DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In communications filed on 4/22/2026, claims 1-4 and 15-18 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 15 are independent.
Amended claim(s): 1-4, 15-18.
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 4/22/2026, with respect to claim(s) rejected under prior art have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicants’ amendment to the claim(s). Newly cited art Slaby (US 20140279528 A1) teaches charging and activating a fingerprint sensor of a wearable device when the wearable device is placed on the base of a charging station (Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230148716 A1 (hereinafter ‘Zhou’) in view of US 20130029640 A1 (hereinafter ‘Wong’) in view of US 20140279528 A1 (hereinafter ‘Slaby’) in view of US 20170286661 A1 (hereinafter ‘Seza’).
As regards claim 1, Zhou (US 20230148716 A1) discloses: A charging device, comprising: a base configured to receive a wearable device, the wearable device configured to acquire physiological data from a user; (Zhou: Figs. 2, 7-8, ¶5-¶10, ¶81-¶83)
a charging component configured to transfer power through the base to the wearable device to charge a rechargeable battery of the wearable device; (Zhou: Figs. 2, 7-8, ¶5-¶10, ¶81-¶83)
However, Zhou does not but in analogous art, Wong (US 20130029640 A1) a fingerprint reader device; and (Wong: Fig. 1, ¶18, i.e., the charging system with a fingerprint sensor)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou to include a charging system with a fingerprint sensor to authenticate a user of the mobile device that can be accessed and charged as taught by Wong with the motivation to prevent unauthorized access to the mobile device (Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶32)
Zhou et al in combination with an analogous art, Slaby (US 20140279528 A1) teaches: one or more processors communicatively coupled with the charging component, the fingerprint reader device, or both, the one or more processors configured to: activate the fingerprint reader device based at least in part on determining that the wearable device is positioned on the base of the charging device; (Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20, i.e., the wearable device including the fingerprint sensor that gets powered when the wearable device placed on the charging base)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou et al to include a charging system to charge and activate a wearable device and associated fingerprint sensor when the device is placed on the charging base as taught by Slaby with the motivation to perform user authentication (Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
Zhou et al combination further teaches: receive a fingerprint scan from the fingerprint reader device based at least in part on activating the fingerprint reader device; (Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶30, i.e., the charging system with a fingerprint sensor wherein the fingerprint sensor performs authentication. See also, Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
authenticate the user based at least in part on matching the fingerprint scan to a reference fingerprint scan associated with the user; and (Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶30, i.e., the charging system with a fingerprint sensor wherein the fingerprint sensor performs authentication based on registered fingerprint of the user)
Zhou et al in combination with Seza (US 20170286661 A1) further teaches: transmit one or more signals to the wearable device based at least in part on authenticating the user, the one or more signals comprising an authorization for the wearable device to transfer the physiological data of the user from the wearable device to a user device. (Seza: ¶5-¶12, ¶22-¶23, i.e., signaling an authorization signal, based on successful authentication of a user, to the wearable device to collect physiological data from the wearable device)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou to an authorization indicator to a wearable device to collect data from the device as taught by Seza with the motivation to only collect data after user authentication (Seza: 5-¶12, ¶22-¶23)
Claim 15 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 1 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 2, Zhou et al in combination further teaches the charging device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that the wearable device is positioned on the base of the charging device based at least in part on an initiation of a charging procedure to transfer power from the charging component to the wearable device. (Zhou: Figs. 2, 7-8, ¶5-¶10, ¶81-¶83. See also Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶32. See also Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
Claim 16 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 2 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 3, Zhou et al in combination further teaches the charging device of claim 1, further comprising: a user input device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive one or more user inputs via the user input device, wherein activating the fingerprint reader device is further based at least in part on the one or more user inputs (Zhou: Figs. 2, 7-8, ¶5-¶10, ¶81-¶83. See also Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶32. Seza: ¶5-¶12, ¶22-¶23, ¶42, ¶51. Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
Claim 17 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 3 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 4, Zhou et al in combination further teaches the charging device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify a contact on a surface of the fingerprint reader device, wherein activating the fingerprint reader device is further based at least in part on identifying the contact. (Zhou: Figs. 2, 7-8, ¶5-¶10, ¶81-¶83. See also Wong: Fig. 1, ¶4, ¶18-¶32. Seza: ¶5-¶12, ¶22-¶23, ¶42, ¶51. Slaby: Fig. 3, ¶19-¶20)
Claim 18 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 4 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
Conclusion
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432