DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner appreciate the time and effort of the Applicant in the compact prosecution of this case. The Arguments and the Remarks submitted on 05/26/2026 have been review and are not persuasive so put these claims in condition for allowance.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1, that the prior art fails to disclose “antennas…are arranged along a linear axis orthogonal to the hinge axis”. The Examiner disagrees. Irci discloses this arrangement where the antennas arranged vertically along the lower housing (12B) linearly orthogonal to the hinge axis along the rotational axis (24) as shown in Figs. 9 and 11. In addition, Applicant argues regarding claim 9 that the prior art fails to disclose “an angled metal wall that extends from the upper metal wall towards the lower metal wall at an angle that is non-parallel and non-perpendicular with respect to the upper metal wall… wherein the hinge is coupled to a first side of the lower housing and the angled metal wall is at a second side of the lower housing opposite the first side.” The Examiner disagrees. Guterman discloses an angled metal wall (defined by 106 disposed along the opening of the lower housing, 12B, having an upper metal wall, 12B-1, and lower metal wall, 12B-2) that extends from the upper metal wall (12B-1) towards the lower metal wall (12B-2) at an angle that is non-parallel and non-perpendicular with respect to the upper metal wall (12B-1) serving as a portion of the housing (See Figs. 12 and 13). The hinge (26) is coupled to a first side (at 26A, 26B) of the lower housing (12B; See Figs. 1 and 4) and the angled metal wall (defined by 106 disposed along the opening of the lower housing, 12B, having an upper metal wall, 12B-1, and lower metal wall, 12B-2) is at a second side (within 30) opposite the first side (at 26A, 26B; See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, the Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose “a phase antenna array in the lower housing and configured to convey radio-frequency signals using steerable signal beams” and ”one or more processors configured to adjust the steerable signal beams of the phased antenna array based on the position detected by the sensor”. However, the Examiner disagrees. Irci discloses a phase antenna array (defined by the 40T and 40B) in the lower housing (12B) and configured to convey radio-frequency signals using steerable signal beams (Para. 0026, Lines 3-5)” and ”one or more processors (28) configured to adjust the steerable signal beams (via the position sensor, 42) of the phased antenna array (defined by 40 – 40T, 40B) based on the position detected by the sensor (42; Para. 0008, Lines 5-9).
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irci et al. (US 20140361932; hereinafter Irci) in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20170110787; hereinafter Ouyang).
Regarding claim 1:
Irci discloses (in Figs. 1-2 and 4-10) a laptop computer (10) comprising: a lower housing (12B) that includes a conductive wall (defined by 12B; Para. 0033, Lines 4-5) and a keyboard (16) at the conductive wall (defined by 12B; Para. 0028, Lines 1-2); an upper housing (12A) coupled to the lower housing (12B) by a hinge (56), the upper housing (12A) being rotatable (along 22) relative to the lower housing (12B) about a hinge axis (24) of the hinge (56); a dielectric window (26) in the conductive wall (defined by 12B); and antennas (40) in the lower housing (12B) and overlapping the dielectric window (26), wherein the antennas (40) are arranged along a linear axis (along 20) orthogonal to the hinge axis (24).
Irci is silent on that the antennas form a phased antenna array.
Ouyang et al. disclose (in Fig. 34) the antennas (130) form a phased antenna array (Para. 0042, Lines 13-14).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to implement the antennas forming a phased antenna array as taught by Ouyang et al. into the device of Irci for the benefit of achieving antenna arrays used in beam steering techniques to help enhance antenna performance (Para. 0042, Lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 2:
Irci is silent on that the phased antenna array is a uniform linear array (ULA).
Ouyang et al. disclose the phased antenna array (130/170) is a uniform linear array (ULA) (in
Figs. 34 and 40).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the phased antenna array is a uniform linear array as taught by Ouyang et al. into the device of Irci for the benefit of achieving antenna arrays used in beam steering
techniques to help enhance antenna performance (Para. 0042, Lines 13-150).
Regarding claim 17:
Irci discloses (in Figs. 1-2 and 4-10) a laptop computer (10) comprising: a lower housing (12B)
that includes a keyboard (16); an upper housing (12A) that includes a display (14), the upper housing (12A) being coupled to the lower housing (12B) by a hinge (56); a phased antenna array (defined by 40) in the lower housing (12B) and configured to convey radio-frequency signals using steerable signal beams (Para. 0026, Lines 3-5; Para. 0038, Lines 11-15); a sensor (42) configured to detect a position of the upper housing (12A) relative to the lower housing (12B); and one or more processors (28) configured to adjust the steerable signal beams of the phased antenna array (defined by 40 – 40T, 40B) based on the position detected by the sensor (42).
Irci is silent on that the antennas form a phased antenna array.
Ouyang et al. disclose (in Fig. 34) the antennas (130) form a phased antenna array (Para. 0042,
Lines 13-14) and configured to convey radio-frequency signals using steerable signal beams (Para. 0053, Lines 9-11; Para. 0057, Lines 7-10; Para. 0058, Lines 1-3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to implement the antennas forming a phased antenna array as taught by
Ouyang et al. into the device of Irci for the benefit of achieving antenna arrays used in beam steering
techniques to help enhance antenna performance (Para. 0042, Lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 18:
Irci discloses the one or more processors (28) is configured to adjust a number of the steerable signal beams formable by the phased antenna array (defined by 40) based on the position detected by the sensor (42; Para. 0037, Lines 1-24; Para. 0038, Lines 1-15; Para. 0059, Lines 9-12).
Irci is silent on that the antennas form a phased antenna array.
Ouyang et al. disclose (in Fig. 34) the antennas (130) form a phased antenna array (Para. 0042,
Lines 13-14).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to implement the antennas forming a phased antenna array as taught by
Ouyang et al. into the device of Irci for the benefit of achieving antenna arrays used in beam steering
techniques to help enhance antenna performance (Para. 0042, Lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 19:
Irci discloses the one or more processors (28) is configured to adjust an orientation of the steerable signal beams based on the position detected by the sensor (42; Para. 0037, Lines 1-24; Para. 0038, Lines 1-15; Para. 0059, Lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 20:
Irci discloses the one or more processors (28) is configured to adjust a width of the signal beam based on the position detected by the sensor (42; Para. 0037, Lines 1-24; Para. 0038, Lines 1-15; Para. 0059, Lines 9-12).
Claims 3, 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irci et al.
(US 20140361932; hereinafter Irci) in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20170110787; hereinafter Ouyang)
as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Nath et al. (US 20190257933; hereinafter Nath).
Regarding claim 3:
Irci as modified is silent on that the phased antenna array is configured to form a set of signal beams through the dielectric window, each signal beam in the set of signal beams being oriented at a
different respective angle along the linear axis.
Nath discloses (in Figs. 5, 10 and 11) the phased antenna array (124) is configured to form a set
of signal beams (126 and 128) through the dielectric window (202), each signal beam in the set of signal beams (126 and 128) being oriented at a different respective angle along the linear axis (See Fig. 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to configure the phased antenna array configured to form a set of signal beams through the dielectric window and each signal beam in the set of signal beams being oriented at a
different respective angle along the linear axis as taught by Nath into the device of Irci for the benefit of
achieving beam steering to allow the phased antenna array to cover all angles within its field of view for
increased antenna gain (Para. 0057, Lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 6:
Irci discloses a finger scoop (18) in the lower housing (12B).
Irci as modified by Nath is silent an additional dielectric window in the finger scoop; and an
additional phased antenna array overlapping the additional dielectric window in the finger scoop.
However, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention and a matter of design consideration to incorporate an additional
dielectric window in the finger scoop; and an additional phased antenna array overlapping the additional
dielectric window in the finger scoop to accommodate multiple antennas for diversity and MIMO
operations. Furthermore, it has been held that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a
new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 7:
Irci as modified is silent on that the phased antenna array is configured to convey a signal beam
of radio-frequency signals at a frequency greater than 10 GHz through the dielectric window.
Nath discloses (in Figs. 10 and 11) the phased antenna array (40M) is configured to convey a
signal beam of radio-frequency signals at a frequency greater than 10 GHz through the dielectric window (202; See Abstract; Para. 0005, Lines 2-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed inventio to configure the phased antenna array to convey a signal beam of radio-
frequency signals at a frequency greater than 10 GHz through the dielectric window as taught Nath into
the device of Irci for the benefit of operating in millimeter wave communications bands and/or centimeter
wave communications bands to detect or estimate a range between device and external objects in the
surroundings of device (Para. 0038, Lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 8:
Irci as modified discloses the phased antenna array (40) is configured to adjust the signal beam
based on a position (using 42) of the upper housing (12A) relative to the lower housing (12B) about the
hinge axis (24).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irci et al. (US
20140361932; hereinafter Irci) in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20170110787; hereinafter Ouyang) as
applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210242565; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Irci discloses the lower housing (12B) has a left edge, a right edge opposite the left edge, a rear
edge at the hinge (56), and a front edge opposite the rear edge (See Fig. 1).
Irci as modified is silent on that the dielectric window being laterally interposed between the
keyboard and the left edge as required by claim 4; and the dielectric window being laterally interposed
between the keyboard and the right edge as required by claim 5.
Kim discloses (in Figs. 3A-3D) the dielectric window (310) being laterally interposed between the
keyboard (112) and the left edge (See Fig. 3A); the dielectric window (310) being laterally interposed
between the keyboard (112) and the right edge (See Fig. 3A).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to implement the dielectric window being laterally interposed between the keyboard and the left edge and the right edge as taught by Kim into the device of Irci for the benefit of
allowing millimeter wave RF EM transmissions may pass therethrough (Para. 0068, Lines 5-6; Lines 14-
17) to meet the increasing wireless operation demands needed while also providing for efficient use of
space to accommodate plural antenna systems (Para. 0017, Lines 5-7).
Claims 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guterman
et al. (US 20170212554; hereinafter Guterman) in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20170110787;
hereinafter Ouyang).
Regarding claim 9:
Guterman discloses (in Figs. 1, 12, 13 and 15) a laptop computer (10) comprising: a lower
housing (12B) having an upper metal wall (12B-1), a lower metal wall (12B-2) opposite the upper metal
wall (12B-1), and an angled metal wall (defined by the 106; See Fig. 15) that extends from the upper
metal wall (12B-1) towards the lower metal wall (12B-2) at an angle that is non-parallel and non-
perpendicular with respect to the upper metal wall (12B-1); a keyboard (16) on the upper metal wall (12B- 1); an upper housing (12A) coupled to the lower housing (12B) by a hinge (26); wherein the hinge (26) is
coupled to a first side (the hinged side of 12B along 22, at 26A and 26B) of the lower housing (12B) and the angled metal wall (defined by the 106 between 12B-1 and 12B-2 along 30L) is at a second side (along 30) of the lower housing (12B) opposite the first side (the hinged side of 12B along 22); a display (14) on the upper housing (12A).
Guterman is silent on that a dielectric window in the angled metal wall; and a phased antenna
array in the lower housing and overlapping the dielectric window.
Ouyang discloses (in Fig. 41) a dielectric window (114) in an angled metal wall (defined by 12R
and 12W); and a phased antenna array (170) in the lower housing (12R) and overlapping the dielectric
window (114).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to implement the dielectric window in the angled metal wall and a phased
antenna array in the lower housing and overlapping the dielectric window as taught by Ouyang into the
device of Guterman for the benefit of transmitting and receiving signals through the window (See Abstract; Para. 0008, Lines 2-5) such that the dielectric window may be used in configurations in which it
is desired to form a housing structure that prevents intrusion of environmental contaminants such as dust
and moisture (Para. 061, Lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 10:
Guterman discloses (in Fig. 15) the angled metal wall (defined by the 106) is planar (See Fig.).
Regarding claim 11:
Guterman discloses (in Fig. 15) that the angled metal wall (106) is curved (along 106P).
Regarding claim 12: Guterman discloses the hinge (26) has a hinge axis (22) and the phased antenna array (40) is a
linear array having antennas (40) arranged along a linear axis (along 22) parallel to the hinge axis (22).
Regarding claims 13 and 14:
Guterman discloses the lower housing (12B) has a left edge, a right edge opposite the left edge,
a rear edge at the hinge (26), and a front edge opposite the rear edge (See Fig. 1).
Guterman is silent on that the angled metal wall being at the left edge or the right edge; and the
angled metal wall being at the front edge.
However, Ouyang discloses an antenna array can be located on different sides of the lower
housing (Figs. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ouyang and make Guterman's device with the
angled metal wall being at the left edge or the right edge; and the angled metal wall being at the front
edge for the benefit of achieving a type of arrangement with unblocked phased antenna array that may be
switched into use and, once switched into use, the phased antenna array may use beam steering to
optimize wireless performance (Para. 0059, Lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 16:
Guterman as modified disclose an angle however does not specifically disclose the angle is
between 20 degrees and 60 degrees with respect to the upper metal wall.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably select an angle in that range based on
design choice an in order to have the same shape as the external housing wall to fit the form factor of the
device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guterman et al. (US
20170212554; hereinafter Guterman) in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20170110787; hereinafter
Ouyang) as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Vier et al. (US Pat. 8138978; hereinafter Vier).
Regarding claim 15:
Guterman as modified discloses the claimed feature except that the lower housing comprises a
finger scoop and the finger scoop comprises the metal angled.
Vier discloses (in Figs. 1 and 2) a lower housing (20) comprises a finger scoop (26).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ouyang and Guterman's device with lower housing
comprising a finger scoop further comprising angled metal wall as both elements are commonly placed
near the periphery of the lid and bottom housing and for the benefit of achieving a type of arrangement
with unblocked phased antenna array that may be switched into use and, once switched into use, the
phased antenna array may use beam steering to optimize wireless performance (Para. 0059, Lines 7-9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845