Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/10/25, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of claims 1-10 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/10/25, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections under Sakurai have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejections of claims 1, 2, and 7 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/10/25, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections under Wang have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejections of claims 1-6, and 8-9 have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Carabalona US 20080191494 A1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first component and the second component mentioned in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carabalona US 20080191494 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Carabalona teaches: A locking device (Fig 1) for locking a first component (Fig 7, 304) to a second component (Fig 1, the second component is the compartment mentioned in P0045), comprising: a first device part (Fig 9, 376) configured to attach to the first component (Fig 9 shows 376 is attached to first component 304 via 380) and a second device part (Fig 1, 300, 332) configured to attach to the second component (It is the position of the examiner that the compartment mentioned in P0045 that is the second compartment, is what second device part 300, 332 is attached to via the mounting holes shown unnumbered in Fig 1 to the left and right sides of 332 of the second device part), the first device part having a locking recess (Fig 8, 326) and the second device part having a movably mounted locking element (Fig 7, 319, 336, these are moveably mounted to 332 of the second device part via spindles 350, 352 as described in P0059) correspondingly configured to the locking recess (described in P0049 and shown in Fig 7 and 8), whereby the locking element engages in the locking recess in a locking position (shown in Fig 7) and thereby the first device part and second device part of the device are interlocked (shown in Fig 7 and 8); a drive assembly (Fig 10, 321) coupled to the locking element (coupled to 336 via 317, 339, 220 as shown in Fig 8 and Fig 10 and described in P0075), which is configured to move the locking element from the locking position to a release position (release position shown in Fig 12), in which the locking element does not engage the locking recess, in normal operation (Figs 7, 10, and 12 show the sequence of the locking element moving from the locking position to the release position via the drive assembly, which is also described in P0079), thereby releasing the first device part and second device part of the device from each other (P0079); a motor (Fig 325) including an output shaft (Fig 65, 327);a transmission wheel axially coupled with the output shaft (Fig 10, 331) such that the transmission wheel and the output shaft are axially arranged (shown in Fig 10 and described in P0076), wherein the transmission wheel is coupled to the locking element (Fig 8, coupled via 220, 339, 317), wherein as the transmission wheel rotates, wherein the transmission wheel is moveable from the locking position into the release position by turning the transmission wheel in a release direction (P0079, first direction mentioned is the release direction) and is movable from the release position to the locking position by an opposite rotation of the transmission wheel in a locking direction (P0080, second direction mentioned is the locking direction); and an emergency release device (Fig 8, 402 and described in P0075) operable manually by means of an emergency actuator (P0075, the receptacle (not shown)mentioned and further described in P0066 is the emergency actuator, which is connected to Bowden cable 220 via 402) and configured to move the locking element from the locking position to the release position in emergency mode (P0075), wherein the emergency actuator is decoupled in normal operation from movements of the drive assembly and the locking element ((it is the position of the examiner that since the manual actuation of the emergency actuator is via a remotely located handle as described in P0066, it is decoupled from movements of the drive assembly in normal operation as the emergency actuator would not be pulled in normal operation by the user).
Regarding Claim 7, Carabalona teaches: The locking device according to claim 1, wherein the emergency actuator is formed as a pull cable (P0075 describes the emergency actuator, the receptacle not shown, as being connected to 402 which is attached to Bowden cable 220 and pulls said cable 220 via 402 when the emergency actuator is pulled).
Regarding Claim 11, Carabalona teaches: The locking device according to claim 1 wherein the first device part is configured to attach to a glove compartment flap (P0046, the first device part 376 that is attached to first component 304 which is described in P0046 as a door, is a glove compartment flap as described in P0045 and P0005-0006), and wherein the second device part is configured to attach to a glove compartment (the compartment mentioned in P0045 that is the second compartment, is what second device part 300, 332 is attached to via the mounting holes shown unnumbered in Fig 1 to the left and right sides of 332 of the second device part, this compartment being a glove compartment as mentioned in P0005-P0006 ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, none of the prior art discloses or renders obvious a locking device having the combination of features recited in claim 2. The closest prior art of record, Carabalona US 20080191494 A1, teaches a locking device having much of the claimed structure but fails to teach: wherein, the transmission wheel includes an eccentrically arranged coupling element through which the transmission wheel is coupled to the locking element.
Regarding Claims 3-6, and 8-9, these claims are objected to due to their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10, none of the prior art discloses or renders obvious a locking device having the combination of features recited in claim 10. The closest prior art of record, Carabalona US 20080191494 A1, teaches a locking device having much of the claimed structure but fails to teach: wherein the first device part has a plunger on which the locking recess is formed, and the second device part has a housing in which the locking element is movably mounted, the housing having an entrance opening for the plunger, and a bolt preloaded by means of a spring element in a direction of the entrance opening is arranged in the housing.
Claims 12-20 is allowed.
Regarding Claim 12, none of the prior art discloses or renders obvious a locking device having the combination of features recited in claim 12. The closest prior art of record, Carabalona US 20080191494 A1, teaches a locking device having much of the claimed structure but fails to teach: wherein the first device part has a plunger on which the locking recess is formed, and the second device part has a housing in which the locking element is movably mounted, the housing having an entrance opening for the plunger, and a bolt preloaded by means of a spring element in a direction of the entrance opening is arranged in the housing.
Regarding Claims 13-20, these claims are allowed due to their dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675