Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 with respect the prior art of Mitze (US20130160514A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that the prior art of Mitze (US20130160514A1) does not teaches “Mitze does not disclose such features for at least the reason that Mitze does not describe a large top wheel that opens and allows the drill bit to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels. Rather, Mitze describes a pair of clamping jaws 18A, 18B that are used to grasp a workpiece. Put simply, Mitze does not describe both a large top wheel and two lower wheels”.
In response to this argument, the prior art of Mitze clearly and explicitly discloses that the clamping jaws (18A-18B) are wheels (fig.5 and claims 6-8),
all the elements (18A-18B) are adjustable independently of one another “corresponding to opens” (paragraphs 0031-0032); the elements are different size (the elements (18A-18B) are wheels with different size in fig.5; claim 8: the different geometries, paragraphs 0031-0032: are different from one another);
Further, claim 1 is required “large top wheel” not “the top wheel is the larger wheel”; and the Examiner interpreted wheel (18A) of fig.5 is a large top wheel.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAN (CN112058946B attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Mitze (US20130160514A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, YAN discloses a drill bit straightening system (fig.1, paragraphs 0001, 0073-0075, 0102 and 0152-0156: the straightening system is capable to straight a drill bit) comprising:
a mounting frame (implicitly, must having a frame to hold the device of fig.1);
a drill bit holding assembly (fig.1: (2)) configured to hold a drill bit (fig.1: element (5) “corresponding to “a drill bit”);
wherein the drill bit holding assembly is configured to hold the drill bit proximately at one end of the drill bit, forming a cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit (fig.1);
one or more sensors (fig.1: (6)) configured to measure edge eccentricity of a shaft associated with the drill bit (paragraphs 0080-0083);
a drill bit pressing arm (fig.1: (4)) installed on the mounting frame and configured to straighten the drill bit by applying a force calculated based on one or more predictive models (paragraph 0113-0124); and a control unit (fig.1: (8)) configured to automatically control a straightening operation of the drill bit straightening system based on the one or more predictive models (paragraphs 0102-0103; 0113-0153).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, YAN does not disclose, wherein the drill bit holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows the drill bit to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels, and wherein the large top wheel of the drill bit holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the drill bit, forming the cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit; wherein the drill bit holding assembly is configured to secure and support the drill bit at multiple locations along the drill bit
Mitze teaches a straightening system, comprising: a holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows a workpiece to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels (fig.5: the elements (18A-18B) in form of wheels); and wherein the large top wheel of the holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the workpiece, forming a cantilever connection between the holding assembly and the workpiece (fig.5, claims 6-8 and paragraphs 0030-0031).
Both of the prior arts of YAN and Mitze are related to a straightening system;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration of the drill bit holding assembly of YAN by the configuration of the bit holding assembly as taught by Mitze; since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). (MPEP 2143). Thereby having wherein the drill bit holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows the drill bit to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels; and wherein the large top wheel of the drill bit holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the drill bit, forming the cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit; and wherein the drill bit holding assembly is configured to secure and support the drill bit at multiple locations along the drill bit.
Regarding claim 6, YAN discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a laser micrometer (paragraph 0080: laser sensor is photoelectric sensor).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, YAN discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a laser micrometer; and wherein the one or more sensors are configured to measure a warp horizontally in the drill bit without contacting the drill bit (paragraph 0080: photoelectric sensor).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claims 10-12, YAN disclose wherein the control unit is configured to calculate the force to be applied to the drill bit using a mathematical model; wherein the control unit is configured to calculate a second force to be applied to the drill bit using the mathematical model; and wherein the control unit is configured to calculate the second force to be applied to the drill bit using the mathematical model (paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0098-0102) and additional information, the additional information including one or more of an overall spine shape, a force versus displacement curve determined during a bending operation, and lot or batch specific information (paragraph 0154).
YAN in view of Mitze does not disclose a historical prediction model and a bitwise prediction model.
However, YAN disclose using the mathematical model; and
using would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select using a historical prediction model and a bitwise prediction model, as a matter of routine engineering design choice
Regarding claim 14, YAN discloses wherein the drill bit pressing arm is configured to apply the force at a distance from the drill bit holding assembly along the drill bit (paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0098-0102).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, YAN discloses wherein the distance is pre- determined, and wherein the control unit is configured to calculate the force be applied to the drill bit based on the pre-determined distance from the drill bit holding assembly along the drill bit at which the force is to be applied (paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0098-0102).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, YAN discloses wherein the control unit is configured to calculate the distance from the drill bit holding assembly along the drill bit at which to apply the force (paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0098-0102).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, YAN discloses wherein the control unit is configured to determine whether the drill bit is within an acceptable specification range after applying the force and calculate a second force to be applied to the drill bit if the drill bit is not within the acceptable specification range after applying the force (paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0098-0102).
Therefore, the modification of YAN in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 18.
Claim 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdabini (US4154073A) in view of Mitze (US20130160514A1).
Regarding claim 1, Galdabini discloses a drill bit straightening system (fig.1, col.2 line 47-col.3: the straightening system is capable to straight a drill bit) comprising:
a mounting frame (the frame of fig.1);
a drill bit holding assembly (fig.1: (14) and (15)) configured to hold a drill bit (fig.1: element (A) “corresponding to “a drill bit”);
wherein the drill bit holding assembly is configured to hold the drill bit proximately at one end of the drill bit, forming a cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit (fig.1);
one or more sensors (fig.1: (21)) configured to measure edge eccentricity of a shaft associated with the drill bit;
a drill bit pressing arm (fig.1: (18)) installed on the mounting frame and configured to straighten the drill bit by applying a force calculated based on one or more predictive models (fig.2); and a control unit (fig.2: (53)) configured to automatically control a straightening operation of the drill bit straightening system based on the one or more predictive models (col.2 line 47-col.3).
Galdabini does not disclose, wherein the drill bit holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows the drill bit to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels, and wherein the large top wheel of the drill bit holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the drill bit, forming the cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit.
Mitze teaches a straightening system, comprising: a holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows a workpiece to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels (fig.5: the elements (18A-18B) in form of wheels); and wherein the large top wheel of the holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the workpiece, forming a cantilever connection between the holding assembly and the workpiece (fig.5, claims 6-8 and paragraphs 0030-0031).
Both of the prior arts of Galdabini and Mitze are related to a straightening system;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration of the drill bit holding assembly of Galdabini by the configuration of the bit holding assembly as taught by Mitze; since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). (MPEP 2143). Thereby having wherein the drill bit holding assembly comprises a large top wheel that opens and allows the drill bit to be set into a valley formed by two lower wheels; and wherein the large top wheel of the drill bit holding assembly is configured to close and clamp on the drill bit, forming the cantilever connection between the drill bit holding assembly and the drill bit.
Regarding claim 5, Galdabini discloses wherein the drill bit holding assembly (fig.1: (14) and (15)) is configured to secure and support the drill bit at multiple locations along the drill bit.
Therefore, the modification of Galdabini in view of Mitze teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725