DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendments filed on 02/025/2026.
In the application claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are pending. Claims 9 and 19 have been canceled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claiming interpretation were fully considered; however, the arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues, he claim features in this application that do not use the word "means," such as "a transmit chain..." in claim 1, "the receive chain..." in claim 1, "the receive chain..." in claim 4, "the receive chain..." in claim 5, "the receive chain..." in claim 7, "the transmit chain is further configured to generate first information signals..." in claim 10, "the receive chain is further configured to demodulated the received RF signal..." in claim 10, "another receive chain..." in claim 10, "the transmit chain is further configured to generate the CW RF signal..." in claim 10, and "the receive chain is further configured to monitor the UHF band for the received RF signal..." in claim 10, should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim features recite sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Applicant respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a "transmit chain" in RF transceiver technology converts baseband digital or analog data into a high-frequency radio signal for wireless transmission, and typically includes structures such as digital-to-analog converters (DACs), mixers for frequency up-conversion, filters, and power amplifiers (PAs), enabling wireless communication. Moreover, the person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a "receive chain" in RF transceiver technology is a series of components, typically including structures such as amplifiers, filters, and mixers, that processes incoming analog signals for conversion into digital data for a device. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The “transmit chain” and “receive chain” have been disclosed in prior art as nothing more than software modules/instructions and therefore, carries no definite meaning as the name for structure, Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1349, 115 USPQ2d 1105, 1111 (Fed. Cir. 2015), See MPEP 2181(I)(A)). Claimed “transmit chain” and “receive chain” are generic placeholders (prong A) followed by a functional language i.e. “generate, demodulate, etc.” (prong B) that does not provide sufficient structure (prong C) for the claimed placeholders, and therefore, satisfies the three prong test (A, B, and C) for determining claim interpretation under statute 35 USC § 112 (f), See MPEP § 2181. The standard for a 112(f) placeholder term is "The standard is whether the words of the claim are understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure." Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1349, 115 USPQ2d 1105, 1111 (Fed. Cir. 2015)." (from MPEP 2181(I)(A)).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections were fully considered; however, the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections. Applicant argues, “a control circuit configured to selectively configure the transmit chain and the receive chain to operate in a first mode of operation associated with RFID communication and in a second mode of operation associated with cellular communication.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Oishi-Carrender and reduce to practice the subject matter of claim 10; therefore, it is Examiner’s opinion that claim 10 shall be allowed.
Claim Interpretation
“means for generating a continuous wave …” in claim 20 is interpreted to be “A transmit chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 402 that converts information to be transmitted to an RFID tag (e.g., query information) to an analog signal. A filter 404 filters the analog signal to provide a filtered signal to a mixer 406. The mixer 406 upconverts the analog signal based on a signal from a local oscillator (LO) 408. An amplifier 410 amplifies the upconverted signal and provides an output signal to the RFFE module 306 of FIG. 3.” See ¶ 0042;
“directional coupler means for coupling the CW RF signal …” in claim 20 is interpreted to be “the directional coupler circuitry 612 is configured in a reverse mode (reverse coupled mode) whereby signals received from the antenna at the directional coupler circuitry 612 are coupled (subject to the reverse coupling factor of the directional coupler circuitry 612) to an Rx input 622 of the transceiver.” See ¶ 0055;
“means for configuring the directional coupler means to couple a received RF signal …” in claim 20 in interpreted to be “control circuit 732 may include functionality to control the coupling mode of the directional coupler circuitry 612… the control circuit 732 may be implemented in a component other than the transceiver 702. For example, a processor of a UE that includes the transceiver 702 may implement some or all of the functionality of the control circuit 732.” See ¶ 0062;
“means for demodulating the received RF signal…” in claim 20 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“means for selectively configuring the means for generating and the means for receiving to operate in a first mode of operation associated with RFID communication and in a second mode of operation associated with cellular communication…” in claim 20, is interpreted to be, “control circuit 732 may include functionality to control the coupling mode of the directional coupler circuitry 612… the control circuit 732 may be implemented in a component other than the transceiver 702. For example, a processor of a UE that includes the transceiver 702 may implement some or all of the functionality of the control circuit 732.” See ¶ 0062.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a transmit chain configured to generate a continuous wave (CW) …” in claim 1 is interpreted to be “A transmit chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 402 that converts information to be transmitted to an RFID tag (e.g., query information) to an analog signal. A filter 404 filters the analog signal to provide a filtered signal to a mixer 406. The mixer 406 upconverts the analog signal based on a signal from a local oscillator (LO) 408. An amplifier 410 amplifies the upconverted signal and provides an output signal to the RFFE module 306 of FIG. 3.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain being configured to demodulate the received RF signal…” in claim 1 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain is further configured to perform an amplitude shift demodulation…” in claim 4 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain is further configured to subtract the first component from the received RF signal…” in claim 5 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain is further configured to: multiply the first signal output…” in claim 7 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“the transmit chain is further configured to generate the CW RF signal… generate first information signals …” in claim 10 is interpreted to be “A transmit chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 402 that converts information to be transmitted to an RFID tag (e.g., query information) to an analog signal. A filter 404 filters the analog signal to provide a filtered signal to a mixer 406. The mixer 406 upconverts the analog signal based on a signal from a local oscillator (LO) 408. An amplifier 410 amplifies the upconverted signal and provides an output signal to the RFFE module 306 of FIG. 3.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain is further configured to demodulate the received RF signal…” in claim 10 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“another receive chain is configured to receive second information signals from the network entity” in claim 10 is interpreted to be…
“the transmit chain is further configured to generate the CW RF signal…” in claim 10 is interpreted to be “A transmit chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 402 that converts information to be transmitted to an RFID tag (e.g., query information) to an analog signal. A filter 404 filters the analog signal to provide a filtered signal to a mixer 406. The mixer 406 upconverts the analog signal based on a signal from a local oscillator (LO) 408. An amplifier 410 amplifies the upconverted signal and provides an output signal to the RFFE module 306 of FIG. 3.” See ¶ 0042;
“the receive chain is further configured to monitor the UHF band for the received RF signal,” in claim 10 is interpreted to be “A receive chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes summer circuitry 412 that adds (or subtracts) the output of a vector modulator 414 to a received signal 426 (e.g., a reflected signal from the RFID tag 314 of FIG. 3 that was received at the RFFE module 306 via the antenna 304). A gain control circuit 416 adjusts the amplitude of the output of the summer circuitry 412. A low-noise amplifier (LNA) 418 amplifies the output of the gain control circuit 416. A mixer 420 down-converts the amplified signal based on a signal from the local oscillator 408. A low-pass filter 422 filters the down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 424 converts the analog filtered signal to a digital signal to enable further processing (e.g., decoding) of the received signal.” See ¶ 0042;
“generating, via a transmit chain, a continuous wave…” in claim 16 is interpreted to be “A transmit chain of the RFID reader circuitry 312 includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 402 that converts information to be transmitted to an RFID tag (e.g., query information) to an analog signal. A filter 404 filters the analog signal to provide a filtered signal to a mixer 406. The mixer 406 upconverts the analog signal based on a signal from a local oscillator (LO) 408. An amplifier 410 amplifies the upconverted signal and provides an output signal to the RFFE module 306 of FIG. 3.” See ¶ 0042;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US 2007/0194932 A1), in view of Carrender (US 2005/0156039 A1), and further in view of Loman, Clinton H. et al. (US 9,396,424 B1).
Consider claim 1, Oishi teaches an apparatus, (Oishi teaches, “FIG. 5 shows the detailed configuration of the RFID reader writer RW” See Oishi, Fig. 5 ¶ 0033) comprising:
a receive chain, (Oishi teaches, “amplifier 43, mixer 44, filter 46, amplifier 48, baseband circuit 50” See ¶ 0033);
a transmit chain (Oishi teaches, “oscillator 51, modulator 41, amplifier 42” See ¶ 0033) configured to generate a continuous wave (CW) radio frequency (RF) signal, Oishi teaches, “[t]he local oscillator 51 generates a high-frequency signal used as a carrier wave for the radio wave transmitted and received via the antenna 14. Under the control of the baseband circuit 50, the oscillation frequency of the local oscillator 51 is adjustable as the carrier frequency of the radio wave transmitted and received via the antenna 14.” See ¶ 0034, “The RFID tag 23 receives the radio wave, which is the non-modulated carrier wave [i.e. continuous wave] transmitted from the antenna 14 of the RFID reader writer RW” See ¶ 0030; and
a directional coupler circuit (52) configured to couple the CW RF signal to an antenna (14), Oishi teaches, “[t]he directional coupler 52 guides the radio wave to the antenna 14 via the attenuator 16. The antenna 14 radiates the radio wave in space to transmit it to the RFID tag 23.” See ¶ 0034;
the directional coupler circuit (52) being configurable to couple a received RF signal from the antenna to the receive chain, Oishi teaches, “[t]he directional coupler 52 guides the radio wave received by the antenna 14 to the low-noise amplifier 43 through the attenuator 16.” See ¶ 0035;
the received RF signal that is based on the CW RF signal, Oishi teaches, “The RFID tag 23 receives the radio wave, which is the non-modulated carrier wave transmitted from the antenna 14 of the RFID reader writer RW, and is activated in response to the interrogation by this radio wave. To be precise, the received radio wave is used as power to make the RFID tag 23 operable, regardless of whether it has been modulated or non-modulated. After the activation, the RFID tag 23 demodulates the radio wave. When identification information is acquired as a result of the demodulation, it is stored in the memory. Thereafter, the RFID tag 23 again receives a radio wave, that is a non-modulated carrier wave. Accordingly, the RFID tag 23 performs backscatter modulation to superimpose the identification information from the memory on the non-modulated carrier wave, and transmits the backscatter-modulated radio wave to the RFID reader writer RW.” See ¶ 0030, Therefore, the received signal from the tag is based on a non-modulated carrier wave. Oishi teaches, “[t]he backscatter-modulated radio wave is received by the antenna 14 of the RFID reader writer RW and input to the reader writer circuit 15. The reader writer circuit 15 demodulates the radio wave to confirm the identification information as a result of the writing.” See ¶ 0031;
the receive chain being configured to demodulate the received RF signal to recover RF identification (RFID) information from the received RF signal, Oishi teaches, “[t]he baseband circuit 50 performs a demodulation process to acquire the identification information from the in-phase baseband signal and the quadrature-phase baseband signal.” See ¶ 0035
Oishi’s non-modulated carrier wave implies a continuous wave (CW), nonetheless, in an analogous art, Carrender teaches, “an RFID reader designed to use a directional coupler to receive signals from an antenna which is connected to a radio frequency source of the reader to transmit signals.” See ¶ 0009. “the Reader provides power to one or more passive Tags with continuous wave (CW) RF energy.” See ¶ 0025.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Oishi and use well-known continuous wave to power the RFID tags in an effort utilize the passive and semi-active RFID tags, as suggested by Carrender, “RF ID system using either passive or semi-passive active backscatter transponders as Tags.” See ¶ 0018.
a control circuit configured to selectively configure the transmit chain and the receive chain to operate in a first mode of operation associated with RFID communication, Oishi teaches, “The radio wave is power-amplified by the power amplifier 42 and supplied to the directional coupler 52. The directional coupler 52 guides the radio wave to the antenna 14 via the attenuator 16. The antenna 14 radiates the radio wave in space to transmit it to the RFID tag 23.” See ¶ 0034;
With respect to, the control circuit configured to selectively configure the transmit chain and the receive chain to operate in a second mode of operation associated with cellular communication, in an analogous art, Loman teaches, “mobile communication device comprises a motherboard comprising a communication bus, a cellular radio frequency transceiver connected to the communication bus of the motherboard, a plurality of antennas, at least one of the antennas communicatively coupled to the cellular radio frequency transceiver, and a processor connected to the communication bus of the motherboard. The device further comprises a radio frequency identity (RFID) chip connected to the communication bus of the motherboard, wherein the RFID chip comprises a memory, provides wireless read access to the memory, and provides write access to the memory to the communication bus of the motherboard. The device further comprises an antenna switch to selectably couple at least one of the antennas to the RFID chip and an application that selects the antenna switch to couple one of the antennas to the RFID chip based on a state of the mobile communication device.” Col. 1 lines 38-54. Loman teaches, “[t]he selected switching of antennas 162-168 to the RFID chip 104 may also be determined, at least in part, based on a communication state of the cellular RF transceiver 122. For example, when the cellular RF transceiver 122 is communicating via the first antenna 162, the application 126 or the logic processor 116 may decouple the RFID chip 104 from the first antenna 162 via the switch 160… Alternatively, in this mode, the application 126 or the logic processor 116 may select to decouple the RFID chip 104 from all antennas 162-168 while the cellular RF transceiver 122 is communicating… based on the mobile communication device 102 being engaged in voice communication via the cellular RF transceiver 122… based on the mobile communication device 102 being engaged in data communication via the cellular RF transceiver 122” See col. 9 line 56 – col. 10 line 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Oishi-Carrender and allow the processor to selectively switch between RFID communication and cellular communication as suggested by Loman in an effort to “reusing infrastructure of a mobile communication device to improve the performance of an RFID chip coupled to the mobile communication device. The mobile communication device may comprise a plurality of antennas that may desirably be selectably coupled to the RFID chip during different operating modes.” See col. 3 lines 53-58.
Consider claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
With respect to, the received RF signal comprises an [[amplitude shift]] modulated reflection of the CW RF signal, Oishi teaches, “RFID tag 23 performs backscatter modulation to superimpose the identification information from the memory on the non-modulated carrier wave, and transmits the backscatter-modulated radio wave to the RFID reader writer RW.” See ¶ 0030 Oishi teaches, “[t]he backscatter-modulated radio wave is received by the antenna 14 of the RFID reader writer RW and input to the reader writer circuit 15.” See ¶ 0031; and
the receive chain is further configured to perform an [[amplitude shift]] demodulation of the received RF signal, “a receiver RX which demodulates a radio wave received by the antenna 14 to acquire at least identification information” See ¶ 0033;
Oishi does not teach, amplitude shift modulated,
In an analogous art, Carrender teaches, “[t]he Reader transmits information to the field by amplitude modulation using a Reader-to-Tag encoding scheme. On completion of the transmission, the Reader ceases modulation and maintains RF to power the Tags during the reply phase. Tags communicate with the Reader via backscatter modulation during this period.” See ¶ 0025
Carrender does not teach, amplitude shift modulated; previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art to use amplitude shift modulated for RF communication with the RFID tags. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 5, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the received RF signal comprises a first component [noise component] and a second component [backscatter-modulated component], Oishi teaches, “a radio wave, which has been backscatter-modulated… [t]he first mixer 44 mixes the radio wave output from the low-noise amplifier 43 with the high-frequency signal output from the local oscillator 51 as a carrier component of the radio wave, and outputs an in-phase baseband signal obtained as a result of the mixing. At the first low-pass filter 46, a noise component of an unnecessary frequency band is removed from the in-phase baseband signal.” See ¶ 0035;
the first component comprises phase noise due to leakage of the CW RF signal at the receive chain, Oishi teaches, “a noise component of an unnecessary frequency band is removed from the in-phase baseband signal.” See ¶ 0035;
the second component comprises an [[amplitude shift]] modulated signal based on the CW RF signal, Oishi teaches, “a radio wave, which has been backscatter-modulated” See ¶ 0035; and
the receive chain is further configured to subtract the first component from the received RF signal and recover the RFID information from the [[amplitude shift]] modulated signal, Oishi teaches, “At the first low-pass filter 46, a noise component of an unnecessary frequency band is removed from the in-phase baseband signal… At the second low-pass filter 47, noise component of an unnecessary frequency band is removed from the quadrature-phase baseband signal. Then, the quadrature-phase baseband signal is amplified by the second low-frequency amplifier 49, and supplied to the baseband circuit 50. The baseband circuit 50 performs a demodulation process to acquire the identification information from the in-phase baseband signal and the quadrature-phase baseband signal.” See ¶ 0035.
Oishi does not teach, amplitude shift modulated,
In an analogous art, Carrender teaches, “The Reader transmits information to the field by amplitude modulation using a Reader-to-Tag encoding scheme. On completion of the transmission, the Reader ceases modulation and maintains RF to power the Tags during the reply phase. Tags communicate with the Reader via backscatter modulation during this period.” See ¶ 0025
Carrender does not teach, amplitude shift modulated; previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art to use amplitude shift modulated for RF communication with the RFID tags. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a local oscillator (51), wherein:
a first mixer (44) of the transmit chain generates the CW RF signal from a first signal output by the local oscillator (51), Oishi teaches, “local oscillator 51 generates a high-frequency signal used as a carrier wave for the radio wave transmitted and received via the antenna 14.” See ¶ 0034, Oishi teaches, “The first mixer 44 mixes the radio wave output from the low-noise amplifier 43 with the high-frequency signal output from the local oscillator 51 as a carrier component of the radio wave, and outputs an in-phase baseband signal obtained as a result of the mixing. At the first low-pass filter 46, a noise component of an unnecessary frequency band is removed from the in-phase baseband signal. Then, the in-phase baseband signal is amplified by the first low-frequency amplifier 48, and supplied to the baseband circuit 50.” See ¶ 0035; and
a second mixer (45) of the receive chain down-converts the received RF signal using the first signal output by the local oscillator (51), Oishi teaches, “second mixer 45 mixes the radio wave output from the low-noise amplifier 43 with a high-frequency signal, which has been output from the local oscillator 51 as a carrier component of the radio wave and given the phase difference of 90̊ by the phase shifter 53, and outputs a quadrature-phase baseband signal as a result of the mixing.” See ¶ 0035.
Consider claim 7, the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the receive chain is further configured to:
multiply the first signal output (carrier wave) by the local oscillator (51) and the received RF signal (backscatter-modulated signal) to recover the RFID information, Oishi teaches, “local oscillator 51 generates a high-frequency signal used as a carrier wave for the radio wave transmitted and received via the antenna 14.” See ¶ 0034, Oishi teaches, “the in-phase baseband signal is … supplied to the baseband circuit 50… the quadrature-phase baseband signal … supplied to the baseband circuit 50. The baseband circuit 50 performs a demodulation [i.e. multiplying with carrier wave] process to acquire the identification information from the in-phase baseband signal and the quadrature-phase baseband signal.” See ¶ 0035
Consider claim 8, the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the local oscillator (51), the transmit chain, (Oishi teaches, “oscillator 51, modulator 41, amplifier 42” See ¶ 0033) and the receive chain (Oishi teaches, “amplifier 43, mixer 44, filter 46, amplifier 48” See ¶ 0033); are co-located on an integrated circuit (15), Oishi teaches, reader writer circuit 15 comprises all of the above elements. Previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art to incorporate these elements on an integrated circuit. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 12, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the transmit chain is further configured to generate the CW RF signal for transmission on an ultra-high frequency (UHF) band, Carrender teaches, “the RF transport layer for the communication between the Reader and the Tags involves UHF operations.” See ¶ 0026; and
the receive chain is further configured to monitor the UHF band for the received RF signal, Carrender teaches, “the RF transport layer for the communication between the Reader and the Tags involves UHF operations.” See ¶ 0026
Consider claim 13, the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the UHF band comprises at least one of: [[a global system for mobile communications (GSM) band; ]]or a frequency range from 800 megahertz (MHz) to 1 gigahertz (GHz), Carrender teaches, the communication protocol can be modulated in a carrier signal of a frequency from 400 MHz to 2.45 GHz.
Consider claim 16, a method, comprising:
generating, via a transmit chain, a continuous wave (CW) radio frequency (RF) signal;
coupling the CW RF signal to an antenna via a directional coupler circuit;
configuring the directional coupler circuit to couple a received RF signal that is based on the CW RF signal from the antenna to a receive chain; and
demodulating the received RF signal to recover RF identification (RFID) information from the received RF signal, See rejection of claim 1.
selectively configuring a transmit chain and the receive chain to operate in a first mode of operation associated with RFID communication or in a second mode of operation associated with cellular communication, See rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US 2007/0194932 A1) in view of Carrender (US 2005/0156039 A1), in view of Loman (US 9,396,424 B1), and further in view of Nakamura (US 2014/0232407 A1).
Consider claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1,
With respect to, wherein the control circuit is further configured to output a control signal to configure the directional coupler circuit in a reverse mode for an RFID mode of operation, Oishi teaches, “a baseband circuit 50 which controls the transmitter TX and the receiver RX.” See ¶ 0033 Oishi teaches, “The radio wave is power-amplified by the power amplifier 42 and supplied to the directional coupler 52. The directional coupler 52 guides the radio wave to the antenna 14 via the attenuator 16. The antenna 14 radiates the radio wave in space to transmit it to the RFID tag 23.” See ¶ 0034. Oishi does not teach a control circuit configured to output a control signal to configure the directional coupler circuit in a reverse mode, nonetheless, in an analogous art, Nakamura teaches, “apparatus for measuring radio frequency output for the MRI apparatus, including: a directional coupler variable in degree of coupling, and configured to attenuate a radio frequency signal which is generated in a radio frequency signal generator and amplified in a radio frequency power amplifier; a signal controller configured to control the degree of coupling of the directional coupler; and a converter configured to perform a digital conversion of the radio frequency signal from the directional coupler so as to output a digital signal.” See ¶ 0023, Nakamura teaches, “To control change in degree of coupling of the directional coupler 44A, the input-level information of the signal inputted from the modulator 42 to the RF power amplifier 43 is inputted into the signal controller 49. The signal controller 49 changes the degree of coupling of the directional coupler 44A based on the input-level information.” See ¶ 0101.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Oishi-Carrender-Loman and have a signal controller changes the degree of coupling of the directional coupler as suggested by Nakamura in an effort to effectively select the mode of operation of the transceiver.
Consider claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control circuit is further configured to output the control signal to configure the directional coupler circuit in a forward mode for [[a power control measurement mode of operation for cellular communication]] or a voltage standing wave ratio (VSWR) measurement mode of operation [[for cellular communication]], Oishi teaches, “the voltage standing wave ratio (VSWR) obtained when the label tape 2 is close to the antenna 14” See ¶ 0041. Previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art to configure the directional coupler circuit for a voltage standing wave ratio (VSWR) measurement mode of operation for cellular communication. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 17, the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating a control signal to configure the directional coupler circuit in a reverse mode for an RFID mode of operation, See rejection of claim 2.
Consider claim 18, the method of claim 17, further comprising: generating the control signal to configure the directional coupler circuit in a forward mode for a power control measurement mode of operation for cellular communication or a voltage standing wave ratio (VSWR) measurement mode of operation for cellular communication, See rejection of claim 3.
Consider claim 20, an apparatus, comprising:
means for generating a continuous wave (CW) radio frequency (RF) signal;
directional coupler means for coupling the CW RF signal to an antenna;
means (Oishi’s baseband circuit 50 and controller 49 taught by Nakamura) for configuring the directional coupler means to couple a received RF signal that is based on the CW RF signal from the antenna to a means for receiving; and
means for demodulating the received RF signal to recover RF identification (RFID) information from the received RF signal, every limitation of claim 20 have been addressed in the rejections of claims 1 and 2,
and means for selectively configuring the means for generating and the means for receiving to operate in a first mode of operation associated with RFID communication and in a second mode of operation associated with cellular communication, See rejection of claims 1.
Claim(s) 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US 2007/0194932 A1) in view of Carrender (US 2005/0156039 A1), in view of Loman (US 9,396,424 B1), and further in view of Horn (US 2022/0200147 A1).
Consider claim 11, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
configure the receiver chain to perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on an RF channel, in an analogous art, Horn teaches, “beam steering at a multi-antenna device (e.g., a user equipment (UE)” See ¶ 0026, Horn teaches, “a plurality of hybrid couplers are respectively coupled to the plurality of phase shifters. Each hybrid coupler is further coupled to two antenna elements of a plurality of antenna elements” See ¶ 0028; Horn teaches, “wireless communications system may further include a Wi-Fi access point (AP) 150 in communication with Wi-Fi stations (STAs) 152 via communication links 154 in a 5 GHz unlicensed frequency spectrum. When communicating in an unlicensed frequency spectrum, the STAs 152 [i.e. mobile phones See Fig. 1 and ¶ 0044]/AP 150 may perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) prior to communicating in order to determine whether the channel is available.” See ¶ 0033, Horn teaches, “UE 104 that may include … transceiver 1102” See ¶ 0109, Horn teaches, “Transceiver 1102 may include at least one receiver 1106 and at least one transmitter 1108… Receiver 1106 may be, for example, a radio frequency (RF) receiver. In an aspect, receiver 1106 may receive signals transmitted by at least one base station 102… A suitable example of transmitter 1108 may include, but is not limited to, an RF transmitter.” See ¶ 0112 and
configure the transmit chain to transmit the CW RF signal responsive to the CCA procedure indicating that the RF channel is available for use, See Horn ¶ 0033, and 0112.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Oishi-Carrender-Loman and have receiver and transmitter chains to perform CCA, as suggested by Horn in an effort of avoid RF collision and reliable RF communication.
Consider claim 15, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment for cellular communication, Horn teaches, user equipment Examples of UEs 104 include a cellular phone, a smart phone. See ¶ 0041.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US 2007/0194932 A1) in view of Carrender (US 2005/0156039 A1), in view of Loman (US 9,396,424 B1), and further in view of Krishnan (US 2014/0233618 A1).
Consider claim 14, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a feedback receive (FB Rx) receiver including the receive chain, in an analogous art, Krishnan teaches, “apparatus for self-testing of a RF chipset. The apparatus includes an RF chipset to be tested, which has an internal modem and an internal signal generator. The apparatus further includes a processor for processing self-testing of a transmit chain and a processor for processing self-testing of a diversity receiver chain.” See ¶ 0007, Krishnan teaches, “the techniques described herein may be utilized in various application involving wireless transmissions, … RFID,” See ¶ 0026, Krishnan teaches, “self-testing and self-calibration of a radio frequency (RF) chipset is provided by the embodiments described here. Many RF chipsets include a feedback receiver which can be used to capture the transmitted signal for analysis. To accomplish this, self-testing may be performed by moving all modulation and emissions testing into the feedback (FB) receiver. This allows for I and Q capture to occur and be processed on the mobile device.” See ¶ 0028.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Oishi-Carrender-Loman and have a feedback receiver as suggested by Krishnan in an effort to capture the transmitted signal for analysis and effectively remove noise from the signal and demodulate the information from the carrier wave and improve factory throughput.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heide, Patric et al. (US 2005/0012653 A1) teaches, systems for determining the separation between a base station and a transponder, whereby the base station includes an oscillating signal source, for generating a signal and a transmission device for broadcasting the signal. The transponder includes a receiving device, for receiving the signal from the base station, an oscillator, for generating a signal which is phase-coherent therewith and a transmission device for broadcasting the phase-coherent signal. The base station furthermore includes a receiver device, for receiving the phase-coherent signal from the transponder and a separation determination device for determining the distance between base station and transponder. The system and components may be improved whereby the oscillator in the transponder is energized with the received signal in order to generate a quasi-phase-coherent signal. See Abstract.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Omer S Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686