Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12, 15, 21, 22, and 23 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-23 remain pending.
Response to Remarks
In light of the amendments to the claims, new rejections under 35 USC § 103(a) are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODA (US Pub # 2019/0374186) in view of ALLMENDIGER et al. (US 20150271903 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 23, ODA discloses a dynamic image processing apparatus with hardware processor, non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (NTCRRM) storing an executable program, and method of using, each of the processor, program, and method configured to execute processes comprising:
performing a scattered ray removing process on a dynamic image captured by irradiating a subject with radiation ([0129]); and
acquiring at least one imaging condition that is set in capturing the dynamic image (imaging conditions are acquired in step S141A; [0141]);
wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on: the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring (calibration factors stored in storage 86 as correction data 95 correct scattered ray components according to imaging conditions such as x-ray tube voltage; [0136, 0142]).
ODA does not disclose wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on (i) a predetermined condition regarding a process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process and the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring. In the same filed of scatter correction in x-ray imaging, ALLMENDIGER discloses a system and method for x-ray scatter correction in radiographic imaging comprising providing a controller configured to performing optimized scatter correction in a radiographic image based on expected image information (e.g. work order for a particular type of imaging, including processes performed after an imaging such as bone removal, liver-VNC, etc.) having different target control parameters and thus different scatter profiles, which are automatically corrected based on look-up tables (TABLES and [0075-0080]), with the benefit of improved image quality. In light of the benefit discloses by ALLMENDIGER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ODA.
Regarding claim 2, ODA discloses wherein the at least one imaging condition is a condition that has been actually used in capturing the dynamic image ([0141]).
Regarding claim 3, ODA discloses wherein the at least one imaging condition is a final setting condition that has been set in capturing the dynamic image ([0136]).
Regarding claim 4, ODA further discloses:
a storage 86 that stores a predetermined parameter used in the scattered ray removing process ([0136, 0141]);
wherein the hardware processor acquires at least one of a condition that has been actually used in capturing the dynamic image and a final setting condition that has been set in capturing the dynamic image (imaging conditions are acquired in step S141A, the conditions including bulb source material, tube voltage, grid characteristics, image capture settings, and body composition; [0136, 0141]),
wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the parameter and generates a first scattered ray removed image (first radiographic image is generated using scattered ray correction data 95 associated with imaging conditions and the first radiation detector; [0142]), and
wherein, upon the predetermined condition being satisfied, the hardware processor further performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the condition that has been acquired by the hardware processor and generates a second scattered ray removed image (second radiographic image is generated using data and conditions associated with second radiation detector 20B; [0143]).
Regarding claim 5, ODA discloses wherein the predetermined condition is that an analysis process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process includes a predetermined analysis process (steps S144 and step S146 include predetermined conditions of predetermined analysis processes; [0121-0122]).
Regarding claim 6, ODA discloses wherein the predetermined condition is that an examination order includes the predetermined analysis process (steps S144 and step S146 include predetermined conditions of predetermined analysis processes (DXA and bone density); [0121-0122]).
Regarding claim 9, ODA discloses wherein: upon the analysis process being a first dynamic analysis process performed on the dynamic image, an image based on a second scattered ray removed image is output, the second scattered ray removed image being generated by the scattered ray removing process based on the at least one imaging condition after generation of a first scattered ray removed image, and wherein, upon the analysis process being a second dynamic analysis process performed on the dynamic image, an image based on the first scattered ray removed image is output ((A temporary scattered image (first image) output in step S141B. A second corrected image based on imaging conditions and second radiographic image data subjected to the correction in S141B is output in step S142; [0139-0144]).
Regarding claim 10, ODA discloses a dynamic image processing apparatus comprising:
a hardware processor configured to execute processes comprising:
performing a scattered ray removing process on a dynamic image captured by irradiating a subject with radiation (corrects scattered ray components based on the imaging data and imaging conditions; [0142]); and
acquiring at least one imaging condition that is set for capturing the dynamic image (imaging conditions are acquired in step S141A, the conditions including capture settings; [0136, 0141]); and
a storage 86 that stores a predetermined parameter used in the scattered ray removing process ([0141]);
wherein the hardware processor is configured to perform a scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the parameter to generate a first scattered ray removed image (first radiographic image is generated using scattered ray correction data 95 associated with imaging conditions and the first radiation detector; [0142]), and
performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on (ii) at least one imaging condition that has been acquired by the hardware processor to generate a second scattered ray removed image (second radiographic image is generated using data and conditions associated with second radiation detector 20B; [0143]).
ODA does not disclose wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on (i) a predetermined condition regarding a process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process and the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring. In the same filed of scatter correction in x-ray imaging, ALLMENDIGER discloses a system and method for x-ray scatter correction in radiographic imaging comprising providing a controller configured to performing optimized scatter correction in a radiographic image based on expected image information (e.g. work order for a particular type of imaging, including processes performed after an imaging such as bone removal, liver-VNC, etc.) having different target control parameters and thus different scatter profiles, which are automatically corrected based on look-up tables (TABLES and [0075-0080]), with the benefit of improved image quality. In light of the benefit discloses by ALLMENDIGER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ODA.
Regarding claim 11, ODA discloses a dynamic imaging apparatus according to claim 1 (FIG 1).
Regarding claims 12, ODA discloses a dynamic image processing system (FIG 1) comprising:
a radiation emitting apparatus 12 ([0049-0051]);
a radiographic imaging device 16 configured to generate a dynamic image based on radiation emitted from the radiation emitting apparatus and transmitted through a subject ([0049, 0052]); and
a hardware processor configured to execute processes comprising:
performing a scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image (console 18 performs the correction on image data from detector 20; [0131, 0142]; FIG 17); and
performing a dynamic analysis process on the dynamic image on which the scattered ray removing process has been performed (analysis processing is performed on scatter corrected images in steps S142-146; [0121-0122]),
wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process based on (ii) an imaging condition that is set for capturing the dynamic image (scattered ray correction is performed based on imaging conditions are acquired in step S141A; [0136, 0141]).
ODA does not disclose wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on (i) a predetermined condition regarding a process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process and the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring. In the same filed of scatter correction in x-ray imaging, ALLMENDIGER discloses a system and method for x-ray scatter correction in radiographic imaging comprising providing a controller configured to performing optimized scatter correction in a radiographic image based on expected image information (e.g. work order for a particular type of imaging, including processes performed after an imaging such as bone removal, liver-VNC, etc.) having different target control parameters and thus different scatter profiles, which are automatically corrected based on look-up tables (TABLES and [0075-0080]), with the benefit of improved image quality. In light of the benefit discloses by ALLMENDIGER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ODA.
Regarding claim 13, ODA discloses wherein the at least one imaging condition is a condition that has been actually used in capturing the dynamic image ([0141]).
Regarding claim 14, ODA discloses wherein the at least one imaging condition is a final setting condition that has been set in capturing the dynamic image ([0136]).
Regarding claim 15, ODA further discloses:
a storage 86 that stores a predetermined parameter used in the scattered ray removing process ([0136, 0141]);
wherein the processes further comprise:
acquiring, as the imaging condition, at least one of a condition that has been actually used in capturing the dynamic image and a final setting condition that has been set in capturing the dynamic image (imaging conditions are acquired in step S141A, the conditions including bulb source material, tube voltage, grid characteristics, image capture settings, and body composition; [0136, 0141]),
performing the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the parameter and generating a first scattered ray removed image (first radiographic image is generated using scattered ray correction data 95 associated with imaging conditions and the first radiation detector; [0142]), and
upon the predetermined condition being satisfied, performing the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the condition that has been acquired in acquiring, and generating a second scattered ray removed image (second radiographic image is generated using data and conditions associated with second radiation detector 20B; [0143]).
Regarding claim 16, ODA discloses wherein the predetermined condition is that an analysis process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process includes a predetermined analysis process (steps S144 and step S146 include predetermined conditions of predetermined analysis processes; [0121-0122]).
Regarding claim 17, ODA discloses wherein the predetermined condition is that an examination order includes the predetermined analysis process (steps S142-146 include predetermined conditions of predetermined analysis processes (DXA and bone density); [0121-0122]).
Regarding claims 18, ODA discloses wherein the processes further comprise:
in a case where the dynamic analysis process to be performed on the dynamic image is a first dynamic analysis process (e.g. DXA analysis of step S142; [0118]; FIG 17) performing the dynamic analysis process on an image output based on a second scattered ray removed image, the second scattered ray removed image being generated by performing the scattered ray removing process based on the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring after generation of a first scattered ray removed image (first and second scattered ray removed images are generated from respective first and second detectors in steps S141A-B, which hare each used to generated DXA image data; FIG 17; [0118-0122, 0139-0144]), and
in a case where the dynamic analysis process to be performed on the dynamic image is a second dynamic analysis process performing the dynamic analysis process on the first scattered ray removed image (first and second scattered ray removed images are each generated from respective first and second detectors in steps S141A-B, wherein both scattered ray removed images are used to generated first and second dynamic analysis such as DXA profile analysis S144 and bone density analysis S146; FIG 17; [0118-0122, 0139-0144]).
Regarding claim 21, ODA discloses a dynamic image processing system comprising:
a radiation emitting apparatus 12 (0049-0051]);
a radiographic imaging device configured to generate a dynamic image based on radiation emitted from the radiation emitting apparatus and transmitted through a subject;
a storage 86 that stores a predetermined parameter used in the scattered ray removing process ([0141]); and
a hardware processor configured to execute processes comprising:
performing the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image (console 18 performs the correction on image data from detector 20; [0131, 0142]; FIG 17)
performing a dynamic analysis process on the dynamic image on which the scattered ray removing process has been performed (analysis processing is performed on scatter corrected images in steps S142-146; [0121-0122]),
wherein the hardware processor is configured to perform a first scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on the parameter and to perform a second scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on at least one of a predetermined condition and an imaging condition that is set for capturing the dynamic image (first radiographic image is generated using scattered ray correction data 95 associated with imaging conditions and the first radiation detector, [0142]; second radiographic image is generated using data and conditions associated with second radiation detector 20B; [0143]).
ODA does not disclose wherein the hardware processor performs the scattered ray removing process on the dynamic image based on (i) a predetermined condition regarding a process to be performed after the scattered ray removing process and the imaging condition acquired in the acquiring. In the same filed of scatter correction in x-ray imaging, ALLMENDIGER discloses a system and method for x-ray scatter correction in radiographic imaging comprising providing a controller configured to performing optimized scatter correction in a radiographic image based on expected image information (e.g. work order for a particular type of imaging, including processes performed after an imaging such as bone removal, liver-VNC, etc.) having different target control parameters and thus different scatter profiles, which are automatically corrected based on look-up tables (TABLES and [0075-0080]), with the benefit of improved image quality. In light of the benefit discloses by ALLMENDIGER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ODA.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
ODA (US Pub # 2019/0374186) in view of ALLMENDIGER et al. (US 20150271903 A1), further in view HSU et al. (US Pub # 2014/0341453).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, ODA does not disclose wherein the predetermined analysis process includes at least one of a blood flow analysis process and a ventilation analysis process. In the same field of endeavor, HSU discloses a CT imaging apparatus and method of using wherein the invention comprises a predetermined analysis process of a blood flow, the invention further comprising a scatter correction ([0006], claim 17), with the benefit of an economical quantitative imaging system to perform myocardial blow flow analysis ([0004]). In light of the teachings of HSU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ODA.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODA (US Pub # 2019/0374186) in view of ALLMENDIGER et al. (US 20150271903 A1), further in view of ITO (JP 2020130311A).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, ODA does not disclose wherein the predetermined condition is that an input by an operator for reapplication of the scattered ray removing process has been received. In the same field of endeavor, ITO discloses a CT system comprising a step of forming a first image and performing a scatter correction process thereon using a first width, estimating a body thickness based on the first image to obtain a second width, and reapplying the scatter correction based on the second width, with the advantage of an improved image quality. In light of the teachings of ITO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to re-apply a scatter correction.
References Cited
KOEDA et al. (US Pub # 2023/0115379, e.f.d. 10/01/2021 via JP 2021-162524) discloses a dynamic image processing device comprising a hardware processor configured to selected a scattered radiation removal process based on preset values within the order information.
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884