DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Shimoda describes a system that controls a waiting period (X) based on the cumulative total amount of waste ink discharged across past sessions. In contrast, the present invention as recited in amended claim 1 describes the control logic on the specific volume of liquid discharged in the single, immediately preceding session”, please note that paragraph 0038, among others, teaches that an initial value of “0” is recorded as the total waste ink absorption when the ink tank is a new tank, meaning that when a second discharge operation occurs, the total amount of waste ink will be the amount discharged in the previous (i.e., first) operation, meeting the claim as written.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “while Shimoda discloses a light-emitting portion that allows a user to visually confirm a state in which an operation is currently paused (paragraphs [0069] and [0075], Shimoda), it does not disclose the control unit notifying a user not to start a discharge operation as required by the amended claim”, please note that the claim does not require a specific form of notification (e.g., the notifying being done by displaying a message for the user to see/read.) “Notify” is broad and may include visual clues, lights, and indicators. In this case, the light-emitting portion that allows a user to visually confirm the operation status will serve as an indication that a discharge operation is not to be started, meeting the claim as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims have been amended to recite “immediately preceding session” instead of “previous session”. However, the term “immediately preceding session” does not appear in the originally filed specification. The specification describes a/the “previous session”, but does not provide support for the more specific limitation “immediately preceding session”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimoda (US 2008/0062222.)
Regarding claim 1,
Shimoda discloses a recording apparatus comprising:
a discharge unit [‘ink supply system’ seen in fig. 3; paragraph 0047] configured to cause a recording head [6 in figs. 3-4] to discharge liquid [during preliminary discharge; paragraphs 0036-0037];
a storing unit [5 in figs. 1 and 3 / 15 in fig. 6] configured to store the liquid discharged from the recording head [as waste ink; paragraphs 0034 and 0051]; and
a control unit [310 in fig. 4] configured to notify a user not to start a discharge operation until a predetermined time has passed since an end time of an immediately preceding session of the discharge operation, in a case where an amount of liquid discharged in the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation by the discharge unit is a first discharge amount, and configured not to notify the user in a case where the amount of liquid discharged in the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation by the discharge unit is a second discharge amount smaller than the first discharge amount [paragraphs 0038-0042, 0045, and 0073-0076; fig. 7; please note that paragraph 0045 teaches that “the waiting time from the previous waste ink absorption until the next waste ink absorption can be performed also changes with the amount of the previously collected waste ink”, and paragraph 0075 teaches “To allow a user to recognize that the pump is stopped for the predetermined time period, the light emitting portion 26 of the ink tank 15 emits light. When an emitted state of the light emitting portion 26 is visually recognized by the user, the user is informed that the pump is stopped”; since the pump needs to be activated to circulate the liquid in the cap before subsequent discharge operations, it is implicit that the user being notified that the pump is stopped for the predetermined time will further serve as an indication that a discharge operation is not to be started.]
Regarding claim 2,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the second discharge amount is an amount of liquid discharged in the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation that allows a time required for the storing unit to be restored to a condition capable of storing liquid to be discharged in a current session of the discharge operation after completion of the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation to be within the predetermined time [paragraphs 0038 and 0045.]
Regarding claim 5,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the predetermined time is a time required for the storing unit to be restored to a condition capable of storing liquid discharged in the discharge operation, in a case where an amount of liquid discharged in the discharge operation is the first discharge amount [paragraph 0038, 0040 and 0046.]
Regarding claim 6,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the predetermined time is a time required for a storage capacity of liquid in the storing unit to exceed the amount of liquid to be discharged in a current session of the discharge operation [paragraph 0073.]
Regarding claim 7,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the storage capacity recovers with time as bubbles of liquid generated by the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation in the storing unit reduce [paragraph 0052.]
Regarding claim 11,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the storing unit comprises:
a container for storing liquid [the housing that comprises section 11 and section 12 in figs. 1-2 and 6]; and
a liquid absorber [16 in figs. 1-2 and 6] disposed inside of the container [as seen in figs. 1 and 6],
wherein the container comprises:
a first waste liquid holding space in which the liquid absorber is disposed [space occupied by the absorber; as seen in fig. 2]; and
a second waste liquid holding space in which the liquid absorber is not disposed [space in section 12 that surrounds the absorber 16];
wherein the predetermined time is a time required for a liquid storage capacity of the second waste liquid holding space to exceed the amount of liquid to be discharged in a current session of the discharge operation [paragraphs 0040-0041.]
Regarding claim 12,
Shimoda further discloses wherein the control unit controls the discharge unit to keep the discharge unit from starting a current session of the discharge operation until the predetermined time has passed [as seen in figs. 5 and 7.]
Regarding claim 13,
Shimoda further discloses the recording apparatus further comprising a notification unit [26 in fig. 6] that provides a notification to the user [paragraphs 0069 and 0075-0076.]
Regarding claim 16,
Shimoda discloses a method of controlling a recording apparatus that comprises a discharge unit [‘ink supply system’ seen in fig. 3; paragraph 0047] configured to cause a recording head [6 in figs. 3-4] to discharge liquid [during preliminary discharge; paragraphs 0036-0037], and a storing unit [5 in figs. 1 and 3 / 15 in fig. 6] configured to store the liquid discharged from the recording head [as waste ink; paragraphs 0034 and 0051], the method comprising:
notifying a user not to start a discharge operation until a predetermined time has passed since an end time of an immediately preceding session of the discharge operation, in a case where an amount of liquid discharged in the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation by the discharge unit is a first discharge amount [paragraphs 0038-0042, 0045, and 0073-0076; fig. 7; also note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "in a case”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, provided the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection above is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8,
The primary reason for allowance for this claim is the inclusion of the limitations of claims 1 and 5-6, further reciting wherein the storage capacity is obtained on the basis of:
The storage capacity of the storing unit;
an amount of bubbles of liquid generated by the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation in the storing unit at an end time of the discharge operation;
an amount of bubbles that disappear per unit time; and
a time between the end time of the immediately preceding session of the discharge operation and a current time.
It is these limitations, in combination as claimed, that have not been taught, found, or suggested by prior art.
Regarding claims 9 and 10,
These claims are considered to have allowable subject matter due to their dependency on claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853