DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the arguments filed on May 12, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments and amendments received May 12, 2026 have been fully considered.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Applicant argues that there is no requirement for claims directed to a computer-readable storage medium to include instructions, that a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the differential motion parameters as instructions, and that the absence of expressly recited instructions does not render independent claim 13 indefinite.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 13 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon an encoded bitstream, wherein the encoded bitstream is configured for decoding by operations comprising:…” followed by several elements/operations that describe how the encoded bitstream is “configured for decoding”. The claim appears to be directed to a storage medium itself. However, the claim then recites several “operations” to configure a bitstream for decoding that are method steps for generating the bitstream. It is not clear whether Applicant is attempting to claim the storage medium itself, a method of encoding a bitstream. As detailed in the previous Action, a storage medium in and of itself, without a processor executing the functions stored in that medium, cannot execute any method of coding – it is simply storage, its only function is to store. Accordingly, without the recitation of such instructions, it is not clear what Applicant is attempting to claim – a storage medium storing a bitstream or a method of encoding a bitstream. 35 U.S.C. 112(b) requires that the claims particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter to which the inventor regards as the invention. The rejection is maintained. Applicant is encouraged to amend the claims to make clear the subject matter of claims 13-20.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not interpret the claimed bitstream as “printed matter” or “descriptive material” under MPEP 2111.05 and that such a person would not interpret the claimed encoded material as functional descriptive material. Applicant also argues that Lou fails to teach “obtaining, from the encoded bitstream, differential motion parameters for a current block from the current superblock.
As detailed above, Claim 13 recites a storage medium having a bitstream stored thereon. It does not detail instructions executed by a processor. It merely details a bitstream stored on a medium. Several claim elements recite how the bitstream is “configured for decoding”, however, the method of such configuration does not appear to be the subject matter of the claim. Rather the claim is directed to the storage medium itself storing a bitstream. MPEP 2111.05 states that where computer programming performs some function with respect to the computer with which is associated, a functional relationship is found. However, where the claim is directed to a computer-readable medium that merely serves as support for information or data, no functional relationship exists, e.g., a memory stick containing tables of batting averages does not provide a functional relationship between the data and the computer. Like this memory stick storing batting data, Applicant has recited a storage medium storing a bitstream. This bitstream, as recited, was configured with several steps, but the claim is not directed to the configuration of the bitstream, it is directed to the storage of the bitstream on a computer-readable medium. The claim includes no intended computer to perform any of the configuration elements of steps and the bitstream itself is not a form of programming. Accordingly, the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream/information and patentable weight, without such programming/computer, is not given to the steps to configure the bitstream. The rejection is maintained.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103 and the independent claims, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining a projected motion field for the current superblock, using motion data from the current reference frame”. Specifically, Applicant argues that the MVs of the current block and its adjacent neighboring blocks of Gao are not “a projected motion field” and interpreting it as such is not consistent with the specification.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The terms “projected motion field” and “superblock” are not defined within the claim. These claim terms must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Applicant describes “projected motion field” as a set of motion vectors for a region containing a current block – this region is described as being a block, a superblock, a group of superblocks, a frame, etc. but it is also made clear that, although described with reference to a current superblock or superblock group, may be obtained independently of other aspects of the current frame (see Applicant’s specification ¶92). Applicant also broadly defines the term “superblock” (see Applicant’s specification ¶¶51, 92) describing it both as synonymous with the term “block” and describing it as having a size of 256x256, 128x128, 64x64, and including smaller blocks therein. Gao describes obtaining motion information/motion vectors nearby to the current block using motion data from a reference block, i.e., the motion vectors obtained are projected from reference frame information, multiple (obtaining motion from nearby blocks indicates motion is obtained from several in a region) are obtained – i.e., a motion field is obtained (see ¶¶230-233, 235, 237-238). This motion field is for the current block, which as detailed above, Applicant interpreted in its specification to be synonymous with superblock (see Applicant’s specification ¶51), thus given its broadest reasonable definition it is “for the current superblock”. Examiner notes that Gao also describes that its motion prediction concepts may be at the block or superblock level in various locations (see, e.g., ¶¶214-216).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining reference warp motion parameters, for the current superblock, by fitting the projected motion field to a warp motion model”. Specifically, Applicant argues that Examiner has given no weight to the term “reference” and that the “warp parameters of the current block” would not be interpreted as reference warp motion parameters. A similar argument is made with respect to dependent claim 5.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions of the specification describe obtaining warp motion parameters by derivation/estimation involving the fitting of projected motion to a warp model. These paragraphs clearly describe that the warp model and the motion (which are used to derive these warp motion parameters) are associated with a reference frame (see, e.g., ¶¶235-238). No specific definition is given in the claim for “reference warp motion parameters” and Applicant’s specification indicates that the term “reference” is this phrase is synonymous with “predicted” (see, e.g., ¶93). The citations in Gao are likewise to predicted, i.e., reference, warp motion parameters associated with reference frames.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining, from the encoded bitstream, differential motion parameters for a current block from the current superblock”. Specifically, Applicant argues that because claim 1 recites “a current block from the current superblock” that the current block may not be interpreted as the superblock and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not interpret Gao as describing a “delta from a predicted motion vector”, but rather is a delta from a predicted warp model.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, Applicant’s own specification indicates that a superblock may be synonymous with the term “block” (see ¶51). Gao describes that its system may operate in a WARP_DELTA mode in which the block’s warp model is coded, i.e., is a parameter in an encoded bitstream, as a delta (difference) from a predicted warp model and that this predicted warp model is obtained from the global motion model or a neighboring block, i.e., it indicates motion (see ¶247 and see also ¶169, describing that such a delta is a difference). In other words, Gao describes that the encoded bitstream includes, and the decoder obtains, a differential motion parameter for a current block within/from the current superblock (which as detailed above may be the current block itself or larger).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining motion parameters for the current block by adding the reference warp motion parameters and the differential motion parameters”. Specifically, Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill would not interpret Gao’s WARPED_CAUSAL and WARP_DELTA as separated and distinct modes or that WARP_DELTA is added in WARPED_CAUSAL mode or that the fitting described with respect to the WARPED_CAUSAL mode would be applied to WARP_DELTA mode. Applicant also argues that the predicted warp model is derived without signaling and that the present claims do not recited signaling a predicted reference warp model or a predicted reference warp model.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Differential coding was well known in the art. This is evidenced both in Gao and in Applicant’s own specification. As detailed above, Gao describes WARP DELTA mode in which the block’s warp model is coded as a delta from a predicted warp model (see ¶247). Although Gao primarily uses the term delta, this concept is also described in the art as a residual, difference, or error (see, e.g., Gao ¶169 and Applicant’s specification at ¶¶22, 72). In a short hand, to avoid describing the entirety of the WARP_DELTA mode, Gao describes that this mode operates similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector (see ¶247). This concept was well known in the art as differential coding – in which instead of sending the entirety of the data itself, a prediction was generated and a difference/delta/residual from that prediction was sent (to minimize required bandwidth/bits) such that, at the receiving end, the prediction could be recreated and combined (i.e., added) with the difference/delta/residual for reconstruction. This concept is described in both Gao and Applicant’s own specification and description of the prior art, and thus was clearly well known in the art (see, e.g., Gao ¶¶70, 161, 169 and Applicant’s Specification at ¶¶22, 55, 72, describing differential video coding). Accordingly, as detailed in the Action below and in the previous Action, by describing the use of a delta mode that is coded “similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector” would have indicated to one of ordinary skill in the art that the signaled delta (warp delta, i.e., differential motion parameter) was signaled as a delta to be added at the receiving end to the prediction (predicted warp motion parameters, i.e., reference warp motion parameters) to reconstruct the warp motion parameters in the same way that motion vectors may be signaled as an MVD to be combined on the receiving end with the motion vector prediction to reconstruct the motion vectors. The rejection is maintained.
With respect to claim 2, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining the projected field includes using motion data from a second reference frame, wherein the motion data from the second reference frame includes a motion vector that intersects the current reference frame”. Specifically, Applicant argues Gao does not describe obtaining motion data from reference frames, but describes obtaining motion vectors from neighboring blocks – that the cited portions of Gao do not teach a motion vector that intersects the current reference frame.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above with respect to claim 1, in Gao, the projected motion field is obtained by obtaining a set of motion vectors for a current block and its surrounding blocks (see, e.g., Fig. 20, ¶¶230-233, 235, 237-238). The MVs of this current block and its neighboring blocks are each vectors to reference fames (see, e.g., Figs. 18-20, ¶¶235-237), i.e., they use motion data from a second reference frame including a motion vector intersecting the current reference frame.
With respect to claim 4, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “identifying the current superblock includes identifying a current group of superblocks that includes the current superblock”. Specifically, Applicant argues that Examiner’s conclusion that frames are groups of superblocks is inconsistent with the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art and contradictory to the claims. Applicant adds that because Examiner interprets the current frame of Gao as the current frame recited in claim 1, Examiner cannot also interpret it as a group of superblocks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The phrase “group of superblocks” is not defined within the claim. Claim terms must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Applicant describes “group of superblocks” as a group that includes two or more contiguous or non-contiguous superblocks (see Applicant’s specification ¶¶89). Applicant’s specification provides no upper limit on how many superblocks may be in a group. If Applicant would like to limit the number of superblocks in a group of superblocks or would like to clarify that it is fewer superblocks than in a whole frame, then Applicant is encouraged to do so.
With respect to claim 6, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining a respective projected motion vector includes obtaining, as the respective projected motion vector, a result of multiplying a motion vector from the reference block in the current reference frame by a result of dividing a temporal distance between the current reference frame and the current frame by a temporal distance between the current reference frame and a second reference frame, wherein the current frame is temporally between the current reference frame and the second reference frame”. Specifically, Applicant argues that claim 6 does not recite a motion vector difference and that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not interpret the difference of POCs in each direction as equivalent to a result of dividing a temporal distance between the current reference frame and a second reference frame. Additionally, Applicant argues that the purpose and use of the scaling in Gao is not equivalent to the purpose and use of the recited claim element.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Applicant’s claim does not recite a “motion vector difference”/MVD, it does not exclude motion vector differences. MVDs are in and of themselves a piece of a motion vector, specifically, they are the piece of the motion vector that differs from the predicted motion vector. Accordingly, such language does not preclude the interpretation of an MVD as a motion vector. As to the temporal distance between the current frame and reference frames, POC difference is defined as the distances between the reference frame and the current frame (see Gao ¶¶211-212). Thus, when Gao describes that the MVD may be scaled by td0/td1, it is describing scaling by multiplying by a result of dividing a temporal distance between the current reference frame and the current frame (td0) by a temporal distance between the current reference frame and a second reference frame (td1). Examiner indicates that the purpose of the scaling is not defined by the claim, thus its purpose is not limiting.
With respect to claim 11, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining a plurality of projected motion fields that includes the projected motion field, wherein obtaining the plurality of projected motion fields includes obtaining respective projected motion fields on a per-reference frame basis with respect to the plurality of reference frames”. Specifically, Applicant argues that a person of skill in the art would not interpret the two reference frames that are used as the claimed plurality of reference frames as available for decoding the current frame.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed with respect to the independent claims and claim 2 above, the projected motion field is obtained from the motion vectors of the current block and adjacent/surrounding/nearby blocks and the reference frames for each, i.e., on a per-reference fame basis. The described process is repeated for each current block of a frame, thus, by the time the current frame is coded, Gao has obtained a plurality of projected motion fields (including the current projected motion field) and these fields were obtained on a per-reference frame basis with respect to the plurality of reference frames.
Additionally, with respect to claim 11, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose “obtaining the reference warp motion parameters includes obtaining a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets on a per-projected motion field basis with respect to the plurality of projected motion fields, where a reference warp motion parameter set from the plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets includes the reference warp motion parameters”. Specifically, Applicant argues that the reference warp parameters are obtained for the current superblock, thus the coding of other superblocks is not relevant to the rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed with respect to the independent claims and claim 2 above, the reference warp motion parameters are obtained from for the current block using the projected motion field, i.e., on a per-projected motion field basis. The described process is repeated for each current block of a frame, thus, by the time the current frame is coded, Gao has obtained a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets (including the current block’s reference warp motion parameters) on a per-projected motion field basis with respect to the plurality of projected motion fields. If Applicant would like to narrow its claim to read out the idea that this step includes the repetition of the step throughout the frame, Applicant is encouraged to do so.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 13 recites a computer-readable medium having stored thereon a bitstream and describes that the bitstream is configured for decoding operations, but does not indicate that there are any coding instructions on the computer-readable medium for accomplishing such decoding of the bitstream. A computer-readable storage medium itself cannot decode data without instructions for such decoding. Accordingly, Applicant has failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claims 14-20 are rejected for the same reasons as being dependent upon base claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0016789 (“Lou”).
With respect to claim 13, patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id. Claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon an encoded bitstream which is configured for decoding, wherein the decoding operations comprise several steps. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Thus the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lou which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (see ¶155).
Dependent claims 14-20 merely recite further limitations regarding the elements or steps of the decoding operations for the bitstream. These are also not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. Accordingly, for similar reasons, these claim elements are not given patentable weight and claims 14-20 are also rejected as just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lou which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (see ¶155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0098300 (“Gao”), which corresponds to a priority application filed September 2022, in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 1, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A method comprising:
obtaining an encoded bitstream (see Fig. 8, items 871, “coded video sequence”, Abstract, describing obtaining a coded/encoded bitstream of video);
generating reconstructed frame data (see Fig. 8, items 874, “reconstructed pictures”, Abstract, describing generating reconstructed pictures/frame data), wherein generating the reconstructed frame data includes:
identifying a current frame (see Fig. 18, item 1802, Abstract, describing that the system may identify a current frame);
identifying a current reference frame (see Fig. 18, items 1804, 1806, Abstract, describing that the system identifies a reference frame for a current block of the current frame, i.e., current reference frame);
identifying a current superblock from the current frame (see ¶¶99, 167, 209-210, 214-216, describing that the block/CU may be as large as 64x64 or 128x128, and that motion information may be determined at signaled at the tile or superblock level for a current picture/frame);
obtaining a projected motion field, for the current superblock, using motion data from the current reference frame (see ¶¶230-233, 235, 237-238, describing obtaining nearby motion vectors, i.e., a projected motion field, using motion data from a reference frame for the current block (which as detailed above, may be a superblock);
obtaining reference warp motion parameters, for the current superblock, by fitting the projected motion field to a warp motion model (see Fig. 21, ¶¶230-233, 235, 238-241, 247, describing obtaining reference warp motion parameters for the coding block (which as detailed above may be a superblock) by fitting the projected nearby motion/per-pixel motion, i.e., motion field, to a warp motion model);
obtaining, from the encoded bitstream, differential motion parameters for a current block from the current superblock (see ¶¶238, 247, describing that in WARP_DELTA mode, the system may obtain a delta from a predicted motion vector, i.e., differential motion parameter, for a current block (which as detailed above may be a superblock) from the encoded bitstream);
obtaining motion parameters for the current block by adding the reference warp motion parameters and the differential motion parameters (see citations with respect to element above, describing that in WARP_DELTA, the delta for a predicted warp model is coded “similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector”; see also ¶¶70, 169, describing that when motion vectors are coded as a delta/MVD/residual from a predicted motion vector, the motion vector for the current block is obtained by adding the prediction from the reference block and the delta/MVD/residual/differential motion information – one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood that when Gao describes that the current block’s “warp model is coded as a delta from a predicted warp model, similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector”, this would indicate that such a delta is then added to the prediction/reference warp motion parameters to obtain the final motion parameters for the current block);
obtaining a predicted block for the current block in accordance with the motion parameters (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing the use of the warped motion parameters to obtain motion vectors for the current block and Fig. 8, item 874, ¶¶111, 113-114, describing that in the coding system obtains “prediction results”, i.e., prediction block, for the current block in accordance with the prediction information (motion vectors as described in ¶103) which are combined with a residual to form a reconstructed block);
obtaining a reconstructed block by adding the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to element above, describing that the reconstructed block is formed by adding the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream); and
including the reconstructed block in the reconstructed frame data (see ¶114, describing that the reconstructed block is part of the reconstructed picture, i.e., reconstructed frame data that is output as part of the reconstructed video);
including the reconstructed frame data in an output video stream (see citations with respect to element above and Figs. 5, 8, input to item 512, item “reconstructed pictures”, describing that the reconstructed picture/frame is output in a video stream); and
outputting the output video stream (see citations with respect to elements above describing outputting an output video stream).
As detailed above, Gao does not explicitly state that the delta/differential motion parameter is added to the reference warp motion parameter. However, Gao does state that when warp delta is used, the warp model is coded as a delta from a predicted warp model “similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector” (see ¶247). As identified in other portions of Gao, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood this to mean that a prediction index and a delta are coded and that the decoder then may determine the appropriate prediction and add the delta to it (see, e.g., ¶¶70, 169). Accordingly, to such a person, applying this concept to the warp model to code a delta for the warp model would have indicated that the final model/set of parameters would be obtained by signaling a predicted reference warp model and adding a delta/differential to it. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Gao to specifically recite this and, in view of the level of skill in the art, Gao discloses each and every element of independent claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the projected motion field includes using motion data from a second reference frame, wherein the motion data from the second reference frame includes a motion vector that intersects the current reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Gao Figs. 18-19, ¶¶97, 101, 110, describing that Gao’s motion information can include motion data from 2 reference frames with motion vectors that intersect the current reference frame).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the current superblock is a 64x64-pixel superblock, a 128×128-pixel superblock, or a 256×256-pixel superblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, describing that the superblock may be 64x64 or 128x128).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
identifying the current superblock includes identifying a current group of superblocks that includes the current superblock;
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining the projected motion field for the current group of superblocks; and
obtaining the reference warp motion parameters includes obtaining the reference warp motion parameters for the current group of superblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶178, 232, 238, 247, describing that the superblock’s motion may be obtained as global motion (i.e., motion at a frame level – frames would be understood to be groups of superblocks) and the warp parameters may be obtained as global reference warp motion parameters).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining, for a respective 8x8 block of the current superblock, zero or more projected motion vectors between the respective 8x8 block and a reference block in the current reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, and Fig. 21, ¶¶93, 146, Table 1, 238, 240, describing that obtaining the motion may include obtaining zero or more projected nearby motion vectors and/or vectors for 8x8 blocks).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 5. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining a respective projected motion vector includes obtaining, as the respective projected motion vector, a result of multiplying a motion vector from the reference block in the current reference frame by a result of dividing a temporal distance between the current reference frame and the current frame by a temporal distance between the current reference frame and a second reference frame, wherein the current frame is temporally between the current reference frame and the second reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶172, 212, describing that motion vectors may be scaled based on the POC differences in each direction, i.e., based on the temporal distances between the reference frames in each direction).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 6.
With respect to claim 7, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the warp motion model is a four-parameter warp motion model, a six-parameter warp motion model, or an eight-parameter warp motion model (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶230, 235, table 7, describing that the warp motion model may be four or six parameter).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 7.
With respect to claim 8, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
fitting the projected motion field includes least-squares regression with respect to the projected motion field (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶238, describing that fitting the warp parameters to the projected motion field includes least squares regression with respect to the motion field).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 8.
With respect to claim 9, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the differential motion parameters is omitted; and
obtaining the motion parameters for the current block includes using the reference warp motion parameters as the motion parameters for the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶246, describing that the current block’s motion parameters may be obtained by copying them from the neighbor’s/reference warp motion parameters and that WARP_DELTA is optional, i.e., obtaining the differential parameters may be omitted).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 9.
With respect to claim 10, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the reference warp motion parameters indicate warped motion between the current reference frame and the current frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Fig. 21, ¶¶230-232, 238, 247, describing that the reference warp motion parameters indicate warped motion between the reference frame and target/current frame).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the current reference frame is from a plurality of reference frames available for decoding the current frame;
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining a plurality of projected motion fields that includes the projected motion field, wherein obtaining the plurality of projected motion fields includes obtaining respective projected motion fields on a per-reference frame basis with respect to the plurality of reference frames; and
obtaining the reference warp motion parameters includes obtaining a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets on a per-projected motion field basis with respect to the plurality of projected motion fields, where a reference warp motion parameter set from the plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets includes the reference warp motion parameters (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above ¶¶232, 235, 237-238, 245, describing that multiple reference frames may be obtained and motion information for each reference frame may be obtained and warped based on a parameter sets for each motion information, i.e., based on a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets; Examiner also notes that it is clear that since there are multiple blocks/superblocks in each frame, in the described system, in order to obtain the reconstructed current frame, this concept would be repeated for each, i.e., collectively using multiple reference frames, multiple reference fields, and multiple reference warp motion parameter sets with respect to the projected motion fields).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
An apparatus for decoding using local global prediction modes with projected motion fields (see Figs. 5, 8, showing such an apparatus), the apparatus comprising:
a memory including computer executable instructions for decoding an encoded video stream (see ¶¶259, 286-287, 299-301, describing a memory for storing instructions for decoding an encoded video stream and a processor for executing such instructions – Examiner interprets this memory to be a non-transitory memory in accordance with Applicant’s specification at ¶295); and
a processor that executes the instructions (see citations with respect to element above) to:
obtain an encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
generate reconstructed frame data (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above), wherein to generate the reconstructed frame data the processor executes the instructions to:
identify a current frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
identify a current reference frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
identify a current superblock from the current frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a projected motion field, for the current superblock, using motion data from the current reference frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain reference warp motion parameters for the current superblock, wherein, to obtain the reference warp motion parameters, the processor executes the instructions to fit the projected motion field to a warp motion model (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain differential motion parameters, for a current block from the current superblock, from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain motion parameters, for the current block, wherein, to obtain the motion parameters, the processor executes the instructions to add the reference warp motion parameters and the differential motion parameters (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a predicted block for the current block in accordance with the motion parameters (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a reconstructed block, wherein, to obtain the reconstructed block, the processor executes the instructions to add the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above); and
include the reconstructed block in the reconstructed frame data (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
include the reconstructed frame data in an output video stream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above); and
output the output video stream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, claim 13 recites the elements of claim 1 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream form rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 1 (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Gao ¶¶60, 259, 286-287, 299-301 – although the exact language of paragraph 60 describing the storage of the encoded bitstream does not appear in Gao’s provisional, Gao’s provisional is directed to the AV1 standard of transmitting encoded data from an encoder to a decoder. Examiner takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood such transmission to require storage (even if very briefly) of such a bitstream after encoding and before transmission and/or after transmission and before decoding in a storage medium). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 1 also applies to claim 13.
With respect to claim 14, claim 14 recites the elements of claim 2 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 2 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 2 also applies to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, claim 15 recites the elements of claim 4 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 4 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 4 also applies to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, claim 16 recites the elements of claim 5 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 5 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 5 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 5 also applies to claim 16.
With respect to claim 17, claim 17 recites the elements of claim 6 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 6 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 6 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 6 also applies to claim 17.
With respect to claim 18, claim 18 recites the elements of claim 8 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 8 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 8 also applies to claim 18.
With respect to claim 19, claim 19 recites the elements of claim 9 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 9 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 9 also applies to claim 19.
With respect to claim 20, claim 20 recites the elements of claim 10 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 10 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 10 also applies to claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481