DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 12, 13, 19, 20, the limitation “each wheel cylinder” is recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear from this limitation how many, if any, wheel cylinders are claimed as structure of the invention. For purposes of examination these claims will be interpreted as having a proceeding line “one or more wheel cylinders” establishing structure for the following “each wheel cylinder” and clarifying how many wheel cylinders are structurally claimed in the invention. It should be noted claims 2-20 are also rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7 the limitation “maintain an internal pressure of the storage plug at a level of atmospheric pressure” is recited. It is unclear in light of the specification and drawings, if the internal pressure is of the storage plug or of the storage chamber. If the claim intends to claim the internal pressure of the storage plug, it is not understood how the disclosed storage plug has an internal pressure. For purposes of examination “storage plug” in the above limitation will be interpreted as meaning the storage chamber, thus the limitation would read “maintain an internal pressure of the storage chamber at a level of atmospheric pressure.”
Regarding Claim 11 the limitation “lower portion of the storage chamber” is recited. The limitation “lower portion” is a relative term and without direction or related structure it is unclear what this lower portion is relative to, rendering the limitation indefinite. For purposes of examination the limitation “lower portion” will be interpreted as “lower portion relative to an input line.”
Regarding Claims 15, 17, 18 the limitation “third valve” and “fourth valve” are recited. As there are only two valves recited in these claims the usage of the term “third” and “fourth” is unclear, as these terms suggest the existence of a “first valve” and a “second valve.” It should be noted the examiner interprets the words “third” and “fourth” are used to establish the valves are on the respective “third line” and “fourth line”, but this wording still makes it unclear how many valves are intended to be claimed from these recited limitations. For purposes of examination the limitation “third valve” will be interpreted as “valve A on the third line” and the limitation “fourth valve” will be interpreted as “valve B on the Fourth line.” It should be noted Claim 16 is also rejected as being dependent upon the rejected Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganzel (US 20230227016 A1) in view of Hoenick (US 4435021 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ganzel discloses an electro-hydraulic brake system comprising: a pedal unit (126); a signal transmission unit (116) configured to transmit a pressure signal (142) of the pedal unit (126); and a braking unit (2) to supply a braking fluid to each wheel cylinder under control of the signal transmission unit (see Fig. 1).
Ganzel does not disclose the braking unit (2) being mounted on each wheel cylinder (102).
Hoenick teaches a braking unit (8) mounted on a wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the mounting of the braking unit on the wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Ganzel in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Regarding Claim 2, Ganzel discloses wherein the pedal unit (126) is pressed in response to a driver's operation or automatically in response to a braking signal in an autonomous driving mode (see [0023]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ganzel discloses wherein the signal transmission unit (116) further configured to transmit, to the braking unit (2), pressure signals digitalized from pressing speed, pressing force, and pressing time of the pedal unit (see [0026], [0041-0042])
Regarding Claim 4, Ganzel discloses wherein the braking unit (2) includes: a block section (2); a storage section (161) formed in the block section to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (164, 166) formed in the block section (2) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (116) configured to control the circuit section (164, 166) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (164, 166) to each wheel cylinder (102) in response that the control section (116) detects a control signal from the signal transmission unit (see Fig. 1).
Ganzel does not disclose the Block body mounted on each wheel cylinder.
Hoenick teaches the braking unit (8) includes: a block section (24) mounted on each wheel cylinder (22); a storage section (R, 3) formed in the block section to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (9) formed in the block section (24) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (12) configured to control the circuit section (9) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (9) to each wheel cylinder (22) in response that the control section (12) detects a control signal (52) from the signal transmission unit (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teaching of mounting a block section on each wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Ganzel in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Regarding Claim 5, Hoenick teaches wherein the block section includes: a block body (24); and a block port (48) formed on the block body to induce connection with each wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Ganzel discloses wherein the storage section (161) includes: a storage chamber (161) formed inside the block section to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage (Q) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the storage chamber to a side of the block section to define a flow path; and a storage plug (R) configured to open or close the storage passage (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 9, Ganzel discloses wherein the circuit section (164, 166) includes: a first passage (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 [2] below) connected to the storage section (161) for supply of the braking fluid; and a second passage (B) configured to connect the first passage (A) to each wheel cylinder (102) and to guide the braking fluid stored in the storage section (161) to each wheel cylinder (102) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 [2] below).
Annotated Fig. 1 [2]
Regarding Claim 10, Ganzel discloses wherein the first passage (A) includes: a first line (A1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 Above) connected to the storage section (161); and a first drive part (M) formed in the first line (A1) to discharge the braking fluid stored in the storage section (161) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above).
Regarding Claim 11, Ganzel discloses wherein the first line (A1) is connected to a lower portion of the storage chamber (161) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above).
Regarding Claim 12, Ganzel discloses wherein the second passage (B) includes: a second line (B1) configured to connect the first passage (A) to each wheel cylinder (102); and a second measurement part (168) configured to measure a pressure of the second line (B1) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above).
Regarding Claim 13, Ganzel discloses wherein the second line (B1) connects the first line (A1) to each wheel cylinder (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above).
Regarding Claim 14, Ganzel discloses wherein the circuit section (164, 166) includes: a third passage (C) configured to connect the second passage (B) to the storage section (161) for guidance of the braking fluid; and a fourth passage (D) configured to connect the first passage (A) to the storage section (161) for guidance of the braking fluid (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above).
Regarding Claim 15, Ganzel discloses wherein the third passage (C) includes: a third line (C1) configured to connect the second line (B1) to the storage chamber (161); and a third valve (166D) formed in the third line to open or close the third line (C1) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 Above, [0038]).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) in view of Hoenick (US 4435021 A). It should be noted while Greiner’s publishing date is after this application’s filling date, Greiner qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) with an effective filling of 2/11/2022 date before the foreign priority date of 09/22/2023.
Regarding Claim 1, Greiner discloses an electro-hydraulic brake system comprising: a pedal unit (42); a signal transmission unit (38) configured to transmit a pressure signal of the pedal unit (42); and a braking unit (10) to supply a braking fluid to each wheel cylinder (12) under control of the signal transmission unit (38) (see Fig. 1, [0029]).
Greiner does not explicitly disclose the braking unit (10) being mounted on each wheel cylinder (12).
Hoenick teaches a braking unit (8) mounted on a wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the mounting of the braking unit on the wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Greiner in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Regarding Claim 4, Greiner discloses wherein the braking unit (10) includes: a block section (10) mounted on each wheel cylinder (12); a storage section (34) formed in the block section (10) to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (14) formed in the block section (10) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (32) configured to control the circuit section (14) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (14) to each wheel cylinder (12) in response that the control section (32) detects a control signal from the signal transmission unit (38) (see Fig. 1).
Greiner does not disclose the Block body mounted on each wheel cylinder.
Hoenick teaches the braking unit (8) includes: a block section (24) mounted on each wheel cylinder (22); a storage section (R, 3) formed in the block section to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (9) formed in the block section (24) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (12) configured to control the circuit section (9) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (9) to each wheel cylinder (22) in response that the control section (12) detects a control signal (52) from the signal transmission unit (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teaching of mounting a block section on each wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Greiner in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) as modified by Hoenick (US 4435021 A) in Claim 1, above, further in view of Hirao (US 20030062371 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Greiner modified by Hoenick teaches the electro-hydraulic brake system of claim 4, wherein the storage section (34) includes: a storage chamber (34) formed inside the block section (10) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage extending from the storage chamber (34) to a side of the block section (10) to define a flow path (see US 20250100527 A1 [Greiner]; Fig. 1).
Greiner modified by Hoenick does not teach a storage plug configured to open or close the storage passage.
Hirao teaches a storage chamber (1) with a storage plug (8) configured to open or close a storage passage (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the storage plug of Hirao with the electro-hydraulic brake system storage chamber of Greiner modified by Hoenick in order to operationally allow fluid to be added or removed from the storage chamber, as well as letting air flow out without fluid flow to preserve the pressure of the storage chamber at atmosphere (see US 20030062371 A1 [Hirao]; [0007]).
Regarding Claim 7, Hirao teaches wherein the storage plug blocks a flow of fluid and permits a flow of gas to maintain an internal pressure of the storage plug at a level of atmospheric pressure (see [0007]).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) as modified by Hoenick (US 4435021 A) in Claim 4, above, further in view of Peisker (US 5492393 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Greiner modified by Hoenick teaches the electro-hydraulic brake system of claim 4, wherein the storage section (34) includes: a storage chamber (34) formed inside the block section (10) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage extending from the storage chamber (34) to a side of the block section (10) to define a flow path (see US 20250100527 A1 [Greiner]; Fig. 1).
Greiner modified by Hoenick does not teach a storage plug configured to open or close the storage passage.
Peisker teaches a storage chamber (177) with a storage plug (175) configured to open or close a storage passage (172) (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to combine the storage plug of Peisker with the electro-hydraulic brake system and storage chamber of Greiner modified by Hoenick in order to relieve pressure inside the storage chamber while preventing the inflow of contaminants (see US 5492393 A [Pesiker]; 2:16-25).
Regarding Claim 8, Peisker teaches wherein the storage plug is made of a sintered metal material (see 2:16-25)
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano et. al. (US 20220227337 A1) in view of Hoenick (US 4435021).
Regarding Claim 1, Okano discloses an electro-hydraulic brake system comprising: a pedal unit (16); a signal transmission unit (70, 72) configured to transmit a pressure signal of the pedal unit (16) (see Fig. 1, [0044], [0055]); and a braking unit (14) to supply a braking fluid to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) under control of the signal transmission unit (70, 72) (see Fig. 1, [0055]).
Okano does not explicitly disclose the braking unit being mounted on each wheel cylinder.
Hoenick teaches a braking unit (8) mounted on a wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the mounting of the braking unit on the wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Okano in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Regarding Claim 4, Okano discloses wherein the braking unit includes: a block section (14); a storage section (54) formed in the block section (14) to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (50) formed in the block section (14) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (72) configured to control the circuit section (50) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (50) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) in response that the control section (72) detects a control signal from the signal transmission unit (72) (see Fig. 1).
Okano does not disclose the Block body mounted on each wheel cylinder and wherein each block section corresponding to each wheel cylinder includes a reservoir.
Hoenick teaches the braking unit (8) includes: a block section (24) mounted on each wheel cylinder (22); a storage section (R, 3) formed in the block section to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (9) formed in the block section (24) to adjust the braking fluid; and a control section (12) configured to control the circuit section (9) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (9) to each wheel cylinder (22) in response that the control section (12) detects a control signal (52) from the signal transmission unit (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teaching of mounting a block section with its own reservoir and pump on each wheel cylinder of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Okano in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the Vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43)
Regarding Claim 6, Okano discloses wherein the storage section (54) includes: a storage chamber (54) formed inside the block section (14) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the storage chamber (54) to a side of the block section (14) to define a flow path; and a storage plug (62) configured to open or close the storage passage (A) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 9, Okano discloses wherein the circuit section (50) includes: a first passage (X) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the storage section (54) for supply of the braking fluid; and a second passage (Y) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the first passage (X) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) and to guide the braking fluid stored in the storage section (54) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Okano discloses wherein the first passage (X) includes: a first line (X1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the storage section (54); and a first drive (58) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) part formed in the first line (X1) to discharge the braking fluid stored in the storage section (54) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 11, Okano discloses wherein the first line (X1) is connected to a lower portion of the storage chamber (54) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Okano discloses wherein the second passage (Y) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) includes: a second line (Y1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the first passage (X) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL); and a second measurement part (110) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to measure a pressure of the second line (110) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Okano discloses wherein the second line (Y1) connects the first line (X1) to each wheel cylinder (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Okano discloses wherein the circuit section (50) includes: a third passage (Z) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the second passage (Y) to the storage section (54) for guidance of the braking fluid; and a fourth passage (E) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the first passage (X) to the storage section (54) for guidance of the braking fluid (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Okano discloses wherein the third passage (Z) includes: a third line (Z1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 Above) configured to connect the second line (Y1) to the storage chamber (54); and a third valve (SRLR) formed in the third line (Z1) to open or close the third line (Z1) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Okano discloses wherein the third line (Z1) is connected to the second line (Y1) disposed between the first line (X1) and the second measurement part (110) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Okano discloses wherein the third valve (SRLR) is a normally closed valve configured to normally close the third line (Z1) and open the third line (Z1) in response that power is applied to the third valve (SRLR) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 18, Okano discloses wherein the fourth passage (E) includes: a fourth line (E1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) having a first end connected to the first line (X1) disposed between the first drive part (58) and the second line (Y1) and a second end connected to the storage chamber (54); and a fourth valve (SMR) configured to open or close the fourth line (E) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Okano discloses wherein, in response that the first drive part (58) is driven, the braking fluid stored in the storage chamber (54) is supplied to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) through the first (X1) and second lines (Y1) to perform braking (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 20, Okano discloses wherein, in response that the third passage (Z) is opened, a part of the braking fluid supplied to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) is supplied to the storage section (54) through the third passage (Z) to decrease a pressure in each wheel cylinder (10RR. 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616