DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on May 22, 2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) with a species election of SEQ ID NO:2 as the dsDNase in the reply filed on May 22, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all pending claims is possible without undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed on March 23, 2026, the inventions of Groups I-IX require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries) and/or the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification. Further, the inventions of Groups I-VIII raise different examination issues, such as issues under 35 USC 101, 112, and art issues for the product of Groups I, II, III, VI, and IX that is not required for Groups IV-V and VII-VIII..
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 22, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-50 are pending.
Claims 10-50 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 are under examination.
Claim for Domestic Priority
Applicants' claim for domestic priority under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application 63/482,696 filed on 02/01/2023 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 20, 2023 and April 25, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed June 10, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The copy of the reference “UNIPROT A5X381” is illegible. A legible copy of said reference is provided and cited on form PTO-892.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by A5X381 (UniProtKB/TrEMBL Database. January 19, 2022 - form PTO-892).
MPEP 2113 states that “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”. In the instant case, the structure of the claimed engineered dsDNase implied is the same whether the engineered dsDNase is obtained from any recombinant engineering or is obtained from any source (including wild type proteins), as long as the resulting product has the structural limitations recited in the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, A5X381 discloses a Penaeus monodon DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease, which has at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (page 1). The DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease hydrolyzes DNA (page 1.and therefore, the endonuclease of A5X381 is a dsDNase.
Therefore, the reference of A5X381 anticipates claims 1 and 4.
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (Cloning and characterization of a novel nuclease from shrimp hepatopancreas, and prediction of its active site. Biochem J. 2000 Mar 15;346 Pt 3(Pt 3):799-804. - form PTO-1449).
MPEP 2113 states that “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”. In the instant case, the structure of the claimed engineered dsDNase implied is the same whether the engineered dsDNase is obtained from any recombinant engineering or is obtained from any source (including wild type proteins), as long as the resulting product has the structural limitations recited in the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Wang discloses a Penaeus japonicus DNase, which has at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:3, 12, or 13 of the instant application (Figure 2 and see the sequence alignments below). The DNase of Wang cleaves double stranded DNA (page 799, 1st paragraph) and therefore, the DNase of Wang is a dsDNase.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses a composition comprising the DNase and a total salt (25 mM CaCl2 and 0.25 MMgCl2) concentration of at least 50 mM (“RNase assay” at page 800).
Therefore, the reference of Wang anticipates claims 1, 4, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim interpretation
MPEP 2113 states that “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”. In the instant case, the structure of the claimed engineered dsDNase implied is the same whether the engineered dsDNase is obtained from any recombinant engineering or is obtained from any source (including wild type proteins), as long as the resulting product has the structural limitations recited in the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, A5X381 (UniProtKB/TrEMBL Database. January 19, 2022 - form PTO-892) discloses a Penaeus monodon DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease, which has at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (page 1). The DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease hydrolyzes DNA (page 1.and therefore, the endonuclease of A5X381 is a dsDNase.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Wang (Cloning and characterization of a novel nuclease from shrimp hepatopancreas, and prediction of its active site. Biochem J. 2000 Mar 15;346 Pt 3(Pt 3):799-804. - form PTO-1449) discloses a Penaeus japonicus DNase, which has at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:3, 12, or 13 of the instant application (Figure 2 and see the sequence alignments below). The DNase of Wang cleaves double stranded DNA (page 799, 1st paragraph) and therefore, the DNase of Wang is a dsDNase.
Regarding claims 8-9, the claims are drawn to a composition comprising the dsDNase disclosed above and a DNA hydrolysis product or a buffering agent, such as water.
Therefore, claims 1 and 4 are directed to a naturally occurring product, Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase. Claims 8-9 are directed to a composition comprising a naturally occurring product, Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase and DNA hydrolysis product or water.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category (see MPEP 2106.03). Since the claims are directed to dsDNase and a composition comprising dsDNase, the claims are directed to a composition of matter, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES)
Step 2A Prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.04). The claimed engineered dsDNase and composition comprising the dsDNase are not considered to have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase, as discussed above and is considered to be a law of nature exception. Regarding claims 8-9, there is no indication in the specification that placing the dsDNase in a generic composition comprising a hydrolysis product or water results in the dsDNase having any characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) that are different from the naturally occurring Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase. Because there is no difference in characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) between the claimed dsDNase and the naturally occurring Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase, the claimed dsDNase and a composition comprising said dsDNase are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional recited elements in the claim beyond the judicial exception and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. Regarding claims 1 and 4, there are no additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed dsRNase is found naturally occurring in nature (Penaeus monodon and Penaeus japonicus). Regarding claims 8-9, there is no indication in the specification that placing the dsDNase and a hydrolysis product or water in a composition results in the dsDNase having any characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) that are different from the naturally occurring extracellular Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase. Because there is no difference in characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) between the dsDNase comprised in the composition and the naturally occurring Penaeus monodon dsDNase or Penaeus japonicus dsDNase, the claimed composition does not have markedly different characteristics, and thus are a “product of nature”. (Step2 A: YES)
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim (see MPEP § 2106.05). The claims only recite the laws of nature and do not include any additional elements that could add significantly more to the judicial exceptions. (Step 2B: NO)
As such, the claims do not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Conclusion
Claims 1-50 are pending.
Claims 10-50 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are rejected.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, any intervening claims, and limited to SEQ ID NO:2, 3, 12, and 13.
/YONG D PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Sequence alignment between the dsDNase of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the endonuclease of A5X381 (“Db”)
A5X381_PENMO
ID A5X381_PENMO Unreviewed; 402 AA.
AC A5X381;
DT 10-JUL-2007, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 10-JUL-2007, sequence version 1.
DT 02-APR-2025, entry version 45.
DE SubName: Full=DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease {ECO:0000313|EMBL:ABF69938.1};
OS Penaeus monodon (Giant tiger prawn).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Ecdysozoa; Arthropoda; Crustacea; Multicrustacea;
OC Malacostraca; Eumalacostraca; Eucarida; Decapoda; Dendrobranchiata;
OC Penaeoidea; Penaeidae; Penaeus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=6687 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:ABF69938.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:ABF69938.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RA Molthathong S., Rojthinakorn J., Senapin S., Flegel T.W.;
RT "Molecular analysis of a novel tissue-specific hepatopancreatic nuclease
RT from the black tiger shrimp (Penaeus monodon).";
RL Submitted (DEC-2016) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00010052}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; DQ528804; ABF69938.1; -; mRNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; A5X381; -.
DR OrthoDB; 5960141at2759; -.
DR GO; GO:0005743; C:mitochondrial inner membrane; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0046872; F:metal ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0003676; F:nucleic acid binding; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0004521; F:RNA endonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0000014; F:single-stranded DNA endodeoxyribonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0006309; P:apoptotic DNA fragmentation; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR CDD; cd00091; NUC; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.570.10:FF:000007; Alkaline nuclease; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.570.10; Extracellular Endonuclease, subunit A; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR044929; DNA/RNA_non-sp_Endonuclease_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR001604; Endo_G_ENPP1-like_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR044925; His-Me_finger_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR040255; Non-specific_endonuclease.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966; ENDONUCLEASE RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966:SF17; ENDONUCLEASE-RELATED; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01223; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SMART; SM00892; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF54060; His-Me finger endonucleases; 1.
PE 2: Evidence at transcript level;
KW Endonuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022759, ECO:0000313|EMBL:ABF69938.1};
KW Hydrolase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022759, ECO:0000313|EMBL:ABF69938.1};
KW Metal-binding {ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2};
KW Nuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022722}; Signal {ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP}.
FT SIGNAL 1..21
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT CHAIN 22..402
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT /id="PRO_5002689523"
FT DOMAIN 143..384
FT /note="DNA/RNA non-specific
FT endonuclease/pyrophosphatase/phosphodiesterase"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|SMART:SM00892"
FT ACT_SITE 232
FT /note="Proton acceptor"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-1"
FT BINDING 262
FT /ligand="Mg(2+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:18420"
FT /ligand_note="catalytic"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2"
SQ SEQUENCE 402 AA; 43758 MW; 1BA03C7711BCB7B1 CRC64;
Query Match 96.2%; Score 1955; Length 402;
Best Local Similarity 95.5%;
Matches 364; Conservative 11; Mismatches 6; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QECVWNKDADFPEYPPIILDASFEIVRPVAEGELRIVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEITNLGTV 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||
Db 22 QECVWNKDADFPEYPPIILDASFEIVRPVMEGELRIVRVSAGAQLTLACPGSEITNLGTV 81
Qy 61 AVDVICGGGDLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGPE 120
| |:||||||||||||||||:|||||: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 82 AADLICGGGDLLVVDGTEWRLDELGCTVKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGPE 141
Qy 121 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVVRGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTIYTQNS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 142 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVVRGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTIYTQNS 201
Qy 181 QLALMKTLLGDDDLANTIINPHEQLYFARGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 240
||||||||||||||||||:|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 202 QLALMKTLLGDDDLANTILNPQEQLYFARGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 261
Qy 241 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAEAHGTDLTIYTGGWGVLALDDINGNPVEIYLGLTENEMVVPAPA 300
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 262 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAEAHGTDLTIYTGGFDVLALDDINANPVEIYLGLTENEMVVPAPA 321
Qy 301 ITWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLSWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 360
:||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|:||||||||||||
Db 322 VTWKVIYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLSWIDFNVDDLGHGYTYCCTV 381
Qy 361 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 381
||||||||||||||:||||||
Db 382 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGNVGLLDK 402
Sequence alignment between the dsDNase of SEQ ID NO:3 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the endonuclease of Wang (“Db”)
Q9U5L8_PENJP
ID Q9U5L8_PENJP Unreviewed; 402 AA.
AC Q9U5L8;
DT 01-MAY-2000, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 01-MAY-2000, sequence version 1.
DT 02-APR-2025, entry version 64.
DE SubName: Full=Deoxyribonuclease I {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
DE EC=3.1.21.1 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
OS Penaeus japonicus (Kuruma prawn) (Marsupenaeus japonicus).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Ecdysozoa; Arthropoda; Crustacea; Multicrustacea;
OC Malacostraca; Eumalacostraca; Eucarida; Decapoda; Dendrobranchiata;
OC Penaeoidea; Penaeidae; Penaeus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=27405 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RX PubMed=10698709; DOI=10.1042/0264-6021:3460799;
RA Wang W.Y., Liaw S.H., Liao T.H.;
RT "Cloning and characterization of a novel nuclease from shrimp
RT hepatopancreas, and prediction of its active site.";
RL Biochem. J. 346:799-804(2000).
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00010052}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AJ133437; CAB55635.1; -; mRNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q9U5L8; -.
DR OrthoDB; 5960141at2759; -.
DR GO; GO:0005743; C:mitochondrial inner membrane; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0004530; F:deoxyribonuclease I activity; IEA:UniProtKB-EC.
DR GO; GO:0046872; F:metal ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0003676; F:nucleic acid binding; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0004521; F:RNA endonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0000014; F:single-stranded DNA endodeoxyribonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0006309; P:apoptotic DNA fragmentation; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR CDD; cd00091; NUC; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.570.10:FF:000007; Alkaline nuclease; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.570.10; Extracellular Endonuclease, subunit A; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR044929; DNA/RNA_non-sp_Endonuclease_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR001604; Endo_G_ENPP1-like_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR044925; His-Me_finger_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR040255; Non-specific_endonuclease.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966; ENDONUCLEASE RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966:SF17; ENDONUCLEASE-RELATED; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01223; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SMART; SM00892; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF54060; His-Me finger endonucleases; 1.
PE 2: Evidence at transcript level;
KW Endonuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022759};
KW Hydrolase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
KW Metal-binding {ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2};
KW Nuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022722}; Signal {ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP}.
FT SIGNAL 1..21
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT CHAIN 22..402
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT /id="PRO_5004335095"
FT DOMAIN 143..384
FT /note="DNA/RNA non-specific
FT endonuclease/pyrophosphatase/phosphodiesterase"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|SMART:SM00892"
FT ACT_SITE 232
FT /note="Proton acceptor"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-1"
FT BINDING 262
FT /ligand="Mg(2+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:18420"
FT /ligand_note="catalytic"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2"
SQ SEQUENCE 402 AA; 43533 MW; BB2BFEBEA74E3CDD CRC64;
Query Match 96.9%; Score 1979; Length 402;
Best Local Similarity 96.6%;
Matches 368; Conservative 4; Mismatches 9; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QECVWNKDTDFPEYPPIILDASFEIVRPVAEGEVRVVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEITNLGTT 60
|||:|||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||
Db 22 QECMWNKDTDFPEYPPIILDASLEIVRPVAEGEARVVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEIVNLGTT 81
Qy 61 AVDVTCGGGDLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGSD 120
|||| ||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 82 AVDVQCGGGNLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGSD 141
Qy 121 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLHGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTCYTQNS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 142 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLHGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTCYTQNS 201
Qy 181 QLALMKTLLGDDDLANTIINPHEQLYFAKGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 240
||| || ||||||||| ||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 202 QLASMKILLGDDDLANAIINPHEQYYFAKGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 261
Qy 241 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAEAHGTDLTIYTGGWGVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTEDEMVVPAPA 300
|||||||||||||||||:| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 262 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAESHSTDLTIYTGGWGVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTEDEMVVPAPA 321
Qy 301 ITWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLSWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||
Db 322 ITWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLAWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 381
Qy 361 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 381
|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 382 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 402
Sequence alignment between the dsDNase of SEQ ID NO:13 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the endonuclease of Wang (“Db”)
Q9U5L8_PENJP
ID Q9U5L8_PENJP Unreviewed; 402 AA.
AC Q9U5L8;
DT 01-MAY-2000, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 01-MAY-2000, sequence version 1.
DT 02-APR-2025, entry version 64.
DE SubName: Full=Deoxyribonuclease I {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
DE EC=3.1.21.1 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
OS Penaeus japonicus (Kuruma prawn) (Marsupenaeus japonicus).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Ecdysozoa; Arthropoda; Crustacea; Multicrustacea;
OC Malacostraca; Eumalacostraca; Eucarida; Decapoda; Dendrobranchiata;
OC Penaeoidea; Penaeidae; Penaeus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=27405 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RX PubMed=10698709; DOI=10.1042/0264-6021:3460799;
RA Wang W.Y., Liaw S.H., Liao T.H.;
RT "Cloning and characterization of a novel nuclease from shrimp
RT hepatopancreas, and prediction of its active site.";
RL Biochem. J. 346:799-804(2000).
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00010052}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AJ133437; CAB55635.1; -; mRNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q9U5L8; -.
DR OrthoDB; 5960141at2759; -.
DR GO; GO:0005743; C:mitochondrial inner membrane; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0004530; F:deoxyribonuclease I activity; IEA:UniProtKB-EC.
DR GO; GO:0046872; F:metal ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0003676; F:nucleic acid binding; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0004521; F:RNA endonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0000014; F:single-stranded DNA endodeoxyribonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0006309; P:apoptotic DNA fragmentation; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR CDD; cd00091; NUC; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.570.10:FF:000007; Alkaline nuclease; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.570.10; Extracellular Endonuclease, subunit A; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR044929; DNA/RNA_non-sp_Endonuclease_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR001604; Endo_G_ENPP1-like_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR044925; His-Me_finger_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR040255; Non-specific_endonuclease.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966; ENDONUCLEASE RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966:SF17; ENDONUCLEASE-RELATED; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01223; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SMART; SM00892; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF54060; His-Me finger endonucleases; 1.
PE 2: Evidence at transcript level;
KW Endonuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022759};
KW Hydrolase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
KW Metal-binding {ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2};
KW Nuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022722}; Signal {ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP}.
FT SIGNAL 1..21
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT CHAIN 22..402
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT /id="PRO_5004335095"
FT DOMAIN 143..384
FT /note="DNA/RNA non-specific
FT endonuclease/pyrophosphatase/phosphodiesterase"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|SMART:SM00892"
FT ACT_SITE 232
FT /note="Proton acceptor"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-1"
FT BINDING 262
FT /ligand="Mg(2+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:18420"
FT /ligand_note="catalytic"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2"
SQ SEQUENCE 402 AA; 43533 MW; BB2BFEBEA74E3CDD CRC64;
Query Match 96.2%; Score 1952; Length 402;
Best Local Similarity 95.5%;
Matches 364; Conservative 6; Mismatches 11; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QECMWNKDTDFPEYPPIILDASLEIVRPVMEGELRVVRVSAGAQLTLACPGSEITNLGTT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||:|||||||||| |||||
Db 22 QECMWNKDTDFPEYPPIILDASLEIVRPVAEGEARVVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEIVNLGTT 81
Qy 61 AADVICGGGNLLVVDGTEWRLDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGSD 120
| || |||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 82 AVDVQCGGGNLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGSD 141
Qy 121 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLHGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTIYTQNS 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||
Db 142 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLHGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTCYTQNS 201
Qy 181 QLALMKILLGDDDLANTILNPQEQLYFARGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 240
||| |||||||||||| |:|| || |||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 202 QLASMKILLGDDDLANAIINPHEQYYFAKGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 261
Qy 241 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAESHSTDLTIYTGGWDVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTEDEMVVPAPA 300
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 262 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAESHSTDLTIYTGGWGVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTEDEMVVPAPA 321
Qy 301 VTWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLAWIDFDVDDLGHGYTYCCTV 360
:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||
Db 322 ITWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLAWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 381
Qy 361 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 381
|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 382 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 402
Sequence alignment between the dsDNase of SEQ ID NO:12 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the endonuclease of Wang (“Db”)
Q9U5L8_PENJP
ID Q9U5L8_PENJP Unreviewed; 402 AA.
AC Q9U5L8;
DT 01-MAY-2000, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 01-MAY-2000, sequence version 1.
DT 02-APR-2025, entry version 64.
DE SubName: Full=Deoxyribonuclease I {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
DE EC=3.1.21.1 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
OS Penaeus japonicus (Kuruma prawn) (Marsupenaeus japonicus).
OC Eukaryota; Metazoa; Ecdysozoa; Arthropoda; Crustacea; Multicrustacea;
OC Malacostraca; Eumalacostraca; Eucarida; Decapoda; Dendrobranchiata;
OC Penaeoidea; Penaeidae; Penaeus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=27405 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RX PubMed=10698709; DOI=10.1042/0264-6021:3460799;
RA Wang W.Y., Liaw S.H., Liao T.H.;
RT "Cloning and characterization of a novel nuclease from shrimp
RT hepatopancreas, and prediction of its active site.";
RL Biochem. J. 346:799-804(2000).
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the DNA/RNA non-specific endonuclease family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00010052}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AJ133437; CAB55635.1; -; mRNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q9U5L8; -.
DR OrthoDB; 5960141at2759; -.
DR GO; GO:0005743; C:mitochondrial inner membrane; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0004530; F:deoxyribonuclease I activity; IEA:UniProtKB-EC.
DR GO; GO:0046872; F:metal ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0003676; F:nucleic acid binding; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0004521; F:RNA endonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0000014; F:single-stranded DNA endodeoxyribonuclease activity; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0006309; P:apoptotic DNA fragmentation; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR CDD; cd00091; NUC; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.570.10:FF:000007; Alkaline nuclease; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.570.10; Extracellular Endonuclease, subunit A; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR044929; DNA/RNA_non-sp_Endonuclease_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR001604; Endo_G_ENPP1-like_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR044925; His-Me_finger_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR040255; Non-specific_endonuclease.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966; ENDONUCLEASE RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR13966:SF17; ENDONUCLEASE-RELATED; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01223; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SMART; SM00892; Endonuclease_NS; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF54060; His-Me finger endonucleases; 1.
PE 2: Evidence at transcript level;
KW Endonuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022759};
KW Hydrolase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAB55635.1};
KW Metal-binding {ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2};
KW Nuclease {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022722}; Signal {ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP}.
FT SIGNAL 1..21
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT CHAIN 22..402
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT /id="PRO_5004335095"
FT DOMAIN 143..384
FT /note="DNA/RNA non-specific
FT endonuclease/pyrophosphatase/phosphodiesterase"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|SMART:SM00892"
FT ACT_SITE 232
FT /note="Proton acceptor"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-1"
FT BINDING 262
FT /ligand="Mg(2+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:18420"
FT /ligand_note="catalytic"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|PIRSR:PIRSR640255-2"
SQ SEQUENCE 402 AA; 43533 MW; BB2BFEBEA74E3CDD CRC64;
Query Match 96.0%; Score 1955; Length 402;
Best Local Similarity 95.3%;
Matches 363; Conservative 8; Mismatches 10; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QECMWNKDADFPEYPPIILDASFEIVRPVMEGEARVVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEITNLGTV 60
|||||||| ||||||||||||| |||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 22 QECMWNKDTDFPEYPPIILDASLEIVRPVAEGEARVVRVSAGAKLTLACPGSEIVNLGTT 81
Qy 61 AVDLQCGGGDLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGPE 120
|||:|||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| :
Db 82 AVDVQCGGGNLLVVDGTEWRMDELGCSKKDKESIHRNLGSCGDGGVGVFEGIGFEIFGSD 141
Qy 121 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLRGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTIYTQNS 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||
Db 142 SFYELIRVCFEPKAETTLYSEHVLHGANIAAKDIDSSRPSFKSSTGFFTVSMSTCYTQNS 201
Qy 181 QLASMKILLGDDDLANAILNPQEQYYFAKGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 240
||||||||||||||||||:|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 202 QLASMKILLGDDDLANAIINPHEQYYFAKGHLAPDADFVTEAEQDATYYYINAVPQWQAF 261
Qy 241 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAEAHGTDLTIYTGGWGVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTENEMVVPAPA 300
|||||||||||||||||:| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||
Db 262 NNGNWKYLEFATRDLAESHSTDLTIYTGGWGVLTLDDINGNPVEIYLGLTEDEMVVPAPA 321
Qy 301 ITWKVIYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLAWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 360
|||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 322 ITWKVVYEESSSRAVGVVGVNNPHITSPPTPLCSDLCSSLAWIDFDVNDLGHGYTYCCTV 381
Qy 361 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGNVGLLDK 381
||||||||||||||:||||||
Db 382 DDLRAAIPHVPDLGSVGLLDK 402