DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 9/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached up against said upper internal wall”. Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached to an upper internal wall of said second frame, in a position that is distanced, with respect to said upper internal wall, by means of support elements having an insulating and vibration compensation function”. The specification does not describe the plurality of radiance heaters is attached both distanced and up against with respect to the upper internal wall.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is recessed in said upper internal wall”. Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached to an upper internal wall of said second frame, in a position that is distanced, with respect to said upper internal wall, by means of support elements having an insulating and vibration compensation function”. The specification does not describe the plurality of radiance heaters is attached both distanced and recessed in with respect to the upper internal wall.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached up against said upper internal wall”. The limitation is unclear and confusing as claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached to an upper internal wall of said second frame, in a position that is distanced, with respect to said upper internal wall, by means of support elements having an insulating and vibration compensation function” so that it is unclear how claim 9 is intended to further limit claim 8 as the plurality of radiance heaters is distanced (and not attached up against) with respect to the upper internal wall by the means of support elements (such as shown in Figure 7).
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is recessed in said upper internal wall”. The limitation is unclear and confusing as claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said plurality of radiance heaters is attached to an upper internal wall of said second frame, in a position that is distanced, with respect to said upper internal wall, by means of support elements having an insulating and vibration compensation function” so that it is unclear how claim 10 is intended to further limit claim 8 as the plurality of radiance heaters is distanced (and not recessed in) with respect to the upper internal wall by the means of support elements (such as shown in Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al. (U.S. Patent 11,485,124) in view of Guillemot (U.S. Patent 5,158,132).
Regarding claim 1, Iwata discloses a laminator apparatus comprising (it being noted comprising is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements see MPEP 2111.03) a support structure (support posts 10 or 26) on which there are mounted a first and a second horizontal lamination platform (including press blocks 6 and 7 or 27 and 28) facing each other, with interposed a flexible membrane (buffer materials 8, 9 or 31, 32 made of heat-resistant elastic rubber and considered flexible membranes or alternatively, plates 1, 2 made of thin flexible metal and considered flexible membranes), wherein the first platform comprises a plurality of heating units in a heating platen (4 or 30) on which at least one object (50) to be laminated is able to be disposed (Figures 1, 2, and 7 and Column 3, lines 19-60 and Column 7, lines 37-54 and Column 9, lines 45-67).
As to the limitations in claim 1 of “plurality of flat heating units” and “wherein each of said flat heating units is formed by a pair of plates closed one on top of the other, between which there is inserted a plurality of electric resistance flat heaters, wherein each electric resistance flat heater comprises at least two flat layers, electrically insulating and thermally conductive, between which at least one electrically powered conductive track is inserted, and wherein one or more of either said at least two flat layers and said at least one conductive track are connected in a removable manner in order to be selectively separable”, Iwata teaches the heating platen heated to different temperatures in multiple divisions and comprises heating units not limited suggesting for example sheet heaters or cartridge heaters (Column 4, lines 47-55 and Column 8, lines 6-15). It is known in the same art of a heating platen heated to different temperatures in multiple zones/divisions the platen comprise a plurality of flat heating units (i.e. sheet heaters and including to mitigate the drawbacks of cartridge heaters and that are modularized to construct large working areas) corresponding to each zone/division (see Figure 29) wherein each of the flat heating units is formed by a pair of plates (a plate comprising 71 and a plate comprising 66, 67, 68) closed one on top of the other (see Figure 22), between which there is inserted a plurality of electric resistance flat heaters (e.g. each flat heater comprises at least one heater element 62, such as corresponding to heater elements E11, E12 of Figure 16, wherein each flat heater is separated by a spacer block 63 see Figure 22, i.e. see the cross-section in Figure 22 wherein spacer blocks 63 separate each flat heater along the cross-section wherein each flat heater is considered to comprise the layers/plates and element(s) between the pair of plates and separated by the spacer blocks), wherein each electric resistance flat heater comprises at least two flat layers (at least 75 and 65 in addition to at least one heater element 62), at least one of which is electrically insulating (at least insulating plate 65 is insulating wherein Guillemot teaches as insulating material mica insulation, Column 6, line 68, so that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the insulating plate 65 taught by Guillemot is formed of mica, i.e. electrically and thermally insulating, as is the only specific insulating material described by Guillemot) and at least one of which is thermally conductive (at least heat return plate 75 between at least one electrically powered conductive track and the object to be heated necessarily conducts heat to the at least one object), between which at least one electrically powered conductive track (at least one heater element 62 such as corresponding to E11 and E12) is inserted, and wherein one or more of either the at least two flat layers or the at least one conductive track are connected in a removable manner in order to be selectively separable (by removing screws 69) as taught by Guillemot (Column 4, lines 15-17 and Column 6, line 62 and Column 7, line 55 to Column 8, line 33 and Column 9, lines 5-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the heating platen taught by Iwata comprise the heating platen comprising a plurality of flat heating units taught by Guillemot as a simple substitution of one known heating platen to yield predictable results and including to mitigate the drawbacks of cartridge heaters.
Regarding claim 2, the plurality of electric resistance flat heaters taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot can be removed from the pair of plates (by removing screws 69).
Regarding claim 4, the at least two flat layers and the at least one conductive track taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot constitute a single body (Figure 22).
Regarding claim 6, each electric resistance flat heater taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot comprises a plurality of distinct conductive tracks (E11, E12), each electric resistance flat heater is electrically powered independently in order to obtain thermally differentiated zones/divisions (Figures 16 and 29 and Column 7, lines 21-54 of Guillemot).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the second lamination platform (including 6 or 27) taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot comprises a second frame provided with an upper heating system (3 or 29) comprising a plurality of radiance heaters (built-in heaters which radiate heat to the object) disposed facing the membrane and the object to be laminated (Figure 1 and Column 3, lines 16-27 and Column 9, lines 51-64) and wherein the upper heating system comprising the plurality of radiance heaters (3 or 29) is attached up against an upper internal wall of the second frame (6 or 27) (claim 9 rejected in as much as the limitation is currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claims 7-10, Iwata does not require the upper heating platen (3 or 29) comprising the built-in heaters comprise any particular heaters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the upper heating platen (3 or 29) taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot comprise the heating platen comprising a plurality of flat heating units taught by Guillemot (see Figures 22 and 29 and described above in full detail) not only as a simple substitution of one known heating platen to yield predictable results but to allow heating to different temperatures in multiple zones/divisions. Iwata as modified by Guillemot teach (regarding claim 7) the second lamination platform (including 6 or 27) comprises a second frame (comprising 66, 67, and 68 of Figure 22 of Guillemot) provided with an upper heating system (comprising 62) comprising a plurality of radiance heaters (62 which radiate heat to the object) disposed facing the membrane and the object to be laminated and (regarding claim 8) wherein the plurality of radiance heaters is attached to an upper internal wall of the second frame (U-shaped internal wall formed by surfaces of 66 and 67), in a position that is distanced (wherein the heating system comprises 62) with respect to the upper internal wall and (regarding claim 10) is recessed in the upper internal wall, by means of support elements (65, 69, and 70) having an (at least thermal) insulating and vibration compensation (the screws and washers preventing detachment of the heating system including when vibrated) function and further (regarding claim 9) the plurality of radiance heaters is considered attached up against the upper internal wall by the means of support elements (claims 9 and 10 rejected in as much as the limitations are currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above).
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata and Guillemot as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-10 above, and further in view of JP 5189422 (and see also the machine translation).
Iwata as modified by Guillemot above teach all of the limitations in claims 11-12 except for a specific teaching the second lamination platform comprises a flat grid element, disposed between the plurality of radiance heaters and the flexible membrane wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap that is either the same as, or diversified, one to each other, with a distribution on the plate that is either uniform or not. Iwata as modified by Guillemot above do not expressly teach a flat grid element disposed between the upper heating system (3 or 29) comprising a plurality of radiance heaters and the flexible membrane (8 or 31 or 1). It is known in the same art to include a flat grid element (5u) disposed between the upper heating system (32) comprising a plurality of radiance heaters (36) and the flexible membrane (elastic rubber cushion sheet 71u) wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures (11) having a respective passage gap of a predetermined size and shape for good uniformity in temperature distribution as taught by JP 5189422 (Figures 1 and 10 and Pages 2-5, 8, and 9 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the second lamination platform taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot comprises a flat grid element, disposed between the upper heating system comprising the plurality of radiance heaters and the flexible membrane wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap (necessarily that is either the same as, or diversified, one to each other, with a distribution on the plate that is either uniform or not) for good uniformity in temperature distribution as taught by JP 5189422.
Regarding claims 13-16, JP 5189422 depicts in Figure 6 (regarding claim 13) the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap that is the same one to each other and with a distribution on the plate in the center in columns and rows that is not uniform (i.e. regarding claim 16 wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a differentiated distribution on the plate) and on left and right columns of the center that is uniform (i.e. regarding claim 15 wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a uniform distribution on the plate). JP 5189422 does not appear to depict wherein the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap that is different one to each other. JP 5189422 does not expressly describe the respective passage gap of each aperture to each other. JP 5189422 teaches the grid element is formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures (11) having a respective passage gap of a predetermined size and shape for good uniformity in temperature distribution so that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the grid element formed by a flat plate provided with a plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap as taught by Iwata as modified by Guillemot and JP 5189422 is predetermined in size and shape to allow good uniformity in temperature distribution as directed by JP 5189422 such as to include the plurality of apertures having a respective passage gap that is either the same as, or diversified/different, one to each other, with a distribution on the plate that is either uniform or not/differentiated (it being noted changes in size/proportion and/or shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed respective passage gap was significant see MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered.
In view of the amendments filed on 9/17/2025 the rejections over Stevens (DE 102008018895 and see also the machine translation) set forth in the Office action mailed on 6/17/2025 are withdrawn.
Applicants argue, “Applicant has further amended independent Claim 1 to specify “wherein each electric resistance flat heater comprises at least two flat layers, electrically insulating and thermally conductive, between which at least one electrically powered conductive track is inserted” (emphasis added). Applicant respectfully submits that it is clear that 62 of Guillemot, which the Office Action relies upon for the claimed “electric resistance flat heater,” does not include a first layer, such as 73, 74, and/or 75 of Guillemot, and a second layer, such as 64 or 65 of Guillemot, with at least one electrically powered conductive track inserted therebetween, as alleged by the Office Action. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Guillemot fails to disclose, or render obvious, “wherein each of said flat heating units is formed by a pair of plates closed one on top of the other, between which there is inserted a plurality of electric resistance flat heaters, [and] wherein each electric resistance flat heater comprises at least two flat layers, electrically insulating and thermally conductive, between which at least one electrically powered conductive track is inserted,” as recited in amended Claim 1.”.
This argument is not persuasive wherein Guillemot teaches a plurality of flat heating units (Figure 29) wherein each of the flat heating units is formed by a pair of plates (a plate comprising 71 and a plate comprising 66, 67, 68) closed one on top of the other (see Figure 22), between which there is inserted a plurality of electric resistance flat heaters (each flat heater, see Figure 22, comprises at least one heater element 62, corresponding to E11, E12 see Figure 16, in addition to at least layers 75 and 65 see the cross-section in Figure 22 wherein spacer blocks 63 separate each flat heater along the cross-section wherein each flat heater is considered to comprise the layers/plates and element(s) between the pair of plates and separated by the spacer blocks), wherein each electric resistance flat heater comprises (in addition to at least one heater element 62) at least two flat layers (at least 75 and 65), at least one of which is electrically insulating and at least one of which is thermally conductive, between which at least one electrically powered conductive track (at least one heater element 62 corresponding to E11 and E12) is inserted, and wherein one or more of either the at least two flat layers or the at least one conductive track are connected in a removable manner in order to be selectively separable (by removing screws 69).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746