DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9, in the reply filed on January 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 15, 2026.
Examiner notes the claim set filed on January 15, 2026 indicates Claims 7-9 are original but appears to have inadvertently been changed to reflect the language of withdrawn Claims 10-12. It is assumed that Claims 7-9 as originally filed in the claim set filed December 20, 2023 should still be present and are examined below accordingly for the sake of advancing prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “the voltage sensing conductors of the first set of voltage sensing conductors” and “the voltage sensing conductors of the second set”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim as these limitations are not previously recited in Claim 9 (or Claims 1 or 7 on which Claim 9 depends). Examiner notes these limitations were previously recited in Claim 8. For examination purposes, Claim 7 will be interpreted as dependent on Claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marek (US Pat. 4705937).
Regarding Claim 1, Marek teaches a heat-seal band (Abstract) comprising:
a band that is configured to be heated to perform a heat-sealing operation to a workpiece (Fig. 1- welding band 1);
a first electrical path configured for transmitting a current load to the band (Fig. 1- heating circuit including power supply 25 through voltage control 27); and
a second electrical path configured for sensing a voltage across the band (Fig. 1- leads 2,3; Col 3, Lines 50-55- As shown schematically, the voltage Us applied to the welding band 1 is measured and is applied via leads 2, 3 to an amplifier 4.).
Regarding Claim 7, Marek further teaches a third electrical path configured for sensing a voltage across a segment of the band (Fig. 3- additional measuring circuits for determining low-temperature resistance of the band).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marek (US Pat. 4705937) in view of Capitani (PGPub 2019/0016487).
Regarding Claim 2, Marek does not specify a conductive tab that is connected to the band and defines a corresponding tab to band (tab/band) junction; and wherein: the first electrical path connects to the tab/band junction by extending through the conductive tab; and the second electrical path connects to the tab/band junction without extending through the conductive tab.
Capitani teaches an alternative heat seal band (Abstract) comprising a conductive tab that is connected to the band ([0363]; Figs. 17-20 first and second electrical terminals 703, 704) and defines a corresponding tab to band (tab/band) junction (Figs. 17-20- first and second electrical terminals 703, 704 connecting to contacting tabs 705, 750) in order to ensure a perfect electrical connection [0524].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marek to include conductive tabs as taught by Capitani with reasonable expectation of success to ensure a perfect electrical connection [0524].
Capitani also does not specify the first electrical path connects to the tab/band junction by extending through the conductive tab; and the second electrical path connects to the tab/band junction without extending through the conductive tab. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the end of the electrical path as the court has held that mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice that a skilled artisan would have found obvious, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 3, Capitani further teaches the conductive tab engages a conductive surface of a heat-sealing tool that holds the heat-seal band (Figs. 17-20), and the conductive surface of the heat-sealing tool is arranged within the first electrical path (Figs. 17-20).
Regarding Claim 4, Marek further teaches a voltage sensing conductor that is arranged within the second electrical path (Col 3, Lines 50-55- As shown schematically, the voltage Us applied to the welding band 1 is measured and is applied via leads 2, 3 to an amplifier 4.) and is electrically insulated with respect to the heat-sealing tool (Fig. 1- showing the separate loop).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Marek further teaches the band defines an inner perimeter and outer perimeter (Fig. 1- welding band necessarily has an inner and outer perimeter) but does not specify the voltage sensing conductor is connected to the tab/band junction at a location that is arranged inwardly of the band inner perimeter or arranged outwardly of the band outer perimeter. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the voltage sensing conductors as the court has held that mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice that a skilled artisan would have found obvious, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marek (US Pat. 4705937).
Regarding Claim 8, Marek further teaches the second electrical path is defined by a first set of voltage sensing conductors (Col 3, Lines 50-55- As shown schematically, the voltage Us applied to the welding band 1 is measured and is applied via leads 2, 3 to an amplifier 4.) and the third electrical path is defined by a second set of voltage sensing conductors (Col. 5, Lines 55-62- The signal to motor control 32 is fed in via input 53 either manually by the user or automatically by a resistance sensor 50 (shown in phantom)).
Marek does not specify the first set of voltage sensing conductors at generally opposite segments of the band and the second set of voltage sensing conductors at a common segment of the band. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the voltage sensing conductors as the court has held that mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice that a skilled artisan would have found obvious, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 9, Marek does not specify the voltage sensing conductors of the first set of voltage sensing conductors are spaced further from each other than the voltage sensing conductors of the second set. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the voltage sensing conductors as the court has held that mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice that a skilled artisan would have found obvious, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 3/19/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748