DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/12/2026. Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18-19, 21-26 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18-19, 21-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendment changes the scope of the invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 11916622 in view of Kasher et al. (US 2018/0234860 A1) (Kasher herein after). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in patent 11916622 anticipated the claims in the instant application as shown in the table below. Patent 11916622 discloses the claimed invention except at least one second packet comprising an acknowledgement (ACK) frame based on the one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas being determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas based on the first plurality of packets received from the initiator device. However, Kasher discloses communication system for beamforming training wherein initiator may send one or more other BRP-RX packets 616, in which it uses the best TX Sectors. The responder may receive the data part (e.g., using the previous best known RX pattern) and train its receiver on the TRAINING fields (e.g., evaluating different RX beamforming sectors with each TRN field). Again, the responder may respond to each BRP-RX frame with BRP feedback (or acknowledgment) packet (such as BRP feedback packet 626). After more possible data transmission (data frame(s) 636), and after the responder indicated that it does not need more training, the initiator may send a BRP-RX packet 618 with an indication that this is the last BRP-RX packet. The responder may respond to this last BRP-RX packet by sending a BRP-ACK packet 628 (e.g., an acknowledgement frame) ([0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching taught by Kasher to further improve the beamforming efficiency to achieve a better beamformed signal. Hersent further discloses acknowledgement frame is then transmitted via interface 44 to the network interface associated with the selected antenna, for example to network interface ([0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teachings taught by Hersent to produce the highly predictable result of in response to the first plurality of packets, transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antenna of the first plurality of antennas determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet comprising an acknowledgement (ACK) frame and to further improve the channel usage efficiency.
Instant application
Patent 11916622
1. A station (STA) configured for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising: a first plurality of antennas; a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to: receive, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets; and in response to at least one of the first plurality of packets, transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet, wherein the one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas are determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas based on the first plurality of packets received from the initiator device.
1. A station (STA) configured for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising: a first plurality of antennas; a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to: receive, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein the second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
2. The STA of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of packets is received during an initiator beam refinement protocol (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS) and the at least one second packet is transmitted during a responder BRP transmit sector sweep (TXSS).
1. A station (STA) configured for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising: a first plurality of antennas; a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to: receive, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein the second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
3. The STA of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of packets is transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors and wherein the at least one second packet is transmitted over one or more second respective transmit (TX) sectors.
1. A station (STA) configured for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising: a first plurality of antennas; a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to: receive, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein the second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
4. The STA of claim 3, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises a first plurality of sector sweep (SSW) frames.
4. The STA of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the initiator device, an SSW feedback (SSW FB) frame including a value indicating the TX sectors from among the second respective TX sectors, and wherein the SSW FB frame comprises a short SSW FB frame.
5. The STA of claim 4, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises an SSW feedback (FB) frame including a value indicating second TX sectors as received by the initiator device.
4. The STA of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the initiator device, an SSW feedback (SSW FB) frame including a value indicating the TX sectors from among the second respective TX sectors, and wherein the SSW FB frame comprises a short SSW FB frame.
11. A method performed in a station (STA) for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising: receiving, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets; and in response to at least one of the first plurality of packets, transmitting, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet, wherein the one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas are determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas based on the first plurality of packets received from the initiator device.
17. A method performed in a station (STA) for beamforming (BF) training with an initiator device, the station (STA) acting as a responder device and comprising a first plurality of antennas and a transceiver, the method comprising: receiving, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmitting, to the initiator device, via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving the first plurality of packets during an initiator beam refinement protocol (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS) and transmitting the at least one second packet during a responder BRP transmit sector sweep (TXSS).
17. A method performed in a station (STA) for beamforming (BF) training with an initiator device, the station (STA) acting as a responder device and comprising a first plurality of antennas and a transceiver, the method comprising: receiving, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmitting, to the initiator device, via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
13. The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving the first plurality of packets over first respective transmit (TX) sectors and transmitting the at least one second packet over one or more second respective transmit (TX) sectors.
17. A method performed in a station (STA) for beamforming (BF) training with an initiator device, the station (STA) acting as a responder device and comprising a first plurality of antennas and a transceiver, the method comprising: receiving, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors during an initiator beam refinement procedure (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS); transmitting, to the initiator device, via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas in the first plurality of antennas during the initiator BRP TXSS, a second plurality of packets during a responder BRP TXSS, wherein second plurality of packets is configured to be transmitted from one or more antennas that performed better than one or more other antennas over one or more second respective TX sectors during the initiator BRP TXSS based on an indication that the STA is antenna reciprocal with the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises a first plurality of sector sweep (SSW) frames.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the initiator device, an SSW feedback (SSW FB) frame including a value indicating the TX sectors from among the second respective TX sectors, and wherein the SSW FB frame comprises a short SSW FB frame.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises an SSW feedback (FB) frame including a value indicating second TX sectors as received by the initiator device.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the initiator device, an SSW feedback (SSW FB) frame including a value indicating the TX sectors from among the second respective TX sectors, and wherein the SSW FB frame comprises a short SSW FB frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14, 21-23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasher et al. (US 2018/0234860 A1) (Kasher herein after) in view of Hersent (US 2017/0041826 A1).
Re Claims 1 and 11, Kasher discloses a station (STA) configured for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device (responder, [0063]) with an initiator device (initiator, [0063]) and a method performed in a station (STA) for beamforming (BF) training as a responder device with an initiator device, comprising:
a first plurality of antennas (array antennas, [0052]);
a transceiver (transceiver [0036]), wherein the transceiver is configured to:
receive, via the first plurality of antennas from a second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, a first plurality of packets (initiator may send one or more other BRP-RX packets 616, in which it uses the best TX Sectors. The responder may receive the data part (e.g., using the previous best known RX pattern) and train its receiver on the TRAINING fields (e.g., evaluating different RX beamforming sectors with each TRN field) [0069]); and
in response to the first plurality of packets, transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet comprising an acknowledgement (ACK) frame (the responder may respond to each BRP-RX frame with BRP feedback (or acknowledgment) packet (such as BRP feedback packet 626) [0069]; in a last BRP-ACK packet, the responder may indicate which TX sector has the best quality [0070]).
Kasher teaches the claimed invention except in response to the first plurality of packets, transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antenna of the first plurality of antennas determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet comprising an acknowledgement (ACK) frame.
However, Hersent discloses methods for encoding and decoding frames in a telecommunication network wherein if the frame for which the acknowledgement message was generated was received by several antennas, transmission information relative to each of these antennas is available in the e sub-entries. In this situation, a device 58 for selecting a best antenna compares this transmission information and the best antenna for transmitting the acknowledgement frame is deduced from this. This device 58 is represented in dotted lines because it is optional. The transmission parameters of the acknowledgement frame (power transmitted, modulation, degree of redundancy, etc.) by the selected antenna can also advantageously be deduced from the transmission information available in the e sub-entries relative to each antenna. In addition, the desired transmission timestamp of the frame to be transmitted can be calculated according to the current spectrum occupancy rate of the chosen transmission channel and the listening windows mentioned above. The acknowledgement frame is then transmitted via interface 44 to the network interface associated with the selected antenna, for example to network interface ([0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Kasher, by making use of the technique taught by Hersent, in order to improve the channel usage efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of wireless communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Kasher, nor does Kasher teach away from the modification (Kasher merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the method and system taught by Hersent is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of in response to the first plurality of packets, transmit, to the initiator device via one or more antenna of the first plurality of antennas determined to perform better than one or more other antennas of the first plurality of antennas, at least one second packet comprising an acknowledgement (ACK) frame.
Re Claims 2 and 12, the combined teachings disclose the STA of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, Kasher discloses wherein the first plurality of packets is received during an initiator beam refinement protocol (BRP) transmit sector sweep (TXSS) (initiator sends a BRP-TX packet 612 with an indication of a last packet in the SLS [0065]) and the at least one second packet is transmitted during a responder BRP transmit sector sweep (TXSS) (responder may send a BRP feedback packet 622 with a list of (one or more) transmit sectors and their signal quality [0065]).
Re Claims 3 and 13, the combined teachings disclose the STA of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, Kasher discloses wherein the first plurality of packets is transmitted over first respective transmit (TX) sectors and wherein the second plurality of packets is transmitted over one or more second respective transmit (TX) sectors (the initiator may send each packet using a different TX BF sector. For example, each of the different TX BF sectors may be selected by the initiator from the list it received from the responder [0070]).
Re Claims 4 and 14, the combined teachings disclose the STA of claim 3 and the method of claim 13, Kasher discloses wherein the first plurality of packets comprises a first plurality of sector sweep (SSW) frames (beamforming training may be performed using a transmit Sector Sweep based on TRN fields that are split over several BRP packets [0071]).
Re Claim 21, the combined teachings disclose the STA of claim 1, Kasher discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit, to the initiator device of antennas from the second plurality of antennas of the initiator device, the at least one second packet in response to receiving the first plurality of packets (the responder may respond to each BRP-RX frame with BRP feedback (or acknowledgment) packet (such as BRP feedback packet 626) [0069]).
Re Claim 22, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 11, Kasher discloses wherein transmitting, to the initiator device via the one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas, the at least one second packet comprises transmitting, to the initiator device via the one or more antennas of the first plurality of antennas, the at least one second packet in response to receiving the first plurality of packets (the responder may respond to each BRP-RX frame with BRP feedback (or acknowledgment) packet (such as BRP feedback packet 626) [0069]).
Re Claim 23, the combined teachings disclose the STA of claim 1, Kasher discloses wherein the first plurality of packets comprises a grant frame having a control trailer (generating a plurality of transmit beamforming refinement frames for a sector sweep, and each transmit beamforming refinement frame comprises a preamble, a data field, at least one beamforming training field, and an indication of whether the transmit beamforming refinement frame is a last transmit beamforming refinement frame in the sector sweep [0061]).
Re Claim 25, Kasher discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises a grant frame having a control trailer (generating a plurality of transmit beamforming refinement frames for a sector sweep, and each transmit beamforming refinement frame comprises a preamble, a data field, at least one beamforming training field, and an indication of whether the transmit beamforming refinement frame is a last transmit beamforming refinement frame in the sector sweep [0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 18-19, 24, 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631