DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6-11, 14, 15, 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,884,284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 include all the limitations of the Patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terada et al. (WO 2020158585 A1).
Re claims 1 and 10, Terada et al. disclose a system for controlling vehicle braking, comprising: a braking system (1) included in a vehicle and including a primary brake controller (6), a secondary brake controller (11), a primary vehicle control unit (VCU) (3), and a secondary VCU (8), the braking system configured to operate brakes by generating multiple sets of commands based on different combinations of the primary brake controller, the secondary brake controller, the primary VCU, and the secondary VCU; and a processor (Translation - Page 2, 3rd Paragraph “CPU”) configured to operate the braking system based on one of the multiple sets of commands.
Re claims 2, 10 and 20, Terada et al. disclose wherein the processor is further configured to select, based on an arbitration logic, the one of the multiple sets of commands. See arbitration control unit 3C, Translation - Page 5, 2nd Paragraph.
Re claim 3, Terada et al. disclose wherein at least one of the primary VCU (3) or the secondary VCU (8) include multiple processors (3A, 3C, 8A, 8C).
Re claims 4 and 11, Terada et al. disclose wherein the multiple sets of commands are generated by the different combinations including i) one of the primary brake controller (6) and the secondary brake controller (11) and ii) one of the primary VCU (3) and the secondary VCU (8).
Re claims 5 and 12, Terada et al. disclose wherein the multiple sets of commands include:
a first set of commands generated by a primary brake controller (6) and a primary vehicle control unit (VCU) (3) comprising multiple processors ((3A, 3C), (Translation – Pg. 9, 5th Par.)
a second set of commands generated by the primary VCU (3) and a secondary brake controller (11), (Translation – Pg. 5, 3rd Par.)
a third set of commands generated by the primary brake controller (6) and a secondary VCU (8) comprising multiple processors (8A, 8C), (Translation – Pg. 4, 6th Par.)
and a fourth set of commands generated by the secondary VCU (8) and the secondary brake controller (11). (Translation – Pg. 14, 5th Par. – Pg. 15, 1st Par.)
Re claim 6, Terada et al. disclose wherein the primary VCU (3) and the secondary VCU (8) are coupled using a first communication protocol (31), and wherein the primary brake controller (6) and the secondary brake controller (11) are coupled using a second communication protocol (12).
Re claims 13 and 19, Terada et al. disclose wherein the arbitration logic selects the one of the multiple sets of commands based on an indication of a failure in the primary VCU, the secondary VCU, the primary brake controller, or the secondary brake controller. (Translation – Pg. 4, 6th Par.)
Re claim 14, Terada et al. disclose wherein detecting the failure in the primary VCU; and configuring, based on the detecting, the arbitration logic to select either the third set of commands or the fourth set of commands. (Translation – Pg. 4, 6th Par.)
Re claim 15, Terada et al. disclose wherein computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereupon, the instructions, upon execution by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement a method comprising: operating brakes included in a vehicle by generating multiple sets of commands based on different combinations of two of a primary brake controller (6), a secondary brake controller (11), a primary VCU (3), or a secondary VCU (8); and wherein at least one of the multiple sets of commands is generated further based on an output of at least one sensor (7, “wheel speed sensor” – not shown) coupled to the primary brake controller or the secondary brake controller. (Translation – Pg. 4, 4th Par.)
Re claim 16, Terada et al. disclose wherein the at least one sensor comprises a plurality of passive wheel speed sensors coupled to the primary brake controller. (Translation – Pg. 4, 4th Par.)
Re claim 17, Terada et al. disclose wherein the at least one sensor comprises a steering angle sensor, a yaw rate sensor, and a plurality of passive wheel speed sensors coupled to the secondary brake controller. (Translation – Pg. 4, 4th Par.)
Re claim 18, Terada et al. disclose wherein the at least one sensor comprises a radar unit or a camera module coupled to the secondary brake controller. (Translation – Pg. 2, 4th Par.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henriques et al. teach a similar system for controlling vehicle braking.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
April 28, 2026