Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MACHIREDDY, et al. (US 20240224205 A1, hereinafter, "MACHIREDDY") in view of XIA et al. (WO 2013023505 A1, hereinafter, "XIA"), ZINNER et al. (US 20220376808 A1, hereinafter, "ZINNER"), RUFFINI et al. (US 20130039220 A1, hereinafter, "RUFFINI"), and LE PALLEC et al. (US 20110255546 A1, hereinafter, "LE PALLEC").
Regarding claim 1, MACHIREDDY teaches an apparatus, comprising:
MACHIREDDY writes, “In some implementations, the current subject matter relates to a computer
implemented method for performing clock synchronization in a wireless communication system (e.g., a
cloud-based radio access network)” (paragraph 0008). MACHIREDDY indicates a computer (i.e. device)
implemented method.
a memory configured to store:
MACHIREDDY writes, “The memory may temporarily or permanently store instructions that cause at
least one processor to perform one or more of the operations described herein” (paragraph 0014).
and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to:
MACHIREDDY writes, “MACHIREDDY writes, “The memory may temporarily or permanently store
instructions that cause at least one processor to perform one or more of the operations described
herein” (paragraph 0014).
receive a first clock and a second clock from a first network device;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY specifies receiving packets from one or more external sources, for instance, master clock
devices. Therefore, indicating receiving multiple clocks from multiple devices.
receive a third clock and a fourth clock from a second network device;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY specifies receiving packets from one or more external sources, for instance, master clock
devices. Therefore, indicating receiving multiple clocks from multiple devices.
select the first clock or the third clock as a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) clock in response to
determining whether the first value is greater than the second value;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
MACHIREDDY fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a plurality of clock source
selection operations configured to facilitate selection of one or more clock sources;”, “obtain a first clock parameter and a third clock parameter corresponding to the first clock, the first clock parameter comprising a first value and the third clock parameter comprising a third value;”, “obtain a second clock parameter corresponding to the third clock, the second clock parameter comprising a second value;”, “determine whether the first value is greater than the second value;”, “in response to selecting the first clock as the PTP clock: obtain a fourth clock parameter corresponding to the second clock, the fourth clock parameter comprising a fourth value;”, “and select the second clock as a Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) clock in response to determining that the third value is equal to the fourth value;”, and “and in response to selecting the third clock as the PTP clock, select the fourth clock as the SyncE clock.”
However, in analogous art, XIA teaches a plurality of clock source selection operations
configured to facilitate selection of one or more clock sources;
XIA writes, “A time synchronization source selection method, wherein a boundary clock device or a slave
clock device selects a clock source according to one or more of a clock source… (claim 1).
and in response to selecting the third clock as the PTP clock, select the fourth clock as the
SyncE clock.
XIA writes, “...complete the frequency synchronization by using a physical layer network such as SDH
or SyncE. Based on the synchronization of the frequency of the reference clock source (PRC), the system
clock of the device is set, and then the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of the time and
the text, and the time obtained by the PTP protocol interaction is used to correct the system clock,
thereby realizing the time” (page 1, lines 23-26). XIA indicates the using a physical layer network, for
frequency synchronization, such as SyncE. While the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of
the time and the text. Therefore, one clock may be a PTP clock, while another clock may be a SyncE
clock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY to include aspects
described by XIA that “relates to the field of communications, and in particular to a time synchronization
source selection method and apparatus.” XIA provides the motivation for modification stating, “The
technical problem to be solved by embodiments of the present invention is to provide a time
synchronization source selection method and apparatus, which improve the rationality and effectiveness of a clock synchronization network selection source” (page 2, lines 12-13).
MACHIREDDY and XIA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “obtain a first clock parameter and a third clock parameter corresponding to the first clock, the first clock parameter comprising a first value and the third clock parameter comprising a third value;”, “obtain a second clock parameter corresponding to the third clock, the second clock parameter comprising a second value;”, “determine whether the first value is greater than the second value;”, “in response to selecting the first clock as the PTP clock: obtain a fourth clock parameter corresponding to the second clock, the fourth clock parameter comprising a fourth value;”, and “and select the second clock as a Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) clock in response to determining that the third value is equal to the fourth value;”
However, in analogous art, ZINNER teaches obtain a first clock parameter and a third clock parameter corresponding to the first clock, the first clock parameter comprising a first value and the third clock parameter comprising a third value;
ZINNER writes, “If the clock parameters received in the Announce message describe a clock having
better parameters…” (paragraph 0023). ZINNER indicates the clock parameters are received in the
Announce message, which may include the first clock parameter and third clock parameter that corresponds to the first clock.
obtain a second clock parameter corresponding to the third clock, the second clock parameter
comprising a second value;
ZINNER writes, “If the clock parameters received in the Announce message describe a clock having
better parameters…” (paragraph 0023). ZINNER indicates the clock parameters are received in the
Announce message, which may include the second clock parameter that corresponds to the third clock.
determine whether the first value is greater than the second value;
ZINNER writes, “...a check is performed to determine whether the Announce message announces a new
grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present grandmaster clock”
(paragraph 0022). ZINNER specifies that a check is performed to determine whether the Announce
message announces a new grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present
grandmaster clock. Therefore, ZINNER implies that check is performed that may include determining
whether one value is greater the second value, to determine the better parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY and XIA to include aspects
described by ZINNER that “relates to communication networks having network devices that are time-
synchronized to one another, in particular in electrical systems of vehicles.” ZINNER provides the
motivation for modification stating, “The method according to the invention can advantageously be
used to improve the reliability of the time synchronization in particular of communication connections in
safety-relevant networks, as are needed for example when transmitting sensor data for autonomous
driving or driver assistance systems” (paragraph 0032).
MACHIREDDY, XIA, and ZINNER fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to selecting the first clock as the PTP clock: obtain a fourth clock parameter corresponding to the second clock, the fourth clock parameter comprising a fourth value;” and “and select the second clock as a Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) clock in response to determining that the third value is equal to the fourth value;”
However, in analogous art, RUFFINI teaches in response to selecting the first clock as the PTP clock: obtain a fourth clock parameter corresponding to the second clock, the fourth clock parameter comprising a fourth value;
RUFFINI writes, “FIG. 1 shows an example of part of a hybrid synchronization network. Typical networks may be much larger with many more nodes, only a few are shown, for the sake of clarity. A first node 120 has a first source of frequency synchronization information, and a back up second source is provided at node 170. The purpose of the synchronization network is to pass synchronization information over the nodes and links of a communication network in the form of a packet network 190 operating over nodes and links of a physical layer, to reach endpoints such as base stations 100 and 110” (paragraph 0109; figure 1). RUFFINI adds, “FIG. 6 shows an alternative to FIG. 5 and shows a flow chart of steps involved in one way of implementing the comparing step so as to bias it. Once it is determined that configuration is needed, step 310 involves identifying a number of different pairs of frequency trail and time synchronization trail, each pair having a common source. At step 320, there different pairs are compared against predetermined criteria, to choose which is best. By limiting the choice to pairs having the same source, this is another way of biasing the comparing of trails to increase the likelihood of a common source” (paragraph 0126; figure 6). RUFFINI mentions, “At least some of the embodiments involve aligning the trail selection methods in order to have the same master for the two methods. In some embodiments these methods are based on PTP and SyncE or other physical layer based synchronization methods” (paragraph 0090). RUFFINI explains, “At first, the frequency trial is chosen, and the selection of time synchronization trail is inhibited…At step 650, the inhibition on selection of a time synchronization trail is lifted and at step 660 the node looks up its table of trails to identify possible time synchronization trails which lead to the node and which have the same source [as] the selected frequency trail…The frequency trail is changed if needed and at step 690, the time synchronization trail is brought into use by extracting timestamps from the packet stream.” (paragraphs 0130-0132). RUFFINI indicates two clock sources. RUFFINI explains that a number of different pairs of frequency trail and time synchronization trail, each pair having a common source that is identified in one of the steps of the flowchart displayed in figure 6. RUFFINI notes that some embodiments of these methods described in the disclosure are based on PTP and SyncE. Finally, RUFFINI explains the steps that involve selecting a frequency trail, then selecting the time synchronization trail which includes identifying possible time synchronization trails which lead to the node and which have the same source as the selected frequency trail. RUFFINI suggests that the frequency trail is changed if needed. RUFFINI indicates that once the PTP clock is selected, the SyncE clock is determined based on clock pairs having a single source. RUFFINI discusses a backup source, therefore, the backup source will consist of clocks with similar pairs (i.e. a third and fourth clock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY, XIA, and ZINNER to include aspects described by RUFFINI that “relates to methods of configuring nodes of a synchronization network, to nodes for such networks, to management systems for such networks, to synchronization networks, and to corresponding computer programs for use in configuration of such networks.” RUFFINI provides the motivation for modification stating, “A main advantage of at least some embodiments is that without any significant cost penalty, it can enable a more optimal implementation of a hybrid synchronization solution. This can be achieved by any way of controlling the master selection algorithm for both phase and frequency in order to align them and avoid any master divergence and consequent phase errors. Notably it can be easily implemented without requiring any particular dedicated hardware. Indeed, existing algorithms (e.g. SDH master selection technique) can be taken advantage of by implementing relatively simple extensions” (paragraphs 0194-0195).
MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, and RUFFINI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and select the second clock as a Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) clock in response to determining that the third value is equal to the fourth value;”
However, in analogous art, LE PALLEC teaches and select the second clock as a Synchronous Ethernet (SyncE) clock in response to determining that the third value is equal to the fourth value;
LE PALLEC writes, “In FIG. 4, the elements identical or similar to those in FIG. 1 bear the same reference number increased by 100. Here we consider a packet-switching network 110 for which two nodes 115 and 118 comprise both a PTP type time clock and a synchronous Ethernet physical clock” (paragraph 0040). LE PALLEC adds, “Clock 106 of node 116 implements the best master clock algorithm to select a master clock. Due to the equal values of the descriptor parameters announced by clocks 105 and 108, the algorithm selects the one which presents the shortest distribution path to the common reference 101, therefore clock 108” (paragraph 0041). LE PALLEC indicates that two nodes comprise a PTP clock and a SyncE clock. When the values of the parameters are equal the clocks are selected based on which presents the shortest distribution path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, and RUFFINI to include aspects described by LE PALLEC that “relates to the domain of clock synchronisation in packet-switching networks.” LE PALLEC provides the motivation for modification stating, “One aim of the invention is to improve the distribution of the synchronisation over a packet-switching network. To do this, the invention provides a method of synchronising a plurality of clocks arranged in a plurality of nodes of a packet-switching network...” (paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 2, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
Additionally, MACHIREDDY teaches receive a fifth clock and a sixth clock from a third network
device;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY specifies receiving packets from one or more external sources, for instance, master clock
devices. Therefore, indicating receiving multiple clocks from multiple devices.
receive a seventh clock and an eighth clock from a fourth network device;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY specifies receiving packets from one or more external sources, for instance, master clock
devices. Therefore, indicating receiving multiple clocks from multiple devices.
select the fifth clock or the seventh clock as the PTP clock in response to determining whether the fifth value is greater than the sixth value;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
Additionally, ZINNER teaches obtain a fifth clock parameter corresponding to the fifth clock, the fifth clock parameter comprising a fifth value;
ZINNER writes, “If the clock parameters received in the Announce message describe a clock having
better parameters…” (paragraph 0023). ZINNER indicates the clock parameters are received in the
Announce message, which may include the fifth clock parameter.
obtain a sixth clock parameter corresponding to the seventh clock, the sixth clock parameter comprising a sixth value;
ZINNER writes, “If the clock parameters received in the Announce message describe a clock having
better parameters…” (paragraph 0023). ZINNER indicates the clock parameters are received in the
Announce message, which may include the sixth clock parameter that corresponds to the seventh
clock.
determine whether the fifth value is greater than the sixth value;
ZINNER writes, “...a check is performed to determine whether the Announce message announces a new
grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present grandmaster clock”
(paragraph 0022). ZINNER specifies that a check is performed to determine whether the Announce
message announces a new grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present
grandmaster clock. Therefore, ZINNER implies that check is performed that may include determining
whether one value is greater than the second value, to determine the better parameters.
Additionally, XIA teaches in response to selecting the fifth clock as the PTP clock, select the
sixth clock as the SyncE clock;
XIA writes, “...complete the frequency synchronization by using a physical layer network such as SDH
or SyncE. Based on the synchronization of the frequency of the reference clock source (PRC), the system
clock of the device is set, and then the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of the time and
the text, and the time obtained by the PTP protocol interaction is used to correct the system clock,
thereby realizing the time” (page 1, lines 23-26). XIA indicates the using a physical layer network, for
frequency synchronization, such as SyncE. While the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of
the time and the text. Therefore, one clock may be a PTP clock, while another clock may be a SyncE
clock.
and in response to selecting the seventh clock as the PTP clock, select the eighth clock as the
SyncE clock.
XIA writes, “...complete the frequency synchronization by using a physical layer network such as SDH
or SyncE. Based on the synchronization of the frequency of the reference clock source (PRC), the system
clock of the device is set, and then the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of the time and
the text, and the time obtained by the PTP protocol interaction is used to correct the system clock,
thereby realizing the time” (page 1, lines 23-26). XIA indicates the using a physical layer network, for
frequency synchronization, such as SyncE. While the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of
the time and the text. Therefore, one clock may be a PTP clock, while another clock may be a SyncE
clock.
Regarding claim 6, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
Additionally, ZINNER teaches determine whether the third value is greater than the fourth value;
ZINNER writes, “...a check is performed to determine whether the Announce message announces a new
grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present grandmaster clock”
(paragraph 0022). ZINNER specifies that a check is performed to determine whether the Announce
message announces a new grandmaster clock having better clock parameters than those of the present
grandmaster clock. Therefore, ZINNER implies that check is performed that may include determining
whether one value is greater the second value, to determine the better parameters.
Additionally, MACHIREDDY teaches in response to determining that the third value is equal to
the fourth value, select the first clock as the PTP clock;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
in response to determining that the third value is less than the fourth value, select the first
clock as the PTP clock;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
and in response to determining that the third value is greater than the fourth value, select the
second clock as the PTP clock.
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
Regarding claim 7, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to:
Additionally, XIA teaches in response to selecting the first clock as the PTP clock, select the
second clock as the SyncE clock.
XIA writes, “...complete the frequency synchronization by using a physical layer network such as SDH
or SyncE. Based on the synchronization of the frequency of the reference clock source (PRC), the system
clock of the device is set, and then the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of the time and
the text, and the time obtained by the PTP protocol interaction is used to correct the system clock,
thereby realizing the time” (page 1, lines 23-26). XIA indicates the using a physical layer network, for
frequency synchronization, such as SyncE. While the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of
the time and the text. Therefore, one clock may be a PTP clock, while another clock may be a SyncE
clock.
Regarding claim 8, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to:
Additionally, XIA teaches in response to selecting the third clock as the PTP clock, select the
fourth clock as the SyncE clock.
XIA writes, “...complete the frequency synchronization by using a physical layer network such as SDH
or SyncE. Based on the synchronization of the frequency of the reference clock source (PRC), the system
clock of the device is set, and then the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of the time and
the text, and the time obtained by the PTP protocol interaction is used to correct the system clock,
thereby realizing the time” (page 1, lines 23-26). XIA indicates the using a physical layer network, for
frequency synchronization, such as SyncE. While the PTP protocol is used to perform the interaction of
the time and the text. Therefore, one clock may be a PTP clock, while another clock may be a SyncE
clock.
Claims 9-10 and 14-18 are method and memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1-
2 and 6-8 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of
claims 1-2 and 6-8. Claims 9-10 and 14-18 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-2 and 6-8.
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20240097812 A1, hereinafter, "ZHANG").
Regarding claim 3, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
Additionally, MACHIREDDY teaches in response to determining that the first offset-scale-log-
variance is less than the second offset-scale-log-variance, select the first clock as the PTP clock;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
and in response to determining that the first offset-scale-log-variance is greater than the
second offset-scale-log-variance, select the third clock as the PTP clock.
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the first clock parameter indicates a first offset-scale-log-variance between the first clock and the second clock;”, “the second clock parameter indicates a second offset-scale-log-variance between the third clock and the fourth clock;”, “and the processor is further configured to:”, “in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value, compare the first offset-scale-log-variance to the second offset-scale-log-variance;”, and “determine whether the first offset-scale-log-variance is greater than the second offset-scale-log-variance;”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches the first clock parameter indicates a first offset-
scale-log-variance between the first clock and the second clock;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
the second clock parameter indicates a second offset-scale-log-variance between the third
clock and the fourth clock;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
and the processor is further configured to:
ZHANG writes, “The processor 1201 is configured to execute the application program code stored in the
memory 1203…” (paragraph 0261).
in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value,
compare the first offset-scale-log-variance to the second offset-scale-log-variance;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A3 corresponding to the first offset scaled log variance
with the parameter value B3 corresponding to the second offset scaled log variance…” (paragraph
0117). ZHANG adds, “If A3 is superior to B3 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the
optimal dataset. If B3 is superior to A3 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal
dataset” (paragraph 0118). ZHANG indicates the offset scaled log variance of A3 and B3 are compared,
and if A3 is found to be superior (i.e. greater than) to B3, a selection takes place.
determine whether the first offset-scale-log-variance is greater than the second offset-scale-
log-variance;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A3 corresponding to the first offset scaled log variance
with the parameter value B3 corresponding to the second offset scaled log variance…” (paragraph
0117). ZHANG adds, “If A3 is superior to B3 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the
optimal dataset. If B3 is superior to A3 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal
dataset” (paragraph 0118). ZHANG indicates the offset scaled log variance of A3 and B3 are compared,
and if A3 is found to be superior (i.e. greater than) to B3, a selection takes place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates to the communications field, and in particular, to a clock source selection method, apparatus, and system, and a storage medium.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “After the first network device cannot trace the first clock source, when the first network device can trace the first clock source again, the state of the first port is kept in the monitoring state. Because the first port in the monitoring state does not participate in clock source selection, the first network device does not switch a traced clock source back to the first clock source. This reduces a frequency of switching the clock source and improves network stability” (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 4, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
Additionally, MACHIREDDY teaches in response to determining that the first clock class is
greater than the second clock class, select the first clock as the PTP clock;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
and in response to determining that the first clock class is less than the second clock class,
select the third clock as the PTP clock.
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the first clock parameter is a first clock class;”, “the second clock parameter is a second clock class;”, “and the processor is further configured to:”, “in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value, compare the first clock class to the second clock class;”, and “determine whether the first clock class is greater than the second clock class;”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches the first clock parameter is a first clock class;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
the second clock parameter is a second clock class;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
and the processor is further configured to:
ZHANG writes, “The processor 1201 is configured to execute the application program code stored in the
memory 1203…” (paragraph 0261).
in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value,
compare the first clock class to the second clock class;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A1 corresponding to the first clock class with the
parameter value B1 corresponding to the second clock class…” (paragraph 0113). ZHANG adds, “If A1 is
superior to B1 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the optimal dataset. If B1 is
superior to A1 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal dataset” (paragraph
0114). ZHANG indicates the clock class of A1 and B1 are compared, and if A1 is found to be superior (i.e.
greater than) to B1, a selection takes place.
determine whether the first clock class is greater than the second clock class;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A1 corresponding to the first clock class with the
parameter value B1 corresponding to the second clock class…” (paragraph 0113). ZHANG adds, “If A1 is
superior to B1 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the optimal dataset. If B1 is
superior to A1 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal dataset” (paragraph
0114). ZHANG indicates the clock class of A1 and B1 are compared, and if A1 is found to be superior (i.e.
greater than) to B1, a selection takes place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates to the communications field, and in particular, to a clock source selection method, apparatus, and system, and a storage medium.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “After the first network device cannot trace the first clock source, when the first network device can trace the first clock source again, the state of the first port is kept in the monitoring state. Because the first port in the monitoring state does not participate in clock source selection, the first network device does not switch a traced clock source back to the first clock source. This reduces a frequency of switching the clock source and improves network stability” (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 5, MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
Additionally, MACHIREDDY teaches in response to determining that the first clock accuracy is
greater than the second clock accuracy, select the first clock as the PTP clock;
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
and in response to determining that the first clock accuracy is less than the second clock
accuracy, select the third clock as the PTP clock.
MACHIREDDY writes, “Each DU 906 may perform PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets processing
and handling (e.g., transmission and/or reception), including extraction of one or more timestamps
and/or other control information from such PTP/synchronous-Ethernet (SyncE) packets that are
received from one or more external sources (e.g., master clock devices, etc.)” (paragraph 0082).
MACHIREDDY adds, “...upon selection of a grandmaster, all other clocks may synchronize directly to it. A
precision time protocol (PTP) (as originally defined in IEEE 1588 standard discussed above) may be used
to synchronize clocks throughout the system 700” (paragraph 0079). MACHIREDDY informs the reader
that each DU may perform PTP/SyncE packets processing and handling (e.g., transmission and/or
reception). MACHIREDDY further explains that upon selection of the grandmaster, all other clocks may
synchronize directly to it, and that the synchronizing may occur using PTP. Therefore, once the selection
of the grandmaster clock is selected, which may be determined by one value being greater than another
value, the grandmaster clock may employ PTP.
MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the first clock parameter is a first clock accuracy;”, “the second clock parameter is a second clock accuracy;”, “and the processor is further configured to:”, “in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value, compare the first clock accuracy to the second clock accuracy;”, and “determine whether the first clock accuracy is greater than the second clock accuracy;”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches the first clock parameter is a first clock accuracy;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
the second clock parameter is a second clock accuracy;
ZHANG writes, “In another possible implementation, the clock quality parameter of the first network
device includes one or more of a clock class, clock accuracy, and an offset scaled log variance of the first
network device” (paragraph 0019).
and the processor is further configured to:
ZHANG writes, “The processor 1201 is configured to execute the application program code stored in the
memory 1203…” (paragraph 0261).
in conjunction with determining whether the first value is greater than the second value,
compare the first clock accuracy to the second clock accuracy;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A2 corresponding to the first clock accuracy with the
parameter value B2 corresponding to the second clock accuracy…” (paragraph 0115). ZHANG adds, “If
A2 is superior to B2 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the optimal dataset. If B2 is
superior to A2 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal dataset” (paragraph
0116). ZHANG indicates the clock accuracy of A2 and B2 are compared, and if A2 is found to be superior
(i.e. greater than) to B2, a selection takes place.
determine whether the first clock accuracy is greater than the second clock accuracy;
ZHANG writes, “Compare the parameter value A2 corresponding to the first clock accuracy with the
parameter value B2 corresponding to the second clock accuracy…” (paragraph 0115). ZHANG adds, “If
A2 is superior to B2 through comparison, the first local dataset is selected as the optimal dataset. If B2 is
superior to A2 through comparison, the first dataset is selected as the optimal dataset” (paragraph
0116). ZHANG indicates the clock accuracy of A2 and B2 are compared, and if A2 is found to be superior
(i.e. greater than) to B2, a selection takes place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of MACHIREDDY, XIA, ZINNER, RUFFINI, and LE PALLEC to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates to the communications field, and in particular, to a clock source selection method, apparatus, and system, and a storage medium.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “After the first network device cannot trace the first clock source, when the first network device can trace the first clock source again, the state of the first port is kept in the monitoring state. Because the first port in the monitoring state does not participate in clock source selection, the first network device does not switch a traced clock source back to the first clock source. This reduces a frequency of switching the clock source and improves network stability” (paragraph 0028).
Claims 11-13 and 19-20 are method and memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claims
3-5 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of
claims 3-5. Claims 11-13 and 19-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 3-5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 6/17/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475