DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, it is not clear if the “thermal diffusion layers” are inclusive of the thermal diffusion layer recited in claim 1. Similarly, it is not clear if the “insulating fire-resistant layers” are inclusive of the insulating fire-resistant layer recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “insulating fire-resistant layer” is recited twice. Are these layers associated with the “insulating fire-resistant layer” recited in claim 1. Additionally, claim 9 recites “a thermal diffusion layer”. Is this layer the same or different than the “thermal diffusion layer” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kilhenny et al. (US 20210257690 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kilhenny discloses a battery module (para 76, "assembly 1003 for a battery"; fig 9) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (fig 9); and an insulating pad having a multi-layer structure (para 76, "thermal management multilayer sheet 401/402/403”) disposed between the battery cells (para 76), wherein the insulating pad includes a swelling pressure absorption layer ("thermally-insulating layer 62/83"), an insulating fire-resistant layer (“integrity layer 84 is disposed on adhesive layer 85”), and a thermal diffusion layer ("heat-spreading layer 61") (para 67; fig. 6-7).
Regarding claim 2, Kilhenny discloses the swelling pressure absorption layer 62/83 includes heat-resistant fiber (para 66) and mica (para 43), the insulating fire-resistant layer (84 and 85) includes the mica (para 70), and the thermal diffusion layer 61 includes a carbon-based material (para 40).
Regarding claim 4, Kilhenny discloses the carbon-based material is one or more selected from among graphene, carbon nanotubes, and graphite (para 40).
Regarding claim 8, Kilhenny discloses the insulating pad includes insulating fire-resistant layers stacked on both surfaces of the swelling pressure absorption layer and thermal diffusion layers stacked on the insulating fire-resistant layers (claim 19; fig 7).
Regarding claim 9, Kilhenny discloses insulating pad includes an insulating fire-resistant layer and a thermal diffusion layer sequentially stacked (84/61, fig 7) on one surface of the swelling pressure absorption layer, and an insulating fire-resistant layer 86 stacked on the other surface of the swelling pressure absorption layer (para 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilhenny et al. (US 20210257690 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Browning et al. (US 20210376405 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kilhenny does not disclose heat-resistant fiber is one or more selected from among ceramic fiber and aramid fiber.
Browning, also drawn to thermal barrier material, discloses ceramic fiber insulation materials are exemplary nonwoven materials suitable for use in thermal barrier material (para 29). Browning also teaches that thermal barrier material can further include aramid fibers (para 32). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the thermal management multilayer sheet of Kilhenny such that heat-resistant fiber is one or more selected from among ceramic fiber and aramid fiber as taught by Browning as doing such “improves the thermal insulating properties” (para 28).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilhenny et al. (US 20210257690 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kilhenny does not explicitly disclose thickness of the swelling pressure absorption layer is in a range of 10 to 35% of a total thickness of the insulating pad, a thickness of the insulating fire-resistant layer is in a range of 35 to 45% of the total thickness of the insulating pad, and a thickness of the thermal diffusion layer is in a range of 25 to 35% of the total thickness of the insulating pad.
Kilhenny does disclose the thickness of swelling pressure absorption layer is selected to provide the desired pressure management (para 58); the thickness of insulating fire-resistant layer depends on desired reinforcement and effective adhesion (para 69-70); and the thickness of thermal diffusion layer depends upon the desired degree of thermal conductivity (para 41). Accordingly, layer thicknesses are recognized result-effective variables.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select relative layer thickness including proportions corresponding to the claimed percentages of the total insulation pad thickness, through routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance among pressure management, thermal insulation and heat diffusion. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Kilhenny does not explicitly disclose the total thickness of the insulating pad ranges from 1.0 to 2.5 mm.
As stated in rejection of claim 5, Kilhenny teaches the thickness of the insulation pad depends on desired balance among pressure management, thermal insulation and heat diffusion (para 41, 58, 69-70). The total thickness of the insulating pad is a result effective variable. It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select total thickness of the insulating pad ranging from 1.0 to 2.5 mm through routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance among pressure management, thermal insulation and heat diffusion. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Kilhenny does not explicitly disclose insulating pad includes thermal diffusion layers stacked on both surfaces of the swelling pressure absorption layer and insulating fire-resistant layers stacked on the thermal diffusion layers.
Kilhenny does disclose various combinations and subcombination of the layers can be used depending on the desired properties (para 72). Kilhenny further teaches that “first, second, or both heat-spreading layers and the thermally-insulating layer can be disposed directly on each other, or disposed on each other” (para 54).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select an insulating pad with thermal diffusion layers stacked on both surfaces of the swelling pressure absorption layer and insulating fire-resistant layers stacked on the thermal diffusion layer as such a configuration is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as taught by the above cited sections of Kilhenny.
Regarding claim 10, the examiner notes that “performing heat fusing” is a method limitation in a product claim. The “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. Only the “structure implied by the process steps should be considered”. See MPEP 2113.
The claim implies the layers of the insulating pad are joined together to form a multilayer insulation pad. Kilhenny discloses the thermal management multilayer can be manufactured by stacking layers individually and laminating with or without adhesive (para 71).
The claim does not recite any structural characteristic resulting from the heat fusing process that would distinguish the claimed insulation pad from the thermal management multilayer disclosed by Kilhenny. Therefore, the heat fusing limitation is not given patentable weight beyond the structure it produces. Accordingly, Kilhenny teaches the insulating pad made by performing heat fusing on the swelling pressure absorption layer, the insulating fire-resistant layer, and the thermal diffusion layer.
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746