DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. In claim 8, Applicant claims "a circuitry configured to measure impedances of a body using a plurality of electrodes attached to a patient" which is a positive recitation of the body. Applicant is required to inferentially recite the body. For example, Applicant could say" a circuitry configured to measure impedances of a body using a plurality of electrodes that have been attached to a patient" (or something comparable). Appropriate correction is required.
It should be noted that all other cited claims have been rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites non-statutory subject matter which alters the scope of the claim (see above).
It should be noted that all other cited claims have been rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bar-Tal, U.S. 10,524,692 (hereinafter Bar-Tal).
Regarding claim 1, Bar-Tal discloses (note fig. 1A) a method comprising: measuring impedances of a body using a plurality of electrodes attached to a patient, as a function of time (note abstract; fig. 6); necessarily calculating a ‘total impedance value’ from the measured impedances, as a function of time (note fig. 6); relating temporal minima of the total impedance value with timings of end-of-expirium of the patient (note col. 2, line 4; col. 2, line 28; col. 18, line 24; claim 1); and outputting the timings of end-of-expirium (note fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a method wherein the plurality of electrodes comprise electrodes of an electrical position-tracking system (note abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a method wherein calculating the total impedance value necessarily comprises calculating a reciprocal of a trace of a conductivity matrix (see impedance matrix disclosed in col. 17 of Bar-Tal; it should be noted that resistance/impedance is the inverse of conductivity).
Regarding claim 7, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a method wherein outputting the timings comprises displaying the timings on a display device (note fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Bar-Tal discloses (note fig. 1A; col. 4, lines 3-18; col. 5, line 40) a system comprising: a circuitry configured to measure impedances of a body using a plurality of electrodes attached to a patient, as a function of time (note abstract; fig. 6); and a processor, which is necessarily configured to: calculate a ‘total impedance value’ from the measured impedances, as a function of time (note fig. 6); relate temporal minima of the total impedance value with timings of end-of-expirium of the patient (note col. 2, line 4; col. 2, line 28; col. 18, line 24; claim 1); and output the timings of end-of-expirium to a user (note fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a system wherein the plurality of electrodes comprise electrodes of an electrical position-tracking system (note abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a system wherein the processor (col. 4, lines 3-18; col. 5, line 40) is necessarily configured to calculate the total impedance value by calculating a reciprocal of a trace of a conductivity matrix (see impedance matrix disclosed in col. 17 of Bar-Tal; it should be noted that resistance/impedance is the inverse of conductivity).
Regarding claim 14, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a system wherein the processor (col. 4, lines 3-18; col. 5, line 40) is configured to output the timings by displaying the timings on a display device (note fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar-Tal in view of Bar-Tal, U.S. 12,446,797 (hereinafter Bar-Tal 2).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 11-13, Bar-Tal discloses (see above) a system comprising a processor necessarily configured to perform cardiac ablation via an algorithm (note col. 5, lines 32-50; fig. 1A). However, Bar-Tal fails to explicitly disclose that said ablation is performed at time-windows around the timings of end-of-expirium. Bar-Tal 2 teaches a similar system comprising a processor (note col. 2, line 42) configured to perform ablation while tissue is stable (note claim 1), wherein tissue is considered to be stable at end-of-expirium (note col. 1, line 32; col. 4, line 22). This design is utilized in order to increase safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the apparatus of Bar-Tal to comprise a processor configured to perform ablation at time-windows around the timings of end-of-expirium in order to increase safety. It should be noted that the corresponding method (i.e., claims 4-6) would necessarily be met through the routine use of this modified system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. 2006/0074300 (Green).
U.S. 2014/0358021 (Cuba Gyllensten).
U.S. 9,445,738 (Helfenbein).
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794