RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 4-December-2025 with respect to application 18/390,455 filed 20-December-2023.
Applicant has amended claim 6, and has cancelled claims 1-5, 9 and 10.
Claims 6-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Izuo et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2023/0129454 A1), hereinafter Izuo, in view of Brungot et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0063852 A1), hereinafter Brungot, Schulz (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2014/0311236 A1), and Tyholdt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2022/0379346 A1), hereinafter Tyholdt.
Consider claim 6: A proximity ultrasonic sensing system, Izuo discloses an ultrasonic sensor [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 10; Para. 0002, 0008, 0024-0025], comprising:
a proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus, the sensor (10) comprising an ultrasonic array chip (20) and control circuit [Fig. 1; Para. 0025], comprising
a microprocessor, a microcomputer (35) and an ultrasonic sensing assembly, wherein the microprocessor generates and sends a control signal, the microcomputer electrically connected to a transmission circuit (33) [Fig. 1, Para. 0025, 0072, 0075, 0077], and the ultrasonic sensing assembly comprises a boost circuit, an ultrasonic transmitting module, an ultrasonic receiving module, and an amplifying circuit, a transmission circuit section (33), the ultrasonic array (22) and a reception processing section [Fig. 1; Para. 0071-0076];
wherein the boost circuit is electrically connected to the microprocessor, receives the control signal, and boosts the control signal into a driving signal; the ultrasonic transmitting module is electrically connected to the boost circuit, receives the driving signal, and generates an ultrasonic signal and sends the ultrasonic signal out, the transmission circuit (33) (boost circuit) is controlled by (receives control signals from) the microcomputer and outputs a pulse driving signal, and ultrasonic transducers (24) on an ultrasonic array chip (20) receive the driving signal and generate an ultrasonic wave directed toward a target [Fig. 1; Para. 0075],
wherein the ultrasonic receiving module receives an ultrasonic reflection signal generated through reflection of the ultrasonic signal, converts the ultrasonic reflection signal into a reflection signal, the ultrasonic array chip and transducers also selectively coupled through a switching circuit (31) to a receive processing section (34) for processing the received wave as a reception signal [Fig. 1; Para. 0073-0076], and sends the reflection signal,
wherein the amplifying circuit is electrically connected to the ultrasonic receiving module and the microprocessor, receives the reflection signal, amplifies the reflection signal into a sensing signal, and then transmits the sensing signal to the microprocessor, and the microprocessor generates a sensing result according to the sensing signal, the reception processing section includes an amplifier and a comparator, and processes a received ultrasonic wave ant outputs a reception signal to the microcomputer [Fig. 1; Para. 0076],
wherein a frequency of the ultrasonic signal and the ultrasonic reflection signal is in a range of 500 kHz to 600 kHz, wherein the ultrasonic transmitting module, the ultrasonic receiving module, the boost circuit, and the amplifying circuit are packaged on the same chip; wherein embodiments show operation at frequencies, specifically including 600 kHz. [Fig. 4; Para. 0050, 0081-0082],
a to-be-sensed object, a target object (1) , comprising a sensing label,
wherein the sensing label comprises a wave attenuation portion and a wave reflection portion, when the ultrasonic signal is reflected by the sensing label, the ultrasonic reflection signal is generated, wherein the wave attenuation portion of the label is a wave attenuating coating, a wave scattering coating, or a wave absorbing material, wherein the reflected and processed signal may be used to determine a distance to the target, an inclination of a target surface, unevenness or creases in the target surface, and/or a target surface shape [Para. 0024-0029];
wherein a sensing distance between the proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus and the to-be-sensed object is in a range of 0.2 to 3 centimeters, embodiments specifically disclose operation from 0 to 3 cm [Fig. 4; Para. 0050]; a transmitting angle of the ultrasonic transmitting module is in the range of 5 to 10 degrees relative to a direction from the ultrasonic sensing assembly to the to-be-sensed object, and a receiving angle of the ultrasonic receiving module is in a range of 5 to 10 degrees relative to a direction from the ultrasonic sensing assembly to the to-be-sensed object; embodiments show a spot of less than 5 mm diameter is illuminated at 30 mm distance for a 600 kHz signal emitted through a 5 mm array opening (solid line) …..equivalent to approximately a 9 degree beam width (ARCTAN 5/30), [Fig. 4; Para. 0050, 0081-0082],
a database, wherein the microcomputer (35) includes a memory in which various programs and various data are stored [Fig. 1; Para. 0077], and
a central processing unit, enabling the microprocessor to generate the control signal according to an operation instruction, and accessing data in the database to perform a comparison according to the sensing result of the proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus, the microcomputer (35) includes a processor that executes an instruction set described in a program stored in the memory. The microcomputer instructs (therefore controls) the transmission circuit section to output the pulse driving signal to transmit an ultrasonic wave. The microcomputer also measures a time from transmission timing of the ultrasonic wave until the reception signal is output from the reception processing section and calculates, based on the compared times, a distance to the target object [Fig. 1; Para. 0077]
Izuo does not specifically disclose parameters for a receive beam width, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention that an ultrasonic chip and array configured for illumination of a particular spot size at a particular distance (a particular beam angle) would provide the same beam angle for reception of a reflected wave.
Izuo discloses that various characteristics of the target may be determined from the reflected wave a distance to the target, an inclination of a target surface, unevenness or creases in the target surface, and/or a target surface shape, but does not disclose the target as a label or tag with attenuation and reflective portions from which an identification may be determined; or the particular use of a wave attenuating coating, a wave scattering coating, or a wave absorbing material for this purpose.
Izuo also does not specifically disclose the ultrasonic transmitting module, the ultrasonic receiving module, the boost circuit, and the amplifying circuit are packaged on the same chip. These features were known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Brungot discloses an identification tag operating at ultrasonic frequencies [Title; Abstract; Fig. 3B; Para. 0001-0002, 0054] wherein corresponding sensing unit comprises a control unit (50) (microprocessor) electrically connected to a signal generator (34) (ultrasonic transmitting module) and a recorder (46) and A/D module (44) (ultrasonic receiving module), wherein both the transmit and receive units are connected to an ultrasonic transducer (36) (transmitting module through a switch 938) and respective amplifiers (32, 42) (receive amplifier and boost unit) [Fig 3B; Para. 0054].
The identification chip (label or tag), attached to a target object (10) comprises a resonator (100) which includes a plurality of cavities (140) which resonate at different frequencies (therefore different reflective response characteristics), and where the specific combination and arrangement may be used as an identifier [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0019-0021, 0048-0048].
Brungot uses an arrangement of frequency specific resonators, and does not specifically disclose specific detection based on target reflective portions and absorbing portions. This also was known in analogous art, and for example:
Shultz discloses a method and device for metrologically differentiating material regions using an ultrasonic detector [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0001, 0006-0009] and where the ultrasonic sensor specifically recognizes and differentiates absorbing materials and portions, from reflecting portions and implicitly discloses that one label portion comprises a wave absorbing portion and material or coating, relative to other reflective portions of the label (explicitly “those places where an adhesive spot is found on (broadly a coating) the ultrasonic waves are attenuated….” (wave absorbing coating) [Fig. 1; Para. 0041-0042].
Tyholdt, moreover, discloses piezoelectric micro-machined ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) arrays arranged on a single chip with receive, transmit and switching circuits [Title; Abstract, Fig. 1-5; 0007, 0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention for a system to determine a specific identifier on a tag attached to a target object based on specific reflective of resonant characteristics of various portions of the tag, when interrogated by a ultrasonic wave as taught by Brungot, where the various portions may comprise reflective and absorbing materials such as adhesive areas on the material which act to absorb waves, as taught by Schulz, and where one or more ultrasonic transducers, receive circuits, transmit circuits and switching circuits on a single chip as taught by Tyholdt, applied to an ultrasonic sensor unit as taught by Izuo, in order determine both a distance and identity of a target object using ultrasonic signals, and to reduce size, complexity and cost of the sensor device, and manufacture thereof.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 6: The proximity ultrasonic sensing system according to claim 6, wherein the ultrasonic transmitting module and the ultrasonic receiving module comprise at least one piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer. Izuo discloses piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers [Fig: 8-9; Para. 0061-0066].
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 7: The proximity ultrasonic sensing system according to claim 7, wherein the ultrasonic transmitting module and the ultrasonic receiving module respectively comprise a plurality of piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers, and the piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers are arranged in an array. Izuo discloses piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers arranged in an array [Izuo: Fig: 3; Para. 0040-0041, 0061-0066].
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claim 6 drafted by the Examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, and would be allowable, subject to further search and consideration, is presented to Applicant for consideration:
Claim 6 (Proposed): A proximity ultrasonic sensing system, comprising:
a proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus, comprising a microprocessor and an ultrasonic sensing assembly, wherein the microprocessor generates and sends a control signal, and the ultrasonic sensing assembly comprises a boost circuit, an ultrasonic transmitting module, an ultrasonic receiving module, and an amplifying circuit, wherein the boost circuit is electrically connected to the microprocessor, receives the control signal, and boosts the control signal into a driving signal; the ultrasonic transmitting module is electrically connected to the boost circuit, receives the driving signal, and generates an ultrasonic signal and sends the ultrasonic signal out, wherein the ultrasonic receiving module receives an ultrasonic reflection signal generated through reflection of the ultrasonic signal, converts the ultrasonic reflection signal into a reflection signal, and sends the reflection signal, wherein the amplifying circuit is electrically connected to the ultrasonic receiving module and the microprocessor, receives the reflection signal, amplifies the reflection signal into a sensing signal, and then transmits the sensing signal to the microprocessor, and the microprocessor generates a sensing result according to the sensing signal, wherein a frequency of the ultrasonic signal and the ultrasonic reflection signal is in a range of 500 kHz to 600 kHz, wherein the ultrasonic transmitting module, the ultrasonic receiving module, the boost circuit, and the amplifying circuit are packaged in a same chip;
a to-be-sensed object, comprising a sensing label, wherein the sensing label comprises a wave attenuation portion and a wave reflection portion, when the ultrasonic signal is reflected by the sensing label, the ultrasonic reflection signal is generated, wherein the wave attenuation portion of the label is a wave attenuating coating, a wave scattering coating, or a wave absorbing material,
wherein a sensing distance between the proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus and the to- be-sensed object is in a range of 0.2 to 3 centimeters, a transmitting angle of the ultrasonic transmitting module is in a range of 3 to 5 degrees relative to a direction from the ultrasonic sensing assembly to the to-be-sensed object, and a receiving angle of the ultrasonic receiving module is in a range of 3 to 5 degrees relative to a direction from the ultrasonic sensing assembly to the to-be-sensed object;
a database; and
a central processing unit, enabling the microprocessor to generate the control signal according to an operation instruction, and accessing data in the database to perform a comparison according to the sensing result of the proximity ultrasonic sensing apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 4-December-2025 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to amendment of the specification and claim 6 [Remarks: page 7]: Amendment of the specification to correct informalities, and to claim 6 is acknowledged.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to objections made to claims 1, 5, 6 and 9 for informalities [Remarks: page 7]:
Regarding claim 6: Amendment of this claim obviates the objections, which have been withdrawn.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 9: These claims have been cancelled by the Applicant.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 USC §112(a) for failing to comply with the enablement requirement and under35 USC §112(b) as indefinite [Remarks: page 8]:
Regarding claims 6-8: Amendment of claim 6 obviates theses rejections, and the rejections of claims 6-8 have been withdrawn.
Regarding claims 1-5, 9 and 10: These claims have been cancelled by the Applicant, rendering discussion moot.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to objections made to claims 1-10 under 35 USC §103 over Izuo (US 2023/0129454 A1) (claims 1 and 5), Izuo and Tyholdt (US 2022/0379346 A1) (claims 2-4), or Izou, Brungot (US 2007/0063852 A1) and Schulz (US 2014/0311236 A1) (claims 6-10) [Remarks: page 8-11]:
Regarding claims 1-5, 9 and 10: These claims have been cancelled by the Applicant, rendering discussion moot.
Regarding independent claim 6 (page 9-10): The first argument, is that an adhesive label (with wave attenuating and/or reflecting characteristics ) attached to a paper or film, as taught by Schulz, does not disclose “a wave attenuating coating, a wave scattering coating or a wave absorbing material”, as recited in the claim. This argument is not persuasive, because such label, attached to a paper or film, may broadly considered a coating, therefore an (attenuating coating), and further, or alternately, the label itself has absorbing properties (an absorbing material).
The second argument is that the claim as amended includes a limitation: “wherein the ultrasonic transmitting module, the ultrasonic receiving module, the boost circuit, and the amplifying circuit are packaged on the same chip”, and that this limitation is not taught by Izuo, Brungot or Schulz. This feature is, however, taught by Tyholdt, and the claim is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Izuo, Brungot, Schulz and Tyholdt.
The third argument asserts that the applied references fail (specifically Izuo [Fig. 4 and related paragraphs] fail to teach a receive ant transmit angular range of 5-10 degrees. The Izuo disclosure, for that figure is in the claimed frequency range (600 kHz), operates over the claimed distance (0.2 to 3 cm, or 2-30 mm) and where a distance, diameter of a radiated (or received area) and the transmit/receive angle are related as a Tangent (TAN) function of the angle. Applied to the graph of the figure, an aperture of 5 mm yields approximately a 9 degree angle for at least. 1-3 cm range. For this reason, the argument is also not persuasive.
Note also, that the introductory discussion with respect to claim 6 [page 9] asserts that the claim has been amended to recite a transmitting and receiving angle of 3-5 degrees, where in fact the claimed range was not amended and remains 5-10 degrees (and where the Specification discloses both a 2-10 degree range and a 3-5 degree range).
Regarding claims 7 and 8 [page 11]: No separate or additional arguments are presented with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted, based on the alleged allowability of the base claim. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Izuo, Brungot, Schulz and Tyholdt, based on the new rejection of claim 6, and on the citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Honda (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2025/0306201 A1) disclosing an object position analysis device, object position analysis method and program.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685