DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 1 and 10, the claims recite the limitation “flat in its entirety” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant argues that flatness is described by the picture of fig.2 but this does not explicitly define what “in its entirety” means (does this require a certain surface roughness, exclude plugs, ports, gaps?) and neither does the written description. Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-9, 11 and 12 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo (JP 2002209161 A) in view of Yang (CN 111706750 A) and Wang (CN 202021507966 U) .
With respect to claim 1, Okubo discloses a stand (see 50 and 40 in fig.9) comprising: a placement table (see 50 and 40 in fig.9) on which a projector (comprised by 30 and 80 in fig.9) that projects image light is placed (see the operation in fig.9); a power supplier (see 93 in fig.14) that supplies the projector with power for driving the projector (see at least 93 in fig.9: para. under “Operation of Image Display Apparatus”: “First, a dedicated power cable (not shown) is connected to the power terminal 93 of the support mechanism 50, and this power cable is connected to a power supply terminal (not shown) installed in, for example, a conference room. The electric power supplied via the power supply terminal 93 is sent to the main body 30 via a connection cable (not shown), and is supplied to the controller 100 and the lamp unit 10”);but does not explicitly disclose a leg that supports the placement table and does not disclose wherein a first elastic part is a flat piece disposed between the projector and the placement table.
Yang discloses a stand (see at least mounting box 1 in fig.1) comprising: a placement table (see at least a lifting plate 14) on which a projector (see 17 in fig.1) that projects image light is placed (see projector 17); a leg (see the leg of table in fig.8) that supports the placement table (third para. of Specific implementation examples: the fixing hole 24 on the fixing plate 23 is fixed on the conference table or ceiling by the fixing hole 24, it is simple and convenient to install on the conference table, when using, opening the cover plate 26 in the sliding groove 25 by the sliding strip 27, until contact with the limiting block 28); a power supplier (see 18 and 21 in fig.2) that supplies the projector (see 17 in fig.2) with power for driving the projector (see second para. of Specific implementation examples: “the projection main body 17 is provided with a through hole of the power line and the data transmission line, a power supply line and a data transmission line is provided with a beam tube 18”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo with the teaching of Yang so that a leg supports the placement table to improve user friendliness by facilitating access to projector components and raising the level of image projection, thus making the image more visible while maintaining stability and compensating for unlevel ground features.
Okubo in view of Yang does not disclose a first elastic part is flat in its entirety disposed between the projector and the placement table.
Wang teaches wherein a first elastic part (6 in fig.4) is flat in its entirety disposed between the projector (11) and the placement table (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Yang with the teaching of Wang so that a first elastic part is a flat piece between projector and a placement table to facilitate stability.
With respect to claim 2, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses the stand according to claim 1, Okubo discloses the placement table (50 and 40 in fig.9) and the power supplier (see 93 in fig.14) is disposed at the placement table (see 50 and 40 in fig.9) but does not disclose wherein the placement table is attachable to and detachable from the leg and a ceiling hook on a wall.
Yang discloses wherein the placement table is attachable to and detachable from the leg and a ceiling hook on a wall (see the structure of fixing holes 24 in the placement table of fig.2; examiner also note fixing holes are a feature sufficient to meet the limitation of being hooked to a ceiling; also see fig.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Yang and Wang with the teaching of Yang so that the placement table is attachable to and detachable from the leg and a ceiling hook on a wall to enhance the versatility of the placement table by providing a means for mounting both on the ceiling and on the floor via legs and to improve user friendliness by enhancing ease of setup and portability.
With respect to claims 3-7, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses the stand according to claim 1, Okubo discloses wherein the control supplier (see 101 in 9 and see tube of 71 in fig.4) is provided at a center of the placement table (see the location of 101 in 9 and the tube of 71 in fig.4), the placement table (see 50 and 40 in fig.9) has an extension (see 40 which a top surface extending from tubular member 71 which contains the control supplier in fig.9) extending from the control supplier (see the location of 101 in 9 and the tube of 71 in fig.4) along an installation surface of the projector (see the projector comprised by 30 and the bottom thereof in fig.9), and the first elastic part (see Okubo in view of Yang in combination with 3 in fig.1 of Wang) is disposed on the extension (see 40 in fig.9), wherein the first elastic (see 3 in Wang) part is disposed along an outer circumferential edge of the extension (see 3 and 1 in fig.1 of Wang), wherein the placement table (40 in fig.9) and the projector (comprised by 30 in fig.9) are in contact with each other via the first elastic part (see Okubo in view of Yang in combination with 3 in fig.1 of Wang ), wherein the placement table (40 in fig.9) is provided with an opening (see the opening in which wire 101 is placed in fig.9 to connect to projector 30) disposed at a position corresponding to an intake port of the projector (see the opening in the projector fig.9), wherein the control supplier (see 101 in 9 and see tube of 71 in fig.4) is disposed at a position inside the opening (see the wire 101 in fig.9), and the first elastic part is disposed at a position outside the opening (disclosed by the functional combination of Okubo in view of Yang in combination with Wang) but does not disclose wherein the control supplier has a power supplier.
Yang discloses wherein the control supplier has a power supplier (see second para. of Specific implementation examples: “the projection main body 17 is provided with a through hole of the power line and the data transmission line, a power supply line and a data transmission line is provided with a beam tube 18”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Yang and Wang with the teaching of Yang so that the power supplier is provided at a center of the placement table, the placement table has an extension extending from the power supplier along an installation surface of the projector and the power supplier is disposed at a position inside the opening, and the first elastic part is disposed at a position outside the opening to improve the wiring system by feeding the power lines through a central coupler thereby making the wiring system more compact, facilitating maintenance, and improving safety.
With respect to claim 9, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses the stand according to claim 1, Okubo discloses wherein an enclosure of the projector is provided with a recess (see the recess of 80 in fig.9), the placement table has a protrusion (see 72 in fig.6) at which the controller supplier is disposed (see the wires 101 in 72 in fig.6), the projector (comprised by 80 and 30 in fig.9) and the placement table (see 50 in fig.9) are electrically coupled to each other via the protrusion (see 72 in fig.6) fitted into the recess (see the operation of 101 in fig.9), but discloses a thickness of the first elastic part is greater than a difference between a depth of the recess and a height of the protrusion and does not disclose wherein the control supplier has a power supplier and thus does not teach the power supplier disposed at a protrusion.
Yang discloses wherein the control supplier has a power supplier (see second para. of Specific implementation examples: “the projection main body 17 is provided with a through hole of the power line and the data transmission line, a power supply line and a data transmission line is provided with a beam tube 18”) thereby teaches the placement table (see 1 and 14 in fig.3) has a protrusion (see 18 in fig.18) at which the power supplier is disposed (see power supply line the paragraph above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Yang and Wang so that the placement table has a protrusion at which the power supplier is disposed to improve the wiring system by feeding the power lines through the central coupler thereby making the wiring system more compact, facilitating maintenance, and improving safety.
Okubo in view of Yang and Wang does not disclose a thickness of the first elastic part is greater than a difference between a depth of the recess and a height of the protrusion.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Yang and Wang so that a thickness of the first elastic part is greater than a difference between a depth of the recess and a height of the protrusion, since it would predictably improve durability by mitigating the deterioration of the elastic part and predictably enhance the economy of space by implementing a comparably sized recess and protrusion and since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 11, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses the adapter according to claim 1, Okubo discloses wherein the placement table has a flat top surface (which surface is the top surface is not explicitly defined; therefore, the non- projector disposed surfaces of 50 in fig.1, satisfies the conditions of the claim).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo (JP 2002209161 A) in view of Yang (CN 111706750 A), Wang (CN 202021507966 U) and Hoffmeister (United States Patent Application Publication 20040036845 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses the stand according to claim 1, Okubo discloses a second surface (see the bottom of 50 in fig.9) of the placement table (see 50 in fig.9) that is opposite from a first surface (see 40 in fig.9) of the placement table (see 40 and 50 in fig.9) at which the projector is placed (see the placement of the projector comprised by 30 and 80 in fig.9); furthermore, Okubo in view of Yang and Wang discloses wherein the first elastic part (see the elastic part 3 in fig.1 of Wang) is disposed at the first surface (see the first surface of 1 in fig.1 of Wang) but does not disclose an elastic part is disposed at the second surface
Hoffmeister discloses an elastic part on a second surface (see para.[0017]: “An additional shock absorbing pad 52, made out of a shock absorbing material, such as Styrofoam or foam rubber, can adhered to the bottom of the mounting platform 36”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to Okubo in view of Yang and Wang with the teaching of Hoffmeister so that an elastic part is disposed at a second surface to enhance durability by reducing the severity of impacts on the second surface and by protecting one adjacent surface from another.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo (JP 2002209161 A) in view of Takahashi (JP 2004233692 A) and Wang (CN 202021507966 U).
With respect to claim 10, Okubo discloses an adapter (see 50, 93, 46, central tube in fig.9) comprising: a first terminal (see at least 93 in fig.9): para. under “Operation of Image Display Apparatus”: “First, a dedicated power cable (not shown) is connected to the power terminal 93 of the support mechanism 50, and this power cable is connected to a power supply terminal (not shown) installed in, for example, a conference room. The electric power supplied via the power supply terminal 93 is sent to the main body 30 via a connection cable (not shown), and is supplied to the controller 100 and the lamp unit 10”) attachable to and detachable (disclosed by the implementation of a power cable as described above) from a first electric contact (see the Operation of Image Display Apparatus: “a power supply terminal (not shown) installed in, for example, a conference room”) disposed on a wall (this limitation is intended use; the structure of a power cable is sufficient to meet the limitation of being attachable to and detachable from a first electric contact on a wall, e.g. a plug), and a second electric contact (see the Operation of Image Display Apparatus: “a power supply terminal (not shown) installed in, for example, a conference room”) disposed on a stand ( this limitation is also intended use and disclosed by the structure of a dedicated power cable disclosed above); a second terminal (The electric power supplied via the power supply terminal 93 is sent to the main body 30 via a connection cable (not shown)”: the second terminal is disclosed by the connection of the electric power to the main body, wherein where the main body connects to connection cable is the second terminal) coupled to a projector (see at least coupling to 30 in fig.9; see Operation of image Display Apparatus: “The electric power supplied via the power supply terminal 93 is sent to the main body 30 via a connection cable (not shown)”) that projects image light (see the operation of at least 30); a coupler (see central tube in fig.9 and 70 in fig.6) at which the first control terminal (see 93 and 100 and/or any cable leading up to 75 in fig.9 ) and the second control terminal (46 in fig.9 or/and any portion of the wire connected thereto after 75 in fig.9 ) are disposed (see 46 in fig.9 or/and any portion of the wire connected thereto after 75 in fig.9 and 93 in fig.13); an extension (see top 40 in fig.9) extending from the coupler (see central tube in fig.9 and 70 in fig.6) along an installation surface of an enclosure of the projector (see an enclosure comprised by 30 fig.9 ); and the extension (see top surface of 40) and the projector (comprised by 30), wherein the second terminal supplies power (as discussed above The electric power supplied via the power supply terminal 93 is sent to the main body 30 via a connection cable (not shown)) via the first terminal (93 in fig.13) to the projector (see at least 30).
Okubo does not explicitly disclose the first terminal and the second terminal are disposed at the coupler and a first part elastic that is a flat piece and disposed between the extension and the projector.
Takahashi disclose a coupler (see comprised by 31 and 32) at which the first terminal (33 in fig.2) and the second terminal are disposed (see bottom of 34 which connects to projector 1 for powering said projector, para.[0029]: “the hooking plug 3 is connected to the hooking ceiling D, thereby functioning as an attaching means for attaching the projector device 1 to the ceiling, and supplying electric power from the conductive locking piece 33 to the power supply unit via the conductive wire 34.” … also see para.[0030]: “The light source unit 41 performs illumination by receiving power from a power supply unit.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo with the teaching of Takahashi so that the first terminal and the second terminal are disposed at the coupler to improve the wiring system by feeding the power lines through the coupler thereby making the wiring system more compact, facilitating maintenance, and improving safety.
Okubo in view of Takahashi does not disclose wherein a first elastic that is a flat piece and disposed between the extension and the projector.
Wang teaches wherein a first elastic part (6 in fig.4) is flat in its entirety disposed between the projector (11) and the placement table (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Okubo in view of Takahashi with the teaching of Wang so that a first elastic part is a flat piece and disposed between projector and a placement table to facilitate stability.
With respect to claim 12, Okubo in view of Takahashi and Wang discloses the adapter according to claim 10, Okubo discloses wherein the extension is a flat piece (40 is a flat piece).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882