DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 7/22/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 20-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Kishore et al (US 2018/0214450 A1 hereafter Kishore) in view of Kraus (EP 3 226 904 B1 hereafter Kraus) and Garnon et al (Fragile X Related Protein FXR1P Regulates Proinflamatory Cytokine Tumor Necrosis Factor Expression at the Post Transcription Level; The Journal of Biological Chemistry, vol. 280, No. 7, Issue of February 18, pp. 570-5763, 2005).
Kishore discloses a method of treating a subject diagnosed with carious conditions including post-traumatic stress syndrome or autism spectrum disorder with a formulation comprising ticagrelor [abstract, 0069]. The conditions include elevated TNF-alpha [0068-0069]. The dosage form can be oral or a in the form of an emulsion or microemulsion [0136].
While Kishore discloses a ticagrelor formulation including an emulsion, however the reference is silent to the specific administration steps of claims 3. These administration steps are known in the art as seen in the Kraus.
Kraus discloses a formulation comprising a first container comprising an oil/surfactant/cosurfactant mixture and a second container comprising an aqueous solution [0048- 0051]. The formulation is present as a liquid lipid nanocarrier emulsion comprising oil nanoparticles suspended in an aqueous phase [0059-0061]. The administration can take place with a dual chamber injector [0086-0090]. The formulation comprises lecithin [0052]. The oil can be a triglyceride [0072], the surfactant can be a polysorbate or sorbitan and cosurfactant such as propylene glycol [0052-0056]. The oil is present from 1-25%, the surfactant and cosurfactant are present 1-2% [0055-0056]. It would have been obvious to combine the nanoemulsion of Kraus with the ticagrelor of Kishore as they solve the same problem of delivering active agents with emulsions.
With regard to the length of treatment and pharmokinetics of the dosage form, it is the position of the Examiner that such limitations would be determined through routine experimentation by those of ordinary skill in the art. Kishore analyses plasma concentrations for ticagrelor for up to 14 days to find the optimum dosage amount for the oral dosage form [Figure 5B]. These determinations are routine in determining a proper treatment regimen as various concentrations are tested over time [Figures 5, 5A]. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding the treatment of Fragile X Syndrome, and elevated cytokine conditions, it is the position of the Examiner that since such conditions are related to increased TNFα inflammation, a diagnosis for related TNFα conditions such as autism spectrum disorder, anxiety, diabetes and the like would also cover treatments for these other conditions.
Garnon establishes that the same Fragile X related protein FXR1P also plays a role in regulating TNF expression such that the decreases in expression corresponded to a decrease in TNF production [abstract]. As TNFα is a pro-inflammatory cytokine, methods for treating elevated TNFα would also be useful against related conditions including Fragile X syndrome and elevated cytokine neuroinflammation It would have been obvious to treat these conditions with the combination of the prior art as they solve the same problem. It would have been obvious to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable method for treating various conditions with an oral ticagrelor formulation. It would have been obvious to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable method for treating various conditions with an oral ticagrelor formulation.
It would have been obvious to apply the specific emulsion formulation of Kraus to the suggested emulsion of Kishore as they solve the same problem of drug delivery with emulsion formulations. It would have been obvious to optimize these treatments to maximize their effectiveness as seen in Kishore and apply them to treat a variety of related conditions related to elevated TNFα levels in a patient as the same mechanism is related to several conditions including autism spectrum disorder anxiety, fragile X syndrome and other as seen in Garnon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable treatment method for various TNFα conditions.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Kishore et al (US 2018/0214450 A1 hereafter Kishore) in view of Kraus (EP 3 226 904 B1 hereafter Kraus) as applied above in further view of Sinha et al (US 2008/0254036 hereafter Sinha).
As discussed above, the combination of Kishore and Kraus discloses a method of treating various conditions including PTSD and TNF disorders comprising administration of a liquid lipid nanocarrier system comprising ticagrelor and at least lecithin as a second compound in the formulation. The nanoemulsion comprises an oil/surfactant/co-surfactant mixture and an aqueous phase. The combination is silent to the ions of the instant claims; however, citrate ions can be included in the formulation of Kraus. The inclusion of specific ions in ticagrelor formulations is known in the art as seen in the Sinha patent.
Sinha discloses a formulation comprising ticagrelor in the form of an emulsion [0023, 0050, 0095, 0146]. The formulation further comprises ions in the form of salt carrier for the ticagrelor including magnesium, zinc, arginine and lysine [0031, 0038]. The formulation further comprises surfactants like propylene glycol [0147]. It would have been obvious to include the ions of Sinha into the formulation of Kishore in order to improve the solubility of the ticagrelor.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art in order to produce a means to treat various conditions with ticagrelor. It would have been obvious to include the carrier ions of Sinha to the combination of Kishore/Kraus in order to improve the solubility of the ticagrelor. The combination would have been obvious as they prior art solve the same problem of delivering ticagrelor to the body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a method for treating PTSD.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Kilgore, Kraus and Garnon does not render the claims obvious since Kilgor discloses a different motivation for treating at least autism spectrum disorder. Applicant argues that autism is not related to elevated TNF alpha and as such would not motivate a person of ordinary skill in the art would not use the formulation of Kilgore to treat the conditions.
Regarding this argument, it remains the position of the Examiner that the combination continues to render the claims obvious. Kilgore discloses a formulation comprising ticagrelor that treats a variety of conditions including elevated TNF alpha, autism, mood disorders like post-traumatic stress. The instant claims recite that elevated TNF alpha as a condition to be treated by ticagrelor in claim 1. Applicant argues that autism is not related to elevated TNF alpha however this is irrelevant to the fact that the elevated TNF alpha itself is the conditions being treated and claimed in the instant claims. Kilgore discloses a method of treating conditions of the instant claim 1, with a formulation comprising the same active agent as claim 1. The prior combination only differs from the claims in the specific form of the formulation. Kraus provides a specific formulation and Graus discloses the specific condition being treated. It would have been obvious to apply the specific emulsion formulation of Kraus to the suggested emulsion of Kishore as they solve the same problem of drug delivery with emulsion formulations. It would have been obvious to optimize these treatments to maximize their effectiveness as seen in Kishore and apply them to treat a variety of related conditions related to elevated TNFα levels in a patient as the same mechanism is related to several conditions including autism spectrum disorder anxiety, fragile X syndrome and other as seen in Garnon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable treatment method for various TNFα conditions.
Sinha is added to the combination of Kilgor and Kraus to address claims 15-19 and the specific excipients including magnesium, zinc, arginine and lysine. It would have been obvious to include the ions of Sinha into the formulation of Kishore in order to improve the solubility of the ticagrelor.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art in order to produce a means to treat various conditions with ticagrelor. It would have been obvious to include the carrier ions of Sinha to the combination of Kishore/Kraus in order to improve the solubility of the ticagrelor. The combination would have been obvious as they prior art solve the same problem of delivering ticagrelor to the body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a method for treating PTSD.
For these reasons the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618