DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/391,025 filed on December 20, 2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features listed in the following table must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim
limitation
10
a lens configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter
11
wherein the wireless power transmitter is coupled to the eyewear frame.
12
wherein: the at least one optical element forms a hole; and the at least one electrical component is embedded in the hole; and further comprising: molding that secures the at least one electrical component in the hole; and at least one electrical connection that electrically couples the at least one electrical component to a trace disposed on the at least one optical element.
13
wherein the at least one optical element forms a hole; and the at least one electrical component is disposed on the optical element proximate to the hole; and further comprising: a first trace that is disposed on a first side of the optical element and is electrically coupled to the at least one electrical component; a second trace disposed on a second side of the optical element; and at least one electrical connection that electrically couples the first trace and the second trace to one another via the hole
14
wherein the optical element comprises an inactive area configured to be positioned outside a view of a user wearing the eyewear frame; and further comprising: one or more traces disposed on the optical element in the inactive area; and at least one flexible electrical jumper applied over the one or more traces such that flexible electrical jumper avoids sharing electrical continuity with the one or more traces.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the features listed in the table below as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
paragraph
feature
[0023]
wireless power transmitter 120 may be coupled to, embedded in, and/or incorporated in eyewear frame 102 is not shown.
[0038]/[0040]
None of the details of how the LEDs are installed within or proximate to the holes or cavities are shown
[0039]/[0041]
None of the details of the electrical connections, traces or transparent film are shown
[0049]
None of the options with respect to the inactive areas are shown.
[0050]
None of the electrical connections, flexible electrical jumper or traces are shown.
[0051]
The anisotropic conductive film, jumpers and paths are not shown.
[0074]
The lens configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter is not shown.
[0080]
Wherein the one or more fasteners comprise a spring clip that supports both the high-band antenna and the low-band antenna simultaneously is not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites the limitation "the system of claim 12" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Given that a system is introduced in claim 15, it is unclear whether claim 16 was intended to depend from claim 15 or if claim 16 should have recited “the apparatus of claim 12.” Either are perfectly reasonable choices, thus it is unclear whether claim 16 further includes all of the limitations of claim 12, or all of the limitations of claim 15. For the purpose of examination claim 16 will be treated as depending from claim 12 and the preamble will not be given additional patentable weight. However, appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites the limitation "the system of claim 12" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Given that a system is introduced in claim 15, it is unclear whether claim 17 was intended to depend from claim 15 or if claim 17 should have recited “the apparatus of claim 12.” Either are perfectly reasonable choices, thus it is unclear whether claim 17 further includes all of the limitations of claim 12, or all of the limitations of claim 15. For the purpose of examination claim 17 will be treated as depending from claim 12 and the preamble will not be given additional patentable weight. However, appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 recites the limitation "the system of claim 14" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Given that a system is introduced in claim 15, it is unclear whether claim 18 was intended to depend from claim 15 or if claim 18 should have recited “the apparatus of claim 14.” Either are perfectly reasonable choices, thus it is unclear whether claim 18 further includes all of the limitations of claim 14, or all of the limitations of claim 15. For the purpose of examination claim 18 will be treated as depending from claim 14 and the preamble will not be given additional patentable weight. However, appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 recites the limitations "the circuitry" in line 1 and “the movement of the at least one eye” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In particular, claim 19 depends from claim 15 which does not introduce either element. It is unclear whether claim 19 was intended to depend from claim 18, or intended to newly introduce these features. For the purpose of examination claim 19 will be treated as depending from claim 15 and newly introducing these features. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moubedi US 11,527,895 B1 (hereafter Moubedi).
Regarding claim 1, Moubedi teaches “An apparatus (eyewear device 100) comprising:
an eyewear frame (frame 105 and temples 110) that supports at least one optical element (infrared emitter 115/215, infrared camera 120/220 and/or optical assembly 180);
at least one wireless power receiver (wireless charging receiver 942 with coil 944) disposed on the at least one optical element (col. 11 lines 21-23: “the single coil 944 is integrated into the frame 105 of the eyewear 100, such extending as around one or both optical assemblies 180A and 180B.” This is “disposed on” the optical elements above, because 115 and 120 are also in frame 105 see Figs. 2A and 3) and configured to receive a wireless power transfer (col. 10 lines 60-62: “The single coil 944 receives the wireless power signal and inductively transforms the wireless power signal to power having a voltage and current.”) from a wireless power transmitter (wireless power charger 946 with wireless charging transmitter 950); and
at least one electrical component (both the infrared emitter 115 and the infrared camera 120 are electrically components that require power to operate, see also printed circuit board 340 in Figs. 3 and 4) disposed on the at least one optical element (the electrical components that operate the emitter and the camera are “disposed on” the optical elements thereof) and electrically coupled to the at least one wireless power receiver (see Figs. 8-9, the infrared emitters and infrared cameras are powered by battery 958 and front end 938 which has the receiver 943, thus they are electrically coupled thereto), wherein the at least one electrical component is powered by the wireless power transfer (Even if the electrical components are powered by the battery which is powered by the wireless power transfer, they are still ultimately powered by the wireless power transfer.).”
Regarding claim 2, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one wireless power receiver comprises at least one of:
a far-field power receiver; or a near-field power receiver (receiver 942 is a near-field power receiver because it received power due to induction based on charging transmitter 950, see Fig. 8A and e.g. col. 11 lines 17-20: “respective coils 944, 952 and 953 are aligned with each other, and spaced no more than 1 inch from each other to achieve good power and data coupling.).”
Regarding claim 12, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one optical element forms a hole (see Fig. 4 the hole in which 445, 215 and 340 reside); and
the at least one electrical component is embedded in the hole (infrared emitter 215 is in the hole shown in Fig. 4); and
further comprising: molding that secures the at least one electrical component in the hole (the frame back 335 is a molding that secures 215 see Figs. 3-4 and col. 9 lines 54-55: “An opening for the infrared emitter 215 is formed on the frame back 335.”); and
at least one electrical connection (col. 10 lines 14-18: “the infrared emitter 215 on the flexible PCB 340 and electrically connect the two components… leads from the infrared emitter 215”) that electrically couples the at least one electrical component to a trace disposed on the at least one optical element (the lead connects electrical component 215 to PCB 340, where PCB 340 includes electrical traces because it is a printed circuit board).”
Regarding claim 13, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one optical element forms a hole (through-holes col. 10 lines 15-18: “through-holes can be used to connect leads from the infrared emitter 215 to the flexible PCB 340”); and
the at least one electrical component is disposed on the optical element proximate to the hole (215 is proximate to the through holes that connect 215 to PCB 340); and
further comprising:
a first trace (a first lead amongst the leads that connect 215 to 340) that is disposed on a first side of the optical element (let the first side of 215 be defined by the position of the first lead) and is electrically coupled to the at least one electrical component (the leads connect to 340);
a second trace (a second lead amongst the leads that connect 215 to 340) disposed on a second side of the optical element (let the second side be defined by the position of the second lead, see examiner’s diagram below. No matter where the first and second leads are on the rear face of 215, one can always draw a line between them to define a first and a second side of the rear face.); and
at least one electrical connection (PCB 340 is electrically connected to both the first and second leads) that electrically couples the first trace and the second trace to one another via the hole (since both leads are connected to 340 via the through holes, PCB 340 can be said to electrically couple the first and second traces to one another at least in the sense that they are both connected electrically to 340).”
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (first lead)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (second lead)][AltContent: textbox (first lead)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: textbox (first side)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (second lead)][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (second side)][AltContent: textbox (second side)][AltContent: textbox (first side)]
Regarding claim 15, Moubedi teaches “A system (Fig. 9) comprising:
a wireless power transmitter (wireless power charger 946 with wireless charging transmitter 950); and
a head-mounted display (eyewear device 100) comprising:
an eyewear frame (frame 105 and temples 110) that supports at least one optical element (infrared emitter 115/215, infrared camera 120/220 or optical assembly 180);
at least one wireless power receiver (wireless charging receiver 942 with coil 944) disposed on the at least one optical element (col. 11 lines 21-23: “the single coil 944 is integrated into the frame 105 of the eyewear 100, such extending as around one or both optical assemblies 180A and 180B.” This is “disposed on” the optical elements above, because 115 and 120 are also in frame 105 see Figs. 2A and 3) and configured to receive a wireless power transfer (col. 10 lines 60-62: “The single coil 944 receives the wireless power signal and inductively transforms the wireless power signal to power having a voltage and current.”) from the wireless power transmitter (wireless power charger 946 with wireless charging transmitter 950); and
at least one electrical component (both the infrared emitter 115 and the infrared camera 120 are electrically components that require power to operate, see also printed circuit board 340 in Figs. 3 and 4) disposed on the at least one optical element (the electrical components that operate the emitter and the camera are “disposed on” the optical elements thereof) and electrically coupled to the at least one wireless power receiver (see Figs. 8-9, the infrared emitters and infrared cameras are powered by battery 958 and front end 938 which has the receiver 943, thus they are electrically coupled thereto), wherein the at least one electrical component is powered by the wireless power transfer (Even if the electrical components are powered by the battery which is powered by the wireless power transfer, they are still ultimately powered by the wireless power transfer.).”
Regarding claim 16, Moubedi teaches “The system of claim 12, wherein the at least one wireless power receiver comprises at least one of:
a far-field power receiver; or a near-field power receiver (receiver 942 is a near-field power receiver because it received power due to induction based on charging transmitter 950, see Fig. 8A and e.g. col. 11 lines 17-20: “respective coils 944, 952 and 953 are aligned with each other, and spaced no more than 1 inch from each other to achieve good power and data coupling.).”
Regarding claim 19, Moubedi teaches “The system of claim 15, wherein the circuitry (programming by the processor 932) is further configured to modify virtual content presented via the at least one optical element based at least in part on the movement of the at least one eye (col. 4 lines 42-55: “Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to determine a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user. The field of view adjustment includes a successive field of view corresponding to a successive head direction or a successive eye direction. Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to generate a successive displayed image of the sequence of displayed images based on the field of view adjustment. Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to present, via the see-through image displays 180C-D of the optical assembly 180A-B, the successive displayed images.” emphasis added).”
Regarding claim 20, Moubedi teaches “A method (see steps below) comprising:
installing (see Figs. 2A and 3) at least one optical element (infrared emitter 115/215 and/or infrared camera 120/220) into an eyewear frame (frame 105 and temples 110);
disposing at least one wireless power receiver (wireless charging receiver 942 with coil 944) on the at least one optical element (col. 11 lines 21-23: “the single coil 944 is integrated into the frame 105 of the eyewear 100, such extending as around one or both optical assemblies 180A and 180B.” This is “disposed on” the optical elements above, because 115 and 120 are also in frame 105 see Figs. 2A and 3);
disposing at least one electrical component on the at least one optical element (both the infrared emitter 115 and the infrared camera 120 are electrically components that require power to operate, see also printed circuit board 340 in Figs. 3 and 4); and
electrically coupling the at least one electrical component to the at least one wireless power receiver (see Figs. 8-9, the infrared emitters and infrared cameras are powered by battery 958 and front end 938 which has the receiver 943, thus they are electrically coupled thereto) to facilitate powering the at least one electrical component by power (Even if the electrical components are powered by the battery which is powered by the wireless power transfer, they are still ultimately powered by the wireless power transfer.) received via a wireless power transfer between the at least one wireless power receiver and a wireless power transmitter (col. 10 lines 60-62: “The single coil 944 receives the wireless power signal and inductively transforms the wireless power signal to power having a voltage and current.”).”
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ha et al. US 2023/0096399 A1 (hereafter Ha).
Regarding claim 1, Ha teaches “An apparatus (either external electronic device 510 or 510 and electronic device 200) comprising:
an eyewear frame (lens frame 205) that supports at least one optical element (the optical element comprising lens frame 511 with color changing lens 513, which are supported by 205 via magnetic substance 517, see paragraph [0130]);
at least one wireless power receiver (reception coil 515) disposed on the at least one optical element (see Fig. 5B, 515 is on frame 511) and configured to receive a wireless power transfer from a wireless power transmitter (transmission coil 501, paragraph [0109]: “wireless power is received through the reception coils corresponding to the first transmission coil and/or the second transmission coil,”); and
at least one electrical component (component 519 or driving circuit of component 519 paragraph [0131]: “components 519 may include a power reception circuit (not shown) and at least one driving circuit.”) disposed on the at least one optical element (519 is on 511 see Fig. 5B) and electrically coupled to the at least one wireless power receiver (e.g. paragraph [0131]: “the power reception circuit may receive, through the reception coil 515, wireless power”), wherein the at least one electrical component is powered by the wireless power transfer (e.g. paragraph [0109]: “a forward voltage may be applied to the color-changing lens” and paragraph [0131]: “the power output from the power reception circuit may be provided to at least one hardware component (e.g., at least one driving circuit, the color-changing lens 513”).”
Regarding claim 2, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one wireless power receiver comprises at least one of:
a far-field power receiver; or a near-field power receiver (the reception coil 515 wirelessly receives power from the transmission coil 501 that is positioned extremely close thereto, thus 515 is a near-field power receiver.).”
Regarding claim 7, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one wireless power receiver comprises at least one antenna (reception coil 515 is an antenna in that it wirelessly receives power from the transmission coil 501) configured to be substantially invisible to a user wearing the eyewear frame (515 is invisible to the user while the user is wearing the eyewear frame because it is located on lens frame 511, which is external to frame 205).”
Regarding claim 8, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a rectifier (paragraph [0131]: “rectification circuit”) electrically coupled between the at least one wireless power receiver and the at least one electrical component (in paragraph [0131] the rectification circuit receives AC current from reception coil 515, which is then regulated by the regulation circuit and output to the driving circuit of color changing lens. Thus the rectification circuit is electrically coupled between 515 and the driving circuit), wherein the rectifier is configured to:
convert alternating current received via the wireless power transfer to direct current (paragraph [0131]: “the rectification circuit may rectify the AC current output from the reception coil 515 into a DC current.”); and
provide the direct current to the at least one electrical component (paragraph [0131]: “the rectification circuit may rectify the AC current output from the reception coil 515 into a DC current… the regulation circuit may convert the rectified power to have a set gain… the power output from the regulation circuit may be transmitted to the outside of the power reception circuit. For example, the power output from the power reception circuit may be provided to at least one hardware component (e.g., at least one driving circuit, the color-changing lens 513”).”
Regarding claim 9, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one wireless power receiver comprises a plurality of wireless power receivers (paragraph [0125]: “the external electronic device 510 may be manufactured as a pair of external electronic devices including components equal or similar to the above-described components… the pair of external electronic devices each may include the above-described components.” thus there is a second reception coil 515) positioned along a periphery of the at least one optical element (see Fig. 5A 515 is along the periphery of 511/513); and
the at least one electrical component comprises a plurality of electrical components (paragraph [0125]: “the external electronic device 510 may be manufactured as a pair of external electronic devices including components equal or similar to the above-described components… the pair of external electronic devices each may include the above-described components.” thus there is a second frame 511 and color-changing lens 513) that are each electrically coupled to one of the plurality of wireless power receivers positioned along the periphery of the at least one optical element (paragraph [0131]: “the power output from the power reception circuit may be provided to at least one hardware component (e.g., at least one driving circuit, the color-changing lens 513”).”
Regarding claim 11, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless power transmitter is coupled to the eyewear frame (see Fig. 5A transmission coil 501 is coupled to frame 205).”
Regarding claim 15, Ha teaches “A system (external electronic device 510 and electronic device 200) comprising:
a wireless power transmitter (transmission coil 501); and
a head-mounted display (external electronic device 510 and electronic device 200 which includes display 301 see Fig. 3) comprising:
an eyewear frame (lens frame 205) that supports at least one optical element (the optical element comprising lens frame 511 with color changing lens 513, which are supported by 205 via magnetic substance 517, see paragraph [0130]);
at least one wireless power receiver (reception coil 515) disposed on the at least one optical element (see Fig. 5B, 515 is on frame 511) and configured to receive a wireless power transfer from the wireless power transmitter (transmission coil 501, paragraph [0109]: “wireless power is received through the reception coils corresponding to the first transmission coil and/or the second transmission coil,”); and
at least one electrical component (component 519 paragraph [0131]: “components 519 may include a power reception circuit (not shown) and at least one driving circuit.”) disposed on the at least one optical element (519 is on 511 see Fig. 5B) and electrically coupled to the at least one wireless power receiver (e.g. paragraph [0131]: “the power reception circuit may receive, through the reception coil 515, wireless power”), wherein the at least one electrical component is powered by the wireless power transfer (e.g. paragraph [0109]: “a forward voltage may be applied to the color-changing lens” and paragraph [0131]: “the power output from the power reception circuit may be provided to at least one hardware component (e.g., at least one driving circuit, the color-changing lens 513”).”
Regarding claim 20, Ha teaches “A method (see steps that follow) comprising:
installing at least one optical element (the optical element comprising lens frame 511 with color changing lens 513, which are supported by 205 via magnetic substance 517, see paragraph [0130]) into an eyewear frame (lens frame 205);
disposing at least one wireless power receiver (reception coil 515) on the at least one optical element (see Fig. 5B, 515 is on frame 511);
disposing at least one electrical component (component 519 paragraph [0131]: “components 519 may include a power reception circuit (not shown) and at least one driving circuit.”) on the at least one optical element (519 is on 511 see Fig. 5B); and
electrically coupling the at least one electrical component to the at least one wireless power receiver (e.g. paragraph [0131]: “the power reception circuit may receive, through the reception coil 515, wireless power”) to facilitate powering the at least one electrical component (e.g. paragraph [0109]: “a forward voltage may be applied to the color-changing lens” and paragraph [0131]: “the power output from the power reception circuit may be provided to at least one hardware component (e.g., at least one driving circuit, the color-changing lens 513”).” by power received via a wireless power transfer between the at least one wireless power receiver and a wireless power transmitter (transmission coil 501, paragraph [0109]: “wireless power is received through the reception coils corresponding to the first transmission coil and/or the second transmission coil,”).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moubedi US 11,527,895 B1 (hereafter Moubedi) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Oudenhoven et al. US 2024/0219715 A1 (hereafter Oudenhoven).
Regarding claim 3, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical component comprises one or more light-emitting [elements] (infrared emitter 115 or 215) configured to emit light toward at least one eye of a user wearing the eyewear frame (e.g. col. 7 lines 42-45: “The infrared emitter 115 and infrared camera 120 are arranged to face inwards towards an eye of the user with a partial or full field of view of the eye in order to identify the respective eye position and gaze direction.”).”
However, Moubedi fails to explicitly teach that the light-emitting elements are “one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs).”
Oudenhoven teaches a head-mounted device with gaze tracking systems with “at least one electrical component comprises one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraph [0027]: “Components 40 may include light-emitting devices (e.g., laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, etc.)”) configured to emit light toward at least one eye of a user wearing the eyewear frame (see e.g. Fig. 4).”
Oudenhoven further teaches (paragraph [0028]): “For example, components 40 may emit and detect infrared light having a wavelength of at least 850 nm, 870 nm, 850-1000 nm, at least 860 nm, at least 900 nm, less than 1400 nm, less than 1200 nm, less than 1100 nm, less than 1000 nm, less than 950 nm, 940 nm, less than 930 nm, 900-1000 nm, etc.”
(paragraph [0046]): “Light-emitting devices 40E may be laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, and/or other light sources. These light-emitting devices may emit beams of light such as light beams 70 that form a pattern of eye glints when reflected from the surface of the user's eye 42. The pattern of glints on eye 42 may be measured by capturing an infrared image of eye 42 using infrared camera 40C. Eye 42 has a non-spherical asymmetric shape and includes pupil 42P and iris 42I surrounded by sclera 42S. As a result of the aspherical shape of the eye, the shape of the glint pattern is distorted by the shape of the eye and relates to the direction in which the user's eye is oriented. The glint pattern detected by camera 40C can therefore be analyzed by control circuitry 12 to measure the user's gaze.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose as the light-emitting elements of Moubedi a plurality of light-emitting diodes as taught by Oudenhoven, because Oudenhoven teaches that such LEDs can emit appropriate wavelengths of infrared light, and that the glint pattern therefrom can be used to measure the user’s gaze (Oudenhoven paragraphs [0028] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, the Moubedi – Oudenhoven combination teaches “The apparatus of claim 3,” and Moubedi further teaches “further comprising:
at least one camera (infrared camera 120 or 220) secured to the eyewear frame (see Figs. 2A and 3), wherein the at least one camera is configured to detect at least a portion of the light that is reflected by the at least one eye of the user (e.g. col. 7 lines 42-45: “The infrared emitter 115 and infrared camera 120 are arranged to face inwards towards an eye of the user with a partial or full field of view of the eye in order to identify the respective eye position and gaze direction.” Thus the camera is configured such that it can detect at least a portion of the light that is reflected by the eye of the user.); and
circuitry (processor 932) communicatively coupled to the at least one camera, wherein the circuitry is configured to track movement of the at least one eye based at least in part on the at least a portion of the light detected by the at least one camera (col. 4 lines 35-43: “the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to detect movement of a user of the eyewear device by:… (ii) tracking, via an eye movement tracker (element 113, 213 of FIGS. 2A-B, FIG. 5), an eye movement of an eye of the user of the eyewear device 100.”).”
Regarding claim 5, the Moubedi – Oudenhoven combination teaches “The apparatus of claim 4,” and Moubedi further teaches “wherein the circuitry is further configured to modify virtual content presented via the at least one optical element based at least in part on the movement of the at least one eye (col. 4 lines 42-55: “Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to determine a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user. The field of view adjustment includes a successive field of view corresponding to a successive head direction or a successive eye direction. Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to generate a successive displayed image of the sequence of displayed images based on the field of view adjustment. Execution of the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to present, via the see-through image displays 180C-D of the optical assembly 180A-B, the successive displayed images.” emphasis added).”
Regarding claim 6, the Moubedi – Oudenhoven combination teaches “The apparatus of claim 3,” and Moubedi further teaches “wherein the one or more [light-emitting elements] comprises one or more [micro-elements] positioned around a periphery of the at least one optical element (see Figs. 2A and 5, infrared emitters 115 and 215 are one light-emitting element positioned around the periphery of the optical assembly 180 and are micro-elements in that they are small enough to fit within a lens frame.).”
However, Moubedi fails to teach that the micro light-emitting element is a micro-LED.
Oudenhoven teaches “wherein the one or more LEDs (paragraph [0027]: “Components 40 may include light-emitting devices (e.g., laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, etc.)” comprises one or more microLEDs (the LEDs are small enough to be positioned on the frame of eyewear and thus are microLEDs) positioned around a periphery of the at least one optical element (paragraph [0027]: “As shown in FIG. 1, gaze tracking components 40 may extend in a ring around the periphery of lens 46…. ).”
Oudenhoven further teaches (paragraph [0028]): “For example, components 40 may emit and detect infrared light having a wavelength of at least 850 nm, 870 nm, 850-1000 nm, at least 860 nm, at least 900 nm, less than 1400 nm, less than 1200 nm, less than 1100 nm, less than 1000 nm, less than 950 nm, 940 nm, less than 930 nm, 900-1000 nm, etc.”
(paragraph [0046]): “Light-emitting devices 40E may be laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, and/or other light sources. These light-emitting devices may emit beams of light such as light beams 70 that form a pattern of eye glints when reflected from the surface of the user's eye 42. The pattern of glints on eye 42 may be measured by capturing an infrared image of eye 42 using infrared camera 40C. Eye 42 has a non-spherical asymmetric shape and includes pupil 42P and iris 42I surrounded by sclera 42S. As a result of the aspherical shape of the eye, the shape of the glint pattern is distorted by the shape of the eye and relates to the direction in which the user's eye is oriented. The glint pattern detected by camera 40C can therefore be analyzed by control circuitry 12 to measure the user's gaze.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose as the light-emitting elements of Moubedi a plurality of micro-LEDs as taught by Oudenhoven, because Oudenhoven teaches that such LEDs can emit appropriate wavelengths of infrared light, and that the glint pattern therefrom can be used to measure the user’s gaze (Oudenhoven paragraphs [0028] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Moubedi teaches “The system of claim 12, wherein the at least one electrical component comprises one or more light-emitting [elements] (infrared emitter 115 or 215) configured to emit light toward at least one eye of a user wearing the eyewear frame (e.g. col. 7 lines 42-45: “The infrared emitter 115 and infrared camera 120 are arranged to face inwards towards an eye of the user with a partial or full field of view of the eye in order to identify the respective eye position and gaze direction.”).”
However, Moubedi fails to explicitly teach that the light-emitting elements are “one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs).”
Oudenhoven teaches a head-mounted device with gaze tracking systems with “at least one electrical component comprises one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraph [0027]: “Components 40 may include light-emitting devices (e.g., laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, etc.)”) configured to emit light toward at least one eye of a user wearing the eyewear frame (see e.g. Fig. 4).”
Oudenhoven further teaches (paragraph [0028]): “For example, components 40 may emit and detect infrared light having a wavelength of at least 850 nm, 870 nm, 850-1000 nm, at least 860 nm, at least 900 nm, less than 1400 nm, less than 1200 nm, less than 1100 nm, less than 1000 nm, less than 950 nm, 940 nm, less than 930 nm, 900-1000 nm, etc.”
(paragraph [0046]): “Light-emitting devices 40E may be laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, and/or other light sources. These light-emitting devices may emit beams of light such as light beams 70 that form a pattern of eye glints when reflected from the surface of the user's eye 42. The pattern of glints on eye 42 may be measured by capturing an infrared image of eye 42 using infrared camera 40C. Eye 42 has a non-spherical asymmetric shape and includes pupil 42P and iris 42I surrounded by sclera 42S. As a result of the aspherical shape of the eye, the shape of the glint pattern is distorted by the shape of the eye and relates to the direction in which the user's eye is oriented. The glint pattern detected by camera 40C can therefore be analyzed by control circuitry 12 to measure the user's gaze.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose as the light-emitting elements of Moubedi a plurality of light-emitting diodes as taught by Oudenhoven, because Oudenhoven teaches that such LEDs can emit appropriate wavelengths of infrared light, and that the glint pattern therefrom can be used to measure the user’s gaze (Oudenhoven paragraphs [0028] and [0046]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moubedi US 11,527,895 B1 (hereafter Moubedi) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuller et al. US 2017/0310165 A1 (hereafter Fuller).
Regarding claim 10, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a wireless communication transmitter (wireless power charger 946 with coil 953 to wirelessly bidirectionally communicate data with processor 932 via the single coil 944 and NFC front end 940 see col. 11 lines 1-3);” however, Moubedi fails to teach “and wherein the at least one optical element comprises a lens configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter.”
Fuller teaches a wireless power and communication device “comprising a wireless communication transmitter (electromagnetic transmitter device 112 of Fig. 2, which can be used to wirelessly communicate data between primary and secondary devices see paragraph [0023]), and wherein the at least one optical element comprises a lens (first and second lenses 124a, 124b) configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter (paragraph [0024]: “The lenses 124a, 124b are comprised of an array of resonators.”).”
Fuller further teaches (paragraph [0024]): “Antenna 120 is configured in a partial toroidal helix shape to be substantially non-resonant such that far-field signals, i.e., radiated field signals, are minimized and near-field signals are maximized… More specifically, the lenses 124a, 124b surround the first and second end portions 122a, 122b of antenna 120. The lenses 124a, 124b are comprised of an array of resonators. The lenses 124a, 124b force electromagnetic energy towards the opposing antenna by reducing or preventing self-cancellation of the near-field, as shown in FIG. 7. Since a significant portion of the near-field energy appears at the first and second end portions (i.e., the mouths) 122a, 122b of the antenna 120, the lenses 124a, 124b reduce the amount of electromagnetic energy from the antenna 120 from closing/self-cancelling immediately at the two mouths of the antenna 120.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the wireless communication transmitter of Moubedi to include resonating lenses as taught by Fuller for the purpose of maximizing near-field signals by controlling the electromagnetic energy as taught by Fuller (paragraph [0024]) in the device of Moubedi that is likewise using near-field signals (see Fig. 8A).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. US 2023/0096399 A1 (hereafter Ha) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuller et al. US 2017/0310165 A1 (hereafter Fuller).
Regarding claim 10, Ha teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a wireless communication transmitter (antenna module 197, paragraph [0064]: “The antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside”);” however, Ha fails to teach “and wherein the at least one optical element comprises a lens configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter.”
Fuller teaches a wireless power and communication device “comprising a wireless communication transmitter (electromagnetic transmitter device 112 of Fig. 2, which can be used to wirelessly communicate data between primary and secondary devices see paragraph [0023]), and wherein the at least one optical element comprises a lens (first and second lenses 124a, 124b) configured to operate as a resonator antenna of the wireless communication transmitter (paragraph [0024]: “The lenses 124a, 124b are comprised of an array of resonators.”).”
Fuller further teaches (paragraph [0024]): “Antenna 120 is configured in a partial toroidal helix shape to be substantially non-resonant such that far-field signals, i.e., radiated field signals, are minimized and near-field signals are maximized… More specifically, the lenses 124a, 124b surround the first and second end portions 122a, 122b of antenna 120. The lenses 124a, 124b are comprised of an array of resonators. The lenses 124a, 124b force electromagnetic energy towards the opposing antenna by reducing or preventing self-cancellation of the near-field, as shown in FIG. 7. Since a significant portion of the near-field energy appears at the first and second end portions (i.e., the mouths) 122a, 122b of the antenna 120, the lenses 124a, 124b reduce the amount of electromagnetic energy from the antenna 120 from closing/self-cancelling immediately at the two mouths of the antenna 120.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the wireless communication transmitter of Ha to include resonating lenses as taught by Fuller for the purpose of maximizing near-field signals by controlling the electromagnetic energy as taught by Fuller (paragraph [0024]) in the device of Ha.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moubedi US 11,527,895 B1 (hereafter Moubedi) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shostak US 2015/0381239 A1 (hereafter Shostak).
Regarding claim 14, Moubedi teaches “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical element comprises an inactive area (frame 105) configured to be positioned outside a view of a user wearing the eyewear frame (The primary viewing area of the user wearing the eyewear frame is through the lenses, thus the frame is an inactive area outside the primary viewing area of the user.); and
further comprising:
one or more traces (the electrical connections between 944 and 938) disposed on the optical element in the inactive area (col. 11 lines 21-23: “the single coil 944 is integrated into the frame 105 of the eyewear 100, such extending as around one or both optical assemblies 180A and 180B.”).”
However, Moubedi fails to explicitly teach “at least one flexible electrical jumper applied over the one or more traces such that flexible electrical jumper avoids sharing electrical continuity with the one or more traces.”
Shostak teaches a computing device with wireless communication coils with “one or more traces (Figs. 4 and 5 trace 316, antenna parts 420 and 422 which are parts of the inner antenna 302) … and
at least one flexible electrical jumper (jumper 514, part 418 which jumps over 420, both of which are flexible because base later 402 is flexible, see paragraph [0034] such that if 514 and 418 were not flexible, they could break.) applied over the one or more traces (paragraph [0042]: “a jumper 514 to interconnect two separated ends, by passing over or under one or more intervening traces of the portion 316.” Note that both over and under meet the limitation “over” because the computing device can take any orientation. See also paragraph [0035]: “A dielectric or shield material 424 (illustrated with a cross-hatching pattern) is positioned between the part 418 and the part 420 to prevent the part 418 and the part 420 from coming into physical contact with one another. The part 418 is illustrated as being positioned on top of the part 420”) such that the flexible electrical jumper avoids sharing electrical continuity with the one or more traces (see Figs. 4 and 5, paragraph [0035] 418 avoids electrical contact with 420 and paragraph [0042] jumper 514 connects 318 to an interior end of 316 while avoiding any electrical connection to the portion of 316 that it jumps over. Hence the name “jumper”.).”
Shostak further teaches that such a jumper enables the formation of the wireless communication coil of an antenna apparatus 204 on a flexible sheet.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the wireless receiver coil of Moubedi that is schematically depicted as a three-dimensional coil with a flat flexible coil as taught by Shostak that incorporates the necessary jumpers required for such a flat configuration, because Moubedi only schematically depicts the receiving coil 944, and thus some particular physical implementation thereof is required, such as that disclosed in Shostak.
Regarding claim 18, the Moubedi – Shostak combination teaches “The system of claim 14,” and Moubedi further teaches “further comprising:
at least one camera (infrared camera 120 or 220) secured to the eyewear frame (see Figs. 2A and 3), wherein the at least one camera is configured to detect at least a portion of the light that is reflected by the at least one eye of the user (e.g. col. 7 lines 42-45: “The infrared emitter 115 and infrared camera 120 are arranged to face inwards towards an eye of the user with a partial or full field of view of the eye in order to identify the respective eye position and gaze direction.” Thus the camera is configured such that it can detect at least a portion of the light that is reflected by the eye of the user.); and
circuitry (processor 932) communicatively coupled to the at least one camera, wherein the circuitry is configured to track movement of the at least one eye based at least in part on the at least a portion of the light detected by the at least one camera (col. 4 lines 35-43: “the programming by the processor 932 further configures the eyewear device 100 to detect movement of a user of the eyewear device by:… (ii) tracking, via an eye movement tracker (element 113, 213 of FIGS. 2A-B, FIG. 5), an eye movement of an eye of the user of the eyewear device 100.”).”
Conclusion
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872