DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, on pages 2-3 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Pati fails to discloses the claim limitation of “at the server: accessing the service endpoint represented by the URL for performing validation of the signature; and in accordance with receiving a positive validation result for the signature, storing data for one or more parameters associated with the entity;”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagreed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner reasonably treats the server in this case as a system server that includes the mobile device [el. 203], Public API [el. 208], items status database [el. 212], and the public server [el. 210], thus the server accessing the service endpoint represented by the URL for performing validation of the signature (para. 40) as illustrated in Fig. 2, and also using items status database to store the data of the scanned bar code associated ACME Inc [el. 1, el. 102] (para. 40-41). As such, the entire claim limitation of claim 1 is met by Pati. Therefore, the rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pati et al (US 2022/0366429 A1, hereinafter refers as Pati).
Regarding claim 1, Pati discloses a method for receiving secured data, comprising:
at a mobile device comprising an optical sensor (Fig. 2, el. 203, para. 38, to scan to the QR code):
detecting an optical code by the optical sensor, wherein the optical code is physically associated with an entity that is being monitored; decoding a URL encoded in the optical code, wherein the URL comprises a signature and comprises an indication of a service endpoint for performing validation of the signature (para. 39-40, Fig. 1, the QR code is associated with an Entity of “ACME INC,” the server to validate the digital signature);
and transmitting the URL to a server; and at the server: accessing the service endpoint represented by the URL for performing validation of the signature; and in accordance with receiving a positive validation result for the signature, storing data for one or more parameters associated with the entity (para. 39-41, a system server that includes the mobile device [el. 203], Public API [el. 208], items status database [el. 212], and the public server [el. 210], thus the server accessing the service endpoint represented by the URL for performing validation of the signature (para. 40) as illustrated in Fig. 2, and also using items status database to store the data of the scanned bar code associated ACME Inc [el. 1, el. 102] , para. 40-41).
Regarding claim 2, Pati discloses wherein the URL comprises the data for the one or more parameters associated with the entity (Fig. 1, para. 40).
Regarding claim 3, Pati discloses wherein the signature is generated based on the data for the one or more parameters (para. 40, a digital signature).
Regarding claim 4, Pati discloses wherein the data comprises measurement data associated with the entity (para. 40, the scanned result and location data are associated the company, ACME INC).
Regarding claim 5, Pati discloses wherein the data comprises identifying information associated with the entity (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Pati discloses wherein the service endpoint and the server are associated with a same domain (Fig. 1, para. 39-40).
Regarding claim 7, Pati discloses wherein accessing the service endpoint for performing validation of the signature comprises sending the signature to the service endpoint (para. 37-40).
Regarding claim 8, Pati discloses wherein accessing the service endpoint comprises sending the data for the one or more parameters to the service endpoint (para. 39-40).
Regarding claim 9, Pati discloses wherein accessing the service endpoint comprises sending authentication information used for authenticating into the service endpoint (para. 39-40).
Regarding claim 10, Pati discloses in accordance with receiving the positive validation result and prior to storing the data for the one or more parameters, extracting the data from the URL (para. 38-40).
Regarding claim 11, Pati discloses in accordance with receiving the positive validation result and prior to storing the data for the one or more parameters, receiving the data from the service endpoint (para. 38-40).
Regarding claim 12, Pati discloses at the server, prior to accessing the service endpoint, determining that a domain of the service endpoint is a trusted domain (para. 32-37).
Regarding claim 13, Pati discloses wherein determining that the domain is a trusted domain comprises comparing the domain against a list of trusted domains, wherein the list of trusted domains is determined based on a profile corresponding to the URL (para. 32-37).
Regarding claim 14, Pati discloses at an optical code display device, generating and displaying the optical code (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pati in view of Ando et al. (US 2023/0273968 A1, hereinafter refers a s Ando).
Regarding claim 15, Pati discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Pati does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical code display device automatically updates the optical code at predetermined time intervals;
Ando teaches wherein the optical code display device automatically updates the optical code at predetermined time intervals (para. 514, QR code is periodically updated);
It would be obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art before the invention to modify Pati to include Ando in order to allow the system to update the changes as such increasing viewer’s experience.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pati in view of Kilmer et al. (US 2020/0193370 A1, hereinafter refers as Kilmer)
Regarding claim 16, Pati discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Pati does not explicitly disclose further comprising: at the mobile device prior to detecting the optical code, detecting a second optical code indicating a network address of the server;
Kilmer teaches at the mobile device prior to detecting the optical code, detecting a second optical code indicating a network address of the server (para. 9, para. 19);
It would be obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art before the invention to modify Pati to include Kilmer in order to allow the system to positively identify its location.
Regarding claim 17, Pati in view of Kilmer discloses in response to detecting the second optical code, displaying a prompt to detect the optical code (Kilmer, para. 9, para. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Pati in view of Kilmer transmitting an identifying value of a second entity to the server, wherein the identifying value is decoded from the second optical code, and wherein the second entity is associated with the entity that is being monitored (Kilmer, para. 9, para. 19).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAI Y CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425