DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, filed on 4/27/2026, is acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1 and 9 are independent. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2025 and 7/9/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the claims on 12/20/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goeringer, et al. [US 20170206523] in view of Schei, et al. [US 20230041017].
As per claim 1: Goeringer, et al. teaches a method for securely providing a remote desktop session comprising:
at a user machine, receiving a video stream including graphics content of the remote desktop session [Goeringer: para 0178; Media viewer is a client application, a browser, display device, or an equivalent electronic device or software application configured to allow viewing of distributed asset content], the video stream being encrypted [Goeringer: para 0188, 0193; encryption of the image or video stream] and characterized by a frame rate that is variable; [Goeringer: para 0063; exchange media in further consideration of such parameters as a variable exchange rate]
**at the user machine, reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream; and [**rejected under the secondary reference, discussion below]
delivering the video stream to a local application configured to generate control signals [Goeringer: para 0188; for digital image/video assets, images or video frames from a camera may be stored locally, and then serialized over in associated network. See also claim 13; the electronic media viewer is 1 of a client application, a browser, an audio display device, a visual display device, and an audiovisual display device. The image/video stored locally and client application suggest the delivering the video stream to a local application to generate control signals] that cause a graphics processing unit (GPU) of the user machine to render the video stream to a display of the user machine. [Goeringer: para 0203]
Goeringer discloses media viewer is a client application, a browser, display device, or an equivalent electronic device or software application configured to allow viewing of distributed asset content [Goeringer: para 0178]. For digital image/video assets, images or video frames from a camera may be stored locally, and then serialized over in associated network. The images/video frames is directly streamed immediately after encryption [Goeringer: para 0188]. However, Goeringer did not clearly teach “reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream”.
Schei teaches the client monitoring module is further configured to analyse the video frames showing the at least one object of interest and associated action and video stream in real-time to assess a threat. The video stream may include video frames of the first user that are being captured and streamed by the video monitoring device in real-time [Schei: para 0044]. The exchange of videos among the client monitoring module, the server, and the second device is encrypted [Schei: para 0047]. Further, the client monitoring module compress the video, reduce the frame per second, encrypt, and send a copy of the video to the server that may be located in the office of enterprise. Further, the copy of the video is saved and shared with the server when the probability of an object of interest or behavior is above a predefined threshold [Schei: para 0110]. Thus, Schei obviously suggest reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream “by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream”. One would be motivated to take a preventive action with an agile action of interest detection method capable of running even on legacy laptop devices with limited computational power [Schei: para 0107, 0112].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schei with Goeringer to teach “reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream” for the reason to provide an agile action of interest detection method capable of running even on legacy laptop devices with limited computational power in order for preventive action to prevent threat [Schei: para 0107, 0112].
Claim 2: Goeringer: para 0188, 0193 [encryption of the image or video stream]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein each frame of the video stream that is received at the user machine has been encrypted individually.
Claim 3: Goeringer: para 0138, 0188; discussing the method of claim 1, further comprising: at the user machine, segmenting the encrypted frames into groups and packaging the groups as individual containers, each of the individual containers including a sequence of frames that spans a playback period of less than one second.
Claim 4: Goeringer: para 0144, 0154-0156 [the user that utilize/associated to a blockchain with DRM suggest DRM client. Various formats associates to the various forms digital data, such as encoding and/or compression regarding still and video data formats or analog to digital converter or authentication of digital data of processed format]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein the local application is a digital rights management (DRM) client and the method further comprises: determining a format of encrypted data expected by the DRM client; and at the user machine, segmenting and packaging the video stream according to the format expected by the DRM client.
Claim 5: Goeringer: para 0063, 0081; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein reducing variability in the frame rate entails eliminating variability in the frame rate.
Claim 6: Goeringer: para 0082; discussing the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a symmetric key at an embedded controller of the user machine; based at least in part on user initiation of the remote desktop session: transmitting the symmetric key to a remote server hosting the remote desktop session; generating an encrypted symmetric key by locally encrypting the symmetric key with a private device key pre-shared between the embedded controller and a GPU of the user machine [Goeringer: para 0203]; and sharing the encrypted symmetric key with a DRM client installed on the user machine. [Goeringer: para 0117, 0136]
Claim 7: Objected
Claim 8: Objected
As per claim 9: Goeringer, et al. teaches a system for securely providing a remote desktop session, the system comprising:
a remote-display protocol client stored in memory of a user machine that: [Goeringer: para 0039]
receives a video stream including graphics content of the remote desktop session [Goeringer: para 0178; Media viewer is a client application, a browser, display device, or an equivalent electronic device or software application configured to allow viewing of distributed asset content], the video stream being encrypted [Goeringer: para 0188, 0193; encryption of the image or video stream] and characterized by a frame rate that is variable; [Goeringer: para 0063; exchange media in further consideration of such parameters as a variable exchange rate]
**reduces variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream; [**rejected under the secondary reference, discussion below]
creates packaged segments of the video stream by packing segments of the encrypted frames into containers consistent with a format compatible with a local digital rights management (DRM) client; and [Goeringer: para 0115, 0144; the user that utilize/associated to a blockchain with DRM suggest DRM client. Para 0154-0156; various formats associates to the various forms digital data, such as encoding and/or compression regarding still and video data formats or analog to digital converter or authentication of digital data of processed format]
delivers the packaged segments to the local DRM client, the local DRM client being configured to generate control signals [Goeringer: para 0188; for digital image/video assets, images or video frames from a camera may be stored locally, and then serialized over in associated network. More examples on para 0133, 0154, claim 13. The image/video stored locally and client application suggest the delivering the video segments to a local DRM client to generate control signals] that cause a graphics processing unit (GPU) to present the video stream to a display of the user machine. [Goeringer: para 0203]
Goeringer discloses media viewer is a client application, a browser, display device, or an equivalent electronic device or software application configured to allow viewing of distributed asset content [Goeringer: para 0178]. For digital image/video assets, images or video frames from a camera may be stored locally, and then serialized over in associated network. The images/video frames is directly streamed immediately after encryption [Goeringer: para 0188]. However, Goeringer did not clearly teach “reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream”.
Schei teaches the client monitoring module is further configured to analyse the video frames showing the at least one object of interest and associated action and video stream in real-time to assess a threat. The video stream may include video frames of the first user that are being captured and streamed by the video monitoring device in real-time [Schei: para 0044]. The exchange of videos among the client monitoring module, the server, and the second device is encrypted [Schei: para 0047]. Further, the client monitoring module compress the video, reduce the frame per second, encrypt, and send a copy of the video to the server that may be located in the office of enterprise. Further, the copy of the video is saved and shared with the server when the probability of an object of interest or behavior is above a predefined threshold [Schei: para 0110]. Thus, Schei obviously suggest reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream “by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream”. One would be motivated to take a preventive action with an agile action of interest detection method capable of running even on legacy laptop devices with limited computational power [Schei: para 0107, 0112].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schei with Goeringer to teach “reducing variability in the frame rate of the video stream by duplicating select encrypted frames of the video stream and inserting the duplicated encrypted frames into the video stream” for the reason to provide an agile action of interest detection method capable of running even on legacy laptop devices with limited computational power in order for preventive action to prevent threat [Schei: para 0107, 0112].
Claim 10: Goeringer: para 0188, 0193 [encryption of the image or video stream]; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein each frame of the video stream has been encrypted individually.
Claim 11: Goeringer: para 0138, 0188; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein each of the containers includes a sequence of frames that spans a playback period of less than one second.
Claim 12: Goeringer: para 0188, 0193 [encryption of the image or video stream] in view of Schei: para 0098, 0110 [suggesting “inserts the duplicate encrypted frames at select locations to make the frame rate constant”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein the remote-display protocol client inserts the duplicate encrypted frames at select locations to make the frame rate constant.
Claim 13: Goeringer: para 0124 [access based on usage rights or restrictions]; discussing the system of claim 9, further comprising: embedded controller of the user machine that: enters a secure mode in response to user input, the secure mode disabling communications between an operating system of the user machine and the embedded controller; while operating in the secure mode, generates a symmetric key and transmits the symmetric key to a virtual machine hosting the remote desktop session; generates an encrypted symmetric key by encrypting the symmetric key with a private device key pre-shared between the embedded controller and a GPU of the user machine [Goeringer: para 0045]; and shares the encrypted symmetric key with the GPU. [Goeringer: para 0113, 0123; various data shared]
Claim 14: Objected
Claim 15: Objected
Conclusion
Leynna Truvan
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/L.TT/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435