DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application filed, with the above serial number, on 20 December 2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1-20 are therefore pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DHARAMPURIKAR et al (hereinafter “DHARAMPURIKAR”, 2024/0256298).
As per Claim 1, DHARAMPURIKAR discloses a method for deploying network functions (NF) into target cloud computing environments in a cellular telecommunication network, the method comprising:
electronically displaying a NF configuration graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving NF configuration data for a NF deployment (at least paragraph 26; graphical user interface is configured to facilitate the uploading of a data file comprising one or more parameters for configuring a network function provided by one or more of the network devices 105 to configuration manager 101);
electronically receiving, via the NF configuration GUI, the NF configuration data (at least paragraph 26; graphical user interface is configured to facilitate the uploading of a data file comprising one or more parameters for configuring a network function provided by one or more of the network devices 105 to configuration manager 101);
electronically displaying an IP address configuration GUI for receiving IP address data for the NF deployment (at least paragraph 43; Graphical user interface 300 includes a plurality of parameter fields for identifying parameters associated with configuring a network function according to the configuration file being added or edited. The parameter fields include options for selecting or entering a UHN Name/UUID (Universal Unique Identifier), Domain, Vendor (or Network Service Provider) information, Technology, Software Version, IP address);
electronically receiving, via the IP address configuration GUI, an IP address assignments for the NF deployment (at least paragraph 43; Graphical user interface 300 includes a plurality of parameter fields for identifying parameters associated with configuring a network function according to the configuration file being added or edited. The parameter fields include options for selecting or entering a UHN Name/UUID (Universal Unique Identifier), Domain, Vendor (or Network Service Provider) information, Technology, Software Version, IP address….a sending or pushing instruction, a download instruction, a send-to address);
electronically receiving a trigger to build a NF package for deployment to a target environment (at least paragraph 32, 39; configuration manager 101 makes it possible for network service providers to download or create a basis .xls-based template that is then filled out with information for various parameters and uploaded to configuration manager 101 to generate a configuration file in JSON format which can be pushed; Graphical user interface 200 also facilitates creating a new configuration file 205 by selecting a “+” sign, for example, or some other suitable graphical user interface icon. In some embodiments, in response to selecting a configuration file 205 to be edited or in response to a selection to create a new configuration file 205, configuration manager 101 (FIG. 1) causes graphical user interface 300 (FIG. 3) to be displayed for editing and/or creating a configuration file 205);
electronically populating a template with the NF configuration data and the IP address data (at least paragraph 27; configuration manager 101 causes one or more of the plurality of parameter fields included in a graphical user interface to be populated with one or more parameters extracted from the data file according to a mapping between the one or more parameters extracted from the raw data file and one or more corresponding parameter fields of the plurality of parameter fields included in the graphical user interface. In some embodiments, the raw data file is based on a template comprising one or more input fields configured to receive the one or more parameters for configuring the network function and information to facilitate the mapping between the one or more parameters extracted from the data file and the one or more corresponding parameter fields of the plurality of parameter fields included in the graphical user interface; par. 32 configuration manager 101 makes it possible for network service providers to download or create a basis .xls-based template that is then filled out with information for various parameters and uploaded to configuration manager 101 to generate a configuration file in JSON format which can be pushed);
electronically building the NF package using the template with the NF configuration data and the IP address data (at least paragraph 27; configuration manager 101 causes one or more of the plurality of parameter fields included in a graphical user interface to be populated with one or more parameters extracted from the data file according to a mapping between the one or more parameters extracted from the raw data file and one or more corresponding parameter fields of the plurality of parameter fields included in the graphical user interface. In some embodiments, the raw data file is based on a template comprising one or more input fields configured to receive the one or more parameters for configuring the network function and information to facilitate the mapping between the one or more parameters extracted from the data file and the one or more corresponding parameter fields of the plurality of parameter fields included in the graphical user interface); and
electronically deploying the NF package to the target environment (at least paragraph 34; by way of the template/data file, ease of uploading and using the data file to the configuration manager, manipulation capabilities and autonomous generation of the JSON configuration files outside the network orchestrator 109 adds to the network service provider/user ability to control deployment of configuration files in the JSON format to appropriate network devices 105).
As per Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the NF configuration data and the IP address data are provided independent of the target environment and populating the template with the NF configuration data (at least paragraph 32; configuration file in JSON format which can be pushed, directly or indirectly, outside of the network orchestrator 109, from the configuration manager 101 based on a selected configuration file, uniform host name, etc. on a respective internet protocol address and port for the network device 105 so there is minimal to zero manual effort required for creating and validating and sending the JSON configuration file. In some embodiments, one or more of the parameters provided in the data file by a network service provider/user are dynamic parameters that are capable of being added and/or modified by the network service provider/user when adding information to the template for producing the data file) and the IP address data includes:
electronically parsing the NF configuration data based on the target environment to identify relevant NF configuration data for the target environment (at least paragraph 26, 33; The data file is processed to recognize, parse and extract the one or more parameters included in the data file; configuration manager 101 is configured to generate JSON Day1/Day2 configuration files based on given xpath and values (default values), and/or support list type parameters for which a network service provider/user provides a unique identifier or parsing logic (e.g., for list parameters, a key and a value are two parameters coming under specific particular programmable logic device records));
electronically populating relevant portions of the template with the relevant NF configuration data for the target environment (at least paragraph 33; the template format of the data file provides an opportunity for the network service provider/user to provide parsing logic and/or tags capable of being identified by the configuration manager 101 to facilitate the recognition of the parameters in the data file for parsing and extraction to populate the parameter fields in the graphical user interface); and
electronically masking remaining portions of the template (at least paragraph 45; configuration manager 101 then causes the parameter fields to be populated with the parameters included in the data file. If, for example, one or more of the parameter fields is empty after populating the parameter fields according to the parameters included in the data file, the configuration manager 101 causes the empty parameter fields to be filled based on one or more of a default value and/or one or more database parameters).
As per Claim 4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: electronically storing the NF configuration data in a NF configuration data store as a key-value pair (at least paragraph 33, 23, 28; e.g., for list parameters, a key and a value are two parameters coming under specific particular programmable logic device records; data storage and parameters stored in database).
Claims 8-9, 11, 15-17 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1-2, 4 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DHARAMPURIKAR in view of Balachandran (hereinafter “Balachandran”, 2023/0239374).
DHARAMPURIKAR fails to disclose wherein the template includes Kubernetes Helm charts YAML files. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Balachandran (at least paragraph 11-13; manages cloud-native network functions (CNFs) packages comprising helm charts stored as YAML files in Kubernetes clusters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Balachandran’s deployment with DHARAMPURIKAR as Balachandran teaches when the network functions are deployed as containers, developers package all the files in the container and using the Kubernetes Helm charts YAML files are well known for containerized cluster deployment configuration as shown by Balachandran to store the package.
Claim(s) 5, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DHARAMPURIKA in view of Chopra (hereinafter “Chopra”, 2024/0267356).
DHARAMPURIKA fails to disclose electronically storing the IP address data in an IP Address Management (IPAM) instance. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Chopra. Chopra discloses, in an analogous art, storing IP address data for deployed network functions in an IPAM (at least paragraph 45, 8, 109-111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Chopra’s IPAM with DHARAMPURIKA as Chopra teaches such IP address storage improves reliability and performance of the deployed network functions, having a central inventory would further ease the NF configuration of DHARAMPURIKA and as DHARAMPURIKA teaches storing parameters and the parameters include IP addresses (par. 43) in a single configuration file, having all the IP addresses together in a central inventory is an obvious advantage for easing addressing issues for configuration and deployment and for the GUI user to easily see all the addresses for configuration in DHARAMPURIKA.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DHARAMPURIKA in view of Basur Shankarappa et al (hereinafter “Basur”, 2023/0100276).
As per Claim 6, 13, 19, DHARAMPURIKA fails to disclose wherein deploying the NF package to the target environment includes: creating a target cluster in the target environment; deploying the NF package to the target cluster; and validating the NF package in the target cluster. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Basur (at least paragraph 54, 32-33, 36-37, 43; Kubernetes cluster template having configuration for network function deployed, selecting cluster meeting requirements, and validating configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Basur’s deployment with DHARAMPURIKA as Basur teaches network functions from different vendors have their own unique set of infrastructure requirements and Basur’s selection of a cluster for a deployed network function that meets those requirements ensures compatibility and operation of the network function to meeting the requirements as required by the user or client.
As per Claim 7, 14, 20. DHARAMPURIKA fails to disclose monitoring the NF package in the target environment for a deviation from the template; and responsive to detecting the deviation, reconciling the NF package with template. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Basur (at least paragraph 44-46, 63-64; managing the life cycle of a network function and ensuring compliance; the instantiation parameters and operational behaviors of the VNFs being described and monitored; VM Controller 616 also monitors VM configuration events and configures Kubernetes worker nodes (e.g., Kubernetes node 680) on the target workload cluster 650. The VM controller 616 also monitors cluster API events with a virtualization or cloud platform (e.g., VMware CAPI/CAPV)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Basur’s deployment with DHARAMPURIKA as Basur teaches monitoring and managing network function configurations after they are deployed to the cluster to ensure the requirements continue to be met.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443