DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on July 25, 2025 has been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0009] “FIG. 1” should read “FIGS 1A and 1B”
[0035] “…aft away for…” should read “…aft away from…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20, claims 1, 14, and 20 recite the limitation “…the actuating mechanism defines a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket.” It is unclear how this limitation should be interpreted. Does the spatial distance defined by the actuating mechanism refer to the physical spacing between the facial interface bracket and extender bracket, the actuating mechanism physically separating the facial interface bracket and extender bracket, a distance related to depth adjustment of facial interface bracket, or some other distance? Since it is unclear how “…the actuating mechanism defines a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket” should be interpreted, the limitation is rendered indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret any distance between the facial interface bracket and extender bracket as satisfying this limitation.
Claims 2-13 and 15-19 inherit indefiniteness from claims 1 and 14.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18736302 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18736302 discloses a facial interface bracket (claim 1 facial-interface portion), an extender bracket (claim 1 adjustment assembly) coupled to a head display device (claim 1 head-wearable device) and the facial interface bracket (claim 1 adjustment assembly coupled to lens system of head-wearable device and facial-interface portion); and
an actuating mechanism (claim 3 actuator) coupled to at least one of the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket (claim 3 actuator is coupled to adjustment assembly), where in the actuating mechanism define a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket (claim 3 actuator sets distance between facial-interface portion and adjustment assembly). Regarding claim 7, Application No. 19736302 discloses a button for actuating the actuating mechanism (claim 1 button).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because t patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hatfield et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0044153 – hereinafter referred to as “Hatfield”).
Regarding claim 1, Hatfield teaches a device (Figure 3 headset 300 [0051]) comprising: a facial interface bracket (Figure 3 bridge 302 [0052]) configured to engage a user;
an extender bracket (Figure 6 extension bar 346 [0058]) coupled to a head display device (Figure 6 headset 300) and the facial interface bracket (Figure 6 bridge 302 [0058] extension bar 346 coupled to headset 300 and bridge 302); and
an actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316, [0052]) coupled to at least one of the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket ([0052] adjustable mechanisms 314,316 coupled to bridge 302), where in the actuating mechanism define a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316 define a spatial distance between bridge 302 and extension bar 346 [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) comprises a plug-and-groove interface (Figure 9 wheel 336 of adjustable mechanism 314 has teeth 900 (“plug”) and extension bar 346 has track 904 with indents (“groove”) [0059]; Figure 10 tooth 1006 (“plug”) and indent of track 1002 (“groove”), [0064])).
Regarding claim 3, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) comprises a slider (Figure 9 track 904 is a slider since it performs extension and retraction of temples 304,306 [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism comprises a cantilever (Figure 10 slider 1000, [0063] slider 1000 is a cantilever since is fixed to bridge 302 on one end and engages track 1002 at the other end).
Regarding claim 5, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism comprises a biased latch (Figure 9 spring-loaded locking mechanism 914 is a biased latch [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches comprising a locking insert on the extender bracket (Figure 10 rotatable lock 1008 is on extension bar 346 (coupled to extension bar 346 through slider 1000) [0065])).
Regarding claim 7, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches a button for actuating the actuating mechanism ([0061] wheel 336 with spring-loading locking mechanism 914 acts as a button since pressing the wheel locks/unlocks mechanism).
Regarding claim 8, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism comprises one or both of an elastic material or a flexible material (Figure 9 spring-loaded lock 914 has a spring [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches an alignment fixture on the facial interface bracket ([0059] anchor 906 has hole that extension bar 346 slides through).
Regarding claim 10, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches a latch housing on the facial interface bracket (Figure 8 bridge 302 is a latch housing since it encloses adjusting mechanisms 314,316 which are/have latches).
Regarding claim 11, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches a biased spring latch on the extender bracket (Figure 9 spring-loaded locking mechanism 914 is a biased spring latch and is on extension bar 346 [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches a plurality of grooves on the extender bracket (Figure 9 extension bar 346 has track 904 with indents (“grooves”) [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Hatfield teaches a method for manufacturing a device (Figure 3 headset 300 [0051]), the method comprising:
providing a facial interface bracket (Figure 3 bridge 302 [0052]) configured to engage a user;
coupling an extender bracket (Figure 6 extension bar 346 [0058]) to a head display device (Figure 6 headset 300) and the facial interface bracket (Figure 6 bridge 302 [0058] extension bar 346 coupled to headset 300 and bridge 302);
coupling an actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316, [0052]) to at least one of the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket ([0052] adjustable mechanisms 314,316 coupled to bridge 302), wherein the actuating mechanism defines a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316 define a spatial distance between bridge 302 and extension bar 346 [0052]);
adjusting the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) to set the desired distance between the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket ([0055]-[0056] and [0058] adjustable mechanisms 314,316 set desired distance between bridge 302 and extension bracket 346); and
securing the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) to maintain the set distance between the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket ([0003] locking mechanism locks adjustable mechanism to set arrangement of the temples with respect to the bridge).
Regarding claim 15, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism comprises a plug-and-groove interface (Figure 9 wheel 336 of adjustable mechanism 314 has teeth 900 (“plug”) and extension bar 346 has track 904 with indents (“groove’) [0059]; Figure 10 tooth 1006 (“plug”) and indent of track 1002 (“groove”), [0064])).
Regarding claim 16, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) comprises a slider (Figure 9 track 904 is a slider since it performs extension and retraction of temples 304,306 [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Hatfield further teaches the actuating mechanism comprises a cantilever (Figure 10 slider 1000, [0063] slider 1000 is a cantilever since is fixed to bridge 302 on one end and engages track 1002 at the other end).
Regarding claim 18, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Hatfield further teaches providing a locking insert on the extender bracket (Figure 10 rotatable lock 1008 is on extension bar 346 (coupled to extension bar 346 through slider 1000) [0065])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatfield (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0044153).
Regarding claim 12, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hatfield further teaches a plurality of grooves on the extender bracket (Figure 9 extension bar 346 has track 904 with indents (“grooves”) [0059]) but fails to teach a plurality of grooves on the facial interface bracket. However, Hatfield teaches that components can be reversed between the temple and bridge. Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the grooves taught by Hatfield such that they are on the facial interface bracket as the location of the groove and the adjusting mechanism is a matter of design choice ([0062]).
Regarding claim 19, Hatfield teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Hatfield further teaches providing an orifice for displaying numerical indicators (Figure 6 orifice with wheel 334 display numbers to indicate position, [0057]) but fails to teach the orifice on the extender bracket. However, Hatfield teaches that components can be reversed between the temple and bridge. Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange orifice taught by Hatfield such that it is on the extender bracket as the location of the orifice and the adjusting mechanism is a matter of design choice ([0062]).
Regarding claim 20, Hatfield teaches a device (Figure 3 headset 300 [0051]) comprising: a facial interface bracket (Figure 3 bridge 302 [0052]) configured to engage a user;
an extender bracket (Figure 6 extension bar 346 [0058]) coupled to a head display device (Figure 6 headset 300) and the facial interface bracket (Figure 6 bridge 302 [0058] extension bar 346 coupled to headset 300 and bridge 302); and an actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316, [0052]) coupled to at least one of the facial interface bracket and the extender bracket ([0052] adjustable mechanisms 314,316 coupled to bridge 302);
wherein the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) defines a spatial distance between a surface of the facial interface bracket and a surface of the extender bracket (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316 define a spatial distance between bridge 302 and extension bar 346 [0052]);
wherein the actuating mechanism (Figure 3 adjustable mechanisms 314,316) comprises a plug-and-groove interface (Figure 10 tooth 1006 and indents of track 1002 are a plug-and-groove interface, [0064], a slider (Figure 10 mechanism comprising slider 1000 with tooth 1001 are a slider, [0063]), and a cantilever (Figure 10 slider 1000, [0063] slider 1000 is a cantilever since is fixed to bridge 302 on one end and engages track 1002 at the other end);
Hatfield fails to teach the cantilever is actuated by pressing a button; and wherein the cantilever flexes along a portion coupled to the surface of the extender bracket when the button is pressed in the implementation shown in Figure 10. However, Hatfield teaches in the implementation shown in Figure 9 using a button to actuate the mechanism (([0061] wheel 336 with spring-loading locking mechanism 914 acts as a button since pressing the wheel locks/unlocks mechanism). Hatfield further teaches using a button to lock and unlock the actuating mechanism ([0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuating mechanism taught by Hatfield in the implementation of Figure 10 by adding a button as taught by Hatfield in the implementation shown in Figure 9 in order to lock and unlock the actuating mechanism ([0061]) and furthermore buttons a well-known mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishioka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0255764) teaches a actuating mechanism for adjusting a head strap of a head mounted device using mechanism similar to the instant invention.
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872