DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on December 20, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 13 recites a computer-readable medium having stored thereon a bitstream and describes that the bitstream is configured for decoding operations, but does not indicate that there are any coding instructions on the computer-readable medium for accomplishing such decoding of the bitstream. A computer-readable storage medium itself cannot decode data without instructions for such decoding. Accordingly, Applicant has failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claims 14-20 are rejected for the same reasons as being dependent upon base claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0016789 (“Lou”).
With respect to claim 13, patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id. Claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon an encoded bitstream which is configured for decoding, wherein the decoding operations comprise several steps. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Thus the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lou which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (see ¶155).
Dependent claims 14-20 merely recite further limitations regarding the elements or steps of the decoding operations for the bitstream. These are also not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. Accordingly, for similar reasons, these claim elements are not given patentable weight and claims 14-20 are also rejected as just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lou which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (see ¶155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0098300 (“Gao”), which corresponds to a priority application filed September 2022, in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 1, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A method comprising:
obtaining an encoded bitstream (see Fig. 8, items 871, “coded video sequence”, Abstract, describing obtaining a coded/encoded bitstream of video);
generating reconstructed frame data (see Fig. 8, items 874, “reconstructed pictures”, Abstract, describing generating reconstructed pictures/frame data), wherein generating the reconstructed frame data includes:
identifying a current frame (see Fig. 18, item 1802, Abstract, describing that the system may identify a current frame);
identifying a current reference frame (see Fig. 18, items 1804, 1806, Abstract, describing that the system identifies a reference frame for a current block of the current frame, i.e., current reference frame);
identifying a current superblock from the current frame (see ¶¶99, 167, 209-210, 214-216, describing that the block/CU may be as large as 64x64 or 128x128, and that motion information may be determined at signaled at the tile or superblock level for a current picture/frame);
obtaining a projected motion field, for the current superblock, using motion data from the current reference frame (see ¶¶230-233, 235, 237-238, describing obtaining nearby motion vectors, i.e., a projected motion field, using motion data from a reference frame for the current block (which as detailed above, may be a superblock);
obtaining reference warp motion parameters, for the current superblock, by fitting the projected motion field to a warp motion model (see Fig. 21, ¶¶230-233, 235, 238-241, 247, describing obtaining reference warp motion parameters for the coding block (which as detailed above may be a superblock) by fitting the projected nearby motion/per-pixel motion, i.e., motion field, to a warp motion model);
obtaining, from the encoded bitstream, differential motion parameters for a current block from the current superblock (see ¶¶238, 247, describing that in WARP_DELTA mode, the system may obtain a delta from a predicted motion vector, i.e., differential motion parameter, for a current block (which as detailed above may be a superblock) from the encoded bitstream);
obtaining motion parameters for the current block by adding the reference warp motion parameters and the differential motion parameters (see citations with respect to element above, describing that in WARP_DELTA, the delta for a predicted warp model is coded “similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector”; see also ¶¶70, 169, describing that when motion vectors are coded as a delta/MVD/residual from a predicted motion vector, the motion vector for the current block is obtained by adding the prediction from the reference block and the delta/MVD/residual/differential motion information – one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood that when Gao describes that the current block’s “warp model is coded as a delta from a predicted warp model, similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector”, this would indicate that such a delta is then added to the prediction/reference warp motion parameters to obtain the final motion parameters for the current block);
obtaining a predicted block for the current block in accordance with the motion parameters (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing the use of the warped motion parameters to obtain motion vectors for the current block and Fig. 8, item 874, ¶¶111, 113-114, describing that in the coding system obtains “prediction results”, i.e., prediction block, for the current block in accordance with the prediction information (motion vectors as described in ¶103) which are combined with a residual to form a reconstructed block);
obtaining a reconstructed block by adding the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to element above, describing that the reconstructed block is formed by adding the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream); and
including the reconstructed block in the reconstructed frame data (see ¶114, describing that the reconstructed block is part of the reconstructed picture, i.e., reconstructed frame data that is output as part of the reconstructed video);
including the reconstructed frame data in an output video stream (see citations with respect to element above and Figs. 5, 8, input to item 512, item “reconstructed pictures”, describing that the reconstructed picture/frame is output in a video stream); and
outputting the output video stream (see citations with respect to elements above describing outputting an output video stream).
As detailed above, Gao does not explicitly state that the delta/differential motion parameter is added to the reference warp motion parameter. However, Gao does state that when warp delta is used, the warp model is coded as a delta from a predicted warp model “similarly to how motion vectors are coded as a delta from a predicted motion vector” (see ¶247). As identified in other portions of Gao, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood this to mean that a prediction index and a delta are coded and that the decoder then may determine the appropriate prediction and add the delta to it (see, e.g., ¶¶70, 169). Accordingly, to such a person, applying this concept to the warp model to code a delta for the warp model would have indicated that the final model/set of parameters would be obtained by signaling a predicted reference warp model and adding a delta/differential to it. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Gao to specifically recite this and, in view of the level of skill in the art, Gao discloses each and every element of independent claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the projected motion field includes using motion data from a second reference frame, wherein the motion data from the second reference frame includes a motion vector that intersects the current reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Gao Figs. 18-19, ¶¶97, 101, 110, describing that Gao’s motion information can include motion data from 2 reference frames with motion vectors that intersect the current reference frame).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the current superblock is a 64x64-pixel superblock, a 128×128-pixel superblock, or a 256×256-pixel superblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, describing that the superblock may be 64x64 or 128x128).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
identifying the current superblock includes identifying a current group of superblocks that includes the current superblock;
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining the projected motion field for the current group of superblocks; and
obtaining the reference warp motion parameters includes obtaining the reference warp motion parameters for the current group of superblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶178, 232, 238, 247, describing that the superblock’s motion may be obtained as global motion (i.e., motion at a frame level – frames would be understood to be groups of superblocks) and the warp parameters may be obtained as global reference warp motion parameters).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining, for a respective 8x8 block of the current superblock, zero or more projected motion vectors between the respective 8x8 block and a reference block in the current reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, and Fig. 21, ¶¶93, 146, Table 1, 238, 240, describing that obtaining the motion may include obtaining zero or more projected nearby motion vectors and/or vectors for 8x8 blocks).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 5. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining a respective projected motion vector includes obtaining, as the respective projected motion vector, a result of multiplying a motion vector from the reference block in the current reference frame by a result of dividing a temporal distance between the current reference frame and the current frame by a temporal distance between the current reference frame and a second reference frame, wherein the current frame is temporally between the current reference frame and the second reference frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶172, 212, describing that motion vectors may be scaled based on the POC differences in each direction, i.e., based on the temporal distances between the reference frames in each direction).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 6.
With respect to claim 7, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the warp motion model is a four-parameter warp motion model, a six-parameter warp motion model, or an eight-parameter warp motion model (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶¶230, 235, table 7, describing that the warp motion model may be four or six parameter).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 7.
With respect to claim 8, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
fitting the projected motion field includes least-squares regression with respect to the projected motion field (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶238, describing that fitting the warp parameters to the projected motion field includes least squares regression with respect to the motion field).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 8.
With respect to claim 9, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
obtaining the differential motion parameters is omitted; and
obtaining the motion parameters for the current block includes using the reference warp motion parameters as the motion parameters for the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and ¶246, describing that the current block’s motion parameters may be obtained by copying them from the neighbor’s/reference warp motion parameters and that WARP_DELTA is optional, i.e., obtaining the differential parameters may be omitted).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 9.
With respect to claim 10, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the reference warp motion parameters indicate warped motion between the current reference frame and the current frame (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Fig. 21, ¶¶230-232, 238, 247, describing that the reference warp motion parameters indicate warped motion between the reference frame and target/current frame).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
wherein:
the current reference frame is from a plurality of reference frames available for decoding the current frame;
obtaining the projected motion field includes obtaining a plurality of projected motion fields that includes the projected motion field, wherein obtaining the plurality of projected motion fields includes obtaining respective projected motion fields on a per-reference frame basis with respect to the plurality of reference frames; and
obtaining the reference warp motion parameters includes obtaining a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets on a per-projected motion field basis with respect to the plurality of projected motion fields, where a reference warp motion parameter set from the plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets includes the reference warp motion parameters (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above ¶¶232, 235, 237-238, 245, describing that multiple reference frames may be obtained and motion information for each reference frame may be obtained and warped based on a parameter sets for each motion information, i.e., based on a plurality of reference warp motion parameter sets; Examiner also notes that it is clear that since there are multiple blocks/superblocks in each frame, in the described system, in order to obtain the reconstructed current frame, this concept would be repeated for each, i.e., collectively using multiple reference frames, multiple reference fields, and multiple reference warp motion parameter sets with respect to the projected motion fields).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, Gao discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Gao in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Gao additionally discloses:
An apparatus for decoding using local global prediction modes with projected motion fields (see Figs. 5, 8, showing such an apparatus), the apparatus comprising:
a memory including computer executable instructions for decoding an encoded video stream (see ¶¶259, 286-287, 299-301, describing a memory for storing instructions for decoding an encoded video stream and a processor for executing such instructions – Examiner interprets this memory to be a non-transitory memory in accordance with Applicant’s specification at ¶295); and
a processor that executes the instructions (see citations with respect to element above) to:
obtain an encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
generate reconstructed frame data (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above), wherein to generate the reconstructed frame data the processor executes the instructions to:
identify a current frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
identify a current reference frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
identify a current superblock from the current frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a projected motion field, for the current superblock, using motion data from the current reference frame (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain reference warp motion parameters for the current superblock, wherein, to obtain the reference warp motion parameters, the processor executes the instructions to fit the projected motion field to a warp motion model (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain differential motion parameters, for a current block from the current superblock, from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain motion parameters, for the current block, wherein, to obtain the motion parameters, the processor executes the instructions to add the reference warp motion parameters and the differential motion parameters (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a predicted block for the current block in accordance with the motion parameters (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
obtain a reconstructed block, wherein, to obtain the reconstructed block, the processor executes the instructions to add the predicted block and a reconstructed residual block obtained by decoding residual data for the current block from the encoded bitstream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above); and
include the reconstructed block in the reconstructed frame data (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above);
include the reconstructed frame data in an output video stream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above); and
output the output video stream (see citations with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, claim 13 recites the elements of claim 1 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream form rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 1 (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Gao ¶¶60, 259, 286-287, 299-301 – although the exact language of paragraph 60 describing the storage of the encoded bitstream does not appear in Gao’s provisional, Gao’s provisional is directed to the AV1 standard of transmitting encoded data from an encoder to a decoder. Examiner takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood such transmission to require storage (even if very briefly) of such a bitstream after encoding and before transmission and/or after transmission and before decoding in a storage medium). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 1 also applies to claim 13.
With respect to claim 14, claim 14 recites the elements of claim 2 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 2 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 2 also applies to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, claim 15 recites the elements of claim 4 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 4 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 4 also applies to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, claim 16 recites the elements of claim 5 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 5 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 5 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 5 also applies to claim 16.
With respect to claim 17, claim 17 recites the elements of claim 6 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 6 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 6 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 6 also applies to claim 17.
With respect to claim 18, claim 18 recites the elements of claim 8 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 8 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 8 also applies to claim 18.
With respect to claim 19, claim 19 recites the elements of claim 9 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 9 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 9 also applies to claim 19.
With respect to claim 20, claim 20 recites the elements of claim 10 in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form storing a bitstream rather than method form. Gao discloses that its system may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream configured for decoding, including the decoding operations of claim 10 (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 above Official Notice described in claim 13 above). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 10 also applies to claim 20.
Conclusion
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481