DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Dunlap (US-20220411007).
Regarding claim 11, Dunlap discloses a shock absorber (figs 2-4, 60 including damper 107), comprising: a first tube (16) having an interior and an exterior (figs 2-4), the interior of the first tube at least partially defining a first chamber (128); a second tube (8) configured to telescopically interfit with the first tube (figs 2-4); a fluid introduction passageway (fig 15, at least 202) extending between an interior port (194) on the interior of the first tube (fig 15) and an exterior port (fig 15 at or near 200) on the exterior of the first tube; a fluid introduction valve (202) configured to allow the introduction of at least one fluid from the exterior of the first tube into the first chamber (fig 15, 128); and a fluid retainer (182) positioned adjacent the interior port (fig 14), wherein the fluid retainer is configured to retain at least some of the at least one fluid introduced through the fluid introduction passageway ([0073] wherein 182 may be configured as an annular ring. The absorbent 182 permits the flow of gas, such as air, through the absorbent, but absorbs and prevents the transmission of liquids, such as lubricating oil).
Regarding claim 12, Dunlap discloses wherein the fluid retainer is a ring ([0073] wherein 182 may be configured as an annular ring.).
Regarding claim 13, Dunlap discloses wherein the fluid retainer is made from a foam ([0073]closed and/or open cell foam ring 182).
Regarding claim 14, Dunlap discloses that the foam ring 70 is an open-celled foam ([0073]closed and/or open cell foam ring 182).
Regarding claim 15, Dunlap discloses wherein the fluid retainer is capable of retaining at least 1 milliliter of the at least one fluid (it has been interpreted that foam ring 182 is capable of retaining at least 1 ml of fluid).
Regarding claim 16, Dunlap discloses wherein the fluid retainer (182) has a first length (at least axially in fig 15) and the interior port (194) has a second length (fig 15 at least radially) and the first length is greater than the second length (fig 5, at least wherein the length of 64/70 has been interpreted as longer than the radial length of 209).
Regarding claim 17, Dunlap discloses wherein the fluid introduction valve (202) includes a spring (unnumbered ball spring), a blocker (unnumbered ball), and a seat (unnumbered ball seat), wherein the spring urges the blocker against the seat (fig 15).
Regarding claim 18, Dunlap discloses a seal (132) extending between the first tube (16) and the second tube (8) and wherein the fluid retainer (182) is positioned adjacent the seal (fig 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US-20220411007) in view of Becker (US-20100187055).
Regarding claim 1, Dunlap discloses a shock absorber (figs 2-4, 60 including damper 107), comprising: a first tube (16) having an interior and an exterior (figs 2-4), the interior of the first tube at least partially defining a first chamber (128) and wherein the first chamber is at least partially filled with a first at least one fluid (at least air and/or lubricating oil) and the exterior of the first tube being exposed to ambient air at atmospheric pressure (figs 2-4); a second tube (8) configured to telescopically interfit with the first tube (figs 2-4); and a release valve (fig 15, 206) adjacent a first passageway (194) and capable of allowing the first at least one fluid to move through the first passageway from the interior of the first tube to the exterior of the first tube to be released to ambient air at atmospheric pressure ([0078] wherein inlet and outlet ports 200, 204 are in fluid communication with the ambient environment) when a pressure of the at least one fluid exceeds a release valve threshold ([0078, at least crack pressures) wherein the release valve includes: a first spring (check spring); a first blocker (check ball); a first seat (ball seat for 204).
Dunlap discloses the problem of pressure buildup within the telescoping suspension and provides exhaust valve (206) communicating with atmospheric air but lacks wherein the exhaust valve (206) is adjustable. Becker teaches (at least fig 9) a pressure relief valve (541), valve element blocker (545 including head 547), spring (550), pressure relief port (540), adjustment knob (551), and control shaft 549. Becker teaches that the opening pressure can be adjusted by changing the preload of a spring acting on a valve by using an adjustable spring preload, whereby adjustment of the spring force changes the pressure threshold at which the valve opens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the suspension of Dunlap with the adjustable relief valve of Becker at least provide selective adjustment of the pressure threshold at which fluid is released through a passageway in order to permit adjustment of the maximum pressure differential maintained within the telescoping suspension assembly, thereby accommodating variations in operating conditions, i.e. temperature, terrain, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Becker teaches wherein the first spring adjuster is adjustable from the exterior of the first tube (fig 9, 551).
Regarding claim 3, Dunlap discloses a fluid introduction valve (fig 15, 202) adjacent a second passageway (inlet of 200/194) configured to allow a second at least one fluid to move through the second passageway from the exterior of the first tube to the interior of the first tube (fig 15), wherein the fluid introduction valve includes a second spring (ball spring), a second blocker (ball), a second seat (ball seat), wherein the second spring urges the second blocker against the second seat (fig 15, check spring).
Regarding claim 9, Dunlap discloses wherein the release valve (206) and the fluid introduction valve (202) are spaced from one another longitudinally along a length of the suspension tube (fig 15).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US-20220411007).
Regarding claim 10 , Dunlap discloses a longitudinal orientation but lack wherein the release valve (206) and the fluid introduction valve (202) are spaced from one another circumferentially about a circumference of the first tube.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the locations of the release and supply valves based on routine engineering design choice driven at least by packaging constraints, accessibility, manufacturability and desired performance.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US-20220411007) in view of Becker (US-20100187055) and in further view of Galasso (US20160319899).
Regarding claim 4, Dunlap and Becker lack a fluid introduction fixture. Galasso et al. teaches a fluid introduction fixture (fig 2, 300/306/310) configured to mate with a fluid introduction valve (fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Galasso et al. teaches wherein the fluid introduction fixture further comprises a reservoir (300).
Regarding claim 6, Galasso et al. teaches a pump attached to the reservoir (fig 2, [0039] hand or automated pump).
Regarding claim 7, Galasso et al. teaches wherein the pump comprises a plunger configured to reciprocate in the reservoir and configured to be actuated by a user (fig 2, [0039] hand or automated pump).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a manual type pump or compressor as an external source of pressurized fluid at least for its portable function wherein adjustments can be made on at the convenience of the user.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US-20220411007) in view of Becker (US-20100187055) and in further view of Talavasek (US-20120325605).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Galasso et al. discloses as set forth above but is silent as to the fluid in the damper. Talavasek teaches a substantially incompressible fluid as a damping fluid for the bicycle suspension 20 (Talavasek, fig 1, [0042] reservoir 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the damping fluid for a gas spring/damper suspension would be a standard hydraulic fluid as taught by Talavasek in a similar gas spring/damper suspension arrangement.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US-20220411007) in view of Becker (US-20030001358).
Regarding claim 15, Dunlap is silent as to how much fluid retainer 182 can retain. Becker et al. teaches wherein , typical bicycle forks employ around 30-50cc (mL) of fluid to operate in a fork leg to lubricate the seal, bushings, negative springs, and spring guides ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a foam ring of Dunlap would be capable of retaining at least 1ml of lubricant or fluid as Becker et al. teaches wherein , typical bicycle forks employ around 30-50cc (mL) of fluid to operate in a fork leg to lubricate the seal, bushings, negative springs, and spring guides ([0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein a fluid retainer positioned adjacent an interior port, the fluid retainer is configured to retain at least some of the at least one fluid introduced through the fluid introduction passageway, wherein a seal extending between the first tube and the second tube and wherein the fluid retainer is positioned adjacent the seal and between the seal and the fluid retainer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616