Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application 63/477,777 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
It is noted that claim 1 has been amended and new claims 12-15 have been added on April 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “valuable item” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what are the constraints to items being considered valuable or not valuable. What one person considers valuable, another may not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320). 2010/014419
Regarding claim 1, Kosaka discloses a roulette system with a bonus event ¶0003, comprising: a roulette mechanism (roulette device #3) having a base (Fig. 2, frame #21,¶0071) an annular stationary rim (guide wall #29) mounted on the base (Fig. 2 ¶0076), the stationary rim having a central opening and an upwardly curved face around which a roulette ball travels (¶0076), a rotating roulette wheel configured to spin in a first direction and positioned in the central opening of the stationary rim and supported by the base (Fig. 2 ¶0071, ¶0150), the roulette wheel including a number of pockets configured to hold the roulette ball after traveling from the curved face onto the roulette wheel (Fig. 2, ¶0071) a number circle including numbers, colors and a symbol corresponding to the pockets (as best seen in Fig. 2, number pockets #23, in different colors depicted by the shading and bonus pocket #24, with the symbol “B”, ¶0071), wherein a plurality of the pockets are identified by a number and a color and a pocket is identified by a symbol (as best seen in Fig. 2, number pockets #23, in different colors depicted by the shading and bonus pocket #24, with the symbol “B”, ¶0071), and a roulette ball launching system (ball throwing device) configured to launch the roulette ball spinning around the stationary rim in a second direction (Fig. 2, ¶0074), wherein a result is determined by the number or the symbol corresponding to a pocket in which the roulette ball stops after traveling onto the roulette wheel (¶0075, ¶0151; a betting layout configured to enable a player to place one or more bets by placing a betting amount on one or more of the numbers and colors corresponding to the numbers and colors of the number circle (Fig. 6, ¶0095), wherein a payout corresponds to any winning bet (¶0097); and a bonus event system that is triggered when the result corresponds to the one symbol on the number circle (¶0077).
Kosaka lacks in disclosing that a plurality of pockets are identified by a different symbol and that the betting layout is configured to enable a player to place one or more bets by placing a betting amount on one or more symbols corresponding to the symbols of the number circle. Miltenberger, in the related art of roulette wheel gaming device including a trigger for a bonus sequence (Miltenberger ¶0053) teaches of a plurality of roulette pockets including symbols corresponding to and identifying the pockets (Miltenberger Fig. 8 #46, #52, ¶0059, ¶0093, there are a plurality of bonus landings (pockets) and a plurality of bonus symbols). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a plurality of pockets with bonus symbols thereon in the invention of Kosaka. By including multiple bonus symbols, players have increased chances of winning larger bonus prizes adding to the entertainment of the game. It is further noted, that in the limitation that the plurality of pockets are identified by a different symbol, “the different symbol” is considered non-functional descriptive material, i.e. printed matter, and is not a patentable distinction over the prior art of record. The plurality of pockets merely serves as a support for the different symbols and therefore, no functional relationship exists. See MPEP 2111.05.
Miltenberger further teaches a betting layout (wagering station #16, Figs. 2 & 7), configured to enable a player to place one or more bets by placing a betting amount on one or more symbols (bonus symbol #52) corresponding to the symbols of the number circle (bonus landing $46, ¶0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to include the use of a player being able to place bets on a symbol, as disclosed by Miltenberger, with the roulette system disclosed by Kosaka in order to allow a player to bet on a bonus game, thus increasing the entertainment of the roulette system by allowing the player to win more.
Regarding claim 13, Kosaka discloses that the one or more symbols corresponds to a valuable item (¶007 the valuable item is a bonus game).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320) in further view of Gurule (US 2012/0172103).
Regarding claim 2, Kosaka in view of Miltenberger disclose the roulette system of claim 1, but lack in disclosing wherein the bonus event system includes a multiplier of the bet when the result corresponds to the one symbol on the number circle. Gurule, in the related art of a bonus roulette wheel (¶ Gurule 0016) does disclose a bonus event system includes a multiplier of the bet when the result corresponds to the one symbol on the number circle (Gurule Fig 6, ¶0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to include a bet multiplier, as disclosed by Gurule, with the roulette system, as
disclosed by the combination of Kosaka and Miltenberger, because it can provide a multiplied potential win for a player and enhance spontaneity and excitement for the player (Gurule, ¶0084).
Regarding claim 3, Kosaka in view of Miltenberger and Gurule disclose the roulette system of claim 2, and Gurule further discloses wherein the multiplier is determined based on a multiplier circle that includes a multiplier number that corresponds to each of the pockets (Gurule Fig 6, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 7, Kosaka as modified by Miltenberger disclose the roulette system of claim 1, but do not disclose wherein the bonus event system includes an electronic multiplier display that includes a plurality of multiplier numbers and wherein a randomly selected multiplier number among the plurality of multiplier numbers determines a bonus event result, wherein the bet is multiplied by the randomly selected multiplier number when the bet was placed on the one symbol on the number circle. Gurule, in the related art of a bonus roulette wheel (Gurule ¶0016) does disclose wherein the bonus event system includes an electronic multiplier display that includes a plurality of multiplier numbers (Gurule, super ring bonus roulette wheel #310, Fig 6) and wherein a randomly selected multiplier number among the plurality of multiplier numbers determines a bonus event result (Gurule ¶0072), wherein the bet is multiplied by the randomly selected multiplier number when the bet was placed on the one symbol on the number circle (Gurule, ¶0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include a bet multiplier with an electronic display, as disclosed by Gurule, with the roulette system, as disclosed by Kosaka and Miltenberger, because it can provide a multiplied potential win for a player that is easily visible and enhance spontaneity and excitement for the player (Gurule, ¶0084).
Regarding claim 8, Kosaka as modified by Miltenberger and Gurule disclose the roulette
system of claim 7, and Gurule further discloses wherein the plurality of multiplier numbers are arranged on a multiplier circle that includes a multiplier number that corresponds to each of
the pockets (Gurule Fig 6, ¶0071)
Regarding claim 9, Kosaka as modified by Miltenberger and Gurule disclose the roulette
system of claim 8, and Gurule further discloses wherein the multiplier circle encircles the roulette wheel (Gurule Fig. 6). Kosaka further discloses a plurality of player stations configured around the base, each of the player stations including a display for displaying
the betting layout and enabling the player to place the one or more bets (Fig 1, ¶0063, ¶0064).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320) in further view of Matosevic (US 6,467,770).
Regarding claim 11, Kosaka in view of Miltenberger disclose the roulette system of claim 1, but lack in disclosing wherein the number circle corresponds to 40 pockets including 4 symbols. Matosevic teaches of a roulette wheel where the number circle includes 40 pockets and additional symbols that can be greater than the two that are shown (Matosevic ¶0023, #146 dead number fields include symbols). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to include 40 pockets and four symbols into the roulette game of Kosaka. By including additional pockets, this allows for more outcomes of the game and therefore different probabilities of winning. Further by including additional symbols as suggested by Matosevic, different game play can occur with different outcomes being associated with the additional symbols on the wheel. By having more pockets this benefits the casino by having different odds of winning and different symbols added to the wheel offer further player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 12, Kosaka and Miltenberger lack in disclosing that the symbols are evenly spaced apart around the number circle. Matosevic teaches of a roulette game in which additional symbols, i.e. dead zone symbols, are placed around the number circle and may be evenly spaced apart (Matosevic col. 6 lines 45-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrange the bonus pockets/symbols of Miltenberger evenly spaced around the number circle. Matosevic notes that these additional symbols could be placed anywhere on the wheel and not effect game play as the odds of landing on one of the symbols remains the same regardless of its placement, therefore it is obvious that they can be placed anywhere on the wheel including evenly spacing them for visual effect.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320) in further view of Glenn II et al. (US 8,449,372).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kosaka and Miltenberger disclose an electronic roulette system with a number circle and a multiplier display wherein when the roulette ball lands in the pocket corresponding to a bonus symbol, the multiplier display is used to determine the results of a bonus event as noted above with reference to claim 1. Kosaka and Miltenberger lack in disclosing that the number circle and multiplier display are electronic and displayed in a same physical space where the display of the number circle is replaced with the display of the multiplier display for a bonus event. Glenn teaches of an electronic roulette wheel with a number circle (Glenn Fig. 10 #422, col. 12 lines 4-9) and a multiplier bonus wheel (Glenn Fig. 10, #425). Glenn further teaches that the multiplier display and number circle can occupy the same physical space and that the number circle can be replaced with the display of the multiplier display for a bonus event. (Glenn Fig. 4, col. 10 lines 36-54, col. 13 lines 6-11, 25-29 i.e. due to the projection of the wheel images, the images can be easily replaced with one another in the same physical space). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the projection roulette system of Glenn in the invention of Kosaka to project the symbols onto the wheel. As noted by Glenn, the projected video images enables the wagering-game elements of the gaming system to be easily changed to offer dynamic and entertainment variety as well as not requiring additional physical wheels for bonus play thereby simplifying the system.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320) in further view of Barclay (US 9,761,081).
Regarding claim 15, Kosaka lacks in disclosing a picture-in-picture display and Miltenberger does teach of use of a picture-in-picture display (Miltenberger ¶0156) but lacks in specifically teaching it is for a bonus game. Barclay, disclosing a gaming system in which players may trigger bonus games and the bonus game which can include a bonus wheel is displayed as a picture-in-picture display on the area comprising the betting layout. (Barclay col. 17 lines 3-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a picture-in-picture display on the betting layout of Barclay so that players can see the bonus game while not missing any of the activity surrounding a main game being played. Picture-in-picture devices are well known in gambling system to depict a variety of information to the player for entertainment purposes.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2007/0060262) in view of Miltenberger et al. (US 2007/0120320) in view of Gurule (US 2012/0172103) in further view of Mercer (US 10,076,701).
Regarding claim 4, Kosaka in view of Miltenberger disclose the roulette system of claim 1. As mentioned previously Kosaka specifically discloses a roulette mechanism (roulette device #3) having a base (Fig. 2, frame #21,¶0071) an annular stationary rim (guide wall #29) mounted on the base (Fig. 2 ¶0076), the stationary rim having a central opening and an upwardly curved face around which a roulette ball travels (¶0076), a rotating roulette wheel configured to spin in a first direction and positioned in the central opening of the stationary rim and supported by the base (Fig. 2 ¶0071, ¶0150), the roulette wheel including a number of pockets configured to hold the roulette ball after traveling from the curved face onto the roulette wheel (Fig. 2, ¶0071) and a roulette ball launching system (ball throwing device) configured to launch the roulette ball spinning around the stationary rim in a second direction (Fig. 2, ¶0074). Kosaka in view of Miltenberger lack in disclosing a roulette wheel with a multiplier circle. Gurule, in the related art of a bonus roulette wheel (Gurule ¶ 016) teaches a bonus event system includes a multiplier that is determined based on a multiplier circle that includes a multiplier number that corresponds to each of the pockets of a roulette wheel (Gurule Fig 6, ¶0071). The bonus or “second” result is determined by the multiplier number corresponding to a second pocket in which roulette ball stops after traveling on a second roulette wheel. The result multiplies the bet by the multiplier number that corresponds to the second pocket when the bet was placed on the one symbol on the number circle (Gurule Fig 6, 7, ¶0071, ¶0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to include a bet multiplier in a secondary roulette wheel, as disclosed by Gurule. A multiplier bonus wheel can provide a multiplied potential win for a player and enhance spontaneity and excitement for the player during the game and increase revenue for the casino and wins for the player (Gurule, ¶0084).
Kosaka lacks in specifically disclosing a second mechanical roulette mechanism with the aforementioned features taught by Kosaka’s primary wheel. Mercer teaches of a roulette gaming system in which there are multiple roulette wheels, i.e. a second roulette wheel (Mercer Fig. 3, col. 7 lines 40-58) for game play. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the secondary/multiplier bonus wheel of Gurule as a traditional mechanical roulette mechanism as taught by Kosaka. As seen in Mercer, it is well known in the art to utilize multiple mechanical roulette wheels for various features during game play because additional wheels add to the excitement of the game. Furthermore, the additional roulette wheel can be considered a duplication of parts which is considered obvious In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 5, Kosaka further discloses a plurality of player stations configured around the base, each of the player stations including a display for displaying the betting layout and enabling the player to place the one or more bets (Fig 1, ¶0063, ¶0064). Furthermore, Mercer also teaches that player stations are configured around multiple roulette wheels and include displays for enabling players to place bets (Mercer Fig. 3 col. 6 lines 54-67, col. 7 lines 1-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to include player stations around multiple roulette wheels so that a plurality of players could watch and bet on the games thus allowing more bets to be placed and more individuals to play.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Kosaka discloses a community display but lacks in specifically mentioning it displays game results of wheel spins. Mercer further teaches of a community display visible from each of the plurality of player stations for displaying the results of the game (Mercer Fig. 3, #310, col. 7 lines 27-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to include a community display in Kosaka so that all players can view game information and the results of the game thereby being more knowledgeable about the game and the winning numbers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record, including Kosaka and Miltenberger do not disclose that a number circle includes "numbers, colors and symbols corresponding to the pockets, wherein a plurality of the pockets are identified by a number and a color and a plurality of pockets are identified by a different symbol. Applicant correctly notes that Kosaka discloses a single bonus pocket 24 with a “B” on the display plate and that Miltenberger discloses a plurality of bonus symbols 52. Both Kosaka and Miltenberger are silent regarding the plurality of pockets being identified by a “different” symbol. However, it is noted that the claim limitations of the numbers, colors and bonus symbols on the number circle are all considered “printed matter”, i.e. non-functional descriptive material. They merely are used for informational purposes for game play and have no functional relationship to the substrate of the structure of the number circle itself. Therefore, the claim limitation of “different symbols” is owed no patentable weight and can not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 850, 117 USPQ2d 1268 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
Comito US 2016/0256769 – discloses 40 roulette pockets
Atkinson US 12,511,973 – discloses bonus multipliers associated with roulette pockets
Calvin WO 2016110797 – discloses a picture-in-picture display
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE K BROCKETTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700