DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to application filed on 9/3/2026.
Claims 4-20 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Claims 4 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-3 have been non-elected based on amendment filed on 3/6/2026 and it is suggested to cancel the non-elected claims.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a priority benefit of PCT/CN2022/10035 filed on 6/22/2022.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/20/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 9/03/2026, have been fully considered and are moot based on new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8, 10, 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 112205008 A) in view of Zhou (CN 104244449 B) and in further view of Luo (CN 113271279 A).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 4, Jiang a wireless sensing method (Jiang: “Fig 16 & the first communication node and/or the second communication node may be a terminal. terminal can be but not limited to mobile phone, wearable device, vehicle terminal, road side unit (RSU, road side Unit), intelligent terminal, industrial sensing device”), comprising:
obtaining, by a second communication apparatus, a first transmission parameter set and a second transmission parameter set (Jiang: “a ranging request message for ranging is sent; wherein, the ranging request message carries ranging parameters. In this way, after receiving the ranging request message sent by the first communication node, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the ranging parameters carried in the ranging request message, and measure the relationship between the first communication node and the first communication node. 2.
. In this way, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the indication of the ranging parameter sent by the first communication node”),
wherein the first transmission parameter set corresponds to a first signal, at least one parameter in the first transmission parameter set meets a first condition, and the first condition is related to a targeted ranging coverage (Jiang: “in response to the first communication node needing to initiate ranging, a ranging request message for ranging is sent to the second communication node. After receiving the ranging request message, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the ranging parameter carried in the ranging request message. In one embodiment, when the application for ranging in the terminal is started, the ranging request message is sent to the second communication node. In another embodiment, the terminal may also send a ranging request message to the second communication node when receiving an instruction for triggering ranging from a user. [...] the ranging
parameter includes at least one of the following: The accuracy of ranging; Range of ranging”), and
, at least one parameter in the second transmission parameter set meets a second condition, and the second condition is related to targeted sensing precision (Jiang: “in response to the first communication node needing to initiate ranging, a ranging request message for ranging is sent to the second communication node, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the ranging parameter carried in the ranging request message. In one embodiment, when the application for ranging in the terminal is started, the ranging request message is sent to the second communication node. In another embodiment, the terminal may also send a ranging request message to the second communication node when receiving an instruction for triggering ranging from a user. [...] the ranging parameter includes at least one of the following: The accuracy of ranging; Range of ranging”), ; and
Jiang does not explicitly discloses transmission parameters and corresponding signals.
Zhou however discloses the second transmission parameter set corresponds to a second signal, sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first signal and the second signal to a first communication apparatus based on the first transmission parameter set and the second transmission parameter set, wherein the first signal and the second signal are used for sensing (Zhou: “reference signal UE generates communication with the second UE, the first UE to the second UE transmits a transmission parameter of the reference signal; the first UE transmits the reference signal to the second UE according to the transmission parameter, so that the second UE according to the transmission parameter after receiving the reference signal, the reference signal measurement, and communication selection according to the measurement result. ”),
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang in view of Zhou to figure out transmission parameters and corresponding signals. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the device-to-device D2D communications (Zhou).
Modified Jiang does not explicitly teaches signals that is adjacent OFDM symbols on a same subcarrier.
Luo however discloses wherein at least one of the first signal or the second signal are phase continuous in adjacent OFDM symbols on a same subcarrier (Zhou: “using the adjacent OFDM symbol or interval OFDM symbol corresponding to the reference signal position of the LS channel estimation value for correlation, NPRACH signal in a symbol lGroup is composed of the same sub-carrier position continuous 5 OFDM symbols; can use the adjacent OFDM symbols in the same symbol group. ”),
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Jiang in view of Luo to figure out adjacent OFDM symbols on a same subcarrier. One would be motivated to do so because this improves the detection probability of random access channel (Luo).
Claim 13 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 4.
DEPENDENTS:
As per claim 5, Jiang/Zhou/Luo discloses the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
sending, by the second communication apparatus, first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information indicates a result of signal configuration performed based on the first transmission parameter set and the second transmission parameter set (Jiang: “a ranging request message for ranging is sent; wherein, the ranging request message carries ranging parameters. In this way, after receiving the ranging request message sent by the first communication node, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the ranging parameters carried in the ranging request message, and measure the relationship between the first communication node and the first communication node. 2.. In this way, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the indication of the ranging parameter sent by the first communication node”),
sending, by the second communication apparatus, a first configuration request, wherein the first configuration request comprises information about the first transmission parameter set and information about the second transmission parameter set; and receiving second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information indicates a result of signal configuration performed based on the first transmission parameter set and the second transmission parameter se(Jiang: “a ranging request message for ranging is sent; wherein, the ranging request message carries ranging parameters. In this way, after receiving the ranging request message sent by the first communication node, the second communication node can perform ranging based on the ranging parameters carried in the ranging request message, and measure the relationship between the first communication node and the first communication node. 2”) ;
receiving, by the second communication apparatus, a second configuration request, wherein the second configuration request comprises information about the first transmission parameter set and information about the second transmission parameter set; performing signal configuration in response to the second configuration request; and sending third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information indicates a result of signal configuration performed based on the first transmission parameter set and the second transmission parameter set (Jiang: “the ranging layer of the first communication node receives the ranging request sent by the application layer of the first communication node, wherein the ranging request carries the ranging parameter; the distance measuring layer is the PC5-S protocol layer of the distance measuring service;”),
receiving, by the second communication apparatus, fourth configuration information, wherein the fourth configuration information indicates a result of signal configuration performed based on the first transmission parameter set and the second transmission parameter set (Jiang: “after receiving the initial ranging signal. The terminal A calculates the relative distance d between the terminal A and the terminal B according to the time difference between the initial ranging signal and the received feedback ranging signal. The terminal A calculates the relative angle a by measuring the arrival angle (AOA) of the feedback ranging signal”),
As per claim 6, Jiang/Zhou/Luo discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the first transmission parameter set comprises a first subcarrier spacing quantity corresponding to the first signal (Zhou: “the transmission parameter comprises the starting resource block number, comb teeth number, transmission bandwidth, cyclic shift value, serial number and division multiplexing OFDM symbol transmitting orthogonal frequency of said reference signal sequence;”),
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang in view of Zhou to figure OFDM signals. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the device-to-device D2D communications (Zhou).
As per claim 8, Jiang/Zhou/Luo discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the first transmission parameter set comprises a first subcarrier quantity corresponding to the first signal, a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing OFDM symbol quantity corresponding to the first signal, and
first sample energy corresponding to the first signal (Zhou: “combining the first possible manner of the second aspect, or a starting resource block number mode of the second possible second aspect, implementation of a third possible in the second aspect, the transmission parameter comprising a reference signal sequence, a comb tooth number, transmission bandwidth, cyclic shift value, a root sequence number and a transmission reference signal sequence of OFDM symbol;”).; and
the first subcarrier quantity, the first OFDM symbol quantity, and the first sample energy meet a third condition, wherein the third condition is related to a maximum unambiguous range of the second signal (Zhou: “on the corresponding subcarriers of the OFDM symbols in the second UE according to the length of the starting sub-carrier and the reference signal sequence on the time domain resource mapping according to the comb interval of the receiving the first reference signal sequence sent by UE;”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang in view of Zhou to figure OFDM signals. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the device-to-device D2D communications (Zhou).
As per claim 10, Jiang/Zhou/Luo discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the second transmission parameter set comprises a second subcarrier quantity corresponding to the second signal (Zhou: “the first UE transmits the reference signal to the second UE according to the transmission parameter comprises: the first UE according to the length of the starting sub-carrier and the reference signal sequence, the corresponding subcarriers of the last OFDM symbol domain resource of the reference signal sequence according to the comb interval mapped to the time after the transmission to the second UE,. ”), a second orthogonal frequency division multiplexing OFDM symbol quantity corresponding to the second signal, and second sample energy corresponding to the second signal; and the second subcarrier quantity, the second OFDM symbol quantity, and the second sample energy meet the second condition (Zhou: “reference signal UE generates communication with the second UE, the first UE to the second UE transmits a transmission parameter of the reference signal; the first UE transmits the reference signal to the second UE according to the transmission parameter, so that the second UE according to the transmission parameter after receiving the reference signal, the reference signal measurement, and communication selection according to the measurement result. ”),
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang in view of Zhou to figure out transmission parameters and corresponding signals. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the device-to-device D2D communications (Zhou).
Claims 14-15, 17 and 19 are rejected based on rational provided above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 11-12 and 16, 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
This action is FINAL. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449