DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2023 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 includes a space between the word “calculating” and the comma, in “and calculating ,another propagation angle…”. The limitation should recite, “and calculating, another propagation angle…”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “the bidirectional measured angle value” in “constituting the bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest”. This limitation should recite, “a bidirectional measured angle value”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In reference to dependent claim 6, the prior arts made of record individually or in
any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220244370 A1), hereinafter Zhang, in view of KATO et al. (US 10101440 B2), hereinafter KATO.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses [Note: what Zhang fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
A MIMO radar signal processing device (see Fig. 1, further see paragraph 0028, “The radar system 102 can be a MIMO radar system and rely on ULAs to match the reflected EM signals to corresponding objects.”) comprising:
a plurality of transmission signal paths to generate transmission signals different from each other and output the generated transmission signals to corresponding transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, further see paragraph 0028, “The radar system 102 can include a transmitter 106 to transmit EM signals. The radar system 102 can also include a receiver 108 to receive reflected versions of the EM signals. The transmitter 106 includes one or more components, including an antenna or antenna elements, for emitting the EM signals. The receiver 108 includes one or more components, including an antenna or antenna elements, for detecting the reflected EM signals. The transmitter 106 and the receiver 108 can be incorporated together on the same integrated circuit (e.g., a transceiver integrated circuit) or separately on different integrated circuits. In other implementations, the radar system 102 does not include a separate antenna, but the transmitter 106 and the receiver 108 each include one or more antenna elements.”, further see Fig. 6 and paragraph 0080, “At 602, a radar system transmits EM energy using a transmitter array having a first number of antenna elements. For example, the transmitter array 312 of the antenna 300-2 includes three antenna elements 306. The antenna elements 306 are spaced apart by the transmitter spacing, d.sub.T, 316.”);
a plurality of receiver paths, each receiving a reception signal from a reception antenna corresponding to each of a plurality of reception antennas that capture reflected waves obtained by transmission waves transmitted from the transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, further see paragraph 0028, “The radar system 102 can include a transmitter 106 to transmit EM signals. The radar system 102 can also include a receiver 108 to receive reflected versions of the EM signals. The transmitter 106 includes one or more components, including an antenna or antenna elements, for emitting the EM signals. The receiver 108 includes one or more components, including an antenna or antenna elements, for detecting the reflected EM signals. The transmitter 106 and the receiver 108 can be incorporated together on the same integrated circuit (e.g., a transceiver integrated circuit) or separately on different integrated circuits. In other implementations, the radar system 102 does not include a separate antenna, but the transmitter 106 and the receiver 108 each include one or more antenna elements.”, further see Fig. 6 and paragraph 0081, “At 604, the radar system receives EM energy reflected by one or more objects using a receiver array having a second number of antenna elements. For example, the receiver array 314 of the antenna 300-2 includes four antenna elements 306. The antenna elements 306 are spaced apart by the receiver spacing, d.sub.R, 318. The EM energy transmitted by the transmitter array 312 can be reflected by one or more objects 120”), reaching an object and being reflected as arrival waves and transmission signals from the plurality of transmission signal paths (see Fig. 6 and paragraph 0081, “At 604, the radar system receives EM energy reflected by one or more objects using a receiver array having a second number of antenna elements. For example, the receiver array 314 of the antenna 300-2 includes four antenna elements 306. The antenna elements 306 are spaced apart by the receiver spacing, d.sub.R, 318. The EM energy transmitted by the transmitter array 312 can be reflected by one or more objects 120”), and outputting (see paragraphs 0082-0083, “[0082] At 606, the radar system generates a 2D data matrix using the EM energy received at the receiver array. The 2D data matrix includes the first number of rows and the second number of columns. For example, the angle-finding module 114 can use the EM energy received at the receiver array 314 to generate the 2D data matrix 500. The 2D data matrix 500 can include three rows and four columns corresponding to the number of antenna elements in the transmitter array 312 and the receiver array 314, respectively…At 608, the radar system determines DoA estimates and DoD estimates for monostatic conditions and bistatic conditions using the 2D data matrix. For example, the angle-finding module 114 can use the 2D data matrix to perform a direct-matching method or a cross-matching method to determine DoA estimates and DoD estimates for monostatic conditions and/or bistatic conditions as explained in greater detail with respect to FIGS. 4 and 5…At 610, the radar system determines an angle associated with each of the one or more objects by comparing the DoA estimates to the DoD estimates. For example, the angle-finding module 114 can compare the DoA estimates to the DoD estimates to determine an azimuth or elevation angle for the one or more objects that reflected the EM energy.”; where radar uses “a replica signal” to correlate with the received signal to determine object characteristics such as angle estimations);
a tentative angle measurer to assume the receiver paths as reception signals in a direct propagation mode by arrival waves that are directly propagated after the transmission waves are reflected by the object (see Fig. 6, step 608, “monostatic condition”, further see paragraph 0037, “In the detection condition 200-1, a monostatic scenario exists for a direct-path transmission and reflection of the radar signal. The radar system 102 transmits the emitted radiation or radar signal in the DoD 202-1. The corresponding reflected radiation or return radar signal is reflected by the object 120 to vehicle 104 in the DoA 204-1. The angle-finding module 114 may determine that the DoA 204-1 and the DoD 202-1 are equal, and therefore, no bistatic scenario exists in front of vehicle 104. The range or length of the transmitted radiation is equal to the range or length of the reflected radiation. The total range or length of the propagation path is also the shortest possible.”) and obtain a tentative measured angle value for a reception signal vector of interest corresponding to a range Doppler cell provided by target detection processing (see paragraph 0042, “The angle-finding module 114 can find three clusters of energy in range-Doppler detections (RDDs), including direct-path detections, bistatic scenarios, and two-way multipath detections. The angle-finding module 114 can use range-Doppler information to differentiate the bistatic scenarios (e.g., detection conditions 200-2 and 200-3) from the monostatic scenarios (e.g., detection conditions 200-1 and 200-4). The bistatic scenarios fall into the same range-Doppler bin.”); and
a bidirectional angle measurer to obtain a bidirectional measured angle value constituted by a direction-of-departure and a direction-of-arrival for the reception signal vector of interest from the receiver path outputs from the plurality of receiver paths and the tentative measured angle value calculated by the tentative angle measurer (see paragraph 0043, “After range-Doppler processing, the angle-finding module 114 can solve the following two scenarios by considering up to three angular targets in the same range-Doppler bin. First, a monostatic scenario where the DoD (e.g., the DoD 202-1 and the DoD 202-4) and the DoA (e.g., the DoA 204-1 and the DoA 204-4) are equal. In this scenario, the angle-finding module 114 can estimate the DoA without aliasing by forming a large synthetic array. Second, a bistatic scenario where the DoD (e.g., the DoD 202-2 and the DoD 202-3) and the DoA (e.g., the DoA 204-2 and the DoA 204-3) are not equal. In this scenario, the angle-finding module 114 can estimate the DoD and the DoA without aliasing. There are two angular targets in the same range-Doppler bin in the bistatic scenario that share the same propagation path with opposite directions. For the detection condition 200-2, the DoD 202-2 is a first angle 206, θ.sub.1, and the DoA 204-2 is a second angle 208, φ.sub.1. For the detection condition 200-3, the DoD 202-3 is a third angle 212, θ.sub.2, and the DoA 204-3 is a fourth angle 210, φ.sub.2. Because the propagation paths are the same, the first angle 206, θ.sub.1, is equal to the fourth angle 210, φ.sub.2, and the second angle 208, φ.sub.1, is equal to third angle 212, θ.sub.2.”, further see flow diagraph of Fig. 4 which determines the matching error, further see paragraph 0067, “For the monostatic-scenario hypothesis, the DoD, θ, is equal to the DoA, φ. For the two 2D angular phase estimates (μ.sub.1, v.sub.1) and (μ.sub.2, v.sub.2), the angle-finding module 114 can use the DoA estimation process described with respect to operation 408 for the monostatic scenario and record the respective matching errors.”).
KATO discloses,
a plurality of transmission signal generators to generate transmission signals different from each other and output the generated transmission signals to corresponding transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, plurality of “transmission signa Generation process units”, 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, further see Col. 3, lines 1-11, “In an example in FIG. 1, the transmission signal generation unit 1 includes three transmission signal generation process units 1-1 to 1-3, and generates three mutually orthogonal transmission signals, but this is only exemplary, and the transmission signal generation unit 1 only needs to generate two or more mutually orthogonal transmission signals…The transmission signal generation process units 1-1 to 1-3 generate mutually orthogonal transmission signals (1) to (3) by using any one or plural mutually different times, mutually different frequencies, and mutually different codes.”),
a plurality of matched filter banks, each receiving a reception signal from a reception antenna corresponding to each of a plurality of reception antennas that capture reflected waves obtained by transmission waves transmitted from the transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, cross-correlation operation units 5-1-1, 5-1-2 and 5-1-3 implemented as “matched filters”, further see Col. 8, line 66 - Col. 9, line 6) and outputting matched filter outputs serving as vector elements of reception signal vectors using the transmission signals from the plurality of transmission signal generators as a replica of a matched filter (see Fig. plurality of “cross correlation operation units”, 5-1-1,5-1-2,5-1-3, further see Col. 3, line 57-Col. 4 line 9, “A replica generation unit 4 generates replicas of the transmission signals (1) to (3) generated by the transmission signal generation process units 1-1 to 1-3, and outputs the replicas or the transmission signals (1) to (3) to correlation process units 5-1 to 5-N…FIG. 1 shows an example in which the replica generation unit 4 outputs the replicas of the transmission signals (1) to (3) to the correlation process units 5-1 to 5-N, but the transmission signal generation process units 1-1 to 1-3 may output the transmission signals (1) to (3) to the correlation process units 5-1 to 5-N. In this case, it is possible to omit the replica generation unit 4. However, by mounting the replica generation unit 4, it is possible to give the same signals as the transmission signals (1) to (3) emitted from the transmitting antennas 2-1 to 2-3 to the correlation process units 5-1 to 5-N even in the case where the installation positions of the transmission signal generation unit 1 and the correlation process units 5-1 to 5-N are far away from each other.”, further see Col. 8, line 66 - Col. 9, line 6, “Herein, the replica of the transmission signal (1) is a signal stream having a predetermined length, and the cross-correlation process between the replica of the transmission signal (1) and the reception signal can be implemented by using, e.g., a matched filter that determines the correlation between the replica of the transmission signal (1) and the reception signal by multiplying the replica of the transmission signal (1) and the reception signal.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by KATO into the invention of Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose a MIMO radar device to determine correlation between transmitted and received radar signals for object detection. Zhang discloses a MIMO radar system where Direction of Arrival (DAO) and Direction of Departure (DOD) are used to determine whether bi-static or mono-static paths between the radar and objects exists. Although, Zhang does not clearly disclose the use of “a plurality of transmission signal generators to generate transmission signals”, it would have been obvious in light of KATO to incorporate such a feature. Furthermore, the use of a plurality of generators is simply a design choice where a single generator can also be used to generate a plurality of different transmission signals coupled to a plurality of transmission signals. In either configurations, the result would be the same that a plurality of transmission signals are generated and transmitted along a plurality of transmission paths using a plurality of transmission antennas. Secondly, Zhang discloses the feature of correlating the transmission signals with the reception signals to determine angle values. It is important to note that when using radar, “a transmission signal replica” is used to determine the change in the transmission signal and reflected received signals (this is further supported by KATO) to determine angle/azimuth values. Furthermore, although Zhang does not clearly disclose the use of a plurality of “matched filters”, such a design feature would have been obvious in light of KATO where a plurality of correlation units are coupled with the receiver antennas and these correlation units are implemented as “matched filters”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to perform the “detection conditions” 200-1, 200-2, 200-3, and 200-4 encountered by vehicle 104 with the radar system 102 using a plurality of matched filters coupled to the receiver antennas. The combination Zhang and KATO would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain the desired directivity pattern with high accuracy (see Col. 17, lines 24-26 of KATO) .
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 1, wherein the tentative measured angle value by the tentative angle measurer is obtained by setting a direction-of-departure and a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest to be the same propagation angle (see paragraph 0067, “For the monostatic-scenario hypothesis, the DoD, θ, is equal to the DoA, φ. For the two 2D angular phase estimates (μ.sub.1, v.sub.1) and (μ.sub.2, v.sub.2), the angle-finding module 114 can use the DoA estimation process described with respect to operation 408 for the monostatic scenario and record the respective matching errors.”, further see paragraph 0074, “In another implementation, the angle-finding module 114 compares the matching errors between the monostatic-scenario hypothesis and the bistatic-scenario hypothesis. The smaller matching error indicates the true hypothesis and corresponding angle estimates.”, further see paragraph 0095, “The radar system of example 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to the number of the one or more objects being two: determine whether the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles is less than the matching error associated with the potential angle; responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential pair of matching angles; and responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles not being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential angle.”)), and obtaining a propagation angle at which a directional spectrum obtained using the propagation angle as a variable indicates a maximum value as a tentative measured angle value (see paragraph 0031, “The radar system 102 can determine a distance to the object 120 based on the time it takes for the EM signals to travel from the radar system 102 to the object 120, and from the object 120 back to the radar system 102. The radar system 102 can also determine, using the angle-finding module 114, a location of the object 120 in terms of a direction of departure (DoD) 128 and a direction of arrival (DoA) 134 based on the direction of one or more large-amplitude echo signal received by the radar system 102.”, where the angle value is determined based on the “largest amplitude” echo signal).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional measured angle value in the bidirectional angle measurer is obtained by setting the tentative measured angle value calculated by the tentative angle measurer as a direction-of-departure constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest and obtaining a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest (see paragraph 0067, “For the monostatic-scenario hypothesis, the DoD, θ, is equal to the DoA, φ. For the two 2D angular phase estimates (μ.sub.1, v.sub.1) and (μ.sub.2, v.sub.2), the angle-finding module 114 can use the DoA estimation process described with respect to operation 408 for the monostatic scenario and record the respective matching errors.”, further see paragraph 0074, “In another implementation, the angle-finding module 114 compares the matching errors between the monostatic-scenario hypothesis and the bistatic-scenario hypothesis. The smaller matching error indicates the true hypothesis and corresponding angle estimates.”, further see paragraph 0095, “The radar system of example 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to the number of the one or more objects being two: determine whether the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles is less than the matching error associated with the potential angle; responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential pair of matching angles; and responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles not being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential angle.”)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional measured angle value in the bidirectional angle measurer is obtained by setting the tentative measured angle value calculated by the tentative angle measurer as a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest and obtaining a direction-of-departure constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest (see paragraph 0067, “For the monostatic-scenario hypothesis, the DoD, θ, is equal to the DoA, φ. For the two 2D angular phase estimates (μ.sub.1, v.sub.1) and (μ.sub.2, v.sub.2), the angle-finding module 114 can use the DoA estimation process described with respect to operation 408 for the monostatic scenario and record the respective matching errors.”, further see paragraph 0074, “In another implementation, the angle-finding module 114 compares the matching errors between the monostatic-scenario hypothesis and the bistatic-scenario hypothesis. The smaller matching error indicates the true hypothesis and corresponding angle estimates.”, further see paragraph 0095, “The radar system of example 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to the number of the one or more objects being two: determine whether the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles is less than the matching error associated with the potential angle; responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential pair of matching angles; and responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles not being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential angle.”)).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional measured angle value in the bidirectional angle measurer is one of a first tentative bidirectional measured angle value obtained by setting the tentative measured angle value calculated by the tentative angle measurer as a direction-of-departure constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest to obtain a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest and a second tentative bidirectional measured angle value obtained by setting the tentative measured angle value calculated by the tentative angle measurer as a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest to obtain a direction-of-departure constituting a bidirectional measured angle value in the reception signal vector of interest (see paragraph 0067-0071, “For the monostatic-scenario hypothesis, the DoD, θ, is equal to the DoA, φ. For the two 2D angular phase estimates (μ.sub.1, v.sub.1) and (μ.sub.2, v.sub.2), the angle-finding module 114 can use the DoA estimation process described with respect to operation 408 for the monostatic scenario and record the respective matching errors…”, further see paragraph 0074, “In another implementation, the angle-finding module 114 compares the matching errors between the monostatic-scenario hypothesis and the bistatic-scenario hypothesis. The smaller matching error indicates the true hypothesis and corresponding angle estimates.”, further see paragraph 0095, “The radar system of example 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to the number of the one or more objects being two: determine whether the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles is less than the matching error associated with the potential angle; responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential pair of matching angles; and responsive to the matching error associated with the potential pair of matching angles not being less than the matching error associated with the potential angle, determine that the angle associated with each of the one or more objects is equal to the potential angle.”)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a propagation mode distinguisher to distinguish whether a propagation mode in a reception signal vector of interest for a bidirectional measured angle value obtained by the bidirectional angle measurer is a direct propagation mode or a multipath propagation mode on a basis of the bidirectional measured angle value (see paragraphs 0037-0038, “In the detection condition 200-1, a monostatic scenario exists for a direct-path transmission and reflection of the radar signal. The radar system 102 transmits the emitted radiation or radar signal in the DoD 202-1. The corresponding reflected radiation or return radar signal is reflected by the object 120 to vehicle 104 in the DoA 204-1. The angle-finding module 114 may determine that the DoA 204-1 and the DoD 202-1 are equal, and therefore, no bistatic scenario exists in front of vehicle 104. The range or length of the transmitted radiation is equal to the range or length of the reflected radiation. The total range or length of the propagation path is also the shortest possible…In the detection condition 200-2, a bistatic scenario exists for a direct-path transmission and a multipath reflection of the radar signal. The radar system 102 transmits the emitted radiation or radar signal in the DoD 202-2. The corresponding reflected radiation or return radar signal is reflected by the object 120 and the reflective surface 118 to the vehicle 104 in the DoA 204 - 2. The angle-finding module 114 may determine that the DoA 204-2 and the DoD 202-2 are not equal, and therefore, a bistatic scenario exists in front of vehicle 104. The range or length of the transmitted radiation is not equal to the range or length of the reflected radiation.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further discloses
The MIMO radar signal processing device according to claim 7, wherein the propagation mode distinguisher compares a value of a difference between a direction- of-departure and a direction-of-arrival constituting a bidirectional measured angle value obtained by the bidirectional angle measurer with a threshold, distinguishes the propagation mode as a direct propagation mode when the value of the difference is equal to or less than the threshold, and distinguishes the propagation mode as a multipath propagation mode when the value of the difference exceeds the threshold (see paragraphs 0071-72, “If the matching error is larger than the predetermined threshold, the angle-finding module 114 at 422 performs cross-matching to estimate the joint DoD and DoA and unfold the angles. In cross-matching, the angle-finding module 114 uses μ.sub.1 and v.sub.2 as one pair for unfolding, while μ.sub.2 and v.sub.1 are used as one pair for unfolding using Equations (5) and (6)… ] At 416, the angle-finding module 114 compares the matching errors for the bistatic-condition hypothesis to a predetermined threshold. If the matching error is smaller than the predetermined threshold, the angle-finding module 114 at 418 sets the bistatic flag or indicator, f.sub.bistatic, to false. And the angle estimates 420 are output from the monostatic-scenario hypothesis…If the matching error is larger than the predetermined threshold, the angle-finding module 114 at 422 performs cross-matching to estimate the joint DoD and DoA and unfold the angles. In cross-matching, the angle-finding module 114 uses μ.sub.1 and v.sub.2 as one pair for unfolding, while μ.sub.2 and v.sub.1 are used as one pair for unfolding using Equations (5) and (6).”).
Regarding claim 9, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 10, the same cited section and rationale as claim 7 is applied.
Regarding claim 11, the same cited section and rationale as claims 1 and 7 is applied.
Regarding claim 12, the same cited section and rationale as claim 8 is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yoffe et al. (US 20220214425 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a MIMO radar system used to determine direction of arrival (DOA) and direction of departure (DOD) where depending on the path of the radar signal, the DOA and DOD are either the same or different (see paragraphs 0384-0387).
Stephens (US 20050270227 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system using direct radar returns and multipath returns to determine target position (see Fig. 8).
OSHIMA et al. (US 20150355322 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system using direct radar returns and multipath returns for cross correlation (see Figs. 1 and 4).
ISHIKAWA et al. (US 20200363522 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a MIMO radar device which determines signal return paths as either direct or multipath by determining mismatches between the paths (see Figs. 3A and 3B, and further see paragraphs 0050-0052).
Small (US 20200166622 A1) is considered close pertinent art the claimed invention as it discloses determining direction of arrival and direction of departure angles between direct targets and the radar device using direct and indirect radar paths (see Fig. 9, further see paragraph 0162, “As shown in FIG. 9 the apparatus 900 finds a non-negligible or above threshold signal 911 from a direction with bearing β, presumably arriving via reflection of a transmitted signal 803 from an object 928 at an as yet unknown range 938. If the apparatus 900 can measure the path length 917 for this indirect path signal 911 it can use that information, together with the range 919 to the transmitter 905 and the orientation a of its antenna array 902, to determine the so-called bistatic range ellipse 921.”).
Longman et al. [Longman, Oren, Shahar Villeval, and Igal Bilik. "Multipath ghost targets mitigation in automotive environments." 2021 IEEE Radar Conference (RadarConf21). IEEE, 2021] is considered close pertinent art the claimed invention as it discloses a radar propagation model where direction of arrival and direction of departure angles are determined for different radar paths (see Fig. 2 and II Signal Model).
Liu et al. [Liu, Chenwen, et al. "Multipath propagation analysis and ghost target removal for FMCW automotive radars." IET International Radar Conference (IET IRC 2020). Vol. 2020. IET, 2020.] is considered close pertinent art the claimed invention as it discloses a radar propagation model where direction of arrival and direction of departure angles are determined for different radar paths (see Fig. 2 and section 2 Mathematical Model).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648