DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2024 and 07/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para. 0013, 0016, 00105, delete “circuity” and replace with “circuit” or “circuitry”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 14-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 11, delete “circuity” and replace with “circuit” or “circuitry”
In claim 4, line 4, delete “circuity” and replace with “circuit” or “circuitry”
In claim 11, line 5, delete “and or” and replace with “and/or”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenwatanavet et al. US Pub 2013/0141037 (hereinafter Jenwatanavet).
Regarding claim 1, Jenwatanavet discloses a wireless charger comprising:
one or more wireless power transmission coils comprising a plurality of coil segments (fig. 6, elements 602, 612, 622),
wherein the coil segments in the plurality of coil segments are part of a single, monolithic coil (see fig. 6 and ¶ 0024; each coil being connected in series; therefore, the coil segments of the prior art form a single, monolithic coil),
each of the coil segments being arranged to transmit power at a different region of the wireless charger (¶¶ 0004, 0030-0031 and fig. 1A, 1B, 6; a first charger portion having first and second charging areas, and also third charging areas having at least one coil);
drive circuitry configured to apply a drive signal to the one or more wireless power transmission coils (¶ 0058; by the circuit or circuit card assembly to flow through the conductors 629 and 631, and through each of the respective capacitors 604, 614 and 624 and associated coils 602, 612, 622);
bypass circuit paths configured to route drive signals around the respective coil segments (¶ 0056; when the switch is closed, the coil and the capacitor are bypassed);
switch elements (¶ 0051; switches 606, 616 and 626) configured to enable and disable the bypass circuit paths (¶ 0056); and
control circuitry (fig. 6, element 635) configured to (i) detect the presence of devices to be charged at the different regions of the wireless charger (¶ 0057; the switch logic can also be provided with one or more sensor input signals over connection regarding whether a charge-receiving device is placed in proximity to any of the coils 602, 612, and 622 so that the state of the switches 606, 616 and 626 can be controlled), and (ii) control the switch elements such that, when devices to be charged are detected for at least two of the different regions, the wireless charger alternates between charging the devices at the least two different regions (¶ 0058; one charge-receiving device located proximate to each coil 602, 612, and 622, then each of the switches 606, 616, and 626 will be controlled to be placed in an open (non-conductive) state).
Regarding claim 2, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the coil segments in the plurality of coil segments are electrically coupled in series with each other (¶ 0045; all connected in series).
Regarding claim 4, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuity is configured such that, to cause the wireless charger to alternate between charging the devices, the control circuitry is configured to control the switch elements to (i) enable each of bypass circuit paths except one, and (ii) vary which one of the bypass circuit paths is disabled (¶ 0056; whether enabling any or all of the charging structures 610, 620, and 630, to charge one, two, or three charge-receiving devices).
Regarding claim 6, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the one or more wireless power transmission coils are a single wireless power transmission coil (claim 1 and abstract; each coil/ coil segment being connected in series; and form a single wireless coil) and the plurality of coils segments are portions of the single wireless power transmission coil (fig. 6, elements 602, 612, 622), wherein each of the different bypass circuit paths is arranged to provide a circuit path in parallel with a different portion of the single wireless power transmission coil (see fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 7, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to activate the bypass circuit paths to cause only one of the coil segments to transmit power at a time (¶ 0056; enabling any or all of the charging structure).
Regarding claim 8, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to detect devices at the different regions based on interaction of the devices with the coil segments (¶ 0057; when the charge-receiving device is placed in proximity to any of the coils).
Regarding claim 9, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to detect devices at the different regions by attempting communication using different coil segments in respective periods of time (¶ 0057; placed in proximity to any of the coils 602, 612 and 622 so that the state of the switches 606, 616 and 626 can be controlled).
Regarding claim 10, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to repeatedly cycle through activation of each of the different coil segments one by one (¶¶ 0056, 0057).
Regarding claim 14, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured to:
determine a wireless charging power requested by each of the devices located at the at least two different regions (¶ 0065 and claim 5; two-to-one); and
provide the requested wireless charging power levels by charging the devices using intermittent periods of charging at instantaneous power levels that are higher than the power levels requested by the devices (¶ 0045; provide higher efficiency for charging devices).
Regarding claim 15, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured to:
determine when the devices at the at least two regions request differing wireless power transmission levels; and provide the differing wireless power transmission levels to the devices by (i) varying the power output of the drive circuitry to provide different transmission power levels in alternating power transmission periods (¶ 0062; having the ability to control the flow of charging current through the switched coils improve the charging efficiency), and/or (ii) using charging periods of different durations for the respective devices.
Regarding claim 16, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the driver circuitry is a single driver that provides drive signals for all of the plurality of coil segments (¶ 0058; by the circuit or circuit card assembly to flow through the conductors 629 and 631, and through each of the respective capacitors 604, 614 and 624 and associated coils 602, 612, 622).
Regarding claim 17, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein one or more of the switch elements comprises back-to-back transistors (¶ 0051; elements 606, 616, 626).
Regarding claim 18, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured to perform wireless charging using time-division multiplexing to concurrently charge the devices at the at least two different regions (¶ 0056; enabling any or all of the charging structure).
Regarding claim 19, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured so that only one of the coil segments is activated at a time (¶ 0056; selectively controlling the switches; turning on one at a time).
Regarding claim 20, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein, in at least one mode of operation involving charging of multiple devices, the control circuitry is configured to operate the switch circuitry to bypass all of the coil segments except one at any given time (¶¶ 0056-0057; enabling any or all switches or disabling any or all switches), and to vary which of the coil segments is not bypassed to provide power to the devices in alternating time periods (¶¶ 0056-0057; regarding whether a charge-receiving device is placed in proximity to any of the coils or not).
Regarding claim 21, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured to alternate between charging the devices at the least two different regions such that the coil segments for the at least two regions are activated for periods of less than one second in duration (¶ 0057; based on the sensor input signals).
Regarding claim 22, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger is configured to alternate between charging the devices at the least two different regions such that the coil segments for the at least two regions are each activated for periods of less than one half of a second in duration (¶ 0057; based on the sensor input signals, when the user places/pick up the charge-receiving device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11, 23-27, 29-31, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenwatanavet in view of Miyamoto et al. US Pub 2012/0038317 (hereinafter Miyamoto).
Regarding claim 5, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to concurrently charge the devices at the at least two different regions (¶¶ 0056-0057), but fails to teach the control circuitry is using time-division multiplexing to alternate between charging the devices.
However, Miyamoto further discloses a power transmitter assign a time slot to one or two or more power receivers and selectively transmits power to the one or two or more power receivers in every time slot based on the assignment in ¶¶ 0044-0045.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jenwatanavet to incorporate with the teaching of Miyamoto by using time division wireless transmitter, because it would be advantageous to optimize resource use without needing separate circuits for each device and further increase energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Jenwatanavet fails to disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine a frame structure comprising an assigned time period for each detected device; and repeat the frame structure so that each detected devices communicates and or receives power during its assigned time period in the frame structure.
Miyamoto discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine a frame structure comprising an assigned time period for each detected device (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045; based on the assigned time slot to one or two or more power receivers); and repeat the frame structure so that each detected devices communicates and/or receives power during its assigned time period in the frame structure (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045; based on the time division charging method).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jenwatanavet to incorporate with the teaching of Miyamoto by using time division wireless transmitter, because it would be advantageous to optimize resource use without needing separate circuits for each device and further increase energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Jenwatanavet discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by a wireless charger having multiple power transmission coil segments (fig. 6, elements 602, 612, 622) that are part of a single, monolithic power transmission coil (see fig. 6 and ¶ 0024; each coil being connected in series; therefore, the coil segments of the prior art form a single, monolithic coil), two or more devices to be charged that are respectively located proximate different power transmission coil segments of the wireless charger (¶¶ 0056-0057; enabling any or all of the charging structures to charge one, two or three charge-receiving devices);
applying, by the wireless charger, a drive signal to the power transmission coil segments (¶ 0058; by the circuit or circuit card assembly to flow through the conductors 629 and 631, and through each of the respective capacitors 604, 614 and 624 and associated coils 602, 612, 622), the power transmission coil segments being coupled in series with each other (claim 1); and
in response to detecting the two or more devices (¶ 0057; regarding whether a charge-receiving device is placed in proximity to any of the coils), selectively bypassing the power transmission coil segments (¶ 0056; selectively bypass its respective associated capacitor and coil) by the wireless charger.
However, Jenwatanavet fails to disclose the wireless charger is able to alternate between charging the two or more devices.
However, Miyamoto further discloses a power transmitter assign a time slot to one or two or more power receivers and selectively (alternate) transmits power to the one or two or more power receivers in every time slot based on the assignment in ¶¶ 0044-0045.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jenwatanavet to incorporate with the teaching of Miyamoto by alternating between charging the two or more devices, because it would be advantageous to optimize resource use without needing separate circuits for each device and further increase energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 24, Jenwatanavet in view of Miyamoto discloses wherein selectively bypassing the power transmission coil segments comprises varying which power transmission coils are bypassed to activate different transmission coil segments (Jenwatanavet, ¶ 0056) in alternating time periods (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045; based on the time slot).
Regarding claim 25, Jenwatanavet in view of Miyamoto discloses wherein selectively bypassing the power transmission coil segments comprises charging the two or more devices in a time-division multiplexing mode (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045) in which each of the power transmission coils is bypassed except one (¶¶ 0056-0057; enabling any or all switches or disabling any or all switches, taught by Jenwatanavet), and the power transmission coil that is not bypassed is varied by the wireless charger (Jenwatanavet, ¶¶ 0056-0057; disabling any or all coils).
Regarding claim 26, Jenwatanavet in view of Miyamoto discloses wherein selectively bypassing the power transmission coil segments to alternate (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045; based on the time slot) between charging the two or more devices comprises selectively bypassing the power transmission coil segments with
respective low-impedance shunts that route the majority of current away from the corresponding power transmission coil segments (¶ 0056; when the switch is closed, the coil and the capacitor are bypassed, taught by Jenwatanavet).
Regarding claim 27, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger includes only a single driver for the power transmission coil segments, and wherein applying the drive signal to the power transmission coil segments comprises applying a drive signal from only the single driver to the power transmission coil segments (¶ 0058; by the circuit or circuit card assembly to flow through the conductors 629 and 631, and through each of the respective capacitors 604, 614 and 624 and associated coils 602, 612, 622).
Regarding claim 29, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein the wireless charger comprises:
drive circuitry configured to apply a drive signal to the one or more wireless power transmission coils (¶ 0058; by the circuit or circuit card assembly to flow through the conductors 629 and 631, and through each of the respective capacitors 604, 614 and 624 and associated coils 602, 612, 622);
bypass circuit paths configured to route drive signals around the respective coil segments (¶¶ 0056-0057); and
switch elements configured to enable and disable the bypass circuit paths (¶ 0056; enabling any or all of the charging structures).
Regarding claim 30, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein each switch element comprises back-to-back transistors (¶ 0051; elements 606, 616, 626).
Regarding claim 31, Jenwatanavet in view of Miyamoto discloses the method comprising alternating (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045) between charging the two or more devices at a rate such that each of the two or more devices has a charging session (Miyamoto, ¶ 0045; based on the time slot) that is maintained active as the wireless charger alternates (Miyamoto, ¶¶ 0044-0045) between charging the two or more devices.
Regarding claim 34, Jenwatanavet discloses wherein detecting the two or more devices to be charged comprises sequentially attempting communication using different coil segments in respective periods of time (¶ 0057; placed in proximity to any of the coils 602, 612 and 622 so that the state of the switches 606, 616 and 626 can be controlled).
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 11/15/2025