Status of the Application
Claims 17-38 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2024 and 12/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17 – 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 17-38 are drawn to a machine. As such, claims 17-38 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 17: A system comprising:
a bed comprising a mattress;
a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress;
a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory;
a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display;
a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory;
and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system;
wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user;
configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress;
configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data;
and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed;
wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user;
configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account;
maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account;
transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account;
and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account;
wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data;
display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data;
wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
Independent Claim 24: A system comprising:
a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed;
a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display;
a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display;
and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is:
associated with a first account registered for the user;
configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress;
configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed;
wherein the watch is:
associated with a second account registered for the user;
configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user;
wherein the server-system is configured to:
maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account;
maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account;
transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account;
and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account;
wherein the watch is configured to:
display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data;
display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data;
wherein the phone is configured to:
display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
Independent Claim 31: A system comprising: a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display, the watch communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling;
a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed;
a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory;
a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; and
a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory;
wherein the bed controller is:
associated with a first account registered for the user;
configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress;
configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed;
wherein the watch is:
associated with a second account registered for the user;
configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user;
wherein the server-system is configured to:
maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account;
maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account;
transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account;
wherein the watch is configured to:
display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data;
display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data;
wherein the phone is configured to:
display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
Independent Claim 32: A system comprising: a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory, the server- system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling:
a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed;
a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory;
a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; and
a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display;
wherein the bed controller is:
associated with a first account registered for the user;
configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress;
configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed;
wherein the watch is:
associated with a second account registered for the user;
configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user;
wherein the server-system is configured to:
maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account;
maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account;
transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account;
wherein the watch is configured to:
display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data;
display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data;
wherein the phone is configured to:
display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, a first account registered for the user, receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress, generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, receive instructions to control the bed, a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account, transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account, send the sleep-data from the second account, display the exercise-data, and display the sleep-data are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claims 18, 25, and 33 are directed to display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep and bed-out time that represents a time that the user existed the bed after the sleep.
The dependent claims 19, 26, and 34 are directed to display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep.
The dependent claims 20, 27, and 35 are directed to display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep.
The dependent claims 21, 28, and 36 are directed to display a second circular element that uses second arced line segments to show a sleep-score on an integer scale.
The dependent claims 22, 29, and 37 are directed to simultaneously display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep, display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 18-23, 25-30, and 33-38 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 17, 24, 31, and 32 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claims 17, 24, and 31-32 recite the use of a bed comprising a mattress, only being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). Additionally, the claims recite the use of a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress, only as being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). Furthermore, the claims recite the use of a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, in this case to associated with a first account registered for the user, receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress, generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, receive instructions to control the bed. Claims 17, 24, and 31-32 further recite the use of a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory, in this case to maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account, transfer sleep data from the first account to the second account, and send sleep-data. The claims also recite the use of one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system. The bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 17, 21, 24, 28, and 31-32 recite the use of a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display, in this case to display sleep-data, display sleep score on an integer scale, only recites the phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 17-20, 22, 24-27, 29, and 31-32 recite the use of a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display, in this case to associated with a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, display exercise and sleep data, display a bed-in time, bed-out time, a plurality of sleep stages, sleep efficiency information for one night of sleep, only recites the a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 23, 30, and 38 recite the use of the bed controller is further configured to store, in association with the first account, calibration information for use with the bed sensor, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as the bed comprising a mattress, bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress, bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display, watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display, server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system, the bed controller is further configured to store, in association with the first account, calibration information for use with the bed sensor in independent claims 17, 24, and 31-32, and dependent claims 18-23, 25-30, and 33-38 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraph [0003] acknowledges that the “a bed is a piece of furniture used as a location to sleep or relax. Many modern beds include a soft mattress on a bed frame. The mattress may include springs, foam material, and/or an air chamber to support the weight of one or more occupants”. Paragraphs [0030-0031] disclose “the bed 112 can be controlled by a computer, tablet, smart phone, or other device in wired or wireless communication with the bed 112… the control box 124 can include a power supply 134, a processor 136, a memory 137, a switching mechanism 138, and an analog to digital (A/D) converter 140”. Additionally, paragraph [0053] discloses “bed 302 can include one or more pressure sensitive pads or surface portions that are operable to detect movement, including user presence, user motion, respiration, and heart rate”. Paragraph [0054] acknowledges that “the user device 310 is a tablet device; however, in some implementations, the user device 310 can be a personal computer, a smart phone, a smart television (e.g., a television 312), or other user device capable of wired or wireless communication with the control circuitry 334”. Paragraph [0057] discloses “Communications between the control circuitry 334 of the bed 302 and other devices can occur through a network (e.g., a LAN or the Internet) or as point-to-point communication (e.g., using Bluetooth, radio communication, or a wired connection)". Furthermore, the specification acknowledges in paragraphs [0107-0108] that the “processor 502 can be a central processing unit, a microprocessor, general purpose logic circuity, application-specific integrated circuity, a combination of these, and/or other hardware for performing the functionality needed… memory 512 is generally one or more devices for storing data. The memory 512 can include long term stable data storage (e.g., on a hard disk), short term unstable (e.g., on Random Access Memory) or any other technologically appropriate configuration". Paragraph [0132] discloses the “server system software 1206 can include operating systems running on real servers, virtual machines instantiated on real servers to create many virtual servers, server level operations such as data migration, redundancy, and backup”. Furthermore, paragraph [0172] acknowledges that the “display 1854 can be, for example, a TFT (Thin-Film-Transistor Liquid Crystal Display) display or an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) display, or other appropriate display technology. The display interface 1856 can comprise appropriate circuitry for driving the display 1854 to present graphical and other information to a user”. Paragraph [0185] discloses the “worn sensor 1912 and 1914 may be configured to be worn on the wrist (as shown here), on the head, attached to the chest, clipped to the user's clothing or bedding, etc. The worn sensor 1912 and 1914 may be generally worn by the user through the day such as in the case of a watch with motion tracking, or may be worn specifically while sleeping, such as a head-mounted brain activity sensor. Examples of worn sensors 1912 and 1914 include, but are not limited to, sensors to measure blood-oxygen saturation, carbon dioxide in the atmosphere or respiration, body temperature, location of user, movement of user, etc.".
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 17-38 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 23-24, 30-32, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palashewski (US-20160100696-A1)[hereinafter Palashewski], in view of Samsung ("User manual Galaxy Watch")[hereinafter Samsung], in view of Charlton (“Withings Sleep review: Seamless sleep tracking without anything to wear")[hereinafter Withings].
As per Claim 17, Palashewski discloses a system comprising: a bed comprising a mattress in paragraphs [0005] and [0028] (a system including a bed including a mattress); a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress in paragraphs [0005] and [0040-0041] (a bed sensor to sense a user presence on the mattress); a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory in paragraphs [0005] and [0056] (a control circuitry (synonymous to a bed controller) including a processor and a memory); a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display in paragraphs [0056-0057] (a user device, wherein the user device includes a smart phone, including a processor, memory, and user interface); a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory in paragraphs [0098], and [0105-0110] and Figures 4A-5 (a data processing system including a cloud service (synonymous to a server-system) including a processor and memory); and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, and the server-system in paragraph [0056] (a computer network communicably coupling the bed sensor, control circuitry, the smart phone, and the data processing system); wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user in paragraphs [0106], [0135], and [0146] (associated with a user account); configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress in paragraphs [0040-0041] and [0056] (receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress); configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data in paragraph [0040] (determine a sleep state of the user based on the bed-data); and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed in paragraphs [0032] and [0058] (receive, from the smart phone, instructions to control the bed); wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account in paragraphs [0130] and [0135] (maintain sleep data associated with the user account); wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data in paragraphs [0057] (display, on the smart phone user interface, the sleep-data).
Palashewski does not disclose the following limitations. However, Samsung discloses a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display in pages 84, 87 and 102 (a watch including a processor, memory, and a watch display); and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the phone, and the watch in pages 16 and 92 (computer network communicably coupled to the phone and watch); wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user in pages 47-48 and 91 (associated with an account registered for the user); configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user in pages 47-48 (generate exercise data based on monitoring the user); maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account in paragraphs pages 16, 47-48, and 91 (maintain all data, wherein all data includes exercise data, associated with the registered account); and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account in pages 45-49 and 91-92 (send the sleep-data to the watch from the account); wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data in pages 47-48 (display on the watch display, the exercise data); display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data in page 49 (display on the watch display, sleep data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed comprising a mattress, a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone, a server-system, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, phone, and the server-system, wherein the bed controller is associated with a first account registered for the user, to receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress from the bed sensor, to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, to receive instructions to control the bed from the phone, wherein the server-system is configured to maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, and wherein the phone displays, on the phone display, the sleep data of Palashewski with the watch, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the phone and the watch, wherein the watch is associated with a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, wherein the server-system is to maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account, wherein the watch is to display the exercise-data and sleep-data as taught by Samsung since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung does not disclose the following limitations. However, Withings discloses transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account in the 1st paragraph on page 3 and 4th paragraph on page 5 (send the sleep data from the Withings Sleep device (synonymous to the first account associated with the bed controller that receives sleep data) to the Health Mate app).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski and Samsung with transferring the sleep-data from the first account to the second account as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
As per Claim 23, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 17, wherein: Palashewski also discloses the bed controller is further configured to store, in association with the first account, calibration information for use with the bed sensor in paragraphs [0135] and [0141] (control circuitry to store, in association with the user account, calibration data for use with the bed sensor).
As per Claim 24, Palashewski discloses a system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed in paragraphs [0005], [0028], and [0040-0041] (a system including a bed sensor to sense a user presence on the mattress); a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display in paragraphs [0005] and [0056-0057] (a control circuitry (synonymous to a bed controller) including a processor and a memory, the control circuitry communicably coupled to a computer network, the computer network communicably coupled to a smart phone including a processor, memory, and user interface); and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory in paragraphs [0098], and [0105-0110] and Figures 4A-5 (a data processing system including a cloud service (synonymous to a server-system) including a processor and memory); wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user in paragraphs [0106], [0135], and [0146] (associated with a user account); configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress in paragraphs [0040-0041] and [0056] (receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress); configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data in paragraph [0040] (determine a sleep state of the user based on the bed-data); and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed in paragraphs [0032] and [0058] (receive, from the smart phone, instructions to control the bed); wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account in paragraphs [0130] and [0135] (maintain sleep data associated with the user account); wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data in paragraph [0057] (display, on the smart phone user interface, the sleep-data).
Palashewski does not disclose the following limitations. However, Samsung discloses a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display in pages 84, 87 and 102 (a watch including a processor, memory, and a watch display); wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user in pages 47-48 and 91 (associated with an account registered for the user); configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user in page 47-48 (generate exercise data based on monitoring the user); maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account in pages 16, 47-48, and 91 (maintain all data, wherein all data includes exercise data, associated with the registered account); and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account in pages 45-49 and 91-92 (send the sleep-data to the watch from the account); wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data in pages 47-48 (display on the watch display, the exercise data); display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data in page 49 (display on the watch display, sleep data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed sensor to sense a user on a mattress, a bed controller which is communicably coupled to one or more computer networks and a phone, a server-system, wherein the bed controller is associated with a first account registered for the user, to receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress from the bed sensor, to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, to receive instructions to control the bed from the phone, wherein the server-system is configured to maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, and wherein the phone displays, on the phone display, the sleep data of Palashewski with the watch, wherein the watch is associated with a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, wherein the server-system is to maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account, wherein the watch is to display the exercise-data and sleep-data as taught by Samsung since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung does not disclose the following limitations. However, Withings discloses transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account in 1st paragraph on page 3 and 4th paragraph on page 5 (send the sleep data from the Withings Sleep device (synonymous to the first account associated with the bed controller that receives sleep data) to the Health Mate app).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski and Samsung with transferring the sleep-data from the first account to the second account as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
As per Claim 30, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 24, wherein: Palashewski also discloses the bed controller is further configured to store, in association with the first account, calibration information for use with the bed sensor in paragraphs [0135] and [0141] (control circuitry to store, in association with the user account, calibration data for use with the bed sensor).
As per Claim 31, Palashewski discloses a system in paragraphs [0005] and [0028] (a system) comprising: the one or more computer networks communicably coupling a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone, and a server-system in paragraph [0056] (a computer network communicably coupling the bed sensor, control circuitry, the smart phone, and the data processing system); a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed in paragraphs [0005] and [0040-0041] (a bed sensor to sense a user presence on the mattress); a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory in paragraphs [0005] and [0056] (a control circuitry (synonymous to a bed controller) including a processor and a memory); a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display in paragraphs [0056-0057] (a user device, wherein the user device includes a smart phone, including a processor, memory, and user interface); and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory in paragraphs [0098], and [0105-0110] and Figures 4A-5 (a data processing system including a cloud service (synonymous to a server-system) including a processor and memory); wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user in paragraphs [0106], [0135], and [0146] (associated with a user account); configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress in paragraphs [0040-0041] and [0056] (receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress); configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data in paragraphs [0040] (determine a sleep state of the user based on the bed-data); and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed in paragraphs [0032] and [0058] (receive, from the smart phone, instructions to control the bed); wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account in paragraphs [0130] and [0135] (maintain sleep data associated with the user account); wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data in paragraph [0057] (display, on the smart phone user interface, the sleep-data).
Palashewski does not disclose the following limitations. However, Samsung discloses a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display, the watch communicably coupled to one or more computer networks in pages 84, 87 and 102 (a watch including a processor, memory, and a watch display, the watch communicably coupled to a computer network), wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user in pages 47-48 and 91 (associated with an account registered for the user); configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user in pages 47-48 (generate exercise data based on monitoring the user); maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account in pages 16, 47-48, and 91 (maintain all data, wherein all data includes exercise data, associated with the registered account); and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account in pages 45-49 and 91-92 (send the sleep-data to the watch from the account); wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data in pages 47-48 and 91 (associated with an account registered for the user); display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data in pages 47-48 (generate exercise data based on monitoring the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone, a server-system, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, phone, and the server-system, wherein the bed controller is associated with a first account registered for the user, to receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress from the bed sensor, to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, to receive instructions to control the bed from the phone, wherein the server-system is configured to maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, and wherein the phone displays, on the phone display, the sleep data of Palashewski with the watch, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the phone and the watch, wherein the watch is associated with a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, wherein the server-system is to maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account, wherein the watch is to display the exercise-data and sleep-data as taught by Samsung since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system including a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung does not disclose the following limitations. However, Withings discloses transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account in the 1st paragraph on page 3 and 4th paragraph on page 5 (send the sleep data from the Withings Sleep device (synonymous to the first account associated with the bed controller that receives sleep data) to the Health Mate app).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski and Samsung with transferring the sleep-data from the first account to the second account as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably system including a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
As per Claim 32, Palashewski discloses a system in paragraphs [0005] and [0028] (a system): comprising: a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory, the server- system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks in paragraphs [0098], and [0105-0110] and Figures 4A-5 (a data processing system including a cloud service (synonymous to a server-system) including a processor and memory), the one or more computer networks communicably coupling in paragraph [0056] (a computer network communicably coupling the bed sensor, control circuitry, the smart phone, and the data processing system): a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed in paragraphs [0005] and [0040-0041] (a bed sensor to sense a user presence on the mattress); a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory in paragraphs [0005] and [0056] (a control circuitry (synonymous to a bed controller) including a processor and a memory); a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display in paragraphs [0056-0057] (a user device, wherein the user device includes a smart phone, including a processor, memory, and user interface); wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user in paragraphs [0106], [0135], and [0146] (associated with a user account); configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress in paragraphs [0040-0041] and [0056] (receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress); configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data in paragraph [0040] (determine a sleep state of the user based on the bed-data); and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed in paragraphs [0032] and [0058] (receive, from the smart phone, instructions to control the bed); wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account in paragraphs [0130] and [0135] (maintain sleep data associated with the user account); wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data in paragraph [0057] (display, on the smart phone user interface, the sleep-data).
Palashewski does not disclose the following limitations. However, Samsung discloses and a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display in pages 84, 87 and 102 (a watch including a processor, memory, and a watch display); wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user in pages 47-48 and 91 (associated with an account registered for the user); configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user in pages 47-48 (generate exercise data based on monitoring the user); maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account in pages 16, 47-48, and 91 (maintain all data, wherein all data includes exercise data, associated with the registered account); and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account in pages 45-49 and 91-92 (send the sleep-data to the watch from the account); wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data in pages 47-48 (display on the watch display, the exercise data); display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data in page 49 (display on the watch display, sleep data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone, wherein the bed controller is associated with a first account registered for the user, to receive bed-data related to the user on the mattress from the bed sensor, to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data, to receive instructions to control the bed from the phone, wherein the server-system is configured to maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account, and wherein the phone displays, on the phone display, the sleep data of Palashewski with the watch, one or more computer networks communicably coupling the phone and the watch, wherein the watch is associated with a second account registered for the user, generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user, wherein the server-system is to maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account, wherein the watch is to display the exercise-data and sleep-data as taught by Samsung since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung does not disclose the following limitations. However, Withings discloses transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account in 1st paragraph on page 3 and 4th paragraph on page 5 (send the sleep data from the Withings Sleep device (synonymous to the first account associated with the bed controller that receives sleep data) to the Health Mate app).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski and Samsung with transferring the sleep-data from the first account to the second account as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data.
As per Claim 38, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 32, wherein: Palashewski also discloses the bed controller is further configured to store, in association with the first account, calibration information for use with the bed sensor in paragraphs [0135] and [0141] (control circuitry to store, in association with the user account, calibration data for use with the bed sensor).
Claims 18-19, 25-26, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palashewski (US-20160100696-A1)[hereinafter Palashewski], in view of Samsung ("User manual Galaxy Watch")[hereinafter Samsung], in view of Charlton (“Withings Sleep review: Seamless sleep tracking without anything to wear")[hereinafter Withings], in view of SleepWatch (“Auto Sleep Tracking for Apple Watch. Now with Artificial Intelligence.”)[hereinafter SleepWatch].
As per Claim 18, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 17.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying bed-in and bed-out time on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; and display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully.
As per Claim 19, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 17.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display.
As per Claim 25, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 24.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying bed-in and bed-out time on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; and display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully.
As per Claim 26, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 24.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display.
As per Claim 33, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 32.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying bed-in and bed-out time on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; and display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time and a bed-out time that represents when the user enters and existed the bed respectfully.
As per Claim 34, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 32.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays, for one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages, and for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep on the watch display.
Claims 20-21, 27-28, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palashewski (US-20160100696-A1)[hereinafter Palashewski], in view of Samsung ("User manual Galaxy Watch")[hereinafter Samsung], in view of Charlton (“Withings Sleep review: Seamless sleep tracking without anything to wear")[hereinafter Withings], in view of Charlton (“Our favorite sleep-tracking app just got a major update to help improve your sleep”)[hereinafter Charlton].
As per Claim 20, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 17.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep.
As per Claim 21, Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and Charlton disclose the system of claim 20.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung discloses displaying sleep-data on the phone, but does not display a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale. However, Withings discloses wherein to display, on the phone-display, the sleep-data, the phone is configured to: display a second circular element that uses second arced line segments to show a sleep-score on an integer scale in the far left figure on page 4 (display a circular element that uses arced line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale.
As per Claim 27, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 24.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep.
As per Claim 28, Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and Charlton disclose the system of claim 27.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung discloses displaying sleep-data on the phone, but does not display a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale. However, Withings discloses wherein to display, on the phone-display, the sleep-data, the phone is configured to: display a second circular element that uses second arced line segments to show a sleep-score on an integer scale in the far left figure on page 4 (display a circular element that uses arced line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system comprising: a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale.
As per Claim 35, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 32.
The combination of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose displaying sleep-data on the watch display, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to: display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep.
As per Claim 36, Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and Charlton disclose the system of claim 35.
The combination of Palashewski and Samsung discloses displaying sleep-data on the phone, but does not display a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale. However, Withings discloses wherein to display, on the phone-display, the sleep-data, the phone is configured to: display a second circular element that uses second arced line segments to show a sleep-score on an integer scale in the far left figure on page 4 (display a circular element that uses arced line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings with displaying a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale as taught by Withings since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that displays a circular element that uses second line segments to show a sleep score on an integer scale.
Claims 22, 29, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palashewski (US-20160100696-A1)[hereinafter Palashewski], in view of Samsung ("User manual Galaxy Watch")[hereinafter Samsung], in view of Charlton (“Withings Sleep review: Seamless sleep tracking without anything to wear")[hereinafter Withings], in view of SleepWatch (“Auto Sleep Tracking for Apple Watch. Now with Artificial Intelligence.”)[hereinafter SleepWatch], in view of Charlton (“Our favorite sleep-tracking app just got a major update to help improve your sleep”)[hereinafter Charlton].
As per Claim 22, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 17.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings does not disclose the following limitation. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to simultaneously: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep; in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)); display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, and a plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch discloses simultaneously displays multiple sleep-data, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses and display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the a system including a bed comprising a mattress; a bed sensor configured to sense a user on the mattress; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory; a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone-display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; and one or more computer networks communicably coupling the bed sensor, the bed controller, the phone, the watch, and the server-system; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data, and simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage, and a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information.
As per Claim 29, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 24.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings does not disclose the following limitation. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to simultaneously: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)); display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, and a plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch discloses simultaneously displays multiple sleep-data, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses and display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a bed sensor configured to sense a user on a mattress of a bed; a bed controller comprising a first processor and first memory, the bed controller communicably coupled to one or more computer networks, the one or more computer networks communicably coupling: a phone comprising a second processor, second memory, and a phone- display; a watch comprising a third processor, third memory, and a watch-display; and a server-system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage, and a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information.
As per Claim 37, Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings disclose the system of claim 32.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, and Withings does not disclose the following limitation. However, SleepWatch discloses wherein to display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data, the watch is further configured to simultaneously: display, for one night of sleep, a bed-in time that represents a time that the user entered the bed to sleep; display, for the one night of sleep, a bed-out time that represents a time that the user exited the bed after the sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep pattern graph includes a bed-in and bed-out time)); display, for the one night of sleep, a plurality of sleep stages and, for each sleep stage, a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep in the App Features section (display your last night's sleep pattern graph (Examiner notes that a sleep graph includes a plurality of sleep stages and a corresponding duration to represent an amount of time that the user slept in the sleep stage in the one night of sleep)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage as taught by SleepWatch since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, and a plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage.
The combinations of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch discloses simultaneously displays multiple sleep-data, but does not disclose displaying a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep. However, Charlton discloses and display a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep in the 2nd-3rd paragraph on page 5 (display colored rings (synonymous to a circular element that uses arced line segments) to visually display the time in bed vs time asleep (synonymous to sleep efficiency information) for the one night of sleep) (Examiner notes that comparing time in bed vs time slept shows sleep efficiency)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system including a server-system communicably coupled to one or more computer networks which is communicably coupled to a bed sensor, a bed controller, a phone; wherein the bed controller is: associated with a first account registered for the user; configured to receive, from the bed sensor, bed-data related to the user on the mattress; configured to generate sleep-data for the user based on the bed-data; and configured to receive, from the phone, instructions to control the bed; wherein the watch is: associated with a second account registered for the user; configured to generate exercise-data based on a sensing of the user; wherein the server-system is configured to: maintain the sleep-data in association with the first account; maintain the exercise-data in association with the second account; transfer the sleep-data from the first account to the second account; and send the sleep-data to the watch from the second account; wherein the watch is configured to: display, on the watch-display, the exercise-data; display, on the watch-display, the sleep-data; wherein the phone is configured to: display, on the phone display, the sleep-data of Palashewski, Samsung, Withings, and SleepWatch to simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information for the one night of sleep as taught by Charlton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a system that simultaneously displaying for one night sleep, the bed-in time, bed-out time, plurality of sleep stages and a duration of time the user slept in the sleep stage, and a circular element that uses arced line segments to visually display sleep efficiency information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Arriba-Pérez F (“Collection and Processing of Data from Wrist Wearable Devices in Heterogeneous and Multiple-User Scenarios”) (2016) teaches on systems to improve interoperability for collecting and processing data from wearable devices.
SleepWatch, Facebook (November 18, 2018) teaches on simultaneously displaying a bed-in time, bed-out time, a plurality of sleep stages and the duration the user slept during the sleep stage, and more sleep data.
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682