DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 29th June 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 9-15 under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Ganzel et. al. (US 20230227016 A1) in view of Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Applicant argues “Examiner cites only Ganzel, to support such features”. However, Okano was previously cited to reject these limitations, as appears in the separate Rejection of Claims 1, 4, 6, and 9-20 under 35 USC 103 over Okano et. al. (US 20220227337 A1) in view of Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A), which was not argued. Therefore, the rejection of amended Independent Claim 1 and the rejection of the dependent Claims 4, 6, and 10-20 are maintained. New grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment, for Claims 2-3, 5, and 7-8 can be seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano et. al. (US 20220227337 A1) in view of Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Okano discloses an electro-hydraulic brake system comprising: a pedal unit (16); a signal transmission unit (70, 72) configured to transmit a pressure signal of the pedal unit (16) (see Fig. 1, [0044], [0055]); and a braking unit (14) connected to each wheel cylinder of a plurality of wheel cylinders (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) to supply a braking fluid to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) under control of the signal transmission unit (70, 72) (see Fig. 1, [0055]), a block section (14) mounted on each wheel cylinder; a storage section (54) formed in the block section (14) to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (50) formed in the block section (14) to adjust the braking fluid; and wherein the circuit section includes: a first passage (X) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the storage section (54) for supply of the braking fluid; and a second passage (Y) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) configured to connect the first passage (X) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) and to guide the braking fluid stored in the storage section (54) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below), a third passage (Z) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) configured to connect the second passage (Y) to the storage section (54) for guidance of the braking fluid (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Okano does not explicitly disclose wherein the braking unit is mounted on each wheel cylinder of the plurality of wheel cylinders.
Hoenick teaches a braking unit (8) mounted on a wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Okano in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 2, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the pedal unit (16) is pressed in response to a driver's operation or automatically in response to a braking signal in an autonomous driving mode (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 4, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the braking unit further includes: a control section (72) configured to control the circuit section (50) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (50) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) in response that the control section (72) detects a control signal from the signal transmission unit (72) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the block section includes: a block body (24); and a block port (48) formed on the block body to induce connection with each wheel cylinder (22) (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the storage section (54) includes: a storage chamber (54) formed inside the block section (14) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) extending from the storage chamber (54) to a side of the block section (14) to define a flow path; and a storage plug (62) configured to open or close the storage passage (A) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the first passage (X) includes: a first line (X1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the storage section (54); and a first drive part (58) formed in the first line (X1) to discharge the braking fluid stored in the storage section (54) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 11, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the first line (X1) is connected to a lower portion relative to an input line of the storage chamber (54) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the second passage (Y) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) includes: a second line (Y1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the first passage (X) to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL); and a second measurement part (110) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to measure a pressure of the second line (110) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the second line (Y1) connects the first line (X1) to each wheel cylinder (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the circuit section (50) further includes: a fourth passage (E) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) configured to connect the first passage (X) to the storage section (54) for guidance of the braking fluid (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the third passage (Z) includes: a third line (Z1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 Above) configured to connect the second line (Y1) to the storage chamber (54); and a valve (SRLR) formed in the third line (Z1) to open or close the third line (Z1) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the third line (Z1) is connected to the second line (Y1) disposed between the first line (X1) and the second measurement part (110) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the valve (SRLR) is a normally closed valve configured to normally close the third line (Z1) and open the third line (Z1) in response that power is applied to the valve (SRLR) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 18, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the fourth passage (E) includes: a fourth line (E1) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) having a first end connected to the first line (X1) disposed between the first drive part (58) and the second line (Y1) and a second end connected to the storage chamber (54); and a valve (SMR) configured to open or close the fourth line (E) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein, in response that the first drive part (58) is driven, the braking fluid stored in the storage chamber (54) is supplied to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) through the first (X1) and second lines (Y1) to perform braking (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above)
Regarding Claim 20, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches wherein, in response that the third passage (Z) is opened, a part of the braking fluid supplied to each wheel cylinder (10RR, 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) is supplied to the storage section (54) through the third passage (Z) to decrease a pressure in each wheel cylinder (10RR. 10RL, 10FR, 10FL) (see US 20220227337 A1 [Okano]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano et. al. (US 20220227337 A1) as modified by Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A) in Claim 1 above, further in view of Kamiya et. al. (US 20150015059 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Okano modified by Hoenick teaches the electro-hydraulic brake system of claim 1 wherein the signal transmission unit (70, 72) is further configured to transmit, to the braking unit (14), pressure signals digitalized from pedal stroke (see Fig. 1, [0069-0070]).
Okano modified by Hoenick does not explicitly detail wherein the pedal stroke include pressing speed, pressing force, and pressing time.
Kamiya teaches an electro-hydraulic brake system wherein pressing speed, pressing force, and pressing time signals are digitalized and transmitted (see Fig. 1, [0136], [0155], [0158], [0175], [0190]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Kamiya with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Okano modified by Hoenick in order to incorporate more pedal stroke sensing redundancies to improve safety and brake responsiveness.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) in view of Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Greiner discloses an electro-hydraulic brake system comprising: a pedal unit (42); a signal transmission unit (38) configured to transmit a pressure signal of the pedal unit (42) (see [0029]); and a braking unit (10) connected to each wheel cylinder of a plurality of wheel cylinders (12) (see [0013]) to supply a braking fluid to each wheel cylinder (12) under control of the signal transmission unit (42), a block section (A) (see Annotated Fig. 3 below) connected to each wheel cylinder; a storage section (34) formed in the block section (A) to store the braking fluid therein; a circuit section (B) formed in the block section (A) to adjust the braking fluid; and wherein the circuit section (B) includes: a first passage (B1) connected to the storage section (34) for supply of the braking fluid; and a second passage (B2) configured to connect the first passage (B1) to each wheel cylinder (12) and to guide the braking fluid stored in the storage section (34) to each wheel cylinder (12), a third passage (B3) configured to connect the second passage (B2) to the storage section (34) for guidance of the braking fluid (see Fig. 3, Annotated Fig. 3 below).
Greiner does not explicitly teach wherein the braking unit is mounted on each wheel cylinder of the plurality of wheel cylinders.
Hoenick teaches a braking unit (8) mounted on a wheel cylinder (22) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Hoenick with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Greiner in order to make the electro-hydraulic brake system more compact and increase space optimization within the vehicle body (see US 4435021 A [Hoenick]; 1: 38-43).
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 4, Greiner modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the braking unit (10) further includes: a control section (32) configured to control the circuit section (B) (see Annotated Fig. 3 above) to supply the braking fluid from the circuit section (B) to each wheel cylinder (12) in response that the control section (32) detects a control signal from the signal transmission unit (38) (see US 20250100527 A1 [Greiner]; Fig. 3, Annotated Fig. 3 above).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) as modified by Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A) in Claim 1 above, further in view of Hirao (US 20030062371 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Greiner modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the storage section (34) includes: a storage chamber (34) formed inside the block section (A) (see Annotated Fig. 3 above) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage (A1) extending from the storage chamber to a side of the block section (A) to define a flow path (see US 20250100527 A1 [Greiner]; Fig. 3, Annotated Fig. 3 above).
Greiner modified by Hoenick does not explicitly teach wherein a storage plug is configured to open or close the storage passage.
Hirao teaches a storage chamber (1) with a storage plug (8) configured to open or close a storage passage (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the are before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Hirao with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Greiner modified by Hoenick in order to operationally allow fluid to be added or removed from the storage chamber, as well as letting air flow out without fluid flow to preserve the pressure of the storage chamber at atmosphere (see US 20030062371 A1 [Hirao]; [0007]).
Regarding Claim 7, Greiner modified by Hirao and Hoenick teaches wherein the storage plug block a flow of fluid and permits a flow of gas to maintain an internal pressure of the storage chamber at a level of atmosphere pressure (see US 20030062371 A1 [Hirao]; [0007]).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiner (US 20250100527 A1) as modified by Hoenick et. al. (US 4435021 A) in Claim 1 above, further in view of Peisker (US 5492393 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Greiner modified by Hoenick teaches wherein the storage section (34) includes: a storage chamber (34) formed inside the block section (A) (see Annotated Fig. 3 above) to store the braking fluid therein; a storage passage (A1) extending from the storage chamber to a side of the block section (A) to define a flow path (see US 20250100527 A1 [Greiner]; Fig. 3, Annotated Fig. 3 above).
Greiner modified by Hoenick does not explicitly teach wherein a storage plug is configured to open or close the storage passage.
Peisker teaches a storage chamber (177) with a storage plug (175) configured to open or close a storage passage (172) (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Peisker with the electro-hydraulic brake system of Greiner modified by Hoenick in order to relieve pressure inside the storage chamber while preventing the inflow of contaminants (see US 5492393 A [Peisker]; 2: 16-25).
Regarding Claim 8, Greiner modified by Hoenick and Peisker teaches wherein the storage plug is made of a sintered metal material (see US 5492393 A [Peisker]; 2: 16-25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616