DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denkwitz et al. (US Pat. 10,066,034).
Considering Claims 1-4 and 7: Denkwitz et al. teaches a composition comprising a polypropylene polymer (3:44-50) and an antioxidant (15:49-61), where the polypropylene has a polydispersity index of 3.9 and a melt flow rate 8.9 g/10 min (Table 3, Example 20). Thus the PI ratio is 1.20.
Denkwitz et al. is silent towards the I value of the composition. However, Denkwitz et al. teaches the polymer as being prepared in a gas phase with a Ziegler Natta catalyst of the formula MgCl2-xROH with titanium (3:11-30) in a Mg/Ti ratio of 1:20 (13:17-20) in the presence of a diether internal donor in a ratio of donor to Mg of 0.25 (13:17-20). These conditions are taught by the original specification to result in the claimed I value (¶0024; 0051-54; 0106-07). The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the I value, peak maximum temperature, and peak crystallization temperature, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claims 5, 6, and 8: Denkwitz et al. teaches the polymer as having a xylene cold soluble content of 1.3 weight percent and a MFR of 8.9 g/10 min (Table 3, Example 20).
Considering Claim 16: Denkwitz et al. teaches forming an article from the composition (12:8-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denkwitz et al. (US Pat. 10,066,034) in view of Souza Bento et al. (US 2023/0074665).
Considering Claims 9-12: Denkwitz et al. teaches a composition comprising a polypropylene polymer (3:44-50) and an antioxidant (15:49-61), where the polypropylene has a polydispersity index of 3.9 and a melt flow rate 8.9 g/10 min (Table 3, Example 20). Thus the PI ratio is 1.20.
Denkwitz et al. is silent towards the I value of the composition. However, Denkwitz et al. teaches the polymer as being prepared in a gas phase with a Ziegler Natta catalyst of the formula MgCl2-xROH with titanium (3:11-30) in a Mg/Ti ratio of 1:20 (13:17-20) in the presence of a diether internal donor in a ratio of donor to Mg of 0.25 (13:17-20). These conditions are taught by the original specification to result in the claimed I value (¶0024; 0051-54; 0106-07). The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the I value, peak maximum temperature, and peak crystallization temperature, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Denkwitz et al. does not teach the composition as comprising a recycled polymer. However, Souza Bento et al. teaches a blend of 40 to 90 weight percent of recycled resin (Claim 2), that is preferably at least 80 weight polypropylene (Claim 16) and 10 to 40 weight percent of virgin polypropylene (Claim 2). Denkwitz et al. and Souza Bento et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polypropylene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the polypropylene of Denkwitz et al. in the blend of Souza Bento et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Souza Bento et al. suggests, to reduce the environmental impact of waste residues (¶0003).
Considering Claim 13: Souza Bento et al. teaches mixing the polypropylene and recycled polymer (¶0046).
Considering Claim 17: Denkwitz et al. teaches forming an article from the composition (12:8-15).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denkwitz et al. (US Pat. 10,066,034) in view of Souza Bento et al. (US 2023/0074665).
Considering Claims 9-12: Denkwitz et al. teaches a composition comprising a polypropylene polymer (3:44-50) and an antioxidant (15:49-61), where the polypropylene has a polydispersity index of 3.9 and a melt flow rate 8.9 g/10 min (Table 3, Example 20). Thus the PI ratio is 1.20.
Denkwitz et al. is silent towards the I value of the composition. However, Denkwitz et al. teaches the polymer as being prepared in a gas phase with a Ziegler Natta catalyst of the formula MgCl2-xROH with titanium (3:11-30) in a Mg/Ti ratio of 1:20 (13:17-20) in the presence of a diether internal donor in a ratio of donor to Mg of 0.25 (13:17-20). These conditions are taught by the original specification to result in the claimed I value (¶0024; 0051-54; 0106-07). The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the I value, peak maximum temperature, and peak crystallization temperature, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Denkwitz et al. does not teach the composition as comprising a recycled polymer. However, Souza Bento et al. teaches a blend of 40 to 90 weight percent of recycled resin (Claim 2), that is preferably at least 80 weight polypropylene (Claim 16) and 10 to 40 weight percent of virgin polypropylene (Claim 2). Souza Bento et al. teaches mixing the polypropylene and recycled polymer (¶0046). Denkwitz et al. and Souza Bento et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polypropylene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the polypropylene of Denkwitz et al. in the blend of Souza Bento et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Souza Bento et al. suggests, to reduce the environmental impact of waste residues (¶0003).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767