DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-3972158-B2.
Regarding claims 1 and 4
The ‘158 patent discloses an electroless plating solution comprising PdCl2, L-aspartic acid 0.10 mol/l (i.e., 13.3 g/l), thiodiglycolic acid, and sodium formate (Example 1).
The ‘158 patent discloses that the pH can be adjusted with an acid such as hydrochloric acid (i.e., an inorganic acid), and that the pH value is not particularly limited and can be strongly acidic with a pH of about 2. It is noted that about 2 has some leeway to values below 2, and although this may not overlap with the claimed pH of less than 1, it is not so different that the skilled artisan would expect a difference in properties, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 2
The ‘158 patent discloses that the palladium is present in an amount from 0.001 to 0.2 mol/l (para 0045). As the molecular weight of palladium chloride is 177.33 g/mol, this give a range of 177.33 mg/l to 35460.00 mg/l. As the amount of palladium of the reference overlaps the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 6
This limitation is a desired/intended use, and "where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation." Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the 102 rejections.
Applicants amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 102 rejections and they have been withdrawn.
Applicants argue against the 103 rejections.
Applicants argue that the reference only discloses a pH range of 2 to 12, not the claimed less than 1. While this may be true it is not persuasive as the reference teaches about 2 which allows for some leeway, and further the range is so close that the skilled artisan would not expect a difference in properties, nor has any evidence of new or unexpected results been presented.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734