa: Fig. 7, and [0099], “In this example, because an area having a large color gradient is present in the projectable surface, the projectable surface is divided by the presentation information generation unit 114 into a first divided surface 711 and a second divided surface 712. The markers 623 and 624 are included in the divided surface 711. The markers 621 and 622 are included in the second divided surface 712, which is in a separate area that is not contiguous to the divided surface 711”. Note that 711 or 712 are rectangular shape connected by a dash lines).
Regarding claim 4, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Bose teaches that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to execute an operation of an adjuster to create an adjusted image as a result of adjusting at least one of a position, an orientation and a size of the processing image for the processing target in the converted captured image based on an instruction from a user (See Bose: Figs. 5-6, and [0124], “In 606, the first set of imaging data may be adjusted based on the displacement field associated with the first set of imaging data with respect to the reference conformation. Operation 606 may be performed by the image correction module 530. In some embodiments, the first set of imaging data may be adjusted by moving the plurality of spatial basis function representations based on the displacement field. For example, a spatial basis function representation may correspond to a rotation angle. A spatial basis function representation may be adjusted based on a rotation angle corresponding to the spatial basis function representation. In some embodiments, the adjustment may be performed, based on the displacement field, on the pixel or voxel basis with respect to the first set of imaging data. In some embodiments, the first set of imaging data affording to the sagittal view may correspond to second set of imaging data affording to an axial view. The first set of imaging data may be adjusted by adjusting the second set of imaging data affording to the axial view based on the displacement field. Further, the adjustment may be performed on pixels or voxels with respect to the second set of imaging data based on the displacement field. The first set of imaging data may be determined based on the adjusted second set of imaging data. In some embodiments, imaging data in the second set of imaging data corresponding to the reference position of the couch does not need to be adjusted”. Note that adjusting the image based on the displacement field may be adjusting the image data according to the orientation adjustments).
Regarding claim 5, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Csaszar teaches that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to execute an operation of an automatic adjuster to create an adjusted image as a result of automatically adjusting at least one of a position, an orientation and a size of the processing image such that the adjusted image corresponds to the processing target in the converted captured image (See Csaszar: Figs. 1A-D, and [0044], “Central to the tracking system and gestural control of an embodiment is the concept of coincident virtual and physical spaces, wherein the system creates the feeling that the virtual information displayed on the screens within the workspace is simply an extension of the physical workspace. The Related applications describe examples that include literal pointing, automatic compensation for movement or repositioning of screens, graphics that change depending on user position, and inclusion of physical objects in on-screen display, to name a few”).
Regarding claim 6, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above. Further, Bose teaches that the processing system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to execute an operation of a generator to generate processing data corresponding to the adjusted image (See Bose: Fig. 6, and [0125], “In 608, an image of the subject with respect to the reference conformation may be obtained based on the adjusted first set of imaging data. Operation 608 may be performed by the image correction module 530. In some embodiments, the image of the subject with respect to the reference conformation may be obtained by performing a negative transformation on the adjusted first set of imaging data based on the plurality of spatial basis functions as described in 602. Further, the adjusted spatial basis function representations may be transformed into one or more images of the subject. The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in a sagittal view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view). The adjusted first set of imaging data may be used to generate an adjusted 3D image. The adjusted first set of imaging data may be used to generate one or more adjusted 2D image slices in one or more planes, e.g., one or more sagittal planes, one or more coronal planes, one or more axial planes, one or more same or different oblique planes. For instance, the adjusted first set of imaging data may be used to generate a series of 2D image slices in different axial planes, or a series of 2D image slices in different sagittal planes, or a series of 2D image slices in different coronal planes, or one or more 2D image slices in parallel or nonparallel oblique planes”).
Regarding claim 7, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Bose and Ishikawa teach that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the support table includes a carrying jig on the support surface to carry the processing target (See Bose: Fig. 2, and [0095], “The couch 260 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject. The couch 260 may include a support roller 263, a table top 265, a table top carrier 267, a table base 269, or the like, or any combination thereof. The support roller 263 may support the table top carrier 267. The table top carrier 267 may support the table top 265. The table top 265 may extend along the longitudinal direction of the couch”); and
the plurality of identification marks (See Ishikawa: Figs. 5A-E, and [0086], “In FIG. 5D and FIG. 5E, projection results by the information processing apparatus 10 are illustrated. The marker IDs of markers 521 and 522 are S1_LC204_240BK and S1_LC204_240WH. The marker IDs of markers 523 and 524 are S1_LC204_230BK and S1_LC204_230WH”) are provided on the carrying jig and are indirectly provided on the support surface via the carrying jig (See Bose: Fig. 9, and [0145], “Exemplary characteristic features may correspond to a common marker, a common feature, etc. As a further example, the first image slice and the second image slice may be registered based on an isocenter of a first device acquiring the first image slice and an isocenter of a second device acquiring the second image slice”).
Regarding claim 8, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Ishikawa teaches that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of identification marks are directly provided on the support surface (See Ishikawa: Figs. 4A-E, and [0075], “In Step S401 of FIG. 4A, the recognition unit 111 may acquire the size of the projectable surface corresponding to the recognized marker ID from the ROM 102, the HDD 104, or a database defined in a device external to the information processing apparatus 10. When the position of the information processing apparatus 10 and the position of the marker are known, storing of the position information on the information processing apparatus 10 and the marker in the ROM 102, for example, enables the position and the size of the projectable surface corresponding to each marker to be defined in advance”. Note that the markers are on the projection surface, which may be mapped to that the identification marks are directly on the supporting surface).
Regarding claim 9, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Bose teaches that the processing system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device is not secured to the processing device (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0181], “The program code may execute entirely on the user's computer, partly on the user's computer, as a stand-alone software package, partly on the user's computer and partly on a remote computer or entirely on the remote computer or server. In the latter scenario, the remote computer may be connected to the user's computer through any type of network, including a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), or the connection may be made to an external computer (for example, through the Internet using an Internet Service Provider) or in a cloud computing environment or offered as a service such as a Software as a Service (SaaS)”. Note that the computer program executed in remote computer may be mapped that the imaging device is not secured to the user’s computer).
Regarding claim 10, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Bose, Ishikawa, and Csaszar teach that a display method (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0081], “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram illustrating an exemplary diagnostic and treatment system 100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown, the diagnostic and treatment system 100 may include a medical apparatus 110, a processing device 120, storage 130, one or more terminal(s) 140, and a network 150. In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110, the processing device 120, the storage 130, and/or the terminal(s) 140 may be connected to and/or communicate with each other via a wireless connection (e.g., the network 150), a wired connection, or any combination thereof. The connections between the components in the diagnostic and treatment system 100 may vary. Merely by way of example, the medical apparatus 110 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1. As another example, the medical apparatus 110 may be connected to the processing device 120 directly. As a further example, the storage 130 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1, or connected to the processing device 120 directly. As still a further example, the terminal(s) 140 may be connected to the processing device 120 through the network 150, as illustrated in FIG. 1, or connected to the processing device 120 directly”), comprising:
an image capturing step of capturing an image (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0135], “T In some embodiments, the second image slice may include a planning image relating to the ROI of the subject. As used herein, a planning image may be used to design a treatment plan of the subject. For example, the planning image may be taken before the subject receives a radiation therapy (e.g., days or weeks before). The planning image may be used to identify a focus, a treatment target (e.g., the ROI of the subject), an organ at risk, and the external contour of the subject, and the treatment plan may be designed for the subject based on the planning image”) of a support surface of a support table included in a processing deice, the support surface including a plurality of identification marks with a reference positional relationship and capable of supporting a processing target (See Bose: Fig. 2, and [0095], “The couch 260 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject. The couch 260 may include a support roller 263, a table top 265, a table top carrier 267, a table base 269, or the like, or any combination thereof. The support roller 263 may support the table top carrier 267. The table top carrier 267 may support the table top 265. The table top 265 may extend along the longitudinal direction of the couch”),
the image including the plurality of identification marks (See Ishikawa: Figs. 5A-E, and [0086], “In FIG. 5D and FIG. 5E, projection results by the information processing apparatus 10 are illustrated. The marker IDs of markers 521 and 522 are S1_LC204_240BK and S1_LC204_240WH. The marker IDs of markers 523 and 524 are S1_LC204_230BK and S1_LC204_230WH”) and the processing target supporting by the support surface (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0083], “In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110 may be a single-modality apparatus. For example, the medical apparatus 110 may include an imaging device 112. The imaging device 112 may be configured to provide the imaging data for determining the at least one part of the subject (e.g., an anatomical point). The imaging device 112 may include a CT device, a CBCT device, a PET device, a volume CT device, an MRI device, a SPECT device, or the like, or a combination thereof. The medical apparatus 110 may further include a couch 116. The couch 116 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject to, for example, a scanning region of the imaging device 112”. Note that the subject may be the processing target);
an acquisition step of acquiring a captured image captured in the image capturing step (See Bose: Fig. 1, and [0083], “In some embodiments, the medical apparatus 110 may be a single-modality apparatus. For example, the medical apparatus 110 may include an imaging device 112. The imaging device 112 may be configured to provide the imaging data for determining the at least one part of the subject (e.g., an anatomical point). The imaging device 112 may include a CT device, a CBCT device, a PET device, a volume CT device, an MRI device, a SPECT device, or the like, or a combination thereof. The medical apparatus 110 may further include a couch 116. The couch 116 may be configured to support and/or transfer the at least one part of the subject to, for example, a scanning region of the imaging device 112”; and [0082], “The medical apparatus 110 may acquire imaging data relating to at least one part of a subject. The imaging data relating to at least one part of a subject may include an image (e.g., an image slice), projection data, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the imaging data may be a two-dimensional (2D) imaging data, a three-dimensional (3D) imaging data, a four-dimensional (4D) imaging data, or the like, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the imaging data may afford a sagittal view, an axial view, a coronal view, etc. The subject may be biological or non-biological. For example, the subject may include a patient, a man-made object, etc. As another example, the subject may include a specific portion, organ, and/or tissue of the patient. For example, the subject may include the head, the neck, the thorax, the heart, the stomach, a blood vessel, soft tissue, a tumor, nodules, or the like, or any combination thereof”);
an identification step of identifying positions of the plurality of identification marks (See Bose: Fig. 9, and [0144], “The reference position of the second couch reflected in the second image slice and/or the first couch reflected in the first image slice may be determined based on the second conformation and the first conformation reflected in the second image slice and the first image slice, respectively. In some embodiments, the first conformation of the first couch may be segmented and/or identified from the first image slice as a first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9). A first position of the first couch may be reflected in the first image slice as a first point (e.g., point P.sub.1 point P.sub.i, point P.sub.i+1, etc., as shown in FIG. 9). The second conformation of the second couch may be segmented and/or identified from the second image slice as a second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9). A second position of the second couch may be reflected in the second image slice as a second point (e.g., point Q.sub.1, point Q.sub.i, point Q.sub.i+1, etc., as shown in FIG. 9). The reference positon of the second couch reflected in the second image slice or the first couch reflected in the first image slice may correspond to a reference point (e.g., point P.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9)”; and [0148], “In some embodiments, the first distance in the horizontal direction between the reference point and the first point may be determined based on the interval between an image slice of the first stack corresponding to the reference position (e.g., position Z.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9) and an image slice of the first stack corresponding to the second position (e.g., position Z.sub.i as shown in FIG. 9). If the slice intervals between adjacent image slices are constant, the first distance in the horizontal direction may be determined based on the number of slices between the reference point and the second point and the slice intervals”. Note that the horizontal direction may not be exactly the orientation of the captured image) in an orientation of the captured image acquired in the acquisition step (See Csaszar: Fig.2, and [0094], “At each frame of acquisition, the detection system receives the aggregate `cloud` of recovered three-space locations comprising all markers from tags presently in the instrumented workspace volume (within the visible range of the cameras or other detectors). The markers on each tag are of sufficient multiplicity and are arranged in unique patterns such that the detection system can perform the following tasks: (1) segmentation, in which each recovered marker position is assigned to one and only one subcollection of points that form a single tag; (2) labelling, in which each segmented subcollection of points is identified as a particular tag; (3) location, in which the three-space position of the identified tag is recovered; and (4) orientation, in which the three-space orientation of the identified tag is recovered. Tasks (1) and (2) are made possible through the specific nature of the marker-patterns, as described below and as illustrated in one embodiment in FIG. 2”);
a conversion step of converting the orientation of the captured image such that a positional relationship among the plurality of identification marks in the captured image becomes the reference positional relationship to provide a converted captured image (See Bose: Figs. 5-9, and [0110], “The displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement field associated with imaging data. In some embodiments, the displacement field associated with imaging data may include a plurality of displacement components. The displacement field associated with images in a view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in a different view. For instance, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view corresponding to the imaging data may be converted to a displacement field associated with images corresponding to the same imaging data in the axial view and/or in the coronal view. The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in an axial view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view). For instance, the imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view may be used to provide adjusted images in the axial view and/or the coronal view. For illustration purposes, the displacement field associated with images in the sagittal view is described below. It is understood it is not intended to limit the scope of the present disclosure. A displacement component of the plurality of displacement components may correspond to a position of the plurality of positions of a couch. In some embodiments, the displacement determination module 520 may determine a displacement component based on a first conformation of the couch reflected in the imaging data and a reference conformation. In some embodiments, a displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch may include a rotation angle associated with the position. The displacement determination module 520 may determine the rotation angle associated with the position”; [0117], “In 604, a displacement field associated with the first set of imaging data with respect to a reference conformation may be determined based on the first conformation and a reference conformation. Operation 604 may be performed by the displacement determination module 520. As used herein, the reference conformation may be also referred to as a model conformation of the couch. For example, the first conformation may be reflected in the first image affording a sagittal view as a first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9). The reference conformation may be reflected in the first image affording the sagittal view as a second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9). In some embodiments, the second line may be a straight horizontal line. The second line (e.g., line 910 as shown in FIG. 9) may intersect with the first line (e.g., line 920 as shown in FIG. 9) at a reference point (e.g., point P.sub.r as shown in FIG. 9) corresponding to the reference position of the couch. The reference conformation and the first conformation of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data may be the same at the reference position. The deformation or configuration of the couch with the reference conformation may be the same as the deformation or configuration of the couch with the first conformation at the reference position. In some embodiments, the reference conformation of the couch may be determined by determining a reference position of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data. The reference conformation of the couch reflected in the first set of imaging data (i.e., the second line) may be determined by determining a straight horizontal line through the reference point on the first line”; and [0140], “In 708, the stack of third image slices may be adjusted based on the displacement field. Operation 708 may be performed by the image correction module 530. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices may be adjusted by correcting each third image slice of the stack based on a displacement component associated with a first position corresponding to the each image slice of the first stack affording an axial view. Further, the each third image slice affording an axial view may be corrected by moving all pixels in the each image third slice of the stack based on the corresponding displacement component. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices or the first image slice may correspond to a volume image (e.g., a three-dimension image) relating to the ROI and the first couch. The stack of third image slices may be adjusted by moving all voxels in the volume image based on the displacement field. In some embodiments, the stack of third image slices may correspond to imaging data relating to the ROI of the subject and the first couch. The imaging data may be presented as a plurality of spatial basis function representations as descried in connection with FIG. 6. The stack of third image slices may be adjusted by moving the plurality of spatial basis function representations based on the displacement field. Then, the adjusted stack of third image slices may be obtained based on the adjusted imaging data (i.e., the adjusted plurality of spatial basis function representations). The imaging data adjusted based on a displacement field associated with images in a view (e.g., in a sagittal view) may be used to provide adjusted images in another view (e.g., in a coronal view)”. Note that the sagittal view image data is converted to displacement fields based on the first conformation and reference conformation, and the adjusted image data are obtained from the displacement fields based on the reference conformation and the base conformation, which may mapped to the positional relationship of the captured image being converted to the positional relationship of the converted image); and
a display step of displaying the converted captured image and a processing image showing contents of processing to be performed on the processing target in an overlapping manner (See Bose: Figs. 11-12, and [0176], “FIGS. 12A-12C are images relating to the same locally amplified region in FIGS. 11A-11C according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12B, white arrows denote a displacement field. The displacement field includes a plurality of local displacement components as described elsewhere in the present disclosure. Each of the plurality of displacement components is denoted by a white arrow. The displacement components correspond to multiple positions of the couch. A line 1220 in FIG. 12B or in FIG. 12C denotes a reference axial view corresponding to a reference position of the couch as described elsewhere in the present disclosure. The displacement component corresponding to a position of the couch far from the reference axial view is greater than that corresponding to a position of the couch close to the reference axial view”. Note that the various views and images are displayed, and the displacement field and the captured image are in overlapped manner Fig. 12B).
Conclusion
/GORDON G LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618