Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 depends on claim 2 but claim 2 is cancelled.. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirokawa (US2018/0162033 A1) in view of Kempt et al (US 5,694,809).
Regarding claim 1, Hirokawa et al disclose a method of manufacturing an extrusion molded product (abstract), the method comprising: pulling a core member (3) by a first puller (26), the core member being made of a resin and molded into a desired shape [0001] in a first die (20);
molding an extrusion molded product by providing a covering portion made of a thermoplastic elastomer (5) over an outer periphery of the core member [0042], which has been pulled by the first puller, in a second die (23) and pulling the extrusion molded product by a second puller (28),
monitoring tension in the core member with a sensor unit provided between the first puller and the second puller, and
Hirokawa does not explicitly disclose adjusting a pulling speed of at least one of the first puller and the second puller adjusts, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, such that the tension in the core member between the first puller and the second puller falls within a predetermined range,
wherein the sensor unit includes core-member feeding rollers that are arranged between the first puller and the second puller with a gap formed between the core-member feeding rollers in a direction in which the core member is moved,
and a vertically-movable tension-applying roller that is provided between the core-member feeding rollers and is capable of moving up and down and applying tension to the core member, and
wherein in the monitoring of the tension in the core member with the sensor unit, the sensor unit monitors the tension in the core member based on a vertical position of the vertically- movable tension-applying roller.
However, analogous roller art, Kempf et al, discloses “sensing roller 34 of sensor 24 is positioned within a gap between conveyor 12 and pinch roll stand 18. As the dough sheet travels over the gap, the dough sheet "droops" within the gap as a function of the tension of the dough sheet. The amount of droop varies the vertical displacement of sensing roller 34. The greater the droop, the greater the displacement. The amount of vertical displacement is then measured, which is an indication of the tension in the dough sheet. The measurement can be used to automatically or manually adjust the production line equipment 10 to correct any irregularities in the dough sheet or in the equipment settings” (column 3 lines 22-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated adjusting a pulling speed of at least one of the first puller and the second puller adjusts, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, such that the tension in the core member between the first puller and the second puller falls within a predetermined range, wherein the sensor unit includes core-member feeding rollers that are arranged between the first puller and the second puller with a gap formed between the core-member feeding rollers in a direction in which the core member is moved, and a vertically-movable tension-applying roller that is provided between the core-member feeding rollers and is capable of moving up and down and applying tension to the core member, as taught by Kempf into the method taught by Hirokawa since (1) Hirokawa discloses vertically movable tension-applying rollers [0076-0077; figure 14) that is capable of moving up and down (vertically) and can have different pulling speeds [0066-0067], (2) Kemp teaches the gap between the sensors and the rollers and wherein in the monitoring of the tension in the core member with the sensor unit, the sensor unit monitors the tension in the core member based on a vertical position of the vertically- movable tension-applying roller for the benefit of correcting any irregularities in the molded product (column 3 lines 30-33) and adjusting tensions/speed (column 1 lines 20-25).
Hirokawa does not explicitly disclose tension. However, Hirokawa disclose changing the radius of curvature R1 and R2 and stress/tensions in the core member in order to form the desired shape of the final product [0008-0010, 0019-0020]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sensor unit that monitors tension in the core member is provided between the first puller and the second puller, and at least one of the first puller and the second puller adjusts, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, a pulling speed such that the tension in the core member between the first puller and the second puller falls within a normal range since Hirokawa discloses 1.) stresses and tension in core members and 2.) sensors are provided in controlling the speed [0066]. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Hirokawa et al discloses the extrusion molded product according to wherein a cutting mechanism unit (28) that cuts the core member in such a manner as to form a groove by using a cutting blade [0045] and wherein the sensor unit applies tension to the core member, in which the groove has been formed by the cutting mechanism unit, in a direction in which the core member is easily bent.
Hirokawa doesn’t explicitly disclose cutting mechanism is provided between the first die and the first puller. However, MPEP 2144.04 states In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019,86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975). The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a cutting mechanism between the first die and the first puller since it is within the skillset of one ordinary skilled in the art and through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirokawa (US2018/0162033 A1) in view of Kempt et al (US 5,694,809), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Tunc (US2002/0125595 A1).
Regarding claim 4-5, Hirokawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the second puller pulls, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, the extrusion molded product at a pulling speed without stopping wherein an upper limit speed and a lower limit speed of the pulling speed of the second puller are each within +12.5% of a pulling speed of the first pulle; wherein the first puller pulls, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, the core member at a pulling speed with an upper limit speed and a lower limit speed each of which is within +12.5% of a pulling speed of the second puller without stopping. However, analogous art, Tunc, discloses the speed of the first and second puller is either the same [abstract] or the speed difference may be between a factor of 2 and 12 times [0031] which overlaps with applicant’s range of wherein the second puller pulls, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, the extrusion molded product at a pulling speed with an upper limit speed and a lower limit speed each of which is within +12.5% of a pulling speed of the first puller without stopping; wherein the first puller pulls, based on the tension in the core member monitored by the sensor unit, the core member at a pulling speed with an upper limit speed and a lower limit speed each of which is within +12.5% of a pulling speed of the second puller without stopping. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping range is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a range of the upper limit and the lower limit is within +12.5% in order to balance excessive slipping [0032].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light the newly cited reference
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754