Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chin (US 20220210860).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/5/16, Chin teaches A method, comprising:
receiving ([0142 and Fig.2], “network may provide a CG configuration to the UE in response to the CG configuration request” in a RRC release message.), by a first communication apparatus ([Fig.2], UE), resource configuration information ([0142], configured grant (CG) configuration) from a second communication apparatus ([Fig.2], a network device, base station.), wherein the resource configuration information indicates a first resource ([0142], “the RRC release message may include the CG configuration to configure the CG resources to the UE.” And [0182 Fig.4], multiple CG resources 411, 412, 413 and 414.) that is configured by the second communication apparatus ([Fig.2], a network device, base station.) for the first communication apparatus for data transmission ([0137], “the UL data of SDT may be transmitted via ... a CG resource.”); and
releasing ([0190], “a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may release/discard/suspend a CG resource(s)/configuration(s) if it skips a specific number of (consecutive) UL transmission (e.g., transmission in step S240 and S250 shown in FIG. 2).”), by the first communication apparatus based on a preset condition ([0190], “if it skips a specific number of (consecutive) UL transmission.” And [0191], “a counter (e.g., UL_skipping_COUNTER) may be used to count the number of UL transmissions that has been skipped by a UE ...On the other hand, a threshold (e.g., max-UL-skipping) may be (pre)configured to the UE.”), a second resource ([0430], “if a specific number (e.g., max-UL-skipping) of consecutive UL resources configured for a DL-SSB configuration have been skipped, the UE may release/discards/suspends the CG configuration corresponding to the DL-SSB configuration.” In other words, one of the four CG resources may be released by the UE if specific number of consecutive UL transmission is skipped.) to which a first synchronization signal block (SSB) is mapped ([0186], “CG resources (e.g., 411, 412, 413, 414) and the association with (DL) SSBs (e.g., 421, 422, 423, 424) may be provided by the network.”), wherein the second resource ([0182 and 0430], one of the four CG resources, such as CG resource 411 may be released by the UE if condition is met.) is a dedicated resource of the first communication apparatus ([0182], “CG resources 411, 412, 413, 414, and an association between the CG resources 411, 412, 413, 414 and SSBs 421, 422, 423, 424 may be provided by the network to the UE 400.”), and the first resource comprises the second resource ([0418], “one of the four CG resources.”).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/17, Chin teaches wherein the resource configuration information further comprises a resource release indication, and the resource release indication indicates the preset condition ([0190], “a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may release/discard/suspend a CG resource(s)/configuration(s) if it skips a specific number of (consecutive) UL transmission (e.g., transmission in step S240 and S250 shown in FIG. 2).”).
Regarding claim(s) 3/6/18, Chin teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first communication apparatus, resource configuration request information to the second communication apparatus ([0140], “the UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may send a CG configuration request to the network.”), wherein the resource configuration request information requests the dedicated resource ([0140], “the UE may, for example, indicate the UE's preference for a configuration with CG Type 1.”).
Regarding claim(s) 4/7/19, Chin teaches wherein the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first communication apparatus, data on the first resource ([0137], “the UL data of SDT may be transmitted via ... a CG resource.”).
Regarding claim(s) 8/12/20, Chin teaches wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of:
M consecutive resources to which the first SSB is mapped are not used, all or a part of the M consecutive resources belong to the second resource ([0430], “if a specific number (e.g., max-UL-skipping) of consecutive UL resources configured for a DL-SSB configuration have been skipped, the UE may release/discards/suspends the CG configuration corresponding to the DL-SSB configuration.”), and M is a positive integer ([0430], “a specific number”);
S consecutive resources are not used, the S consecutive resources belong to the first resource, and S is a positive integer; a resource to which the first SSB is mapped is not used in a first preset time period, and all or a part of the resource belongs to the second resource; the first resource is not used in a second preset time period; or in N times of the data transmission, the resource to which the first SSB is mapped is not used, all or a part of the resource belongs to the second resource, and N is a positive integer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin in view of Sun (US 20220046667).
Regarding claim(s) 9/13, Chin teaches wherein the M consecutive resources comprise: M ... resources ([0182], “CG resources 411, 412, 413, 414, and an association between the CG resources 411, 412, 413, 414 and SSBs 421, 422, 423, 424 may be provided by the network to the UE 400.”) used for data transmission ([0137], “the UL data of SDT may be transmitted via ... a CG resource.”); or
time-frequency resources used for the data transmission in M time-frequency resource configuration periodicities; or time-frequency resources used for the data transmission in M periodicities of mapping from SSBs to the time-frequency resources.
However, Chin does not specifically disclose time-division time-frequency resources.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses time-division time-frequency resources used for data transmission ([0052 and Fig.3], “the CG configuration may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., in a time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, code domain, and/or the like) dedicated for the UE to use to transmit uplink communications.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chin to specify time-frequency resource as taught by Sun. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit uplink data.
Regarding claim(s) 10/14, Chin teaches wherein the S consecutive resources comprise:
S ... resources used for data transmission ([0426], “if a specific number (e.g., max-UL-skipping) of consecutive UL resources have been skipped, the UE may release/discards/suspends all the configured CG configurations.”); or
time-frequency resources used for the data transmission in S time-frequency resource configuration periodicities; or time-frequency resources used for the data transmission in S periodicities of mapping from SSBs to the time-frequency resources.
However, Chin does not specifically disclose time-division time-frequency resources.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses time-division time-frequency resources used for data transmission ([0052 and Fig.3], “the CG configuration may indicate a resource allocation (e.g., in a time domain, frequency domain, spatial domain, code domain, and/or the like) dedicated for the UE to use to transmit uplink communications.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chin to specify time-frequency resource as taught by Sun. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit uplink data.
Claim(s) 9, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin in view of Fu (US 20230129023).
Regarding claim(s) 11/15, Chin teaches wherein the first resource comprises the dedicated resource ... ([0142], “the RRC release message may include the CG configuration to configure the CG resources to the UE.” And [0182 Fig.4], multiple CG resources 411, 412, 413 and 414.), and the resource configuration information further comprises a resource use indication ([0163], “the CG configuration may be used for performing the CG-based SDT procedure.”); and
wherein the resource use indication indicates the first communication apparatus to use the dedicated resource to transmit data ([0137], “the UL data of SDT may be transmitted via ... a CG resource.”), or the resource use indication indicates the first communication apparatus to use the dedicated resource and the non-dedicated resource to transmit the data.
However, Chin does not teach wherein the first resource comprises the dedicated resource and a non-dedicated resource.
In an analogous art, Fu teaches wherein the first resource ([0091], “the terminal device receives first configuration information transmitted by the network device, where the first configuration information is used to configure: both the type-1 CG resource and the type-2 CG resource.”) comprises the dedicated resource ([0078], “he type-1 CG resource is a CG resource configured by using a resource configuration mode used for CG resource configuration in a licensed spectrum or a URLLC CG resource configured by using the resource configuration mode used for CG resource configuration in the licensed spectrum.”) and a non-dedicated resource ([0079], “The type-2 CG resource is a CG resource configured by using a resource configuration mode used for CG resource configuration in an unlicensed spectrum.”), and the resource configuration information further comprises a resource use indication ([0093], “the terminal device receives a first indication transmitted by the network device, where the first indication indicates one of the following. The terminal device activates or uses the type-1 CG resource configured and the type-2 CG resource configured. The terminal device activates or uses the type-1 CG resource configured. The terminal device activates or uses the type-2 CG resource configured.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Chin to specify both types of CG resources as taught by Fu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to indicate which resource is needed to be activated for data transmission.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411