DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
After the amendments filed 04/16/2026, claims 1-20 remain pending, of which, 1 12, 17, and 19 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (U.S. 2020/0294351) in view of Oberberger et al (U.S. 2006/0252530).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses:
a gaming pod (¶15, ¶20, Fig. 1, isolating enclosure 300), comprising:
a plurality of individual gaming machines (¶19, Fig. 1, enclosure 300 is sized to house one or more EGMs 100), wherein a first individual gaming machine is remotely playable by a user device (¶138, the EGM 100 communicates with a personal gaming device to enable mobile game play using the mobile device (i.e., a first remotely controlled EGM 100)); and
a structure surrounding the plurality of individual gaming machines (¶19, Fig. 1, housing 302), wherein the structure defines and at least partially encloses a gaming floor on which the plurality of individual gaming machines is located (¶20, Fig. 1, base 310), wherein the plurality of individual gaming machines are arranged around a perimeter of the gaming floor (¶20, Fig. 1, the EGMs 100 are attached to or built into the walls of the enclosure 300 (i.e., the perimeter of the enclosed gaming floor)), and wherein the structure is located on a casino floor (¶27, enclosure 300 provides noise reduction in a casino environment). Feng further discloses that the interior area of the isolating enclosure is structurally scalable, specifically noting that the interior space can be sized and configured such that one or more EGMS can be positioned within the enclosure and can provide a suitable amount of space for multiple people and chairs independent from the operation of the EGM and not connected to the EGM (¶19). Feng also discloses that food and beverage orders can be placed directly from within the enclosure via a localized communication system (¶48).
However, Feng does not specifically disclose that:
the gaming floor comprises a first area including the plurality of individual gaming machines, and a second area within the structure including at least one of a seating area, a bar, or a countertop; or
a divider separating the first area and the second area.
Oberberger teaches:
a casino environment layout configuration (Fig. 10), comprising a first area including a plurality of individual gaming machines (Fig. 10, e.g., “Elvira Slot Machines”, “Lucky 7 Slot Machines”, “Video Poker Machines”), and a distinct second area containing an integrated bar and an adjacent row of seating (Fig. 10, e.g., “Jungle Bar”), and a structural counter (Fig. 10, e.g., counter structure of the “Jungle Bar”), which functions as a physical divider that explicitly partitions and separates the first machine area from the second bar/seating area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the individual isolating gaming enclosure, as taught by Feng, by scaling its interior footprint to encompass an integrated multi-zone layout featuring a first machine area, a second bar/seating area, and a physical separating divider counter, as taught by Oberberger, entirely within the enclosure structure in order to optimize player comfort and decrease ambient noise distractions for players, while also facilitating more convenient ordering and consumption of food and beverages by placing a bar within the scaled structure of Feng (¶27, ¶48).
Regarding claim 2, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the structure comprises a roof above the plurality of individual gaming machines (¶20, Fig. 1, top 360).
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses that which is discussed above.
Although Feng does not specifically disclose that the structure is a dome comprising a rounded roof section sloping downwards and defining an entrance via one or more wall sections, it would be an obvious matter of design choice to modify the shape of the enclosure, as taught by Feng, in order to enhance the visual appeal of the enclosure in the casino environment.
Regarding claim 4, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the one or more wall sections define at least one vertical opening providing access to the plurality of individual gaming machines (¶20, Fig. 1, access door 380 which is located in wall 320).
Regarding claim 5, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the first individual gaming machine is a slot machine (¶116, EGM 100 may be a mechanical or video slot or spinning reel game).
Regarding claim 6, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
a second individual gaming machine is operable by a live player (¶27-27, players enter the enclosure 300 and operate the EGMs 100 (i.e., a second EGM 100)).
Regarding claim 7, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the structure comprises at least one glass section serving as at least one of a window or a player entrance into the gaming pod (¶20, the walls of enclosure 300 is transparent and are formed from glass to allow visibility into and out of the enclosure 300).
Regarding claim 8, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the structure fully encloses the plurality of individual gaming machines (¶20, ¶27, Fig. 1, enclosure 300 includes four walls 320, 330, 340 and 350, a top 360 and a base 310 and creates a noise isolation area for players).
Regarding claim 9, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the structure comprises an entrance through which the first individual gaming machine is visible (¶20, access door 380 allows people to see into the enclosure 300).
Regarding claim 10, Feng discloses that which is discussed above.
Although Feng does not specifically disclose that the entrance comprises an arched opening, it would be an obvious matter of design choice to modify the shape of the opening of the enclosure, as taught by Feng, in order to enhance the visual appeal of the enclosure in the casino environment.
Regarding claim 11, Feng discloses that which is discussed above.
Although Feng does not specifically disclose that the plurality of individual gaming machines are arranged in a circle on the gaming floor, it would be an obvious matter of design choice to modify the arrangement of the gaming machines in the enclosure, as taught by Feng, in order to optimize the spacing within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 12, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
on the gaming floor, at least one of: a seating area, a gaming table, a countertop, or a bar (¶19, provided within the enclosure 300 are chairs associated with each EGM 100).
Regarding claim 13, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the plurality of individual gaming machines are arranged to face outwardly (Fig. 1, EGM 100, the examiner interprets EGM 100 as facing outwardly towards access door 380), and wherein the first individual gaming machine is visible through at least one of a wall of the structure or an opening of the structure (¶20, the walls and access door are transparent and allow for people to see into the enclosure 300).
Regarding claim 14, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
a lighting system providing lighting effects to at least one of: an exterior face of the structure, the gaming floor, or an interior area of the structure (¶79-80, EGM 100 includes one or more display devices which provide dynamic lighting within enclosure 300).
Regarding claim 15, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the lighting system comprises light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (¶79-80, the one or more display devices of EGM 100 include LED displays).
Regarding claim 16, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
a sign mounted to an exterior or the structure (¶52, enclosure 300 includes an advertising display system which displays advertisements outside the enclosure).
Regarding claim 20, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the user device is a smartphone, a personal computer (PC), or other gaming device (¶138, for example the personal gaming device is a smartphone, tablet, desktop or laptop computer).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (U.S. 2020/0294351) in view of Oberberger et al (U.S. 2006/0252530) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Greenbaum et al (U.S. 2021/0192891).
Regarding claim 17, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the gaming system enabling remote play of the first individual gaming machine (¶138, the EGM 100 communicates with a personal gaming device to enable mobile game play using the mobile device).
However, Feng does not specifically disclose that:
the gaming system streams a live video output to the remote user device; or
the live video output provides a real-time view of the first individual gaming machine.
Greenbaum teaches:
a gaming system (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 including EGM 190), which enables remote game play of the slot machine (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 allows remote control of EGM 190 via a user’s client station 170), wherein the gaming system streams a live video output to the remote user device (¶98, the system 100 obtains a video of a gaming machine 190 and streams it to the client station 170), and wherein the live video output provides a real-time view of the first individual gaming machine (¶101, a video camera captures imagery of the gaming machine 190 and streams the video for display at the client station 170).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the game streaming, as taught by Greenbaum, in the gaming system, as taught by Feng and Oberberger, in order to yield the predictable result of providing improved an improved remote gaming experience for players, thereby enticing longer play and increased profitability (Greenbaum, ¶9).
Regarding claim 18, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, however fails to specifically disclose that:
the live video is captured by at least one camera mounted to the structure.
Greenbaum teaches:
a gaming system (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 including EGM 190), which enables remote game play of the slot machine (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 allows remote control of EGM 190 via a user’s client station 170), wherein live video is captured by at least one camera mounted so as to capture imagery of an EGM (¶101, a video of at least one gaming machine from camera 180 is captured and streamed to client device 170).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the camera system for streaming a remote session of the gaming machine, as taught by Greenbaum, within the enclosure, as taught by Feng, in order to yield the predictable result of providing improved an improved remote gaming experience for players, thereby enticing longer play and increased profitability (Greenbaum, ¶9).
Regarding claim 19, Feng discloses that which is discussed above, however fails to specifically disclose that:
the gaming system streams live audio output to the user device.
Greenbaum teaches:
a gaming system (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 including EGM 190), which enables remote game play of the slot machine (¶90, ¶97, gaming system 100 allows remote control of EGM 190 via a user’s client station 170), wherein the gaming system streams live audio output to the user device (¶19, along with the video stream an audio stream is captured and streamed to the client device 170).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the audio streaming for streaming a remote session of the gaming machine, as taught by Greenbaum, into the remote gaming, as taught by Feng and Oberberger, in order to yield the predictable result of providing improved an improved remote gaming experience for players, thereby enticing longer play and increased profitability (Greenbaum, ¶9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly found prior reference discussed above in light of the newly added limitations.
Conclusion
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715